Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Add a distinct flavor to your food with the Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.6 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%10 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Excellent for novice smoker.

10/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just did a 3.5 hour smoke on some chicken in my Weber Smokey Mountain Cooker (14.5"). These lit perfectly within 15 mintutes in the Weber chimney starter. Coals stayed lit the whole time and maintained a very steady temperature as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Great Competitively Priced Charcoal

06/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have gone through two bags of this charcoal and I have no complaints at all. And for the price, it is hard to resist using this as my primary charcoal. I have no idea what people are doing wrong with these briquets, but I've never had a problem getting them lit, having them stay lit and hot, or anything. My only complaint is that it does produce a lot of ash, but not anymore than what Kingsford does.
For the price, you cannot go wrong with this charcoal. Quite frankly, I almost don't even believe the negative reviews because these coals are no harder to light than Kingsford.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbus Ohio
Great charcoal, wonderful price
Posted 04/30/2013
Not for sure why some is rating the charcoal badly, it works fine for me. I wish it came in a 20 pound bag, but no complaints from me. I give it 5 stars
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Good charcoal for the money.

06/10/2012
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I grill 2-3 times per week and I am very satisfied with this charcoal. I use a chimney starter (no fluid)and find that this brand works just as well as Kingsford. The briquettes are almost twice the size of Kingsford briquettes and provide white hot heat for searing your steaks. They provide long lasting heat for long cooking times for chicken and ribs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

JUST WONDERFUL

07/24/2012
By ,
BIRMINGHAM AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS CHARCOAL IS JUST WONDERFUL ME AND MY FAMILY USE THIS VERY OFTEN. MY HUSBAND LOVES TO BBQ WHENEVER HE FELLS LIKE IT WHICH IS VERY OFTEN AND THIS IS THE BRAND THAT WE USE. I LOVE THE FACT THAT IT COOK THE FOOD VERY WELL AND NOT TO FAST. THE ONLY ISSUE WE HAVE IS THAT IT KEEPS BURNING AND BURNING WHICH ISN'T A PROBLEM FOR REAL THAT JUST LET YOU KNOW THAT YOU HAVE A VERY GOOD FIRE GOING. WELL 2 THUMBS UP FROM ME. AND THE PRICE IS GOOD AS WELL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Some of the best charcoal I've used for the money!

09/07/2012
By ,
Union SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used Kingsford (too ashy), Royal Oak Hardwood Lump (too many small pieces), but this is just as good or better than either of those in my opinion. I paid $3.50 for 9 lbs. at my local Walmart, and they had tons in stock. I'll be buying this brand again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Grilling

06/03/2012
By ,
Ocean Township, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same here, i beg to disagree on the first customer's rating. this charcoal works fine and heats up consistently. At par with Kings charcoal and not to mention, very affordable. Satisfied with the product and would certainly buy more. definitely recommends this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

DO NOT USE

06/05/2012
By ,
Pleasant Prairie, Wi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We grill every weekend in the Summer months and we usually buy Kingsford but were tight on money and thought "charcoal is charcoal". BIG MISTAKE buying this brand. We used loads of lighter fluid trying to get these things to light and stay lit. Wasn't even windy outside. They burn super slow and go out easily. 45 minutes after we first lit them, they were finally ashed over. We put the burgers on and covered with the lid, as always. 5 minutes later, went to flip the burgers and the juices from the burgers had put the coals out. UNBELIEVABLE! Never had a problem with this with the Kingsford brand. Total GARBAGE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Posted 06/10/2012
Invest in a chimney charcoal starter. You can get one for less than 8 bucks at walmart. You will never grill with starter fluid again.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Happy w/ product & the convience of online shoppin

05/27/2012
By ,
Minden, NE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I totally disagree with the previous customer's rating. I find the product to be as good as Kings Ford Briquettes and much cheaper. I BBQ almost daily w/ a kettle grill and find no problem with the coals not staying lit or the temperature of coals. I cook several steaks, hamburgers, pork or fish at the same time and find them to be very tasteful and delicious. I myself, prefer the Backyard charcoal over Kings Ford (paying for a name not quality), for the price one cannot go wrong.
The happy griller.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Works great smoking or grilling

07/10/2013
By ,
Bryson City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little disappointed when they changed the shape of the briquettes but have learned to use them fine. I always use a chimney to light them, 15-20 minutes and they are lit. I always use a charcoal basket when smoking in my Weber so that I can add coals and wood as needed. The coals always start up on there own.
Really nothing more to say except that these are second to none except the Brinkman Competition Briquettes or Lump.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Spend the extra for the national brands

06/27/2012
By ,
St. Francisville, LA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This stuff is terrible. Very slow to light and to get to grilling temp. A half to a quarter of the briquettes do even light. I have a Weber grill with a gas-assisted lighter and have never had a problem lighting briquettes until I bought this stuff. Stay away unless you want an aggravating grilling experience
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

Terrible product!

05/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute GARBAGE. Do NOT waste your money on this product. It will not stay lit/hot long enough to cook more than one hamburger at a time. The so-called improved design is a HUGE MISTAKE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes
06/24/2012
By ,
Gretna, La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
They work, place them in a chimney designed for briquettes and allow them to burn until white hot. Its very easy to use charcoal briquettes if using a chimney (any brand).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

"new and improved" NOT!

06/11/2012
By ,
Puckett, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been using the old stuff for years. In my opinion it was superior to the "name brand" charcoal. We cook on the grill 3 or 4 times a week and would get 5 or 6 uses out of a bag. Now it's 3 and it lasts 1/2 as long. I won't purchase anymore of this product, it would be good for some quick burgers but not for smoking or anything else that takes time. The "new and improved" design makes it burn faster so you will have to use more. Shame they had to ruin a good thing. Note to Walmart, "If it ain't broke don't fix it!"
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME!!!

05/30/2013
By ,
Minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the WORST charcoal I have ever used!!! What few briquettes actually do take light, they take FOREVER to get hot enough to cook with! After waiting 45 minutes for the coals to ash up (which never really happens), I put my items on the grill. after 45 minutes, my pork chops were still not done enough and had to be finished in the kitchen ... POINTLESS!!! Just another example of 'You get what you pay for'!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Grill Charcoal Briquettes
04/24/2013
By ,
Jackson, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I grill and smoke every week and have used Kingsford, Royal Oak, several types of lump charcoal and this brand tops them all. It lights easily with or without fluid (when using chimney). The briquettes are bigger and burn longer. I have a 500 gallon BBQ grill and can get it up to temp for smoking at 250-300 degrees on 2 bags for 4 hours. It is a great value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.