Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.291 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(389 Reviews) 356
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
235
4 stars
100
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
30
Customer Recommendation90%328 out of 366reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
80 Questions | 199 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
235
4 stars
100
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
30
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

so far so good

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs.
On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing.
The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs.
The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote.
Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good Little Player

03/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Boy, these DVD players keep getting smaller and smaller. Great space saver. Easy setup and use. I got this player specifically for the HDMI feature. As remote controls go, easy enough to use. Excellent picture on my smart TV. The only negative thing I can think of, the on/off indicator light is tiny. At a distance, hard to see. Otherwise, I'm very pleased.
As I have so many other options for content, I didn't want to spent a lot for something I would only use occasionally. This player fits the bill.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony HDMI DVD Player

01/14/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD player is a good unit for the price. Picture quality is very good and very easy to install.
Sony gives you a nice "Bang for your buck" on this unit.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+155points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

sony hdmi dvd player

03/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
after replacing the first one I bought that had its remote sensor stop working, the second one worked for 11 days and then its sensor went.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great Machine

03/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD player. I use this in my workout room with exercise DVDs. Picture looks great, no hesitation when starting the DVDs or switching from on exercise to another.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

good

02/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Meet Our Needs

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted a quality HDMI DVD player to connect to the 24" Sceptre LCD TV that we also purchased from Walmart. Both item's are being used in our motorhome. The outdoor temperature the last few days was pleasant so we went camping. This gave us time to watch two movies. The DVD player worked well and so did the TV. We do own a Blu-ray player but it is picky at times playing a Blu-ray disc. Furthermore, Blu-ray discs are not always available. We feel like the Sony HDMI DVD player makes regular DVD's almost as detailed as our Blue Blu-ray discs.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+130points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

So far, so good!!

01/31/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only used this DVD player a few times, but I'm very happy with it. I gave Sony another try even though my last one started acting up after less than 2 years. No, I didn't get the Walmart warranty. I don't watch movies that much so I figured it would last longer than that. This time, I did the warranty. Anyway, it's working well. I like that it's HDMI..I haven't used that feature as yet, but the next time I watch a movie, I will. I want to see if there IS a difference with this option. It's not anything fancy, but it's just what I wanted. The price is great, can't beat it. I know, 'cause I looked around a LOT before getting it. I recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great player

02/19/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works Great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD player

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVD player ,great price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Nothing fancy; but, great for the money!

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a bargain shopper and this product fits the bill! Small and compact, easy to install and easy to use and the price is easy on the budget!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

did not live up to expections

02/14/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The info. says that it will play DVD+R and DVD+RW. However, it would not play any of our DVD+R recordings. Called Sony, they advised us to return it, which we did.
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens02/14/2015
Hi rphplb,
We appreciate bringing this to our attention and we are more than happy to take a look on this matter. Thanks. >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

great for hdtv

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for hdtv
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD Player

02/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No nonsense, plug in and play. Plays home burned DVDs perfectly. Clear fantastic picture. I love this player
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 330 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  17 Next