Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

Dynamic, vibrant surround sound needs its freedom. With that in mind, this sleek, 3D Blu-ray surround sound system features a wireless rear surround sound speaker, which allows for nearly unlimited placement options, as well as dual HDMI inputs for increased convenience and flexible setup. This Sony Blu-ray home theater system provides immersive 3D and 2D Blu-ray playback in full HD at 1080p. This Wi-Fi Blu-ray system also makes it easier than ever to instantly stream an array of online movies, videos, TV shows, and music from Sony Entertainment Network, Netflix, YouTube, HuluPlus, and more (content may require fees; broadband speed of 10 Mbps required for HD resolution; wireless connectivity requires an 802.11 or 802.11n home network). Watch exactly what you want, when you want with this Sony Blu-ray home theater system.
Average Customer Rating:
3.836 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation66%21 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
37
4 stars
13
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

Nice System

12/23/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Getting it all connected was quick and easy thanks in part to the nice speaker wire connectors. The wireless rear speakers with their own little amp are great and there was no problem with the connection to them. It sounds real good and I haven't noticed any odd sounds coming from the bass speaker, like I think someone else mentioned.
The only problem I had was getting it to connect to our home network using any of the methods offered by the system, which are Easy Setup, Pin Setup and manual setup. On the second day of attempting to get it to connect I finally went to my computer to look for the answer, which I found.
I logged into my router, which is a Netgear N600 dual band router (WNDR3400), and started going through the menus, then I found it. When I found the answer the system connected instantly. This is where I found the answer for my router: Go to Wireless>Advanced>Advanced Setup>Wireless Settings. At the bottom of that page was a section called Wireless Card Access List and a button called Set Up Access List. When I clicked on that button I saw my wifes laptop, and our Sony Playststion in the list. All I had to do was add the Sony surround system to the list and BAM it was connected.
I bought this system online for in store pickup, the price was $429, but when I picked it up I got it for the store price of $350 which was really cool. I want to say that I don't usually give products a five star rating, but I really like this system and I think you will too. The picture shows the system and front speakers, along with the cable box, which is to the left. The speaker bases have screw slots and the speakers can be hung on the wall, or sit on the stand. I put screws in the stand to keep them from getting knocked off; we have hard floors.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 2 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

BY FAR BEST BUY OUT THERE FOR THE MONEY

11/06/2012
By ,
ST LOUIS COUNTY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLANT SOUND, EASY SET UP, WIRELESS REARS WORK PERFECT, SONY OUT DID THEMSELVES ON THIS PRODUCT. I WOULD BUY THIS AGAIN IF I NEEDED. WALWART HAS BEST PRICE ON THIS UNIT, WAS 479.00 AT THE STORE. THIS UNIT HAS NO DISTORSION AT HIGHEST VOLUME SETTING. THE DVD HAS PERFECT PICTURE AND REMOTE IS EASY TO USE. ONLY HAD SOME TIME IN PROGRAMMING FM PRESETS. OVERALL I GIVE THIS UNIT A EASY 10. AND I WILL RECOMEND THIS UNIT TO EVERYBODY. I HAD A HIGH END BOSE UNIT THAT THIS REPLACE FOR LESS THEN HALF THE PRICE AND BETTER SOUND. SOUND ON THIS UNIT IS CRYSTAL CLEAR, DIRECTIONS CLEAR FOR THE NORMAL PERSON TO SETUP. THANK YOU SONY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 3 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

Suprised I haven't been evicted!

07/03/2013
By ,
Lake Charles, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Here's the scoop on this gem, LOUD! As soon as I set everything up, I slapped in Clash of The Titans and I'll tell you, I thought the neighbors downstairs were going to pay me a visit. They probably didn't because they were enjoying the amazing sound clarity as much as I was! This setup is intense! It's an attractive package also, being all black and modern and stuff. The BluRay player itself looks like a PS3, which always fools my friends. I'll buy another one just to put in my bathroom. Yes, my bathroom. Peace.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 4 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

Great value!

05/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When our last "theater in a box" blew up, we tried 2 much more expensive systems (not theater in a box) but were not satisfied. Neither provided good separation of sound between the speakers even after making adjustments several times. So, we found this Sony and decided to try it. Glad we did. Sound is much better than the two more expensive systems, and the Blu Ray player has other features that we were looking for. The rear speakers are "wireless" because they do not have to be connected to the main system, but there are wires involved (must be connected to the wireless module which has to be plugged into an electrical outlet). We have a weak wireless signal in our living room (router is on an upper floor). but, even so, the rear speakers work great--no cutting on and off as someone else reported. For the money, you can't beat this system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

excellent sound

05/05/2014
By ,
Napa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just used it couples nights and it is great, easy to setup..WiFi, rear speakers are wireless and great sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Review 6 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

great its does what it says.

03/10/2013
By ,
Rockland, Me
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I love it the online media like YouTube and pandora are great. We bought the Sony after our old home theater quit and the sound quality is great and the picture is true hd on our 52''. This system would be hard for people who are not computer savvy or don't understand the online account setup but if you do the setup it does all work and really make for the best home entertainment experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

Not Impressed

10/20/2013
By ,
Southern VT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Love the look and price of this Home Theater System but right out of the box the screen flashed when on the Home Screen or playing a BluRay/DVD. The screen did not flash when used AppleTV through the HDMI port on the system, which doesn't make sense...Talked to Sony Technical Support and they have no product knowledge at all, I had to explain to them what AppleTV was. Im sorry if you are working in Technical Support you should know Technology...Needless to say after dealing with Sony on this system and not getting anything solved I will be returning the unit and finding something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 8 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

A great system setup is everything.

02/09/2014
By ,
Rockland Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had it for about two years we love it. The placement of the sub and front speakers is key to getting the best bass and sound don't just follow pictures experiment with it. We have the PS3 hooked up to it as well and it's great for gaming. All the wifi and streaming features work great we stream more than buy now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater
01/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GREAT SOUND...HOWEVER IT WON'T PLAY SOME MOVIES SAYS IT CAN'T READ THEM...ALREADY HAD A MOVIE GET STUCK IN IT AND IT FROZE ON ME.....TAKING THIS BACK AND GETTING MY MONEY BACK....2ND SURROUND SYSTEM I BOUGHT IN LESS THEN A MONTH FROM WALMART AND AM TAKING THIS BACK ALSO BECAUSE SONY STINKS....I WILL NEVER EVER BUY SONY ANYTHING AGAIN!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-12points
Review 10 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

Very good

01/01/2014
By ,
Canaan ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 11 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater

a good option for a basic system

05/07/2013
By ,
Hammond, In.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For a 1000w system it dosn't have the output that I expected. There is not much for you to adjust the sound. That being said the out of box sound is good. For the price its still a good bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater
09/22/2012
By ,
usa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works good base could be better crackle does not work all that good keeps going off line,on the wifi.everthing esle works ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
usa
sony bdv-n790w
Posted 08/13/2013
not loud for an 1000 watts, plays movies realy good and needs more base,crackle keeps going off line on wifi.i will give it 4 stars
0points
Customer Avatar
ST LOUIS COUNTY
BEST MONEY EVER SPENT
Posted 11/06/2012
AWESOME SOUND QUALITY WAS ON SALE AT STORE FOR $479.00 EASY SETUP - WIRELESS REARS SOUND PERFECT - HAD A HIGH END SYSTEM THAT DIED AND REPLACED IT WITH THIS UNIT. SONY OUT DID THEM SELVES ON THIS UNIT FOR THIS PRICE - SHOPPED ALL AROUND AND CAN SAY WALMART KILLS COMPETITION WITH PRICE
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sony BDVN790W 3D WiFi Blu-ray Home Theater
Based on the average of (61) ratings-only reviews
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5