Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Aqua Fountain Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Aqua Fountain Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

The Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain offers 50 ounces of fresh, filtered water to pets. The fountain uses a replaceable charcoal filter that removes bad tastes and odors, making the water more appealing for pets. A patented free-falling stream encourages pets to drink more water and increased hydration leads to better pet health.
Average Customer Rating:
2.97 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation42%14 out of 33reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Great fountain for cats

11/12/2013
By ,
sd
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd one I've ordered, not because I need them, but because everytime you find something you like and it works so well they seem to dicontinue it. I never want to be without this fountain. I've had my first one for almost a year, and it works as good today as it did when I got it.
I've hear people say it's too noisey, really, you've got to be kidding me. If you let the water get low it will make more noise. Also I see where people have complained about this fountain leaking. The only thing it can do is maybe splash out, but that's human error and not product error. If you don't put things together right, yes, and I mean make sure you hear the *click* when putting it back together, sure you'll have problems. If you don't clean it often enough or change the filter you will have problems, once again human error. I never want to loss one of my best buys. I love this product AND better yet my cat loves it. I would *highly* recommend it to eveyone. Matter of fact, some people have bought it because of my praise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

They Love It!

04/18/2013
By ,
Nashville
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this drinking fountain about 2 months ago. I'm on my 3rd filter.
Even though I read the reviews and saw that not everyone was pleased with it, I still purchased it, and I am SOOO very glad I did.
My two cats love it.
I have not had any problems with it.
It is plugged in 24/7.
All I do is refill it from time to time and rinse it out and change the filter about every 2-3 weeks. When the filter is no longer viable, the water begins to spray. That happens about the 3-4th week.
My cats drink out of it all the time, I keep it on a plastic mat on the wood floors and I have yet to have any problems with it.
When the water gets kind of low, I can hear it from the other room and it's really quite tranquil.
It sounds like a babbling brook.
Absolutely no trouble with the pump, the device itself, or the filters.
Wal-mart also sells replacement filters.
I would highly suggest this fountain if you're looking for a way to get your cats to drink more water.
I couldn't be happier.
I hope it lasts 2 yrs, like other satisfied purchasers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Disappointing . . .

11/30/2013
By ,
Wayne County, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this fountain in addition to the 40oz cube fountain that I have for my multiple cat household. WHEN any debris (even the tiniest speck) blocks the flow at the top, the fountain becomes really noisy and the sprays out in an eratic manner getting water on the floor. That was a pain, so much that I chose to override it by not snapping the cap on, instead it just sits on top. This took care of the debris blockage, but the compromise is that we no longer have the waterfall shooting out ~ it just falls straight down. The other big problem ~ There are more parts and more tiny crevices to this fountain, making some impossible to get to for cleaning. This really bugs me! I have been very crafty in trying to clean them, but to no avail :( When the time comes to buy a new one, I will purchase another 40 oz. cube ~ there are less parts with easy accessibility to clean. Plus the flow is more open and therefore never gets blocked!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Update on this product

07/19/2014
By ,
sd
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've written a review about this fountain over 2 years ago. I'm just here to let you know that my fountain is still running like new. With the proper upkeep and cleaning unless the motor goes out I'm expecting it to just keep going. I would still highly recommend this for any cat owners. Although I bought 2 more just in case this one gives out, I have never opened the boxes.
Hope this helps you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

very good water fountain

07/11/2014
By ,
newburgh, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is a good water fountain for the price, easy to use and clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Great Product for the Money, Exceeded Expectations

01/05/2014
By ,
Haymarket, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this especially for my indoor cat that has hyperthyroidism. This disease of elder cats results in excessive thirst and drinking and I noted that she loved drinking from the sink faucet in my bathroom. It took her 2-3 days to approach the fountain and from that point on she drinks exclusively from the fountain, ignoring the water bowls that I also provide. My two other indoor cats prefer the bowls but I'm overjoyed that the one cat who most needs hydration gets it from this Aqua Falls Fountain.
I empty and refill the fountain daily, do not mind the sound of flowing water and have had no significant issues with the operation of this fountain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Good Company bad product

05/10/2014
By ,
Defiance, Oh
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
called the company and told them I bought this product about a month ago and it is leaking all over. They said they would replace it free of charge and they told me to keep the pump. So, my advise to you is, if you are having this problem call 800-732-2677 and tell what your problem is and that Wal-Mart told you to do this.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Don't buy - leaks horribly

06/04/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had the fountain for about 3 weeks before it started leaking water. I tried everything, including taking everything apart to clean it three times and it still leaked. I eventually returned it am am going with a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz
05/18/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was looking for a replacement for my other fountain that was broken. I ordered this one thinking it would be a good value. Well it isn't. I like that it is smaller then some on the market for my cat and is easier to clean. But on the down side it is very noisey and leaks teriibly. Every day it's always something the noise wakes you up or you go to check it and low and behold it's empty because some how it drains completely empty.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Great product if used properly

09/09/2012
By ,
Portland Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having freshly filtered running water encourages my cats to drink more, thus reducing the risk of urinary problems. I have had 2 Pet Fountains for a few months now and if they are properly maintained, they work fine. I have seen some of the problems mentioned in other reviews but they are easy to avoid and/or fix. I've given a 5 star rating because the manual gives explicit instructions on how to care for the unit and if this is done, the problems can mostly be avoided. The biggest thing is that you MUST take the unit completely apart and clean it weekly. If you don't, the motor parts can gum up from organic material and saliva which prevents the motor from pumping the water. I don't consider this a drawback because since algae will grow in any water and cats will salivate, you have to expect to clean the bowl frequently. The fact that the manual states this and you don't have to call the company with a complaint that the unit is broken before you find out how to clean it gives them that 5th star just for honesty.
As for the leaking and/or splashing, I have had some splashing problems. They seem to stem from the stream being interrupted in the middle due to the plastic bending downward at that point. This pushes the stream to the sides causing splashing. Inserting a small piece of a plastic toothpick in the middle of the narrow slot where the water comes out smooths the stream and reduces the splashing. Keeping the unit relatively full helps, too. I no longer have any water on the floor around the unit and the splashing noise is minimal. I haven't experienced any leaking. For anyone who has, I would recommend filling the unit, drying the outside and placing it on some paper towels WITHOUT plugging it in. If there is no water on the paper towels after 1 hour, the problem is splashing, NOT leaking. If the unit is still losing water and there is no leaking or splashing, maybe you just have very dry air causing evaporation or very thirsty cats. I love this product and I would hate to see it pulled form the market for low sales due to misguided complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Lasted 12 hours

06/05/2014
By ,
colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After half a day, this fountain simply stopped pumping water. Complete junk. I've purchased these types of devices in the past (for cats specifically) and they were much more reliable than this piece of junk. Don't waste your $30.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Splashes all over

07/11/2012
By ,
State College, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this foundation about a month ago for a cat that has been getting urinary blockages. It worked fine when I first purchased it but it has gotten really loud and water is constantly splashing out. My carpet is soaked. I'll need to return it and go somewhere else to purchase one that is better made.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

AnneBC

05/18/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Breaks about every 6 months but ok for inexpensive fountain. Would appreciate getting a year out of them. Will try a more expensive model from pet store since this us third one in 17 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Aqua Falls Pet Fountain

08/26/2012
By ,
Hiawatha, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have the same issues as everyone else has listed; it leaks, is loud and it splashes water all around it. I would not recomend purchasing this at all.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Fresh water

04/14/2014
By ,
miami ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is so nice to have fresh cold water for your animals.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

poor product

11/10/2013
By ,
CRR, oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a terrible fountain. it is hard to keep clean, too many grooves that collect the mold that grows in it. grows mold within a day or 2 in our water at least. when the pump gets some mold build up in it then it starts pumping water out all over and splashes it out on the floor. then one night it just pumped all the water out of it for no reason.
We would take this back but we cant find our receipt. Our cat is just going to have to drink out of bowl without moving water again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sd
Some tips that may help you
Posted 01/13/2014
I have never had mold grow, but have had a bit of slime from time to time. Things needed to make it easier to clean: Cotton Swabs, Scewer, and small brush. I also use just a bit of bleach to clean it in. I've had mine for almost 2 years, and the only time I had a *leak* is when I didn't put it together right. Human error not product error. Like I've said I've ordered 2 extra just to have on hand since I am so happy with this product. Please listen for all the snaps when putting it together, AND make sure the filter is in right. Good luck, I hope this helps you out. I have one cat, and she loves it, with one cat I clean it about once every two weeks, and even reuse the filter once.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Great idea, poorly executed

06/29/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Most pets have hair. Lots of hair. And they shed. This device has no mechanism in place to prevent that hair from ending up in the intake area of the pump, so the pump becomes clogged easily and frequently. The charcoal filter is not situated in such a way as to be of any help, and cleaning the pump requires you to disassemble the device. In addition, when it does develop even the tiniest blockage, it splashes water all over the outside of the device and leaves a horrible mess. You will save money, and not expend any more time or energy by just re-filling your pet's water dish once or twice a day instead of purchasing this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

You CAN teach an old cat new tricks!

01/15/2013
By ,
Douglasville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 17 year old cat has become quite the diva lately. She wakes us up in the middle of the night scratching on the sink cabinet of the powder room wanting to drink from the running faucet. Well, after two nights of no sleep I bought the fountain. It took her one day to figure it out and drink from it! I bought this item on December 30, 2012. Well, today is January 15, 2013 and the fountain wasn't working. I was so mad I could spit. I remembered reading the reviews of how it just stopped working but then looked at the manual. It actually says that you have to clean the pump around every two weeks. I figured I'd do it before I took it back. I think it took me about three minutes to take the pump apart and clean it. Works like a charm! It had a tiny bit of fuzz in it. Now I'm happy, the cat is happy, yay. Make sure you clean the pump!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

My kittens love it!

11/11/2012
By ,
Dayton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this fountain about 6 weeks ago. Mine has not leaked at all. I put it on top of two placemats on our tiled kitchen floor just in case the kitties decided to play in the water but there have been no problems. I do recommend taking it apart & cleaning it every 2-3 weeks. I hadn't done so since I got it & it was kind of slimy inside. That was my fault for letting it go so long. The directions indicate that all of the plastic parts (everything but the pump) can be safely washed in the dishwasher, preferably after decreasing the water temperature a little. I top off the water daily but I think it could go 2 days or so without getting too low. The fountain is a little louder that I expected but it doesn't bother us, in fact we enjoy the soothing "waterfall" sound. It intrigued the kittens, so they took to it rather quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqua Fountain Aqua Falls Pet Fountain, 50 oz

Don't waste your money!

01/18/2014
By ,
Aliso Viejo, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Biggest piece of garbage I have ever used. It stopped working 5 weeks after I bought it. Don't waste your money! Save your money until you can buy a higher quality. A clean bowl of water daily is better than this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next