Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Sony Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

The Sony HDMI DVD player lets you experience near-HD picture quality and solid sound in a compact design. This versatile Sony DVD player features fast/slow playback so you won't miss a beat. You can even listen to your favorite CDs or tracks from your MP3 player through this HD DVD player.
Average Customer Rating:
4.285 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(438 Reviews) 405
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
111
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
35
Customer Recommendation90%374 out of 415reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 215 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
266
4 stars
111
3 stars
16
2 stars
10
1 star
35
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

works as should

09/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received this item in a nicely packed box that was in good shape. When I opened it I found a badly crushed box containing the dvd player and wondered if it would be damaged. Almost took it back to the store that way but needed to put it to use. it is working at this time so must be a tough little thing. Very surprised Walmart would ship such a damaged box. Remember the outside box was undamaged. Very surprised they would pack such a damaged box at the warehouse may think twice about online and Walmart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

so far so good

01/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this product instead of a blue ray player solely because I could connect to my stereo system. I use it more for playing CDs than I do for watching DVDs.
On the plus side it plays both DVDs and CDs well. On the negative side you must press the open/close button twice (unless using remote) to load the CD. It takes a while to load and then requires you to hit the play button once loaded. The DVDs will auto play - just load DVD and close door and it begins playing.
The description of the product says it will produce sound when fast forwarding or fast rewinding. I find this true only with the CDs and not with the DVDs.
The remote can only be programmed for a TV. I was hoping to control my amplifier's volume as I did with my last Sony 5-disk player. The old remote seems to be working this player just fine so I don't use the supplied remote.
Overall I say this product is worth it's cost and would recommend as long as you don't need all the bells and whistles.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens02/02/2015
Hi geodude. That is definitely the news we like to hear. Enjoy your new Sony DVD Player! Dave Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Excellent DVD Player

10/22/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little DVD player works perfectly. I'm always amazed at the nit picking reviews on an inexpensive item. If you want all the bells and whistles just go ahead and put $2 or 3 hundred more and get you a blueray player(bet money it won't work as good as this little player.#
Took all of about five minutes to plug in the power cord and HDMI cable and program the remote to also control my Samsung tv. I have used the player for about 8 hours a day for the first three days after purchasing and it works flawlessly. Near HD quality picture #with HDMI cable) and great Dolby sound.
If you want ease of use and an excellent inexpensive dvd player, this is a great buy. I'm very, very pleased with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+207points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Most reviews good; ours died in less than a month

06/02/2013
By ,
Madison, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most reviews that I could find were pretty good. Using an HDMI cable it was super easy to hook up. But from the first use, the scenes woud tend to freeze up. I could fast forward for a few seconds and it would once again play normally; assumed it must have been a scratched disk. Then it happened on the 2nd dvd, and again on the 3rd. Finally on the 4th use it froze and quit all together. Couldn't even get the unit to power down via the remote or the front panel button. Finally unplugged it. After plugging it back in, it would not power-up, eject the dvd or anything else. Finally had to unplug again and take the unit apart to retrieve my dvd. Another annoyance was that the remote only seemed to work about half the time. I assume that was also a symptom of the faulty controls in general. It was a shame, because it was very reasonably priced the upscaling produced a GREAT picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Terrific picture!

05/30/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to operate & great picture. It was easy to install and easy to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/01/2015
Hi WalkingGal, we're glad that you're at ease with your experience. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Ella Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

DVD Player

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/03/2015
Hi hcs9922! We appreciate your time and feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Vincent Sonystyle
From SonyListens06/03/2015
Hi hcs9922! We appreciate your time and feedback. Thank you for choosing Sony! - Vincent Sonystyle
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Sony DVD player

06/24/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I works well and was a good price. Delivery was prompt.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/24/2015
Hi Fred, its good to know that you're pleased with your purchase. We thank you for choosing Sony. Enjoy! - Ella Sonystyle
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works fine and great price, no need for anything more expensive.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Dollar for dollar the best choice.

06/09/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tiny green dot is the only display on the DVD player, which I found odd... However, for the price I paid $15 more than the cheapest DVD player so I could have the HDMI output option, which is very necessary for the future of owning electronics. This model also plays DVD+/-RW's and has Dolby Digital output, options other cheaper models didn't have....
The only reason to upgrade from this DVD player is if you want: 1) a DVD/VCR combo, 2) a portable DVD player, or, 3) a blue-ray player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+179points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingman, AZ
Problems after six months
Posted 06/22/2012
This is our second Walmart DVD unit that has gone bad within six months. Am very disappointed in the quality of the unit. At first it played great, then slowly it would not find the start up spot from previous stop, now it the remote seems to have little effect on the unit. New batteries in the remote so this is not the issue. Cheap component parts used in the unit has failed. The DVD player seems to have problems searching for scenes and when a scene is selected, the DVD player will lock up at times. Buy American meant good quality, buy foreign means the unit uses cheap parts and will break down.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

SONY DVD/CD Player

06/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great player, great price!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Best dvd Player for movie lovers

01/02/2013
By ,
Grants Pass, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this dvd player for Christmas for my dad. Not only did it arrive on time or that it was specifically what he wanted, but the quality was outstanding. It was easy to use, plus the choice between the HDMI or regular optic cables were very easy to set up. The thin sleekness to the player makes it great for Entertainment centers and open stands.
Best DVD Player for the Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

This product is excellent.

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD player works great. We are buying another for the bedroom!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Easy to Use and Well Worth the Money and More

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was easy to set up (to replace a friend's dead DVD player) and use and merged well with her Sony HD TV. It should come with its own HDMI cable and add the $10, but again this unit is well worth the money and more. They should stock them in the stores too !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

DVD player

06/15/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this DVD player for my camper works great just wish it had HDMI output on it
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/15/2015
Hi RZR800, Thank you for posting your review with us and thanks for choosing Sony. Nice to hear that you are having a great time with your DVD player. - Jerome Sonystyle
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player
12/07/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player works great and remembers the last time you had the disc in and what was playing. Great for changing kids dvd's many times a day. :-) It is quite sufficient for our needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

That's what I need.

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just want a simple, easy to use and cheap DVD player. I did some research and found this. After a day using it, I misplaced the disk and it stucked inside it! Then, I just used a screwdriver to open the top shelf and got the disk out. Very simple! Everything works fine so far!
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/08/2015
Hi Ahanababy, Thank you for taking the time posting your experience with us and thanks for choosing Sony as well. - Jerome Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

DVD PLAYER

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS A EXCELLENT PLAYER AND WOULD BUY AGAIN KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK THANK YOU.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/11/2015
Hi Jaida, Good to hear that you are satisfied on this blu-ray player. Thank you for trusting Sony. -Jen Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Great Product

06/11/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture, sound quality is excellent!!! I love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/11/2015
Hi CareBear, that's the kind of experience we wanted to hear and we're so glad that you're already having a good time with your DVD! Enjoy and thank you for choosing Sony! Dave Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

Has HDMI connector

08/22/2014
By ,
Me.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this DVD because of its HDMI connector. It is also a great price and I had no trouble setting it up. Great picture and easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony DVP-SR510H HDMI DVD Player

great features

06/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great price
Recommends this product? Yes
From SonyListens06/10/2015
Hi jimwag,
That’s what we like to hear!
Thank you for choosing Sony! >Joffrey Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 377 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next