Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.282 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(358 Reviews) 325
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
216
4 stars
92
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation89%299 out of 335reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
73 Questions | 188 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
216
4 stars
92
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

so far so good

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs.
On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing.
The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs.
The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote.
Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony HDMI DVD Player

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD player is a good unit for the price. Picture quality is very good and very easy to install.
Sony gives you a nice "Bang for your buck" on this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Giving SONY another chance.

12/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sony use to be the leader in consumer electronics. Once upon a time they made the very best CRT TV's and monitors, but over the last two to three decades they started farming out their manufacturing to third world countries that produced much less reliable products. I do think they are on their way back to higher standards, while in keeping with competitive prices. The Sony HDMI DVD player above is a great example of this. It's well made, quiet, smooth operation makes it a pleasure to use. No distractions to it while watching a movie. It's barely noticeable, and even the tiny green "on" light only gives the slightest hint the unit is in operation. The only thing I found inconvenient is that the remote can control the TV but has no function to change the TV channels. That means you are stuck using two remotes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Open Box at Full Closed Box Pricing

01/13/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased a DVD player as a gift for Christmas for my mom using the online ordering process with in store pickup. I was disappointed to find that the box containing the DVD had clearly been opened and very poorly re-sealed. I opened the box there with the representative and found the items to be in the box however they were essentially just stuffed into the box by whom ever returned it. I was left wondering why Walmart would let such a poorly packaged product un-inspected and not disclosed to the the purchaser be made available with no disclosure as an open box. I paid full price and so far the unit is working. I thought it particularly interesting that I was offered an extend warranty for a few extra dollars.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+141points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

A lot for less

01/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have bought this Sony for (2) reasons. Price is the first. Quality and picture is the second. HDMI allows for near HD picture even if you do not have an HD TV. The remote - unlike so many other brands -- is simple to use. Installation takes only minutes and the player is up and running. Because of the low price, I don't worry if it doesn't last a long time, which is one reason that I don't invest in the more expensive brands. Sony is one I can trust. This one has worked well for me, and at under $40.00, I don't know of any other that can give me the picture quality and ease of operation that I want.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

For a bed-bound friend

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this for a relative who is bed-bound, so her could watch DVDs. As he will not be playing Blue-ray, I did not choose an upgraded unit that allows that. He has used the player for about a month now, and has encountered no problems yet.. I installed it for him, and that process went fast and seamlessly. For the money, I feel this unit is a very good deal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

a real steal

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a new DVD player that was not too expensive and I bought this one because of the price. It is worth more than what I payed for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD player

01/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVD player and easy to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

NOT FUNCTIONING AS SHOULD

01/27/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HDMIUI function does not work as it should (does not AUTOMATICALLY TURNS ON TV IMPUT
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens01/28/2015
Hi Ram12345, The TV will decide on what input it will display. You must select the DVD as input on your TV. -Anthony Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Review of two

01/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased these at the last minute for Christmas for my girl's television sets. My oldest one says it works beautifully. From what I noticed the one I bought for my six year old works just fine, but my husband did have to put a HDM1 cable on her tv though. My only issue was Wal-Mart. They sent them on time like they said they would, but did not bother to pack them in a different box. They were sitting on my front porch in their original packaging which clearly stated that they were DVD players. I would have put both boxes into one large plain box Wal-Mart.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Dvd

01/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It appears to be a great product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

sony HDMI player extreme value for the money

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My DVD Player went out and had to buy a new one. Thanks Walmart for your low prices and great value. This product is great and very affordable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

No bells or whistles but it works great

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a low end DVD player this is the one. I needed one with an HDMI output and this one had the best ratings. No problems at all with it so far. I bought the 2 year warranty just in case, so I'll update this listing if I have an unexpected failure.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony HDMI DVD player

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was easy and simple to connect. it is playing very good.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great buy

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was an excellent buy and the price was great. A great purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony is the best!

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong with Sony! It was easy to set up and it's easy to use. I originally purchased a different no name and could not get it connected. I needed a player with HDMI and I chose Sony because of the name. It worked! You can't go wrong
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 299 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next