Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Experience 300 watts of theater-quality surround sound and upscaled picture performance from DVDs of nearly 1080p with this Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system. The 5.1 surround sound system with DVD player features five speakers and a subwoofer, as well as Dolby Digital,Dolby Pro Logic, and dts surround sound decoding. There's also a USB port to conveniently play back your music, videos, and photos from flash drives, MP3 players, digital cameras and computers on the Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.645 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(152 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
52
3 stars
30
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation76%115 out of 151reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
129 Questions | 189 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
52
3 stars
30
2 stars
10
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good value, but it doesn't work with our HDTV

01/07/2014
By ,
champaign, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After some major finagling, my fiancee was able to get this set up to work through his Xbox for Netflix, etc. and then through the dvd player/receiver, but we were not able to hook it up directly to our television-- also a Wal-Mart product: a Hiteker 37" flatscreen. You could say it's an issue with the television, but after reading other reviews and such on the internet when we were trying to figure out how to get everything connected, I found a number of people had the same problem, so it seems like a good thing to bring up. Before purchasing this sound system make sure you have the ability to hook it up. Our television didn't have the necessary audio outputs to connect to the receiver. We were able to run a cable that was HDMI on one end and RCA on the other from the Xbox to the receiver. Our movies are now awesome though! It's got pretty good sound. I know I jumped several times watching horror movies over the weekend because it sounded like things were coming up behind me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Dont have hdmi or optic inputs!

12/26/2013
By ,
Hobart, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and went home to hook it up to my Sony 50" flat screen. Well come to find out my up to date TV only has a digital optical output for sound and this product has only stereo rca analog inputs which anyone that knows sound, knows that it can NOT be true 5.1 surround sound. The only way that you could get real surround sound through this product is by playing a dvd. Not to mention it wasn't even that loud, not even enough for a one room apartment. I took this back and upgraded to the Sony 3D 5.1 surround sound for 130.00$ more and it was a huge difference. It has optical and hdmi inputs along with amazing features such as wifi, Netflix, and many more. Sound quality is amazing! I recommend paying extra for the SONY 3d 5.1 it is defiantly worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Very poor system, waste of money and time.

11/29/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The home theatre system does not have controls to adjust individual volume levels of any of its speakers. What is the meaning of home theatre and surround sound if you cannot adjust volume of each speakers to suit room dimensions and seating arrangement? Whatever is default, you have to listen. You also have to keep volume to max as many other users complained.
I have a Magnavox home theatre system which I bought for fifty dollars about six years ago. I can control volume of center speaker, woofer, surround/back LR, and front LR, ALL speakers in that system. I thought with tech advance and Sony brand name this system would have at least that much and beyond that but this system is total waste of money and time.
Extremely poor system.. I bought it today, wasted time in setup and found that it is worthless. It is back in the box ready to be returned tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Sure it does
Posted 01/29/2014
In the settings, you can adjust the individual speaker dB level. Then, when you change the master volume, everything is proportionally adjusted.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

look close before ordering........could be better

11/30/2013
By ,
western md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
not even a headphone jack......missed it before i ordered
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good sound

03/21/2014
By ,
queen creek az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good value for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Impressive......

07/31/2012
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for our bedroom, and i must say, I AM IMPRESSED! The speakers are very small, but the sound is amazing. I agree with one reviewer who said its great in a room about 12'x12'..after that, you'll be disappointed. It is only 300 watts after all. Set up was very easy. I have it hooked up for TV AND computer. The only disappointing thing is when you are watching a program on TV, the volume in nearly maxed out, and still isn't loud enough, but when watching a DVD, it's amazing! I have an HD TV, and the TV signal is HD satellite. There are a few settings for surround, and for what you are watching/listening to. Example: Movie, or Music. I recommend this product..but i shoulda went with the 1,000 watt system..for me, the louder the better :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

NEED EXPENSIVE EQUIPMENT TO GET IT TO WORK

12/08/2013
By ,
Mebane NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It only has a red and white in with no digital audio coaxial in doesn't hook up properly to a lot of the newer tvs. Needed 60.00 in equipment to make it work, spent 20 and got a much nicer system that does so much more.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

I guess you get what you pay for

12/19/2013
By ,
bunnyfufu
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here I was thinking "oh sony is a good brand" WOW I was mistaken. This system was a pain in the butt to set up, I had to have my little brother do it. And then once it was all hooked up 2 of the 5 speakers didn't even work. And the sounds quailty really is not that good at all, my TV speakers sound better that. The sub sounds like total poo I have purchased CD players that sound better than that. And the DVD play that comes built into it sounds really bad a high pitch buzzing sound, so loud I have to turn the system up past 20 just to not hear it. Don't Buy this system its a complete waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great sound sytem for a 12x12 room.

04/29/2012
By ,
Arnold, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a 22 inch vizio in my room and i wanted a music system to go with it... so i bought this. It works really really good in my room. Good amount of bass in music, hd quality on screen for not being blu ray. It was only 130 dollars. I didnt think my friends 500 watt sony sounded much better and he paid 190 for his. I am very happy with this system. the only thing i dont like is i cant hook up consols to it and the usb reader wont read ipods. It only reads usb sticks or sony products. Or just basic mp3 players. It does not read ipods because they are mp4 players not mp3. Kind of a downer but its still amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Jonesboro,Arkansas
Got a question..
Posted 11/25/2013
Does the DVD player work good & is it hard to hook up to the cable ? Got a 46 inch Sanyo on my wall in my bedroom & bought a Sound Bar for it, went & bought a seperate DVD player & got it to work but now my Sound Bar won't do nothing...sure need HELP>> Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
killeen TX
Hello
Posted 11/17/2013
Hi, Are you able to play music using mp player or flash drive? b/c i can only play cds and dvds....I am unable to hear sounds if netflix is connected.
0points
Customer Avatar
Cobb, Ca
No sound when streaming movies
Posted 11/08/2013
Why won't my movies (Netflix) come through my Sony DAV-TZ140. Regular TV comes through. I have a Samsung Smart TV & is hooked up through cable. Can someone assist, please?
Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Lynchburg VA
OK for small apartment
Posted 05/15/2012
It doesn't put out much sound and sub is not that big but for 130 i expect more than 300 watts.
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 10 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Review Girl

08/09/2012
By ,
Milwaukee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was actually a good purchase i wanted something that wouldnt hurt the pockets yet would give me what i needed for my 3d tv and YES THIS HAS DONE IT... you hear everything from the tv even the behind sounds and thats what a surround sound should do to me. The mix of the sound is just perfect its like its not to loud or to soft its GREAT.... PLEASE GET THIS PRODUCT you WONTbe SORRY
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

great sound

10/16/2013
By ,
Seattle, Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just redid my living room and im happy to add this piece. didnt use the dvd player but the surround sound was worth every penny. would highly recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Good starter system

03/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I thought it was about time to get a surround sound system for my living room, but did not want anything to extravagant. This is a great beginners system as the sound is ample enough without being overpowering. I wish it would have a jack for an auxiliary cord so that i could connect an outside source to play music, but overall pleased with the system for the price.
Delivery was swift and arrived on the date they stated.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good buy for the money!

07/14/2012
By ,
Springdale, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great sound for the money, love the FM channels, hook up is a breeze! Woofer really puts out the Bass. Controls took a little more timeto figure out. But, in all, darn good buy for $100.00 some bucks. Kind of stinks that Blue -ray is darn expensive!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

A WHOLE NEW TV

01/22/2014
By ,
MPLS,MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Though inexpensive, this Sony system gives decent surround sound with great base. The speaker wires are short for a large room and the front/rear speakers are small. They still put out good sound and the added subwoofer completes the package. Great for movies, football games, and also playing music CD's. Makes my 50" TV our movie theatre, I'm pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great Product

01/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my boyfriend was putting the system together he couldn't get it to work but eventually we figured it out. The sound is amazing. All I needed was an hdmi cord. That was it. The only weird thing is you need to turn it up high to get a great sound. Other than that it's easy to use and the sound quality is amazing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Very good product

06/27/2012
By ,
Bessemer, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this item for our church choir to use during practices. It plays the necessary cds very well and the sound is awesome. So far we haven't had any trouble with the unit and since it is not used all the time, I don't expect to. Very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Definitely worth it when it was 99$

01/06/2014
By ,
new windsor , NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
worth the money you WILL NOT be disapointed if you have a average to small room and want a stereo /dvd player
WARNING : if you have a larger room the cords that are attached to the speakers arent extremely long.
sub-woofer isnt too bad either
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sony Sound System Meets Our Needs!

01/01/2014
By ,
Arnold, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this Sony Home Theater Surround System as a replacement for our 10 year old Sony Home Theater System. It was easy for my husband to set up and works perfectly with our other components. Once you've experienced surround sound, nothing else sounds good enough! This is a great system at a budget price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

No SPDIF

12/30/2013
By ,
Omaha, Ne.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It seemed like a nice unit until I went to connect it. You can connect it to your t.v., but, you can't connect your t.v. to it. It would have taken another $60 in equipment to do that and then you would only have analog sound. An SPDIF jack would have fixed that. SPDIF is Sony's baby. Why isn't it there? I'm going to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

i like it

01/07/2014
By ,
ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great,in a 12x20 room.no screen dode ,didnt have a HDMI cable with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next