Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.295 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(404 Reviews) 371
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
246
4 stars
102
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation90%342 out of 381reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
90 Questions | 212 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
246
4 stars
102
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

so far so good

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs.
On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing.
The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs.
The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote.
Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+200points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Works great!

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had no problems with it. From the first, everything has been fine. From our experience, I would recommend it. Great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

sony DVD player

05/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product was easy o install on our new TV and worked great to watch our old DVD's
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/20/2015
Hi Sweetlady56, I'm really glad to hear that you are already having a good time with your DVD player! Thank you so much for your kind comments and for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Great little Player

05/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It replaced an old one that quit working, very cheaply. I know they're not used much anymore, but I needed a replacement and this one works out fine, especially for the low prince.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/18/2015
Hi CMYKirk,
Good to know that you are happy with your purchase!
Thank you for choosing Sony! >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Great product

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love that it is very compact, works great, easy to use. 4 buttons - on/off, play, stop, and eject.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/17/2015
Hi LakeGirl,
We're really glad to hear that you are already having a good time with your player! Thank you for choosing Sony! >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Great product at a great price

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
How easy a set-up it is. Great Sony product for a terrific price.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/17/2015
Hi Charlie, we're glad that you're at ease with your purchase. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Ellla Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Great DVD player

05/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because of the price, but what I got was a great DVD player that did everything I wanted it to. I highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/13/2015
Hi DLSULL, Thanks for recommending our product and for giving us a perfect rating. - Jerome Sonystyle
From SonyListens05/13/2015
Hi DLSULL, Thanks for recommending our product and for giving us a perfect rating. - Jerome Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

DDD

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great for the value!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/15/2015
Hi Dunagan,
We're really glad to hear that you're having a good time with your player! Thank you for choosing Sony! >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

yup i like it

05/13/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This dvd player is good. I plays our scratched dvds really good
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/14/2015
Hi meee! We are glad that you like your new HDMI DVD player. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent Sonystyle
From SonyListens05/14/2015
Hi meee! We are glad that you like your new HDMI DVD player. Thank you for choosing Sony! -Vincent Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+167points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

DVD Replacement

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dvd player has worked fine since I got it simple to set up and good picture. I got it to replace the old one in the living room. To be honest I've had it now about 3 to 4 months and haven't used it that much I mostly use the blu-ray in my bedroom but this is a quality item and I haven't had any problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/07/2015
Hi gdolgal, We're happy that you are satisfied with the unit. Thanks for choosing Sony! - Jerome Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

great dvd for the price

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this for the spare bedroom for the grand kids and it works great. I even use it when my older dvd won't play certain DVD's and they play fine on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/08/2015
Hi bjwilli,
We're really glad to hear that you are already having a good time with your player! Thank you for choosing Sony! >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Great buy

05/01/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a really great product considering the price. I had a dvd/vcr combo and it finally gave out on me so I needed a replacement. This product does what I need it to and the only problem I have with it is when I am trying to open it to put in a dvd it has a delay time and sometimes I have to push the button twice. Not a big deal but that is why I gave it a 4 star rating vs a 5 star rating.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/01/2015
Hi kengle,
We do appreciate providing us these feed backs for the betterment of our product. We will pass this to the proper department. Thank you for choosing Sony. >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Excellent Basic DVD Player

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't want to spend much money this is an excellent basic DVD player. It comes with a HDMI port so it is very easy to connect.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/07/2015
Hi Jack! Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your opinion about your new HDMI DVD Player. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Vincent Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

DVD player

05/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A very good product
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens05/08/2015
Hi Grape37,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and for choosing SONY. >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player
12/07/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 344 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next