Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Okuma Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Okuma Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

The Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel combines the best features and attributes of aluminum construction with lightweight graphite materials.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation90%9 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Great

03/24/2013
By ,
Medina, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product light and cool finish the 10 bearing really make it work smooth
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

TrioS Has Turned Me into an Okuma Collector!

05/27/2013
By ,
Miami, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've recently began a collection of reels and rods and I was drawn by the Okuma brand's looks and product development throughout the years. Yes, I have done my homework! One of my first purchases has been the TrioS 40 which I have strung up with a Monofiber wrap then attached Spiderwire 30lbs Braid. I attached the reel to the Okuma Tarvos rod. The size 40 is quite adequate for the type of fishing that I do around Biscayne Bay and I cheat by using the 30 Lb braid. Since the braid diameter is thinner than mono 125 yards fits easily on the spool. The TrioS performed flawlessly while fishing for snappers 2-6 lbs. Setting the drag was effortless and once done, cleaning was just as easy.
I was not satisfied with the performance of the Tarvos rod so I changed to a Abu Garcia Vigilante for my next fishing trip and cannot wait to test out this formidable combination as I wait for an Okuma Citrix rod I specifically ordered for this reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Great Mid-Priced Reel

07/06/2014
By ,
Medical Lake, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own two of the Trio 40s which I used for silver (coho) salmon here in Alaska. Two years and many hard-charging fish later and these reels still act like new. I filled both with 30 lb. Power Pro braid and mounted then to Okuma SST Salmon/Steelhead rods. The drag works exceptionally well, a must for my fishing. All other functions are smooth as silk. Their third season begins in about a month and I have no doubts as to how they will perform! I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Great new reel.

10/12/2012
By ,
North Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time buyer of an Okuma product. I sought out all reviews I could find. After buying this reel I was very impressed. It IS as advertised. Light, extremely smooth, quiet and well made. I purchased the 30 size "S" for high speed. It is fast!! First use handled bass and pike with ease with 8 lb line. I love this baby and am going to get another for my son. Price points are excellent, a lot lower than MSRP here at WMart. It is also a fine looking reel using latest technology. I would expect many yrs of service based on Okumas reputation
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Great Reel

07/26/2014
By ,
Grand Praire. Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Functions great and price was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Great reel

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great reel for salt, got the 30 and put 30lb power pro 150 yards casts perfect once the line is wet.. I have to slow down the reeling its prity quick, nice and smooth. Lil woried about not having stainless bearings, but no mater salt eats everything when you live at the beach eventually. rinse and take care of it. do not let it sit without a splash or two of fresh water.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel
08/13/2012
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
just as good if not better than many reels in the $200 price range will last for many year as long as you keep it clean matche perfect to my okuma citrix rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

$30 dollar performace in a $80 reel.

07/19/2013
By ,
Gibson, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This reel reminds me of the prototypes you read about in the "What's coming next year" section of fishing magazines. However, it must have gotten released too soon. It casts like a dream; but it reels in like a grade school science project. The gear ratio is so high, the bail MUST be operated by hand. If not, it binds so bad it feels like the handle will break before the bail closes.
The purists say that's how it's supose to work. Yet all of the 80 dollar reels, including the Trio bait feeder, operate as slick as can be. The drive pinion #the gear that the handle drives# is not supported and results in a handle feeling loose. The handle wobbles as a result. These excess clearances are generally the way the whole reel is designed.
To bad. This is like selling a fast car with no brakes. I also own an Okuma Epixor Baitfeeder. That and a Cedros Saltwater baitcaster reel. They are top shelf reels. The Trio Baitfeeder has similar clearance issues to the 40S except the bail can be closed by turning the handle.
I usualy manually close the bails on open face reels as a matter of practice. But, occationally, I like to use the handle.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

Great Reel , real smooth and high-speed retrieve

02/18/2013
By ,
Eugene Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I paired up my Okuma SST Steelhead pole with a Okuma Trio 55S . Nice fit, so smooth, ten bearings ,high-speed , tough too , loaded with braided line. For me it just could not get much better. Great price for a quality reel.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Okuma Trio "S" High-Speed Spinning Reel

okuma trio high speed spinning reel

02/14/2013
By ,
hixson,tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought two of the 30"s and I am thoroughly impressed for the price. I also use pflueger president spinning reels which cost a few more bucks than these and I like the okuma's better. I use these for white bass and small mouth bass on the tennessee river. They are spooled with berkley braid at ten pounds, 2 lb diameter. Mated to a 7 foot medium pflueger president im8 rod. This is an outstanding combination. I am very impressed with okuma reels, I now have 5 of them. I highly recommend these reels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.