Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.292 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(390 Reviews) 357
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
100
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation90%329 out of 367reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
85 Questions | 206 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
100
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

so far so good

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs.
On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing.
The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs.
The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote.
Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+188points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

A fine basic unit for watching your DVDs!

04/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dual unit bit the dust, first the tape player and finally the DVD player; so it was time to go on the hunt for a new unit. I had an old tape player that still worked well enough, so all I really needed was a DVD player that had an HDMI hookup. This unit was perfect! It was easy to set up, the remote did not require an engineering degree, and the picture was great. This is the perfect unit for someone who has no need of all the bells and whistles, just wants to be able to watch a DVD now and then.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good Little Player

03/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boy, these DVD players keep getting smaller and smaller. Great space saver. Easy setup and use. I got this player specifically for the HDMI feature. As remote controls go, easy enough to use. Excellent picture on my smart TV. The only negative thing I can think of, the on/off indicator light is tiny. At a distance, hard to see. Otherwise, I'm very pleased.
As I have so many other options for content, I didn't want to spent a lot for something I would only use occasionally. This player fits the bill.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens03/11/2015
Hi ChitownLarry, good to hear that you're pleased with your purchase! You're feedback is appreciated too and will be forwarded to the proper department. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Ella Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great Machine

03/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD player. I use this in my workout room with exercise DVDs. Picture looks great, no hesitation when starting the DVDs or switching from on exercise to another.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens03/11/2015
Hi sucar, that's the kind of news we love to hear! Thanks for choosing Sony! Enjoy! - Ella Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player
12/07/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player
11/02/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality DVD Player product! Great Price and fast delivery.
For all my regular DVD's......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony HDMI DVD Player

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD player is a good unit for the price. Picture quality is very good and very easy to install.
Sony gives you a nice "Bang for your buck" on this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Basic Player

05/16/2012
By ,
Spring Hill, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For the $ this is a small (half rack) Dvd player. It also doesn't have any display except for a tiny green light next to the power button to let you know that it is on. I have run this DVD player for 2 weeks straight and it is quiet and does the job. Without the display, it is hard to trouble shoot a bad disc or if it is hooked up correctly. It is even difficult to tell the player is on with the small green light. I guess if you strip everything off a dvd player except for hdmi and digital out, this is what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.

07/28/2012
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player
03/09/2013
By ,
Las Vegas Nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I picked up this item at the will call desk at approx 10:00 AM, took it home, opened the package, connected it to my HDTV and attemped to play a number of different DVDs, I continually got a message on the screen (This DVD Can Not Be Played Due To Area Restrictions) I then called the Sony help number, talked to a tech rep who talked me thtough a procedure to reset the player, it did not change anything, and the rep told me it was a defective unit, I returned it to Walmart within a couple of hours of when I picked it up. I have ordered other items from Walmart and have never had a problem, This Sony DVD player appears to be a bummer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington, DC
I'm having the same problem.
Posted 03/10/2013
I got mine yesterday and every time I try to play a DVD I get a message that "this DVD cannot be played"; so I'm taking it back tomorrow for something else.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Inexpensive but lasts only a short time

04/19/2014
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had 2 units of this model DVD player. When it works, it is easy to use and does a great job. The 1st unit only lasted about 6 months. Because it was so inexpensive I got another one. The unit I currently have does not work properly anymore (after about 8 months). Right now the remote only works after the DVD is playing. Getting the player to turn on and actually play takes several minutes of manual on-off and pushing play and pushing eject several times. I use it infrequently, but the warranty is only 90 days. I am thinking of getting another throw-away unit because of the cheap price. I hate electronics in our landfills, but I really think this is how products are now designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Totally agree
Posted 05/29/2014
I've only had mine since Christmas and for the last month it has been selective on which discs it will play. Now, it won't play anything. I'm pretty disappointed. I have an e-mail into the online Wal-Mart to see if they will replace it. I'm not holding my breath!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony still makes good products

11/22/2012
By ,
Alma,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sick of all the bad reviews for this dvd player it's $40, of course it's not gonna have all the options on it, if you want a better dvd player you're gonna have to step up to one that's at lease $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good for about 1 year

12/18/2013
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit failed after just over one year of use. It will no longer load a DVD, even brand new ones. I called Sony support and after trying many fixes it did work on one new DVD but took about 8 min. to load it. After the call, it would once again not load any DVDs. I could not buy an extended warranty from Walmart because the item cost less than $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Love it!

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this DVD player. It was very reasonable and the picture quality is awesome. It was easy to setup and it's easy to use. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because when I ordered it I wasn't aware tht this HD player didn't come with the HD cord. Tht makes no sense to me and wasn't in the description. Luckily I had one or I would've been upset if I had to pay for another one and then wait to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 331 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next