Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Experience 300 watts of theater-quality surround sound and upscaled picture performance from DVDs of nearly 1080p with this Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system. The 5.1 surround sound system with DVD player features five speakers and a subwoofer, as well as Dolby Digital,Dolby Pro Logic, and dts surround sound decoding. There's also a USB port to conveniently play back your music, videos, and photos from flash drives, MP3 players, digital cameras and computers on the Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.66 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
70
3 stars
34
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation75%145 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
174 Questions | 293 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
70
3 stars
34
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good value, but it doesn't work with our HDTV

01/07/2014
By ,
champaign, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After some major finagling, my fiancee was able to get this set up to work through his Xbox for Netflix, etc. and then through the dvd player/receiver, but we were not able to hook it up directly to our television-- also a Wal-Mart product: a Hiteker 37" flatscreen. You could say it's an issue with the television, but after reading other reviews and such on the internet when we were trying to figure out how to get everything connected, I found a number of people had the same problem, so it seems like a good thing to bring up. Before purchasing this sound system make sure you have the ability to hook it up. Our television didn't have the necessary audio outputs to connect to the receiver. We were able to run a cable that was HDMI on one end and RCA on the other from the Xbox to the receiver. Our movies are now awesome though! It's got pretty good sound. I know I jumped several times watching horror movies over the weekend because it sounded like things were coming up behind me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Digital through DVD, 1 R/L analog input, none else

06/13/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While unpacking this I noticed that it only has 1 analog input for connecting other devices. I wanted to be able to connect my digital (toslink) cable box and digital DVR to the sound also. I could have through the single analog R/L jack but for the money it should have at least one digital sound input. So I packed it up and took it back. If you only want good sound with the DVD player then this system is for you. With there being so many satellite and cable boxes with digital outputs, I can't figure out why Sony would design a product with such a narrow application. One digital coax or toslink input and this would be a great system for the masses. Now, it's only good if all you watch are DVDs. What a waste of potential, of course the whole range of this product line suffers the same fatal flaw, regardless of the wattage you choose.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. And we definitely appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, thank you for your feedback.Sonystyle
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sounds Good

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last minute purchase on line. Picked up right away and installed it at the house. Was pretty easy to put together. The surround sound is amazing. Can't wait for the Daytona 500.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Loud Enough

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure why so many reviews say it's not loud enough, or it's good for small spaces. I have a large living room, and it's more than loud enough. Has great sound, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi dapace, Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank your for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

wasn't impresses

02/25/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't find the home theater really useful. My husband couldn't connect the ps4 to the home theater. We were very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens02/26/2015
Hi Bubbles,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time. >Joffrey Sonystyle
From SonyListens02/26/2015
Hi Bubbles,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time. >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Greatest

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Dont have hdmi or optic inputs!

12/26/2013
By ,
Hobart, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and went home to hook it up to my Sony 50" flat screen. Well come to find out my up to date TV only has a digital optical output for sound and this product has only stereo rca analog inputs which anyone that knows sound, knows that it can NOT be true 5.1 surround sound. The only way that you could get real surround sound through this product is by playing a dvd. Not to mention it wasn't even that loud, not even enough for a one room apartment. I took this back and upgraded to the Sony 3D 5.1 surround sound for 130.00$ more and it was a huge difference. It has optical and hdmi inputs along with amazing features such as wifi, Netflix, and many more. Sound quality is amazing! I recommend paying extra for the SONY 3d 5.1 it is defiantly worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great Value

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this item I enjoy it very much.The sound is very crisp and works great. Only 1 thing I wished was different and that is the surrounding speakers were a little longer lines . But I do have a big LR. So just having them half way still sounds great.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi LouLou12345678, Thank you for that wonderful reviews and for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good for the pockets & ears

02/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's clear simple and easy to use which is what i like best about it, speakers sound great has a nice punchy little sub woofer along with it, only down fall i see in it is it needs more hook ups in the back i am unable to run my xbox through it due to no extra hooks ups which really sucks cause the main reason i bought this for but its ok i guess but for 129 bucks you cant go wrong, sony always has great sounding surround sounds and book shelf stereo's
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Good

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's good for the price
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

awesome

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hard to believe you get so much of everything for so little money! Power, internet browser, eq, bluray+3-d, awesome sound. I was skeptical about 1000 watts and these cheap looking plastic speakers but was amazed at how good they sound tech has come a lone way!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hey aldoger! We highly appreciate your feedback about this product. Thank for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Money in the Trash

02/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Talking about throwing money in the trash. I have purchased Sony sound systems in the past, but this one takes the cake. With the volume wide open, you still can hardly hear it. If you want surround sound for your living room, this is not what you want. Shame on me for not looking at all the reviews before purchasing. Don't waste the money on this.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens02/11/2015
Hi Judy, We're sorry to hear that. Pls try to increase the volume of the source itself or try other sources. for further assistance pls send an email to socialsupport@am.sony.com with your complete info. Thanks. -Anthony Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great Bang for The Buck

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's like getting a Stereo system that doubles as a theater surround sound system. Plays cd's, dvd's, built in FM tuner (20 pre-sets), and has a front usb port that plays files from a thumb drive. Great for audio books. The weakest part is the sound from the TV, but for a small room or bedroom its fine.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

worth it's price

01/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it easy to hook up to new t.v and cable. I am happy with the depth and quality of sound for a unit just under 100.00. Our previous system was alot louder, but it was now outdated in tech and was not compatable with our new t.v. So overall I would recommend it, Sony makes a reliable product, period!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great value and good sound

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought one for each of my boys so they could hook up to their playstations and they love the system. It was a great buy at $98 and free shipping!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Easy

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good sound. Easy to hook up and setup. Bass reflex is great. I would recommend this. the sound is 300 watts.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi papabear1296, This is the news we like to hear! Enjoy your new Sony Home Theater System. Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

compact

02/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
perfect for a small area
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

very good product for good price

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good system and very good price .
very nice of Walmart to keep prices affordable .
thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi hagiu, Its good to hear that you're happy with your purchase! Thanks for choosing Sony! - Ella Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Google product

02/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Item works good as we have one in two rooms.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Protect mode

01/05/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great sound but if you have it turned up it goes into protect mode a lot and shuts off.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens01/07/2015
Hello shanna12! We would like to recommend to try the steps available through the following link since it represents and possible solution to the PROTECT message showing on this unit: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39211/p/46871,74233,74650/c/65,66/kw/protect%20message ~ JeannetteSonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next