Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

HP HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

The HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC has an AMD processor for the computing power you need. A 160GB hard drive gives you room to store your files and a DVD-RW drive lets you listen to music and view photos.
Average Customer Rating:
4.486 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 86
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation95%102 out of 107reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 103 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
74
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

very happy with this PC

04/11/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this PC for my mom- great price and it came with the
Windows 7 operating system and disk...made recovery disks right
away as suggested...it did not come with much additional software
like Microsoft Works so I was able to download Open Office from
open office dot org...and Adobe Reader from their website...and
downloaded McAfee Site Advisor (the free one) which I think is a
good product...and Apple Quick Time for Windows...this PC has
two convenient USB ports on the front and some more in the
back...it came with a DVD player/CD burner...I have not used the
DVD Player yet...my mom is happy...this PC is much faster than her
old one...she is able to access the internet...and do her word
processing...work on her photos...and her music...and much
more...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Bang for the buck!!

03/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer for my mother as her current unit is just too old and slow to run her online games. I was intrigued by the price and specs and decided to give it a chance. The fact that it was re-furbished was not a worry to me. I received the package quickly and I was very pleased with the quality of the packaging of the unit. The unit was very clean and other than a couple of minor blemishes on the case it looked like brand new, inside and out. Unit started right up and runs very smoothly for only having to 2GB of RAM. I was afraid it was not enough but it runs video on Youtube without a hitch and it also runs dvd's flawlessly as well. I should mention that it said on the website that it came with a CD-RW drive but the unit actually came with an HP DVD-RW Lightscribe drive, which was a very pleasant surprise...For all this you cannot beat the price ($175 and change with tax and home shipping). Another nice surprise was that the unit came with a Windows 7 restore DVD, which I was not expecting. The unit is pre-loaded with Windows 7 and does not come with a bunch of junk software and ad-ware. Part of the package includes Microsoft Security Essentials, which is the anti-virus program designed by Microsoft (free!). It is a good basic anti-virus program for the cost-conscious person. It is a nice compact unit and it is actually very easy to work on under the hood so to speak as the optical drive and the power supply move easily out of the way in order to add RAM if so desired. Great, great unit! All in all I would recommend this computer to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+107points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Works like a charm

04/06/2012
By ,
Lead, SD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I figure that the price was just about what I would spend for a copy of Windows 7 Home Premium which came with the computer, so the computer was an added bonus at no extra charge. All I had to do was hook up all the peripherals, key in the key and go. The OS found all my hardware, found the internet connection and all I had to do was load the software I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Meets expectations

03/28/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This refurbished desktop PC has performed like new. I'm completely satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

I bought this computer for my kids

04/30/2012
By ,
NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this computer for my kids, I wasn't looking foward to spend a lot of money for a new one. We already had a monitor and the speakers (I did not encounter any problems with the sound, as I heard some people had. It was actually loud and clear) all we needed was the CPU system. This one met all of our expectations it comes with a keyboard and a mouse and a power cord. The machine works perfectly fine, my kids play all their games in that computer, do their homework, use the internet. It is a great buy, I must say I did good!. Easy to install, internet ready! great buy. I would definitely recommend this product to a family member or a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

i am a computer geek

05/01/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i can build computers, repair, network, install, if it can be done, i can get er done...lol
but for the money and the speed & performance, it would cost me much more to build it then what i got the computer for, i recommend this computer highly ...and i use my computers all the time, i use at least two out of my 3 computers every day, and the other one is doing TV duty...lol
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Does not work, two have failed to even boot for us

08/04/2012
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't even begin to express my frustration over this item. I bought it originally for my parents and it was virtually worthless to them. The first one would start up, but after just a minute or two, Windows freezes to the point where all programs fail to respond and you can't do anything, no matter how long you sit there, and you are forced to do a hard power down.
We called Walmart, and while they did send us a replacement, the second one was even worse. It froze at installation and would never make it to the desktop. I have tried over and over to get it to start up, but nothing. I even went so far as do do a full reformat and installation of Windows on the second one and it freezes at the "completing installation" screen and refuses to go forward.
I have no clue how anyone is having any luck with this product, and I have no idea why these problems are happening. What I do know is that neither one has worked for us, at all, not even a little bit. Stay far far away from this product. Put the money towards something that actually functions.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

This Machine Is Better Than Some $1000 Computers

05/17/2012
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smaller than most desktops, has Windows 7 with a fantastic Internet Explorer 9 browser and Firewall, Microsoft Security Essentials anti-virus anti-malware which is free. Plays/streams video content flawlessly. Runs so quietly you'll never know it's on. Super fast processors, you'll surf as fast as you can click your mouse. Amazing machine, dependable, and a very good price, heck, Windows 7 will cost you almost this much by itself. I'm very happy, one of the best value-for-money buys I've ever made.
See OpenOffice.org for a free office suite, and ieSpell for a spell checker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great desktop computer for work.

04/04/2012
By ,
Tecumseh, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy hook up. windows 7 all loaded , ready to go. Just downloaded a virus protector. Really hate to invest alot for what I need for work. At $158.00 I can purchase another refurbished desktop in another 6 months if a new operating system comes out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Fast Workhorse!!

04/27/2012
By ,
Mike K.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A great, no frills computer that is a fast workhorse. Small footprint is great because it can fit on your desk under a monitor or under the desk and takes up little room. Arrived as promised, it fast, and reliable so far. And, you couldn't beat the price. May replace all the computers in the office with these fast computers. One caveat, these don't come with any software other than the operating system. So if you need a word processing program, photo editor, etc. You will have to purchase those separately if you don't already have these. Also, no monitor. But the keyboard and mouse that came with the unit are decent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium
04/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fairly well. Boots fast and runs all of the software that I use with no problems. Nice machine, especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium
03/31/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my desktop, I didn't think a refurbished computer would be alright, but I don't have any complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Solid piece of equipment

04/20/2012
By ,
peoria,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was absolutely the best product in this price range, for the features it has. Was packed and shipped like new, easy to get started, works great. No fluff here. This is a basic desktop, you can add your own programs as you need. Windows 7 is a nice operation..have Vista on the primary pc.
If you're looking for a basic 2nd setup, or even a budget first desktop..this is the way to go. Also has plenty of USB ports..be sure to look close for this feature, in whatever you get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium
04/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived right on time as marketed, no problems hooking up, and performs very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

More than i expected!

07/16/2012
By ,
Easley, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first i was worried that since it was refurbished, that would mean there is something wrong with it. But after comparing it with another computer at the same price, reading each review and Q&A. I decided to go with this one and i do not regret the choice at all. The built in speakers are amazing, the graphic cards fit all my needs and its perfect for running high res games to a point. the unit is fast, and super quiet i barely hear anything. Streaming is excellent and the Windows 7 installation makes it even greater.HP did a wonderful job in inspecting this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

good computer for price

03/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Mostly Happy Customer

05/10/2012
By ,
small town
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this desktop for my mom and so far, with the exception of two problems she loves it. It's very smooth and fast and a nice looking unit and runs great so far. The biggest problem has been in trying to activate the product key for a refurbished computer as Windows website would not accept the number and kept popping up a message saying it was invalid. Well after spending a few minutes on the phone ith a rep, come to find out, it IS invalid! The computer came pre-loaded with Windows 7 Home Premium Edition and as the nice service rep at Joy Systems (computer reburbishing company) discovered, the product activation sticker says Windows 7 PRO edition and the product key is therefore for PRO edtion. JOYSystems is sending out a disc for Windows PRO and we now have to wipe the computer clean and re-install using PRO, and hopefully the product key will work then. The 2nd problem is the keyboard has a sticky key that barely works but thats not serious enough to make my mom unhappy, we'll just buy another keyboard. If those 2 things hadn't been true I would have given it a 5-star rating, although I've had problems in the past with brand new computers too, so new or refurbished it's never a perfect world in the land of computers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Very good product so far

03/19/2012
By ,
charleston, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one first one had software issue that caused computer to shut off, sent that one back and they issued another. I am watching this one and so far it does not have the same problem. Works well, is very quiet, fast, small, clean and has Windows 7.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium

Impressive

05/22/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have to admit I didn't expect this to even work. Not a fan of HP lately and especially not a fan of refurbished items. I needed a temporary computer until my main PC got fixed and I didn't want to spend a lot. Granted, I am not sure I would attempt to run demanding games on this PC but it seems to do quite well for everything I've tried so far. I am a heavy internet user, opening many tabs at once, and that is the only time I notice any lag on this machine. It could possibly be the way I have things configured, although doubtful. I have been able to play a few small games on this with no problems.
Set up was very simple and I'm quite happy with my purchase. Glad I took the chance because $150 was a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP Refurbished DC5850 Small Form Factor Desktop PC with AMD Athlon 64 X2 Processor, 2GB Memory, 160GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium
03/18/2012
By ,
south tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price does what I want it to do. Ps!! Doesnt come with cable to hook up monitor. Quick shipping. Way faster than estamated. Hmm does everything I want it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Virginia
Hands down the worst computer Walmart has to sell
Posted 03/22/2012
First one wouldn't do nothing. Powered on, then would go blank screen. The second one tried to install windows and it would do nothing. Let me tell you this was the worst money ever spent in my entire life.. Beware you might rcv one that doesn't boot up either! SO BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!
-4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next