Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(216 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
57
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation87%180 out of 208reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions | 146 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
121
4 stars
57
3 stars
12
2 stars
5
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Love it!

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this DVD player. It was very reasonable and the picture quality is awesome. It was easy to setup and it's easy to use. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because when I ordered it I wasn't aware tht this HD player didn't come with the HD cord. Tht makes no sense to me and wasn't in the description. Luckily I had one or I would've been upset if I had to pay for another one and then wait to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Inexpensive but lasts only a short time

04/19/2014
By ,
Colorado
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had 2 units of this model DVD player. When it works, it is easy to use and does a great job. The 1st unit only lasted about 6 months. Because it was so inexpensive I got another one. The unit I currently have does not work properly anymore (after about 8 months). Right now the remote only works after the DVD is playing. Getting the player to turn on and actually play takes several minutes of manual on-off and pushing play and pushing eject several times. I use it infrequently, but the warranty is only 90 days. I am thinking of getting another throw-away unit because of the cheap price. I hate electronics in our landfills, but I really think this is how products are now designed.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Totally agree
Posted 05/29/2014
I've only had mine since Christmas and for the last month it has been selective on which discs it will play. Now, it won't play anything. I'm pretty disappointed. I have an e-mail into the online Wal-Mart to see if they will replace it. I'm not holding my breath!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD Player

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DVD player works good. Great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

you get what you pay for

07/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is low priced dvd player and performs as such. it has no front display panel. It has very limited connection options and most of all the mechanism works like a bottom of the line unit. it takes forever to power up, open and load a disc. picture quality is good for this price range, but the overall performance of the unit is equal to it's budget price. I kept this unit for 1 day and returned it for a higher end model. if you are on a tight budget and don't expect much performance wise, it might fit the bill, but didn't meet my needs or expectations
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Upgrades viewed older DVDs to near digital quality

07/22/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I verified this ability by playing Walker Texas Ranger season 1 on my new Sony DVD. They seemed washed out and fuzzy on my other DVD player but with this Sony DVD, the video is clear, colorful, easy to read credits as they are shone. I'm very pleased with my purchase. Price was less than expected for an outstanding player as this one and quality is excellent. Remote works close or far, from high up to low down, side to side.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony HDMI DVD Player

06/01/2014
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was real easy to set up and met my every expectation. Good value for the price. Has a feature so that if you turn off the movie part way thru when you turn the dvd player back on you can hit play and resume the movie. remote control is easy to use. very good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nice Player

01/29/2014
By ,
Parma, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The player is nice, the only problem is you don't get the HDMI cable in the box. Luckily I had one here otherwise I would have had to go back out and buy one. It is super easy to hook up and then make sure it is set up correctly with the TV. My suggestion is to put on the description that NO cable comes with it. You do have color coded cable, but that is for the volume only and NOT the HDMI, a little deceiving. I haven't used the dvd player yet other than to make sure something came on the tv and that it was hooked up correctly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/27/2014
The colored cables are RCA cables, which do transmit both video and audio to your TV, just not in High Def like the HDMI cable you purchased separately.
0points
Customer Avatar
Elko, NV
Re HDMI cable
Posted 03/06/2014
Very few brands include HDMI cables. It's not just Sony. If you are going to dock a star for that then almost all players will be docked a star.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good for about 1 year

12/18/2013
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit failed after just over one year of use. It will no longer load a DVD, even brand new ones. I called Sony support and after trying many fixes it did work on one new DVD but took about 8 min. to load it. After the call, it would once again not load any DVDs. I could not buy an extended warranty from Walmart because the item cost less than $50.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nice DVD Player

04/12/2014
By ,
Manassas Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had it for short time but so far it's working great. I have it hooked up to a 60" HD TV and many of the shows I watch were recorded in the 60's and 70's and it delivers a great picture. Very pleased it it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony still makes good products

11/22/2012
By ,
Alma,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sick of all the bad reviews for this dvd player it's $40, of course it's not gonna have all the options on it, if you want a better dvd player you're gonna have to step up to one that's at lease $100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Player is good, remote control not so good.

06/27/2014
By ,
Greensburg, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this Sony HDMI DVD player because my old DVD player broke down suddenly and completely -- freezing or distorting the picture. Because I was watching a DVD at the time and need to finish watching it that same day , I didn't have time to research my choices more thoroughly. I bought this model because it was available immediately at Walmart Online, and was the cheapest.
Pros:
Picture is clear, and does not skip or break up.
Good value for the money.
Cons:
1. the remote control is difficult to operate. It is very small, and when I press the forward button to move to the next "chapter" or "section", it often skips and moves it two chapters. Then, when I want to bring the movie back to the preceding chapter, it might skip 3 chapters back. Totally erratic behavior.
2. the button to turn the DVD player on does not always work. I have to press it several times before it turns on the player. Maybe I should sit nearer the TV...which defeats the purpose of having a remote.
3. It is difficult to tell when the player is on, become the green light is very tiny.
For the record, I wear glasses and see the picture on the TV screen very well. I also do not have fat fingers, which might cause me to press two buttons at once.
In conclusion, I would not recommend this to a friend unless he/she likes to sit really close to the TV, has tiny fingers and excellent eyesight. Because of these frustrating problems with the remote, I would not buy this player again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD

07/07/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super great DVD.. Price, setup and ease of use. If you need a basic DVD this is the model you want. Enhances the clarity of the picture. Can't go wrong with this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Dvd

07/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great Deal

07/02/2014
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't beat the unit for the price!! Very compact (which is what we needed) very easy to setup and delivery was super fast. We have purchased Sony products for years. The quality has always been good & lasts forever.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Too much interference

07/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I just returned the DVD player. There is too much interference and the buffering time is real slow. It could be my internet connection, but a SMART tv in another room works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Wanted a simple straight forward DVD player.

07/28/2012
By ,
USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just wanted a simple, inexpensive DVD player with no frills. Got what I wanted and it works well with my other equipmnt.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next