Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Sony Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Bring movies to life and enjoy all your favorite home media with the Sony DVPSR210P DVD Player. With a 12-bit video DAC and a 108 MHz processor, it delivers great sound and high-definition pictures that optimize your watching experience. The Sony DVD player is designed to work with DVD, CD, MP3, JPEG, MPEG4 and Kodak Picture CD formats among others. It comes with support for Dolby digital and DTS outputs as well as component video, composite video and analog audio 2-channel outputs. The Sony DVPSR210P DVD Player also comes fully equipped with fast/slow playback and a sound feature that allows you to watch the scenes at your pace. The title/chapter viewer and picture navigation let you browse the scenes with ease. In addition, this Dolby digital DVD player has a multiple-disc resume, which allows for conveniently playback.
Average Customer Rating:
4.256 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(741 Reviews) 645
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
441
4 stars
183
3 stars
42
2 stars
16
1 star
59
Customer Recommendation89%621 out of 700reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
193 Questions | 337 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
441
4 stars
183
3 stars
42
2 stars
16
1 star
59
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Disappointed

12/10/2012
By ,
Brandon,sd
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for my daughter, from the big red guy. It showed up in DVD box. With shipping label on top. There was no option to select gift, she seen it. Now I can't give it to her. I know the DVD is in a box, but come on this was a gift, well not anymore
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

NOT AS ADVERTISED

12/20/2012
By ,
Johnstown, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this as an xmas present for my aunt who lives not so close. i got it shipped to her house only to find out that it doesnt do what it says. IT IS NOT AN MPEG4 OR MP4 VIDEO PLAYER as it says. i am highly upset.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Cheap quality

11/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Really light and looks very cheaply made .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Sony DVD Player DVPSR210P

04/11/2014
By ,
Murphy,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Returned this player it had no HDMI connection
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Not as specs say no Mpeg4 Play

01/24/2013
By ,
Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased 5 of these players after reading specs in Walmarts spec page.....it says it supports mpeg1 witch it does and mpeg 4 (xvid) and Divx...and it does not, after reading the manual it has no mention of mpeg4 as it does on this page....if your watching rented movies this will be fine, however if you want to rip a xvid or divx this player will not play them. there all going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Unit does not have HDMI port

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
HDMI connections have become the state of the art. This unit does not have an HDMI port.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

stopped working after nine months

09/12/2014
By ,
sebring,fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I use dvd player very occasionally so bought this one. after nine months of only very few uses it is stuck on the loading process and will go not farther. I takes forever to get the dvd out I tried a couple plus a cleaner. very disappointed in this sony product
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Remote was not compatible w/a Sanyo TV.

09/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DVD Player Remote WAS NOT compatible w/a SANYO TV... could not adjust volume up or down with either TV Remove or DVD Player Remote.
Also, price on-line was $5 more than in-store price. Had to go back through customer service, return ordered DVD player and buy one from in-store.... WRONG!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

I love buying on line

12/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
A great buy and so easy to set up. I would recommend this to any age group.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

NOT RECOMMENDABLE

10/09/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not play all the DVD formats that it claims. I purposely purchased this equipment in order to watch my favorite Westerns: THE BIG VALLEY and THE 50TH ANNIVERSARY OF GUNSMOKE; but the pictures produced are of very bad quality. I play these DVD's on a different brand DVD player, and the pictures are excellent. Therefore, after a few days of unsatisfactory ownership, I have returned the DVPSR210P for a cheaper, but better quality brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Do not buy

07/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The DVD player was defective when I purchased it at my local Wal-Mart. The player would not play DVDs or CDs. Returned it the next day, and got my money back. There is a saying that goes "You get what you pay for". The value is cheap, which is fine, and was easy to set up, but refused to work properly. However, I do like the design, which was sleek with a glossy finish in the front. But everything else would be better if the DVD player actually worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

lasted 6 months

06/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this around 12/4/13 and as of 6/20/14 I have to throw it away, it skips, makes a lot of noise, and wont play some discs at all. I wont buy sony again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

A Bad Review for this DVD player

12/24/2012
By ,
san diego ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it because it was a Sony and I expected some quality in the product.
It’s simple set up. I just put the same wires in from my old DVD player.
I used the old one, a cheep new brand model, (besides for DVD’s when it was still working), allot for WMA in shuffle mode with like 12 - 14 albums worth of selections on a data disc. It was an easy on and off music device. It was also reminiscent for me of the old disc music days.
On this Sony DVD player I can’t find the shuffle mode icon in the display where it suppose to be.
I asked the question ‘how do you turn on the shuffle play’ on this site and got the same suggestion to work it that I got in the instruction sheet but that hieroglyph and many others for other functions supposedly available in Display wasn’t where they were supposed to be.
I’m thinking I should return it get my money back.
The 480p does not match 1080p available from most DVD players.
It’s a quality something I imagine people can actually come to expect in a DVD player.
Actors, personalities I’ve enjoyed for years appear as different persons altogether when watching my old DVD’s on this player.
This 480p consideration is a case brought up by others in these comments that I suppose I didn’t pay enough attention to seeing the overwhelming glowing reports for this DVD player here in comments.
Maybe mine is a fluke with the missing functions that are supposed to be available but the 480p is in specs so all of these Sony DVD machines should be the same in that respect.
That’s a good reason not to bother exchanging it for another of the same hoping to get all the advertised functions.
These are my good reasons for returning this Sony DVD player in question before the return days are up.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P
11/14/2012
By ,
CORONA,CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have purchased 2 of these and neither have lasted longer than 6 months. Very disappointed in the product. Would NEVER buy a Sony product again
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

This dvd player did not meet my expectations.

04/24/2013
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It will not play widescreen movies, so am returning for a better model
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fairfax, VA
Of course it does
Posted 06/17/2013
Did you set it correctly when you first started it up? Go into Quick Settings are change the display, 3 choices are 16:9, letterbox 4:3 and 4:3 or something like that.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

No

12/03/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a cheap piece of plastic and didn't even have a hook up for the cable.. I wasn't happy with it..I got a good deal on it and it was what I paid for, so not a good deal after all..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Don't waste your time....

03/22/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Set up was easy; however, DVD player wouldn't "read" any of the movies or CDs I put in. Read more of the reviews and found that this is a common problem. Sad product to see coming from Sony. We are taking it back. I don't recommend this player.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
Maybe a rare lemon?
Posted 04/01/2014
Since 95% of the reviews have scored this player as 4 or 5 stars and just like any other product purchased in life there's a chance of a lemon once in awhile. Did you just return it or consider exchanging it? I bought a microwave 2 years ago at another retailer. First time I used it, it filled with smoke. I returned & exchanged it for another one exactly the same. It has worked perfectly from day 1 & still does. Just a thought. No, this is definitely not an April Fool's Day joke!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

don't buy!

06/16/2014
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sony is supposed to be a good brand name. Wrong! It didn't work! Very dissappointed!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We regret hearing the unit didn't work out like you expected. We would like to know what went wrong and we would love to see if we can correct it for you. Kindly drop us an email at SonySupportUSA@am.sony.com with pertinent information (model number, so we can see what we can do. Thank you!Sonystyle
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

AWFUL

08/25/2013
By ,
OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this DVD player, brought it home, and it didn't work straight out of the box. The DVD tray kept opening and closing continuously. Would NEVER buy this product again. I am returning this TODAY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DVD Player, DVPSR210P

Great deal

12/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like my DVD player very much. It didn't take me long to set it up at all. I have also just watched "Miracle on 34th Street" and it worked perfectly! I also love that this simple DVD player was also a great deal!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 601 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next