Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.216 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(259 Reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
66
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation87%206 out of 236reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
56 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
151
4 stars
66
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

GREAT FOR Everyone!

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crisp images. Beautiful general pictures. Tremendous machine! A Must Recommended Item. Small, Sleek, Elegant Black & Convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony DVD Player

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the instructions to set it up had gone a step further, we'd have had no problem, but they don't say anything about what to do once the player is hooked up; that's the only reason I didn't give this a complete 5 star rating. After you hook it up according to the picture instructions that come with the player, you have to then go to your TV's Remote and press "Input" and then make sure you've highlighted HDMI2. Possibly on your TV it might be another line, but you just have to try each one, then hit Play on the DVD's Remote. A neighbor had to point out those facts, which he learned when hooking up his DVD player. Even when you Google asking how to set up a DVD player, they don't go that one step further. A royal pain in the butt...otherwise, this is a GREAT DVD player and at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Love it!

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this DVD player. It was very reasonable and the picture quality is awesome. It was easy to setup and it's easy to use. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because when I ordered it I wasn't aware tht this HD player didn't come with the HD cord. Tht makes no sense to me and wasn't in the description. Luckily I had one or I would've been upset if I had to pay for another one and then wait to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+87points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

AMAZING!

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just bought an HD Tv with 1080p. When we would play movies with our ten year plus old dvd player they just looked a touch blurry and you could see pixels with fast movement. We thought for $40.00 it would be worth trying this dvd upscaling player. This difference is like night and day. Very exciting! Some of the reviews say that is breaks fast and easy but we just bought the 2 year warranty plan and figure it's worth the gamble. One thing we noticed is that old movies are not as clear and 3d like as the new ones. I think it's because they originally were VHS then DVD and trying for HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Simple, easy to set up and use

10/16/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Installation and setup were minimal. Price is a real bargain. It worked right out of the box, and you can't ask for much more than that. It's simple and straightforward. We attached it to a ceiling mounting bracket for use in our church fellowship hall, and actually used it to show about 8 hours of movies the next day. Worked great, makes an excellent high resolution picture using the HDMI connection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

lived up to expectation.

10/11/2014
By ,
Georgia, Atlanta
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for the price. Easy to set up and operate. Very good clear pitcher and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dvd player

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product - easy to set up and use
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony still makes good products

11/22/2012
By ,
Alma,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sick of all the bad reviews for this dvd player it's $40, of course it's not gonna have all the options on it, if you want a better dvd player you're gonna have to step up to one that's at lease $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Inexpensive but lasts only a short time

04/19/2014
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had 2 units of this model DVD player. When it works, it is easy to use and does a great job. The 1st unit only lasted about 6 months. Because it was so inexpensive I got another one. The unit I currently have does not work properly anymore (after about 8 months). Right now the remote only works after the DVD is playing. Getting the player to turn on and actually play takes several minutes of manual on-off and pushing play and pushing eject several times. I use it infrequently, but the warranty is only 90 days. I am thinking of getting another throw-away unit because of the cheap price. I hate electronics in our landfills, but I really think this is how products are now designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Totally agree
Posted 05/29/2014
I've only had mine since Christmas and for the last month it has been selective on which discs it will play. Now, it won't play anything. I'm pretty disappointed. I have an e-mail into the online Wal-Mart to see if they will replace it. I'm not holding my breath!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Awesome that's all I can say

09/30/2014
By ,
Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to hook up Great pictur
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

great dvd player

09/28/2014
By ,
Durham, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dvd player
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good for about 1 year

12/18/2013
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit failed after just over one year of use. It will no longer load a DVD, even brand new ones. I called Sony support and after trying many fixes it did work on one new DVD but took about 8 min. to load it. After the call, it would once again not load any DVDs. I could not buy an extended warranty from Walmart because the item cost less than $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.

07/28/2012
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nice Player

01/29/2014
By ,
Parma, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The player is nice, the only problem is you don't get the HDMI cable in the box. Luckily I had one here otherwise I would have had to go back out and buy one. It is super easy to hook up and then make sure it is set up correctly with the TV. My suggestion is to put on the description that NO cable comes with it. You do have color coded cable, but that is for the volume only and NOT the HDMI, a little deceiving. I haven't used the dvd player yet other than to make sure something came on the tv and that it was hooked up correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/27/2014
The colored cables are RCA cables, which do transmit both video and audio to your TV, just not in High Def like the HDMI cable you purchased separately.
0points
Customer Avatar
Elko, NV
Re HDMI cable
Posted 03/06/2014
Very few brands include HDMI cables. It's not just Sony. If you are going to dock a star for that then almost all players will be docked a star.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
1-20 of 201 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next