Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Char-Broil Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

The Landmann Vertical Gas Smoker provides a durable and reliable way to smoke meats to perfection. This is a heavy duty Char-Broil Smoker with easy-access drawers to make replenishing water and wood chips a simple process. The steel construction and square legs make the Char-Broil Offset Smoker sturdy and stable. A welded cooking chamber keeps smoke inside, so you get the most flavor possible. You can control how hot your Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker gets with the fully adjustable heat control, and it also keeps smoke under control with the adjustable top chimney vent. A steel box holds wood-chips, and a porcelain-coated enamel pan contains the water. Attached side handles and wheels make it easy to move the Char-Broil Smoker from place to place when necessary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation86%37 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

for 80$ excellent value!

11/16/2012
By ,
Columbia, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good smoker for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Upgrade at a low price

11/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking to smoke your meat with indirect smoke and heat, this is the perfect low budget smoker. Hands down better then my other more expensive smokers. The chimney pipe is perfect and turns your backyard into a BBQ smoke cloud. It takes a little longer to smoke on this because it smokes with indirect heat but hey that's room enough for a few more beers and let me tell you the taste is worth the wait.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Patio grill

12/05/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great grill for a small patio situation and for a two person family. You can cook on the small grill in the smoker section so you do not have to fire up a lot of charcoal to make a couple of hamburgers or hot dogs. The smoker grill is large enough to smoke a section of ribs, a chicken or smaller turkey. The smoker grill is also large enough to cook for a group if you are doing hot dogs and hamburgers when guests are over. But remember this is Char-Broil's smallest and cheapest grill, less that $100, if you want more features go buy a more expensive unit.
I would have liked the metal to have been a heavier gauge, the charcoal racks to be more closely spaced to hold the briquettes better, and the cooking grill to be a cast iron style grill. The size of the unit is excellent, this is the 300 model. My suggestion to Char-Broil is to make a 3000 model, this size, heavier metal, better briquette grill, cast iron cooking grills and maybe charcoal height adjustment. That would make for a super nice grill.
Char-Broil your customer base is down sizing to smaller homes and need a good smaller grill like this. When this unit wears out, I would buy a 3000 model if it were available.
I recommend this unit as long as you remember you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

yummy turkey

11/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got the smoker for my husband for his birthday, but I had a plan the whole time, Thanksgiving! The smoker is get and so far the chicken and ribs turned out awesome.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker
01/23/2013
By ,
Detroit, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little smoker. The thin metal does let a lot of heat out, and it tends to burn though wood or charcoal quickly, but for shorter cooks it was spot on. I will continue to use this one for my sides and for shorter cooks along with my green egg.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Great for the $$$$

10/23/2014
By ,
NORTH FLORIDA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grill serves as dual purpose to me , smoker & grill !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker
12/28/2012
By ,
Baker, Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best smoker That I ever had
, And yes I would recommend it to a friend
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker
02/25/2013
By ,
Spring, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Let's just say we got what we paid for. It's much smaller than we expected, so you can't put very much meat on at one time, and it does take awhile to cook. However, for the price it is a good enough Pitt for a quick or small weekend bar B Que. If you have a large family or large gathering we would recommend getting this item as a decent spare Pitt. That being said, we don't feel like we wasting our money, and were pleased with the at store pickup time. It arrived in 6 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Good size for first time smokers

10/02/2013
By ,
Port Saint Lucie, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The grill itself was a bit tricky to put together because some of the holes didn't line up. But got it together and have been loving it since. This is our first smoker and its perfect to learn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Quality at a bargain price

06/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I didn't expect a better surface cooking grill iron but that's what came with this grill. I'm glad I decided to go with this model. The smoker is great. I did a Turkey Breast and it was yummy. I can only imagine how Chicken wings will do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Great smoker/cooker for the small family.

11/24/2013
By ,
Perdido Beach, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is easy to assemble with good fitting parts and the price is great for this level of quality. Cooks great and works very well as a smoker. Not too big to put on a patio.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Excellent for a small family

06/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This smoker/grill exceeded our expectations. Once the grill is prepared, smoking or grilling fish or meat is quite easy. I reccomend going on line to find the Char-Broil web site. There, you will find easy receipes to prepare and helpful tips. We first smoked/grilled salmon and it was delicious! Use flavored wood chips for the smoked flavor to come through the fish/meat. The smoker was also easy to assemble. Other smokers/grills are double the price, but for the value, flavor and ease of use - this is one great buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker
01/17/2013
By ,
KY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
too small and very hard to keep the temp up. if you want to do some smoking go for the more expensive model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Great for those just getting into smoking.

02/11/2013
By ,
Rohnert Park, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price is good for the beginner.
It's not perfect, but it has potential. The issues it does have can be a quick and inexpensive fix to improve its performance.
If you purchase this item, I would recommend watching some videos on youtube about how to modify them before putting it together. I can't say how well they all work as I haven't yet tried them, but some are definitely helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Keep it hot! Firebox is a joke!

10/29/2013
By ,
Mobile, Al
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about buying this grill didn't know nothing about grilling whatsoever, when I received the grill I had to assemble the parts together which took most of the day. Then I grilled my first piece of meat it turned out terrible my third attemp was getting better with a little more practice and watching YouTube videoes I'll perfect my style. And my advice is do not use the firebox to me it's just decoration put your coals in the big grill rack if you want efficient grilling.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cherry Hill, NJ
Firebox
Posted 12/03/2013
I think the firebox is for the wood chips for smoking. Don't take my word on that, though, but it does say "Offset Smoker"
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Work good just have to get use to cooking with cha

07/07/2013
By ,
easton
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I burn in went well got a lot of heat out of the charcoal for 4 Hrs. but when I tried to cook a chicken on it I put to many coals on top of each other and the fire couldn't get enough air to get hot enough. So I put the chicken in the oven after 5 hrs. to get it done. We ate the chicken and it was real good it had a nice wood taste and the gravy also had a good wood taste.
This has been the first time I cooked with charcoal in a long time just have to get use to how to do it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

GREAT SMOKER FOR CHRISTMAS GIFT

12/11/2013
By ,
BOWMAN, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I AM PLEASED WITH THE AMOUNT IT TOOK OT GET THE SMOKERS. THESE ARE CHRISTMAS GIFLTS FOR MY KIDS.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

great christmas price!

12/14/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband is happy, I'm sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

Great for the price

11/22/2013
By ,
Central NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple basic smoker does whats it is intended to do.
Good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Char-Broil American Gourmet Offset Smoker

good

10/21/2012
By ,
Ames
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very nice
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next