Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Experience 300 watts of theater-quality surround sound and upscaled picture performance from DVDs of nearly 1080p with this Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system. The 5.1 surround sound system with DVD player features five speakers and a subwoofer, as well as Dolby Digital,Dolby Pro Logic, and dts surround sound decoding. There's also a USB port to conveniently play back your music, videos, and photos from flash drives, MP3 players, digital cameras and computers on the Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.607 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 145
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
62
3 stars
33
2 stars
12
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation75%126 out of 167reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
141 Questions | 244 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
50
4 stars
62
3 stars
33
2 stars
12
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good value, but it doesn't work with our HDTV

01/07/2014
By ,
champaign, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After some major finagling, my fiancee was able to get this set up to work through his Xbox for Netflix, etc. and then through the dvd player/receiver, but we were not able to hook it up directly to our television-- also a Wal-Mart product: a Hiteker 37" flatscreen. You could say it's an issue with the television, but after reading other reviews and such on the internet when we were trying to figure out how to get everything connected, I found a number of people had the same problem, so it seems like a good thing to bring up. Before purchasing this sound system make sure you have the ability to hook it up. Our television didn't have the necessary audio outputs to connect to the receiver. We were able to run a cable that was HDMI on one end and RCA on the other from the Xbox to the receiver. Our movies are now awesome though! It's got pretty good sound. I know I jumped several times watching horror movies over the weekend because it sounded like things were coming up behind me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Digital through DVD, 1 R/L analog input, none else

06/13/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While unpacking this I noticed that it only has 1 analog input for connecting other devices. I wanted to be able to connect my digital (toslink) cable box and digital DVR to the sound also. I could have through the single analog R/L jack but for the money it should have at least one digital sound input. So I packed it up and took it back. If you only want good sound with the DVD player then this system is for you. With there being so many satellite and cable boxes with digital outputs, I can't figure out why Sony would design a product with such a narrow application. One digital coax or toslink input and this would be a great system for the masses. Now, it's only good if all you watch are DVDs. What a waste of potential, of course the whole range of this product line suffers the same fatal flaw, regardless of the wattage you choose.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. And we definitely appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, thank you for your feedback.Sonystyle
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Even at this low price, the sound is disappointing

07/19/2014
By ,
New Providence, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this for a small, apartment living room; where my couch is within 6 feet of the TV and this sound system. You get no sound at all, until you are at about 50% volume; and, at full volume you have trouble hearing dialog if the air conditioning or dishwasher are running.
Part of the problem is that the system doesn't play nice with my Comcast box; so, I am forced to run the sound out of the Comcast box, into my HDTV, and, from the HDTV into the Sony sound system.
Even with the apartment totally quiet, softly spoken dialog is often unintelligible; and, even louder dialog is muddy/mushy. I've tried all the presets; but, none really makes a difference. Even though this is just 300W, I expect better volume than this.
I am very sorry I didn't invest another $50 for a better system with (at least) 1000W. In any case, I couldn't possibly recommend this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Impressive......

07/31/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for our bedroom, and i must say, I AM IMPRESSED! The speakers are very small, but the sound is amazing. I agree with one reviewer who said its great in a room about 12'x12'..after that, you'll be disappointed. It is only 300 watts after all. Set up was very easy. I have it hooked up for TV AND computer. The only disappointing thing is when you are watching a program on TV, the volume in nearly maxed out, and still isn't loud enough, but when watching a DVD, it's amazing! I have an HD TV, and the TV signal is HD satellite. There are a few settings for surround, and for what you are watching/listening to. Example: Movie, or Music. I recommend this product..but i shoulda went with the 1,000 watt system..for me, the louder the better :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Dont have hdmi or optic inputs!

12/26/2013
By ,
Hobart, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and went home to hook it up to my Sony 50" flat screen. Well come to find out my up to date TV only has a digital optical output for sound and this product has only stereo rca analog inputs which anyone that knows sound, knows that it can NOT be true 5.1 surround sound. The only way that you could get real surround sound through this product is by playing a dvd. Not to mention it wasn't even that loud, not even enough for a one room apartment. I took this back and upgraded to the Sony 3D 5.1 surround sound for 130.00$ more and it was a huge difference. It has optical and hdmi inputs along with amazing features such as wifi, Netflix, and many more. Sound quality is amazing! I recommend paying extra for the SONY 3d 5.1 it is defiantly worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Possibly outdated

08/19/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had the same connection problems as others so I recommend with reservations. There are only red, white and yellow plugs and one HDMI port. My new Hisense TV has red, blue, green, white and red plugs but no yellow-I plug the yellow into the green. As a result I'm now only getting 2.1 radio or CD reception and only center on some DVDs with the rest 2.1 even when using a Y adapter. I chose this model over a more famous name one of lesser quality but with composite and component color plugs and am now regretting it. Check TV-Home Theater compatibility before you buy either one. If they work together the sound is first rate.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great system(300W)for small spaces not large...

06/30/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read previous reviews and noticed a lot of people complaining about the low volume, etc. They are right. This system is not designed to be a main large livingroom system... This system is designed to be strictly for bedrooms, dens, and small living spaces. We pur. yesterday when our 1000W system died, we were not ready to spend big money on a comparable system which would have meant spending at least $300-500.00. So we bought this which is only 300W but we took a chance because it was $128.00 in store. Luckily, for us we have a small livingroom, and only 2 of us most of the time. We are still going to do a little finetuning but what I can tell you is that you need to utilize your tv vol. as well as this system to boost your sound, also, I recommend when setting up the speaker distance/levels that you say you are much further away from the system than you are which may boost the signal more... We are still working on that, I also recommend playing with the volumes of the center speaker, and subwoofer which are the only ones that can be turned up... Subwoofer is very loud bass, so you might then make more tv adjustments downward there to compensate. I also went back in to my tv audio and made some adjusting there to maximize our overall sound. To give you a comparison previous 1000W system we had volume around 10, now new is around 24... Volume controls always max out at a certain point, the old 1000W maxed out around 36 but used mostly around 10, the new Sony maxes out around 34, and we are using it around 24, so not a whole lot of leeway if and when needed, but since we plan on serious upgrade within about 3 years we will be moving this system to our bedroom which has no system at all just the tv volume... Hope this helps some folks to make a good decision. This is a great basic system for small spaces and does not have Bluetooth, etc... Excellent sound quality for a 300W system...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Very poor system, waste of money and time.

11/29/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The home theatre system does not have controls to adjust individual volume levels of any of its speakers. What is the meaning of home theatre and surround sound if you cannot adjust volume of each speakers to suit room dimensions and seating arrangement? Whatever is default, you have to listen. You also have to keep volume to max as many other users complained.
I have a Magnavox home theatre system which I bought for fifty dollars about six years ago. I can control volume of center speaker, woofer, surround/back LR, and front LR, ALL speakers in that system. I thought with tech advance and Sony brand name this system would have at least that much and beyond that but this system is total waste of money and time.
Extremely poor system.. I bought it today, wasted time in setup and found that it is worthless. It is back in the box ready to be returned tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Sure it does
Posted 01/29/2014
In the settings, you can adjust the individual speaker dB level. Then, when you change the master volume, everything is proportionally adjusted.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great sound sytem for a 12x12 room.

04/29/2012
By ,
Arnold, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a 22 inch vizio in my room and i wanted a music system to go with it... so i bought this. It works really really good in my room. Good amount of bass in music, hd quality on screen for not being blu ray. It was only 130 dollars. I didnt think my friends 500 watt sony sounded much better and he paid 190 for his. I am very happy with this system. the only thing i dont like is i cant hook up consols to it and the usb reader wont read ipods. It only reads usb sticks or sony products. Or just basic mp3 players. It does not read ipods because they are mp4 players not mp3. Kind of a downer but its still amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Jonesboro,Arkansas
Got a question..
Posted 11/25/2013
Does the DVD player work good & is it hard to hook up to the cable ? Got a 46 inch Sanyo on my wall in my bedroom & bought a Sound Bar for it, went & bought a seperate DVD player & got it to work but now my Sound Bar won't do nothing...sure need HELP>> Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
killeen TX
Hello
Posted 11/17/2013
Hi, Are you able to play music using mp player or flash drive? b/c i can only play cds and dvds....I am unable to hear sounds if netflix is connected.
0points
Customer Avatar
Cobb, Ca
No sound when streaming movies
Posted 11/08/2013
Why won't my movies (Netflix) come through my Sony DAV-TZ140. Regular TV comes through. I have a Samsung Smart TV & is hooked up through cable. Can someone assist, please?
Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Lynchburg VA
OK for small apartment
Posted 05/15/2012
It doesn't put out much sound and sub is not that big but for 130 i expect more than 300 watts.
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 10 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Review Girl

08/09/2012
By ,
Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was actually a good purchase i wanted something that wouldnt hurt the pockets yet would give me what i needed for my 3d tv and YES THIS HAS DONE IT... you hear everything from the tv even the behind sounds and thats what a surround sound should do to me. The mix of the sound is just perfect its like its not to loud or to soft its GREAT.... PLEASE GET THIS PRODUCT you WONTbe SORRY
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

look close before ordering........could be better

11/30/2013
By ,
western md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not even a headphone jack......missed it before i ordered
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

does what i was needed

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great quality sound system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Love my new Sony HOme Theater system

08/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is good quality home theater system. Overall love it...
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great sound system for small spaces and budgets

08/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing performance and value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good sound system

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this for a friend as a gift. It was hard to find one with good reviews that had an fm tuner included which this does. I had it shipped to one of their drop locations and it arrived quick. Instructions for pre-setting stations and other features aren't so much straightforward to understand but I figured it out after a while. It has too many audio equalizing features. I wish it came with the audio output cord so I can connect this as a speaker output on my tv. Overall Amazing sound quality and volume at a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good buy for the money!

07/14/2012
By ,
Springdale, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound for the money, love the FM channels, hook up is a breeze! Woofer really puts out the Bass. Controls took a little more timeto figure out. But, in all, darn good buy for $100.00 some bucks. Kind of stinks that Blue -ray is darn expensive!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

great sound

10/16/2013
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just redid my living room and im happy to add this piece. didnt use the dvd player but the surround sound was worth every penny. would highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

terrible sound

07/23/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Volume had to be extremely loud to even start to hear it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Very good product

06/27/2012
By ,
Bessemer, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for our church choir to use during practices. It plays the necessary cds very well and the sound is awesome. So far we haven't had any trouble with the unit and since it is not used all the time, I don't expect to. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

I guess you get what you pay for

12/19/2013
By ,
bunnyfufu
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here I was thinking "oh sony is a good brand" WOW I was mistaken. This system was a pain in the butt to set up, I had to have my little brother do it. And then once it was all hooked up 2 of the 5 speakers didn't even work. And the sounds quailty really is not that good at all, my TV speakers sound better that. The sub sounds like total poo I have purchased CD players that sound better than that. And the DVD play that comes built into it sounds really bad a high pitch buzzing sound, so loud I have to turn the system up past 20 just to not hear it. Don't Buy this system its a complete waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington DC
Posted 07/11/2014
Check the connection in the back and make sure all the wires are all the way in. Mine was working fine at first then the next time 2 of the 5 speakers had no sound. I reconnected the wires and made sure they were all the way in and now all speakers are fine and sound great, just like in the movie theater.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 132 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next