Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Experience 300 watts of theater-quality surround sound and upscaled picture performance from DVDs of nearly 1080p with this Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system. The 5.1 surround sound system with DVD player features five speakers and a subwoofer, as well as Dolby Digital,Dolby Pro Logic, and dts surround sound decoding. There's also a USB port to conveniently play back your music, videos, and photos from flash drives, MP3 players, digital cameras and computers on the Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.66 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
70
3 stars
34
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation75%145 out of 193reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
180 Questions | 300 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
64
4 stars
70
3 stars
34
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good value, but it doesn't work with our HDTV

01/07/2014
By ,
champaign, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After some major finagling, my fiancee was able to get this set up to work through his Xbox for Netflix, etc. and then through the dvd player/receiver, but we were not able to hook it up directly to our television-- also a Wal-Mart product: a Hiteker 37" flatscreen. You could say it's an issue with the television, but after reading other reviews and such on the internet when we were trying to figure out how to get everything connected, I found a number of people had the same problem, so it seems like a good thing to bring up. Before purchasing this sound system make sure you have the ability to hook it up. Our television didn't have the necessary audio outputs to connect to the receiver. We were able to run a cable that was HDMI on one end and RCA on the other from the Xbox to the receiver. Our movies are now awesome though! It's got pretty good sound. I know I jumped several times watching horror movies over the weekend because it sounded like things were coming up behind me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Digital through DVD, 1 R/L analog input, none else

06/13/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While unpacking this I noticed that it only has 1 analog input for connecting other devices. I wanted to be able to connect my digital (toslink) cable box and digital DVR to the sound also. I could have through the single analog R/L jack but for the money it should have at least one digital sound input. So I packed it up and took it back. If you only want good sound with the DVD player then this system is for you. With there being so many satellite and cable boxes with digital outputs, I can't figure out why Sony would design a product with such a narrow application. One digital coax or toslink input and this would be a great system for the masses. Now, it's only good if all you watch are DVDs. What a waste of potential, of course the whole range of this product line suffers the same fatal flaw, regardless of the wattage you choose.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. And we definitely appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, thank you for your feedback.Sonystyle
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Dont have hdmi or optic inputs!

12/26/2013
By ,
Hobart, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and went home to hook it up to my Sony 50" flat screen. Well come to find out my up to date TV only has a digital optical output for sound and this product has only stereo rca analog inputs which anyone that knows sound, knows that it can NOT be true 5.1 surround sound. The only way that you could get real surround sound through this product is by playing a dvd. Not to mention it wasn't even that loud, not even enough for a one room apartment. I took this back and upgraded to the Sony 3D 5.1 surround sound for 130.00$ more and it was a huge difference. It has optical and hdmi inputs along with amazing features such as wifi, Netflix, and many more. Sound quality is amazing! I recommend paying extra for the SONY 3d 5.1 it is defiantly worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great sound sytem for a 12x12 room.

04/29/2012
By ,
Arnold, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a 22 inch vizio in my room and i wanted a music system to go with it... so i bought this. It works really really good in my room. Good amount of bass in music, hd quality on screen for not being blu ray. It was only 130 dollars. I didnt think my friends 500 watt sony sounded much better and he paid 190 for his. I am very happy with this system. the only thing i dont like is i cant hook up consols to it and the usb reader wont read ipods. It only reads usb sticks or sony products. Or just basic mp3 players. It does not read ipods because they are mp4 players not mp3. Kind of a downer but its still amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Jonesboro,Arkansas
Got a question..
Posted 11/25/2013
Does the DVD player work good & is it hard to hook up to the cable ? Got a 46 inch Sanyo on my wall in my bedroom & bought a Sound Bar for it, went & bought a seperate DVD player & got it to work but now my Sound Bar won't do nothing...sure need HELP>> Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
killeen TX
Hello
Posted 11/17/2013
Hi, Are you able to play music using mp player or flash drive? b/c i can only play cds and dvds....I am unable to hear sounds if netflix is connected.
0points
Customer Avatar
Cobb, Ca
No sound when streaming movies
Posted 11/08/2013
Why won't my movies (Netflix) come through my Sony DAV-TZ140. Regular TV comes through. I have a Samsung Smart TV & is hooked up through cable. Can someone assist, please?
Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Lynchburg VA
OK for small apartment
Posted 05/15/2012
It doesn't put out much sound and sub is not that big but for 130 i expect more than 300 watts.
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 5 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sounds Good

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last minute purchase on line. Picked up right away and installed it at the house. Was pretty easy to put together. The surround sound is amazing. Can't wait for the Daytona 500.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Very poor system, waste of money and time.

11/29/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The home theatre system does not have controls to adjust individual volume levels of any of its speakers. What is the meaning of home theatre and surround sound if you cannot adjust volume of each speakers to suit room dimensions and seating arrangement? Whatever is default, you have to listen. You also have to keep volume to max as many other users complained.
I have a Magnavox home theatre system which I bought for fifty dollars about six years ago. I can control volume of center speaker, woofer, surround/back LR, and front LR, ALL speakers in that system. I thought with tech advance and Sony brand name this system would have at least that much and beyond that but this system is total waste of money and time.
Extremely poor system.. I bought it today, wasted time in setup and found that it is worthless. It is back in the box ready to be returned tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Sure it does
Posted 01/29/2014
In the settings, you can adjust the individual speaker dB level. Then, when you change the master volume, everything is proportionally adjusted.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Review Girl

08/09/2012
By ,
Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was actually a good purchase i wanted something that wouldnt hurt the pockets yet would give me what i needed for my 3d tv and YES THIS HAS DONE IT... you hear everything from the tv even the behind sounds and thats what a surround sound should do to me. The mix of the sound is just perfect its like its not to loud or to soft its GREAT.... PLEASE GET THIS PRODUCT you WONTbe SORRY
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Loud Enough

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure why so many reviews say it's not loud enough, or it's good for small spaces. I have a large living room, and it's more than loud enough. Has great sound, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi dapace, Good to know that you are happy with your purchase! Thank your for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Impressive......

07/31/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for our bedroom, and i must say, I AM IMPRESSED! The speakers are very small, but the sound is amazing. I agree with one reviewer who said its great in a room about 12'x12'..after that, you'll be disappointed. It is only 300 watts after all. Set up was very easy. I have it hooked up for TV AND computer. The only disappointing thing is when you are watching a program on TV, the volume in nearly maxed out, and still isn't loud enough, but when watching a DVD, it's amazing! I have an HD TV, and the TV signal is HD satellite. There are a few settings for surround, and for what you are watching/listening to. Example: Movie, or Music. I recommend this product..but i shoulda went with the 1,000 watt system..for me, the louder the better :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great Value

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this item I enjoy it very much.The sound is very crisp and works great. Only 1 thing I wished was different and that is the surrounding speakers were a little longer lines . But I do have a big LR. So just having them half way still sounds great.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi LouLou12345678, Thank you for that wonderful reviews and for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

wasn't impresses

02/25/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't find the home theater really useful. My husband couldn't connect the ps4 to the home theater. We were very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens02/26/2015
Hi Bubbles,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for your time. >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Even at this low price, the sound is disappointing

07/19/2014
By ,
New Providence, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this for a small, apartment living room; where my couch is within 6 feet of the TV and this sound system. You get no sound at all, until you are at about 50% volume; and, at full volume you have trouble hearing dialog if the air conditioning or dishwasher are running.
Part of the problem is that the system doesn't play nice with my Comcast box; so, I am forced to run the sound out of the Comcast box, into my HDTV, and, from the HDTV into the Sony sound system.
Even with the apartment totally quiet, softly spoken dialog is often unintelligible; and, even louder dialog is muddy/mushy. I've tried all the presets; but, none really makes a difference. Even though this is just 300W, I expect better volume than this.
I am very sorry I didn't invest another $50 for a better system with (at least) 1000W. In any case, I couldn't possibly recommend this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Good

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's good for the price
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

awesome

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hard to believe you get so much of everything for so little money! Power, internet browser, eq, bluray+3-d, awesome sound. I was skeptical about 1000 watts and these cheap looking plastic speakers but was amazed at how good they sound tech has come a lone way!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hey aldoger! We highly appreciate your feedback about this product. Thank for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good buy for the money!

07/14/2012
By ,
Springdale, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound for the money, love the FM channels, hook up is a breeze! Woofer really puts out the Bass. Controls took a little more timeto figure out. But, in all, darn good buy for $100.00 some bucks. Kind of stinks that Blue -ray is darn expensive!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Greatest

02/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

worth it's price

01/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it easy to hook up to new t.v and cable. I am happy with the depth and quality of sound for a unit just under 100.00. Our previous system was alot louder, but it was now outdated in tech and was not compatable with our new t.v. So overall I would recommend it, Sony makes a reliable product, period!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good for the pockets & ears

02/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's clear simple and easy to use which is what i like best about it, speakers sound great has a nice punchy little sub woofer along with it, only down fall i see in it is it needs more hook ups in the back i am unable to run my xbox through it due to no extra hooks ups which really sucks cause the main reason i bought this for but its ok i guess but for 129 bucks you cant go wrong, sony always has great sounding surround sounds and book shelf stereo's
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great value and good sound

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought one for each of my boys so they could hook up to their playstations and they love the system. It was a great buy at $98 and free shipping!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Easy

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good sound. Easy to hook up and setup. Bass reflex is great. I would recommend this. the sound is 300 watts.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi papabear1296, This is the news we like to hear! Enjoy your new Sony Home Theater System. Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 158 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next