Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(295 Reviews) 262
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
73
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation88%240 out of 272reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 174 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
73
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+120points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

GREAT FOR Everyone!

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crisp images. Beautiful general pictures. Tremendous machine! A Must Recommended Item. Small, Sleek, Elegant Black & Convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great Price for HDMI

12/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this to go along with my new flat screen TVs. It was a great price and was easy to set up and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

My new Sony

12/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

ManCave Toy

12/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this DVD player to put in my workshop/Garage to play my CDs when I'm working on my projects. Works great and was a good price. Completely satisfied. Will also use it for DVDs as well.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great product for the money

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a fan of paying high prices for electronic accessories, because at some point or another, they will fail due to what I call "planned obsolescence". This is a great product for the money. Works well, very simple to program. Can't go wrong with it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great buy!

12/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it because my old combination VCR/DVD player wouldn't play the newer DVD's. It's really small, easy to set up and operate.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Easy Install

12/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was very easy to install. The picture is beautiful. I just love it.........
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Buy This!

12/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value! We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Unhappy customer.

12/11/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not purchase this as it only plays hi end commercial disc.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens12/12/2014
Hello TomCain, thank you for your message. In regards to your concerns, this particular model number of DVD Player supports a variety playable file formats. Here is a brief description:

Video: MPEG-1 (Cyber-shot data)
Photo: JPEG (DCF format)
Music: MP3 (except for mp3PRO)/WMA
(except for WMA Pro)/AAC/LPCM/WAVE

Supported extensions: “.mpg”, “.mpeg”,/ “.jpg”, “.mp3”, “.wma”, “.m4a”, “.wav”
Supported discs: DVD, DVD+RW/+R/+R DL (+VR mode), DVD-RW/-R/-R DL (VR mode/ video mode), Music CD/Super VCD, CD-R/-RW.

I kindly share with you the operating instructions: https://docs.sony.com/release/DVPSR510H_refguide.pdf

Best regards, Oscar.Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

HDMI Easy

12/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great, love the easy HDMI installation.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony does it

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works well. Wal-Mart has the best price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Well worth it

12/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compact and easy to hook up. Wish I had ordered the HDMI cable. Only analog cables come with it. Haven't watched a full movie on it yet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+110points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Very good value for the price

12/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to hook up and good picture and sound quality. Well worth the money!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Small

12/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the size of the player. I have another one just like our and that's the reason I didn't hesitate to get another one for my new TV .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 237 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  12 Next