Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

General Electric GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Every kitchen needs a microwave oven, and a GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven is a great place to start. Heat up leftovers, cook frozen dinners, make after school snacks for the kids, melt butter, soften ice cream and more with this GE Microwave oven. The sleek black color looks timeless and works in any style of kitchen dcor, from shabby chic to the most up to-date modern look. 10 power levels take care of any kitchen task, from popping popcorn for movie night to heating up water for tea on a chilly winter day.. Electronic touch controls make quick cooking even quicker and the 1.4 cubic foot capacity ensures plenty of space for all of your snacks, meals and beverages. AM?PM clock lets you know what time it is day in and day out.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
39
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation80%152 out of 189reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 108 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
111
4 stars
39
3 stars
11
2 stars
7
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Excellent Machine at a Great Price!

12/06/2012
By ,
Bedford, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the quick touch options. They make it easy to set it without a lot of other buttons to push. If I want it to run for a few minutes I just push 1-6 and it starts with the minutes according to which button I push. The sensor cooking is good too. I just push one of the pre-set food types stated on the buttons and it starts and heats intermittenly until enough steam is detected and then it starts a count down until it's done. It's very easy to use the time cook option and the timer on it as well. I think being able to lock it from use and turn off the display time except when using it is a good idea. Compared to the Sharp Carousel I had prviously this is equal in quality and costs a lot less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Love it!!

06/17/2012
By ,
Oregon City, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was attracted to the sleek, all black style right away. I love the sensor feature where I can push a button and the oven starts immediately to cook the item based on the moisture content it senses in the food. Push one button to cook popcorn, beverage, potato, vegetable or to reheat (I don't know why the other review said it was hard to heat a beverage?? Just press the beverage button once). Timed cooking is very easy too. What, not quite hot enough for your taste? Press the "add 30 seconds" button to finish it. Don't remember any of this? Just look inside on the door frame and there is a cooking guide on a label. I also love the fact that it has a clock, but i don't have to use it if I don't want to ~ and I don't want to. I save energy and don't have to reset it every time the power goes out. I don't need a clock on every electronic device if have. The only negative is that the oven is so lightweight that sometimes when I press the button to open the door, the oven slides back. I'll think of a way to fix that though. For the price, I highly recommend this oven.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Underpowered

11/03/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this to replace a similar GE model that was rated at 1150 watts. This one is rated at 1100 watts, less than 10% less.
It seemed that food was coming out undercooked. Heating 10 oz. of water to just below boiling for brewing coffee in a drip funnel took almost 50% longer. I found a couple of test procedures on the internet, to estimate a microwave's output power. This one came in at 850 watts at best, far below the rating of 1100.
I am thinking of returning it, but so far I haven't been able to find any 1000-1200 watt oven under $150 with consistently good reviews.
Other than the power shortage, the control system and convenience are mostly good, though missing a few features of the older model. There was one time when it seemed to get stuck on a lower power setting, and I couldn't get it back to 100% no matter how many times I pressed the cancel button; apparently it reset itself after a while.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

review of new purchase

11/09/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Caveat: I chose wouldn't recommend this product to a friend. However, if the friend would be find w/the information I share, then, sure, the purchase would be fine.
Have just purchased this microwave to replace my former GE 1.4cu', 1100watt that last 2 years b/4 completely stopping. The current price, if this lasts 2 years, will be about $55 /yr. I'm willing to give it a try for $.14 a day.
Only attempt to cook was to heat tea using timed cook. So far, so good.
Disappointments: absolutely even more cheaply made than previous GE, door doesn't swing open as fully, inside is much smaller than previous one. I tho't same cu' meant inner size was the same as previous; the turntable significantly smaller than previous because of inner space. I have yet to see if the bowls I frequently use for reheating will fit inside.
I'm not so unhappy that I'd return this, but I just tho't above was good info to have at hand for those considering this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

The worst microwave

10/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this microwave because I had it before. I brought it and the old one keep working. Well it finally died and I put up the new one. I plug it in tested it to work for a minute. Then I put it on for 5 minutes to burn off the newness. I went to heat some food in it and it wouldn't work. I ordered this and went to inquiry about returning it because it's under the one year warranty and have had nothing but problems because it's past Walmart 90 day return policy. So now I am stuck with a microwave that doesn't work (and out of my money) and now have to buy another microwave. The worst customer service.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Didn't last long

10/28/2012
By ,
Webster, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't recommend this microwave! The light went out after only 2 days of use. I just let it go because I didn't really think it was that big of a deal. After about 3 months, while I was cleaning it, I noticed that the inside enamel, I guess you would call it, started to peel off, so I had to be extremely gentle when cleaning it. Now, I have had it for a little over a year, of course, the warranty has run out, and last night it started beeping, and telling me the keypad has shorted out. So now, I am looking for a new microwave, definitely not this one. I am very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
martinsville in.
Posted 05/17/2013
bought this item door switch broke tooback to walmart after 2 days bought another like the first lasted about 18 mo. door switch broke will not buy another
0points
Customer Avatar
Same Issue
Posted 11/18/2012
Had this Microwave for about 6 months then it started turning off and on and beeping by itself. Gives message keypad shorted
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Love it, but buy extended warranty

07/07/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this model and bought it 15 months ago, but without heavy use it just burned out, three months after warranty expired! This particular one may have been a fluke, but the rule of thumb these days seems to be BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY (Walmart's is very cheap also check SquareTrade.com) although my previous microwave lasted 8 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Nice microwave

05/14/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I replaced my old GE microwave with another GE, that was part of my reason for choosing this item. The touch pad is hard to push - maybe because it's new. It is loud at times and the buzzer is extremely loud. I am happy with it overall - it is the size and wattage I wanted and I liked that it came in black.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

This is an excellent microwave for home use.

04/01/2012
By ,
Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent microwave for overall home use. The microwave is quiet, controls are easy to understand. I bought this to replace an older GE microwave that lasted several years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Terrific

09/19/2013
By ,
Durham,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I congratulate the choice you made to offer this unit. I find it to be a very good choice
on my part to purchase it. It's a smart unit, it weighs your food, it sets the correct tempts.
need to cook certain foods, it will not start if you leave food inside over nite or forgotten to
remove it, you would need to open it for it to reset auto. I like the 30sec. add button for
cooking or defrost setting. This unit is cost less than others without these features.
09192013
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Excellent value for the money

06/04/2012
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used the microwave several times since purchasing this product.
PRO:: Large interior oven, easy to clean,
CON:: Very hard to figure out which button to push just to heat water. You have to hit 2 buttons before you even get to START. If you hit the wrong buttons, it is almost impossible to get back to the beginning.
If you just want to reheat, or boil water, very good value for the money.
I did have a problem with leveling this microwave. One side was 1/4 inch shorter then the other, so had to attach a felt pad to the foot. It is level now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

great service, great look

04/12/2012
By ,
moyock, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i replaced an old GE microwave with this one. had very good service from my old GE and wanted another one of the same brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Best microwave I've ever had

09/02/2013
By ,
White Hall, il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are someone who reads reviews prior to buying an item...then by all means take this review seriously. I would say... I have owned probably 4-5 microwaves since getting married in 1979. I shopped a long time before purchasing this one. This is by far the best microwave I've ever had. Although the wattage is the same as my others, this one has much more power. Heats very quickly and evenly. Love the "reheat" button with the sensor feature. First defrost feature that I've ever used #I actually understand how to use it#. Purchase this one, you won't regret it!!! I kept looking at other brands and when seeing the size, wattage, price and attractiveness of this unit I asked a sales associate about it. One thing he said that stuck in my mind was "GE has been around a long time and has put out quality products." He was correct. I haven't regretted this purchase for even 1 second.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Sensor cooking controls failed after a month

12/23/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The "sensor cooking controls" quit working about a month after I purchased this microwave. Other than that it's been working well for the two years I've owned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Tried and Tested

04/12/2013
By ,
Western USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a 2004 vintage GE 1.4 cu ft microwave with identical features as this item.
The old microwave had served me well and made a 2500+ mile cross-country move in an enclosed trailer over some of the worst bumpy roads in our USA. Roads which were so bad, I was completely taken off my seat as we encountered bump and dip after bump and dip. The microwave withstood more abuse than most people could give their unit in their lifetime.
Ah but, the one abuse it could not withstand was being accidently turned on with nothing in it. Oh, I knew the warnings to NEVER RUN A MICROWAVE EMPTY, but not all users in my household did. After it was zapped, I started my search for a replacement. And, my hubby took apart the old one, finding it to be extremely well built.
I was thrilled to find the current model is nearly identical (minor cosmetic change)... almost 10 years later, this design is still receiving great reviews. I ordered it. It arrived sooner than expected. And, I'm back in business.... with a much wiser household to the warning:
NEVER RUN A MICROWAVE EMPTY
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

lovely and cool

03/31/2012
By ,
bronx ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my spouse and kids love it.rating is 95%
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Stopped working at 7 months

11/12/2012
By ,
East Weymouth MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We had read reviews and most were good, so we bought this. <A few reviews mentioned they were not satisfied, as it stopped working in a short amount of time. Now, 7 months later, ours has stopped working! Granted it has a 1 year warranty, but we have to go thru the hassle of getting it out of the cabinet, packing it, and taking it back to the store, and then put it in the cabinet again. The warranty means we get the same one! Hopefully, this one will last and we are not trying to warranty it in 7 months. We have owned many GE products, very disappointed in this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Previous Model much better.

08/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cooks fine. Good amount of interior space. Previous model had slightly textured exterior finish. This model is smooth (especially on top) and scratches are very easily seen. Previous model you could adjust power level during cooking - just click power level button and new level and it would change. This model - have to stop, clear, start all over - irritating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

Great Microwave

01/25/2013
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this microwave about 5 months now. It works great. The reheat option reheats just about any type meal perfectly. This option is worth the price of the microwave. Make sure you try it. The popcorn options also works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE 1.4 cu ft Microwave Oven, Black

First impression: very good value-class machine

09/17/2012
By ,
Elizabethton, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At our house the microwave does warmups and popcorn (no microwave chefs here), so this unit fits the bill nicely. The automatic Popcorn function works perfectly for my preferred 'corn without being attended. Too early to know about the durability, but if this machine lasts a couple years (and I did get the 2-year protection plan) I will consider it a good value. My only initial gripe is that it slides around a bit on the laminate countertop where it lives; that never occurred with the larger and much heavier GoldStar machine we had before.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next