Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sony Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Experience 300 watts of theater-quality surround sound and upscaled picture performance from DVDs of nearly 1080p with this Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system. The 5.1 surround sound system with DVD player features five speakers and a subwoofer, as well as Dolby Digital,Dolby Pro Logic, and dts surround sound decoding. There's also a USB port to conveniently play back your music, videos, and photos from flash drives, MP3 players, digital cameras and computers on the Sony DAV-TZ140 home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.663 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
67
3 stars
34
2 stars
13
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation75%140 out of 186reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
174 Questions | 292 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
67
3 stars
34
2 stars
13
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

good value, but it doesn't work with our HDTV

01/07/2014
By ,
champaign, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After some major finagling, my fiancee was able to get this set up to work through his Xbox for Netflix, etc. and then through the dvd player/receiver, but we were not able to hook it up directly to our television-- also a Wal-Mart product: a Hiteker 37" flatscreen. You could say it's an issue with the television, but after reading other reviews and such on the internet when we were trying to figure out how to get everything connected, I found a number of people had the same problem, so it seems like a good thing to bring up. Before purchasing this sound system make sure you have the ability to hook it up. Our television didn't have the necessary audio outputs to connect to the receiver. We were able to run a cable that was HDMI on one end and RCA on the other from the Xbox to the receiver. Our movies are now awesome though! It's got pretty good sound. I know I jumped several times watching horror movies over the weekend because it sounded like things were coming up behind me!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Sounds Good

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Last minute purchase on line. Picked up right away and installed it at the house. Was pretty easy to put together. The surround sound is amazing. Can't wait for the Daytona 500.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Loud Enough

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not sure why so many reviews say it's not loud enough, or it's good for small spaces. I have a large living room, and it's more than loud enough. Has great sound, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Digital through DVD, 1 R/L analog input, none else

06/13/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While unpacking this I noticed that it only has 1 analog input for connecting other devices. I wanted to be able to connect my digital (toslink) cable box and digital DVR to the sound also. I could have through the single analog R/L jack but for the money it should have at least one digital sound input. So I packed it up and took it back. If you only want good sound with the DVD player then this system is for you. With there being so many satellite and cable boxes with digital outputs, I can't figure out why Sony would design a product with such a narrow application. One digital coax or toslink input and this would be a great system for the masses. Now, it's only good if all you watch are DVDs. What a waste of potential, of course the whole range of this product line suffers the same fatal flaw, regardless of the wattage you choose.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We always appreciate customers who take the time to give us their feedback. And we definitely appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Again, thank you for your feedback.Sonystyle
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great Value

01/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this item I enjoy it very much.The sound is very crisp and works great. Only 1 thing I wished was different and that is the surrounding speakers were a little longer lines . But I do have a big LR. So just having them half way still sounds great.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Good

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's good for the price
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

awesome

01/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hard to believe you get so much of everything for so little money! Power, internet browser, eq, bluray+3-d, awesome sound. I was skeptical about 1000 watts and these cheap looking plastic speakers but was amazed at how good they sound tech has come a lone way!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great value and good sound

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought one for each of my boys so they could hook up to their playstations and they love the system. It was a great buy at $98 and free shipping!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

worth it's price

01/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found it easy to hook up to new t.v and cable. I am happy with the depth and quality of sound for a unit just under 100.00. Our previous system was alot louder, but it was now outdated in tech and was not compatable with our new t.v. So overall I would recommend it, Sony makes a reliable product, period!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Easy

01/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Surprisingly good sound. Easy to hook up and setup. Bass reflex is great. I would recommend this. the sound is 300 watts.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

very good product for good price

01/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good system and very good price .
very nice of Walmart to keep prices affordable .
thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Protect mode

01/05/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great sound but if you have it turned up it goes into protect mode a lot and shuts off.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens01/07/2015
Hello shanna12! We would like to recommend to try the steps available through the following link since it represents and possible solution to the PROTECT message showing on this unit: https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/39211/p/46871,74233,74650/c/65,66/kw/protect%20message ~ JeannetteSonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

A great system for the money

01/25/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 10 years, I had to finally replace my home theater system with a new one. You can't beat the price and where I only use it for DVD movies, I would have to say this is perfect. For those who wrote comments that were negative due to it "missing important features" you might want to look to the more expensive units. But for my needs, this new player is PERFECTION and I would recommend to anyone I know. I am 100% completely happy with my unit and it solves all of my needs
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great product

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this system for our small living room. I read reviews and was kind of surprised about how well it works for us. We love the sound and we are able to listen to the radio and play CD's. Very easy to install. I am not sure how well it would work in a bigger home but it works perfect for us.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Dont have hdmi or optic inputs!

12/26/2013
By ,
Hobart, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and went home to hook it up to my Sony 50" flat screen. Well come to find out my up to date TV only has a digital optical output for sound and this product has only stereo rca analog inputs which anyone that knows sound, knows that it can NOT be true 5.1 surround sound. The only way that you could get real surround sound through this product is by playing a dvd. Not to mention it wasn't even that loud, not even enough for a one room apartment. I took this back and upgraded to the Sony 3D 5.1 surround sound for 130.00$ more and it was a huge difference. It has optical and hdmi inputs along with amazing features such as wifi, Netflix, and many more. Sound quality is amazing! I recommend paying extra for the SONY 3d 5.1 it is defiantly worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

NICE LITTLE UNIT

01/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DVD PLAYER WORKS GOOD .FM RADIO COME IN GOOD SOUND IS GOOD STILL PLAYING AROUND WITH IT THINK IT BE OK AFTER I GET IT TUNE IN
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Very poor system, waste of money and time.

11/29/2013
By ,
OKC, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The home theatre system does not have controls to adjust individual volume levels of any of its speakers. What is the meaning of home theatre and surround sound if you cannot adjust volume of each speakers to suit room dimensions and seating arrangement? Whatever is default, you have to listen. You also have to keep volume to max as many other users complained.
I have a Magnavox home theatre system which I bought for fifty dollars about six years ago. I can control volume of center speaker, woofer, surround/back LR, and front LR, ALL speakers in that system. I thought with tech advance and Sony brand name this system would have at least that much and beyond that but this system is total waste of money and time.
Extremely poor system.. I bought it today, wasted time in setup and found that it is worthless. It is back in the box ready to be returned tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sarasota, FL
Sure it does
Posted 01/29/2014
In the settings, you can adjust the individual speaker dB level. Then, when you change the master volume, everything is proportionally adjusted.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Even at this low price, the sound is disappointing

07/19/2014
By ,
New Providence, NJ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this for a small, apartment living room; where my couch is within 6 feet of the TV and this sound system. You get no sound at all, until you are at about 50% volume; and, at full volume you have trouble hearing dialog if the air conditioning or dishwasher are running.
Part of the problem is that the system doesn't play nice with my Comcast box; so, I am forced to run the sound out of the Comcast box, into my HDTV, and, from the HDTV into the Sony sound system.
Even with the apartment totally quiet, softly spoken dialog is often unintelligible; and, even louder dialog is muddy/mushy. I've tried all the presets; but, none really makes a difference. Even though this is just 300W, I expect better volume than this.
I am very sorry I didn't invest another $50 for a better system with (at least) 1000W. In any case, I couldn't possibly recommend this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Performance

01/11/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Both the center and subwoofers are not working and I 'm not getting any color showing.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens01/12/2015
Hi Dsugar,
We appreciate bringing this to our attention and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. Please reach us out at socialsupport@am.sony.com. Let us see what we can do to help you. Thanks. >JoffreySonystyle
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DAV-TZ140 5.1 CH Home Theater Surround Sound System with DVD Player

Great sound sytem for a 12x12 room.

04/29/2012
By ,
Arnold, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a 22 inch vizio in my room and i wanted a music system to go with it... so i bought this. It works really really good in my room. Good amount of bass in music, hd quality on screen for not being blu ray. It was only 130 dollars. I didnt think my friends 500 watt sony sounded much better and he paid 190 for his. I am very happy with this system. the only thing i dont like is i cant hook up consols to it and the usb reader wont read ipods. It only reads usb sticks or sony products. Or just basic mp3 players. It does not read ipods because they are mp4 players not mp3. Kind of a downer but its still amazing!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Jonesboro,Arkansas
Got a question..
Posted 11/25/2013
Does the DVD player work good & is it hard to hook up to the cable ? Got a 46 inch Sanyo on my wall in my bedroom & bought a Sound Bar for it, went & bought a seperate DVD player & got it to work but now my Sound Bar won't do nothing...sure need HELP>> Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
killeen TX
Hello
Posted 11/17/2013
Hi, Are you able to play music using mp player or flash drive? b/c i can only play cds and dvds....I am unable to hear sounds if netflix is connected.
0points
Customer Avatar
Cobb, Ca
No sound when streaming movies
Posted 11/08/2013
Why won't my movies (Netflix) come through my Sony DAV-TZ140. Regular TV comes through. I have a Samsung Smart TV & is hooked up through cable. Can someone assist, please?
Thanks
0points
Customer Avatar
Lynchburg VA
OK for small apartment
Posted 05/15/2012
It doesn't put out much sound and sub is not that big but for 130 i expect more than 300 watts.
-2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
1-20 of 151 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next