Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

The Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi lets you wirelessly stream movies, TV shows, music and more in 3D. Enjoy Full HD 1080p Blu-ray Disc playback and your favorites from Netflix, YouTube, Pandora, Hulu Plus and more. Easily navigate and control your entertainment experience with your iPad, iPhone or compatible Android phone using the free "Media remote" app.
Average Customer Rating:
4.223 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation85%67 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
55
4 stars
16
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Great machine for the price.

04/09/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read one review that a person returned it before they turned it on due to the casing being a cheap plastic; this is not the case. True the casing is plastic, but not cheap plastic. The player is sturdy and works great. Loading blurays on my previous player took a while, with this player the loading time is fast. A bluray player is a bluray player no matter the brand, you will get the same picture reguardless of what player you are using. This bluray play though is fast loading time and has easy navigations for apps. You can even browes the internet and type in web addresses; though this is not easy using the remote and you do not get full access of web pages (some are too large to load on player). The reason for this player is for the fast loading time, the many apps you can use, it plays 3D movies, and it is wifi (no wires needed to hook up internet). For what tthis can do, you get alot for the money it cost. If you want a metal casing, look else where, but this will do the same functions as a player with a metal casing but a will cost cheapier becuase it does have the plastic casing (which most players use plastic to get the price down).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 2 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Fantastic and bumps 2d to 3d

08/03/2012
By ,
oak harbor, wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A player that will take a dvd or blu ray that is 2d and make it pop with simulated 3d?? Thats just one of this machines features. Great sound, plays any blu ray we have put in without issue. One heads up when you buy this, it will not play a disk the first time you turn it on as it wants to update the firmware to the current version.
We bought on of these to complement our Vizio 32 inch 3d tv.
this is an awesome player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 3 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Great price for what it does

12/13/2012
By ,
Argentine, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wireless connection was easy using my router's WPS button. First thing I did was firmware update. After spending about an hour becoming familiar with the players menu, I checked out the online streaming. Very happy with Pandora for music. Then did Vudu's network speed test which showed excellent wireless speed for HDX movie streaming. Used the free credit from Vudu to watch The Bourne Legacy in 1080p and it played flawlessly. No pausing and picture looked great!
I like how when I turn on the player it will turn on the TV and find the right HDMI input. I don't yet have a 3D TV so can't comment on that. Also like digital audio output in both optical and coax.
It only gets 4 stars for two reasons: the player has web browsing and a Facebook app but it's pointless without a keyboard and mouse. I can't see anyone trying to do that with the remote. I gave up. If they're going to have web browsing why not make use of the two USB ports and provide support for a wireless keyboard and mouse??? Second issue is the two USB ports. I tried two different FAT32 USB flash drives in both ports and the player didn't recognize either. The Sony support webpage says they have to be Fat32. One is 2GB the other is 8GB. So I have to figure that out.
There are still many features to try when I have a 3D TV and a smartphone(Galaxy S3 back-ordered) plus the online content. I find this player to be feature rich with excellent streaming and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 4 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Love this Blu-ray player

07/20/2012
By ,
seymour IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this sony blu-ray player to go with my sony bravia tv, I pluged it up and WOW!! The difference in sound from playing any movie disc is awsome not to mention the picture quality. I also use the netflix through this player and I just cant beleive th difference it makes! I used to use my wii to watch netflix which was good but this Blu-ray player makes a world of difference. My next purchase is going to be the sony sound system, Cant wait for that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Nice Player Lacks Instructions

01/27/2013
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Blu Ray Player is nice but the one downside to it is that it was very difficult figuring out how to set up and get connected to streaming sights. The instructions never tell you you have to get a Sony Account before you can set up anything else. Once I figured that out, I was able to easily connect to Amazon and others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 6 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Performs all advertised features as promises

10/13/2012
By ,
Monticello,Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup , integrated wi-fi hooks up fast and easy, numerous built in internet web sites offer a lot of variety, 3-d delivers as promised, and the upgrade of a 2-d movie to 3-d works pretty well also. Nothing negative I can say, it is a fine product. I had tried out another 3-d player before this and am so glad I returned it for this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 7 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Does what other Blu-Ray players don't

01/13/2013
By ,
Placerville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What a surprise and delight to discover a Blu-Ray player that will actually ask me if I want to resume or start a DVD from the beginning, even if player was turned off. My Samsung Blu-Ray DVD player drove me crazy because if I paused a DVD and power went off before I started watching it again, I had to start the DVD from the beginning. And the Sony picture is beautiful. The Wi-Fi was easy for this senior citizen to set up. I couldn't be more pleased with my purchase. And Wal-Mart had the best price on-line or in stores.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Great 3D player for the money

09/04/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Sony 3D Blu Ray player supports almost every audio and video file type possible when using your USB flash drive. It up-converts regular DVD's to HD quality - and has the option of Simulated 3D on non-3D movies which isn't bad. Not like 3D of course - but pretty good. I am totally pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 9 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Very Happy with product

01/08/2013
By ,
Tega Cay, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received a Blu Ray player last year for Christmas and wanted another for the bonus room and the 55 inch TV. Really like the player, only reason I don't give it an excellent rating is because when you stop it it doesn't automaticallly start from the same spot without going through the previews again. Otherwise so much better than the one from last year, much quicker to boot up and way more features.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Review 10 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Pleased overall

02/28/2013
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our first 3D Blu-ray player, ok it's our first Blu-ray player in general. We weren't really sure what to expect, but this seems to be it. My kids are tickled with the option to turn their favorite 2D movies 3D and ask for it often, really they aren't in a great 3D, mostly a more defined 2D in my opinion, but the kids seem to love it. It plays movies made in 3D exceptionally well. I remember reading a comment that the user had to go in and set up 3D every time, this has not been the case for us. The player distinguishes what kind of disk it is, and to change the format is easy if you decide to do that. We didn't want to spend a lot of money on a player when we weren't sure how much it would be used and was our first trip to the rodeo, and am glad we decided not to spend more since for the price we got a pretty awesome component. We were confident in the Sony name considering this replaced a Sony VCR and a Sony DVD player both were 10 years old or older and worked like they were new. One thing that bothers the kids more than us adults is the start up time is a little slow (you can set it to start faster but it uses more electricity when not in use), but that is just their childhood impatience and they will live.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 11 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi
10/26/2012
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. Better than Panasonics.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Won't play most discs

03/06/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I read all of the reviews for this and purchased. I have a Vizio 3D HDTV and was so excited to watch a 3D movie. I will admit that the set up is easy, but when I put in the movie, it wouldn't load. I took the disc out several times and finally it played. The picture was fantastic, and the 3D was awesome. The next time I tried a different movie, the same thing happened. I kept reading "False" and would go back to the home screen saying that the disc could not be played. After reloading it several times, it finally worked. Still a great picture. I tried a third movie and could not get it to play after reloading the disc over and over again! I tried a normal 2D disc and it wouldn't play at all, with the "False" reading again. I took it back to Wal-Mart and I'm going to buy the Vizio player in hopes that it will work better. So disappointed in Sony! I hope I just got a defective unit, but not willing to risk it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Blu-ray player and much more

01/06/2013
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Sony player was a better deal than expected since it had more capability. With the player I insert a CD and it turns on the TV and play the CD automatically. It plays both standard, Blu-ray, and 3D Blu-ray disks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

what a nightmare

07/07/2012
By ,
Kankakee, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this player over another favored brand based on ratings. I discovered I had to change the settings in the player if I wanted to watch a 3d movie and finally returned the player after several failed attempts to get the player to update. The wireless receiver is weak at best. I went with a player made by the same brand as the tv i purchased, my favored brand, and within 5 minutes I was able to start watching a 3d movie without having to go in and change any settings on either the player or tv. This player is just a big headache.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 15 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

So far great deal

12/27/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a birthday gift to my son who uses it every day. He watches DVDs and his old player had bit the dust. This player came with the WiFi options that are nice to have extras. It was easy to connect and it found our WiFi quickly. He has not yet tried using the WiFi options, but will take advantage of them in the near future. Over all, felt after reviewing several players that this was the best for the price. One of the things other people had written in reviews was that the next model down, did not have a display on the player. This is a nice feature and it was worth the $10 price difference to be able to have a display on the actual player rather than just on the tv screen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Setting up was easy.

12/28/2012
By ,
Cedar Rapids,Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The player even found my backup system so I could look at all my photo's on the tv
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 17 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

Nice player.

12/11/2012
By ,
Summerton, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As most people know if Sony's name is on it, it will perform well. The only issues I have is 1 - It shipped in a default mode that you have to change and without Sony on the phone it's almost imposable. 2 - The plastic case is flimsy and must be placed on top of the stack. This will cause your amp to overheat so I had to come up with a stand to keep the air flow to the amp.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi
12/07/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I took a chance on ordering this product. So far, I am very pleased with my Sony blu-ray dvd. I bought it to hook up to my smart 3D TV. I found it easy to hook up and understand and its working well. I was also very pleased with the fast service of Walmart. I ordered this blu-ray online and it was ready for pick-up early the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi
03/15/2013
By ,
Merritt Island, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After researching other brands, this is as I review from many other purchasers, is in fact all it claims to be at the right price. Excellent performance .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 20 for Sony 3D Blu-ray Player with WiFi

I Love it, it does exactly what i wanted it to do.

02/21/2013
By ,
Bend OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this and was a little worried about setting it up. I am not very technical sauve, but it was really easy and it is easy to run too. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next