Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation89%153 out of 172reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions | 129 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
47
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nice DVD Player

04/12/2014
By ,
Manassas Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had it for short time but so far it's working great. I have it hooked up to a 60" HD TV and many of the shows I watch were recorded in the 60's and 70's and it delivers a great picture. Very pleased it it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nice Player

01/29/2014
By ,
Parma, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The player is nice, the only problem is you don't get the HDMI cable in the box. Luckily I had one here otherwise I would have had to go back out and buy one. It is super easy to hook up and then make sure it is set up correctly with the TV. My suggestion is to put on the description that NO cable comes with it. You do have color coded cable, but that is for the volume only and NOT the HDMI, a little deceiving. I haven't used the dvd player yet other than to make sure something came on the tv and that it was hooked up correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Elko, NV
Re HDMI cable
Posted 03/06/2014
Very few brands include HDMI cables. It's not just Sony. If you are going to dock a star for that then almost all players will be docked a star.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nice little dvd player - easy to set up & use

04/03/2014
By ,
Elkton, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great little dvd player for the price. Easy to set up right out of the box. We were watching a dvd within 15 minutes (maybe even less).
Had to buy a HDMI cable which cost another $20+ bucks. Would have paid more for the unit if the cable was included.
Overall very happy with purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great product - great price...

03/17/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture crisp and clear
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+81points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent image and superior 5.1 sound.

02/01/2014
By ,
Malibu, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent DVD player but has no digital image for chapter or time expired.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good for about 1 year

12/18/2013
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit failed after just over one year of use. It will no longer load a DVD, even brand new ones. I called Sony support and after trying many fixes it did work on one new DVD but took about 8 min. to load it. After the call, it would once again not load any DVDs. I could not buy an extended warranty from Walmart because the item cost less than $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony still makes good products

11/22/2012
By ,
Alma,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sick of all the bad reviews for this dvd player it's $40, of course it's not gonna have all the options on it, if you want a better dvd player you're gonna have to step up to one that's at lease $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD Player

04/04/2014
By ,
AUGUSTA, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
N/A
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Disappointed in this product.

12/13/2013
By ,
Morris. IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We have another Sony DVD Player that we bought last Spring and it has performed very well. This unit (DVP-SR510H), however,did not perform nearly as well. Firstly, I assumed it would have a digital readout at the front allowing you to see how far along the DVD. It doesn't have it. Secondly, so far we have played 6 different DVDs and two of them froze up towards the end of the movie. After watching over an hour only to not be able to see the ending is very frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

great little DVD player

03/30/2014
By ,
Branson, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice player, reasonably priced, it is simple, not frills or anything like it, just plug it up and in - ready to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

quite better than mine...

03/26/2014
By ,
Summit, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thanks again for your,I am satisfied with what kinds have everything time I ordered,anything else I get from you gets better than what I can find anywhere else I have looked,lower prices that's what I really can't believe really can't believe that why, I always go here...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

I"ts what I expected very good quality of picture

02/19/2014
By ,
long island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I"ts what I expected, very clear picture and sound. Super easy hook-up
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great product for watching DVD

03/28/2014
By ,
Brandon, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

gift

02/19/2014
By ,
miami, fla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a gift for my son and he loves it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great product

03/26/2014
By ,
Chappaqua NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product I really like the small size of the unit and the ease of wiring it to the TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

I love my DVD Player

03/26/2014
By ,
Chicago, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my DVD Player, its one of the best ones yet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next