Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.237 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(274 Reviews) 241
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
163
4 stars
68
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
25
Customer Recommendation88%220 out of 251reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 169 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
163
4 stars
68
3 stars
13
2 stars
5
1 star
25
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

GREAT FOR Everyone!

09/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Crisp images. Beautiful general pictures. Tremendous machine! A Must Recommended Item. Small, Sleek, Elegant Black & Convenient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+102points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Love it!

06/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really love this DVD player. It was very reasonable and the picture quality is awesome. It was easy to setup and it's easy to use. The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is because when I ordered it I wasn't aware tht this HD player didn't come with the HD cord. Tht makes no sense to me and wasn't in the description. Luckily I had one or I would've been upset if I had to pay for another one and then wait to get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Good quality player

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because of reviews. After playing several discs it has proven to be reliable, no skips or problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

big quality, small package

10/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit to replace an older unit that had RCA jacks only. This one has both the HDMI and RCA jacks (red,white, yellow). I am using the HDMI connection and wow, what a difference. Both the picture and the sound quality are so much better. You have to furnish the HDMI jack. This one came with the RCA jacks.
I purchased a new led TV and some of the videos had picture quality issues. It seemed to be associated with the RCA connections. Well, the TV likes the new connection much better.
I've been using it for about one month so I can't speak to durability. It has flawlessly played every thing I've put in the tray, so far.
One complaint, however, no fluorescent display on the player. You have to call it up on the screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

EZ DOES IT!

11/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what we needed
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Great buy easy to set up

11/12/2014
By ,
New Haven Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just picked up this item from my Walmart store after ordering it yesterday evening.
I set it up in 10 mins and was impressed by all the features it offers beyond watching
DVDs. I intend to order a second one tomorrow and keep this one as a backup player.
You can't go wrong with this DVD player. It is nice to know if I want to do more with it
than watch DVDs I can.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+99points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony DVD player

11/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup. Works great, I have found no issues with it. I like that it also plays CD's.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Sony DVD Player

09/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the instructions to set it up had gone a step further, we'd have had no problem, but they don't say anything about what to do once the player is hooked up; that's the only reason I didn't give this a complete 5 star rating. After you hook it up according to the picture instructions that come with the player, you have to then go to your TV's Remote and press "Input" and then make sure you've highlighted HDMI2. Possibly on your TV it might be another line, but you just have to try each one, then hit Play on the DVD's Remote. A neighbor had to point out those facts, which he learned when hooking up his DVD player. Even when you Google asking how to set up a DVD player, they don't go that one step further. A royal pain in the butt...otherwise, this is a GREAT DVD player and at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

I'm satisfied with my purchase

11/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this DVD player for my workout DVDs. No skipping, easy to operate, a space saver. I'm completely satisfied with the my player.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

Satisfactory DVD Player

11/01/2014
By ,
Canyon Lake, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a DVD player with HDMI connection and this one was priced right, easy to set up, and plays fine. When loading the DVD you can hear the inner workings of the unit, but it's not noticeable while watching DVD's. Remote is easier to use than my old one and although the unit doesn't show the elapsed time, there is a button on the remote that will display it on the TV screen. We don't use DVD's often so only time will tell how durable it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

great dvd player for the price

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't know what the negative reviews are about but this works fine, and with the upscaling to 1080p with an hdmi cable, the picture quality is great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

not sure yet

11/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So far it keeps skipping, 2nd time using it
:(
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony HDMI DVD Player

great buy

11/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and plays great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 216 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next