Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Okuma Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Okuma Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Okuma prides itself on shattering price barriers in an effort to deliver high-quality tackle to anglers of all financial means. The Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel is the latest example of this.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%12 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Good drag & lightweight

08/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money, it's a pretty decent reel. But, if you are putting 5 wt line on the 4/5 reel; don't expect to get very much backing onto the reel. I paired up the Crisium 4/5 (8'6") rod with the SLV 4/5 reel using 5 wt line; and it has a very nice balance to the setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Super reel for the money!

05/29/2014
By ,
Charlotte,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel is as good as reels three times the price,and smooth,this real is so smooth just hold it and give it the slightest shake and the spool will go round and round.I really did not expect this reel to be this nice but so far i am very impressed,if you find a better fly reel for this price,please let me know,i'am sure you will have a hard time finding one,i have dozens of fly reels so trust me.The reel pretty much cost as much as a spare spool,so instead of buying spare spools,i think i'am just going to buy a couple more reels,ya cant beat it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Very good reel for the money, I will buy another.

03/20/2013
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the 7-8 wt reel. Used it on the Missouri river in very cold weather and caught two nice large browns (24-26 inches) and it performed very well. Stripping line for casting is great and line retrieval is very nice, even with big 5 LB -plus pound fish on. The only precaution I can say is, don't loosen the drag too much as it will spin your line off the reel too fast causing a tangled mess when you strip line off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Good working reel, great value

06/15/2013
By ,
Pray, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought an Okuma reel several years ago and have been very pleased with its performance and reliability. This updated model seems like it will retain its appearance and function even better than the older one. At this price, it's a bargain. If you have the cash and enjoy purchasing more expensive reels for emotional reasons, then buy a different reel. If you like a reel that looks good and works great, then buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

Smooth Drags

03/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought his reel for trolling flies and streamers for largemouth bass and stripers on my local waters. I bought th 7/8 wt version. For trolling you need a large arbored reel because you dole out 100 feet of line or more. Since fly reels are 1:1 ratio, it helps to have the large arbor for reels line faster.
Despite the large arbor, it holds a lot of line and backing.
The drags are nice. I read that it had cork drags. There is a stainless steal washer and another material in addition to the cork. This was my second disc-drag fly reel. The Okuma has a superior, smoother drag than another brand I had that I won't mention.
Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel
12/23/2012
By ,
Walla Walla, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent reel for the price. Holds lots of backing w/ a strong smooth drag
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

As expected

11/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm sure a lot more money would get you a lot more reel. I bought this for steelhead and fully believe its up to the task. So far its only had to handle mid-sized trout. Easy to reverse the retrieve direction and load up. the drag can stop a bulldozer. Well deserving of its reputation as one of the best cheap reels out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel

perfect purchase

11/06/2013
By ,
Lewisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted. Delivered ahead of schedule. Best price anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Okuma SLV Super Large Arbor Fly Reel
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5