Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Sauder Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Anywhere you have an extra corner, you can have a sweet home office setup with this Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, in a beautiful, rich Cinnamon Cherry finish. Whether you are doing your taxes, paying bills or simply keeping the family's schedules organized, this Sauder Desk with Hutch has everything you need to get the job done. This compact, sleekly designed desk fits well in many types of dcor and features shelving for books, periodicals and more, as well as plenty of storage for computer components and office supplies, along with easy-to-use desktop grommet for cord management. The drawer features metal runners and safety stops for smooth gliding. Assembly required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%34 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch,

12/14/2012
By ,
new york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Has a few cut out holes in the back for all the cords and plugs which is very helpfull. The pull out darw for the mouse and key board is set very low so I had to place some dvd cases inside to make them higher and more comfortable for my hands. The compartment that stores the computer should of had a bigger opeaning in the back to let air in, cause when it's closed it becomes very warm with your pc inside, so I've taken to leaving the door open so there's air flow. With a few adjustments this desk will work fine for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Looks wonderful once put together

01/14/2014
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We searched and searched for a desk that offered storage and fit into the small space we had to set it up. Please know that while the directions are very good, this will definitely take a good bit of time to put together as it comes in MANY pieces. The only issue we had on set up was the holes for the rails for the drawer were originally drilled incorrectly so it would not shut. Thankfully, my husband simply drilled new holes and it works just fine. It looks wonderful when it is put together. It looks much more epxensive than what we paid for it and the dimensions are perfect for our home office. I would definitely recommend this desk.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

sturdy and fashionable, but off

08/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this desk is great for your needs. I like the color and appearance! The issues with the desk is the drill holes for the drawer and the cabinet are wrong. After I put the whole thing together the door was lopsided and edges stood out, and the drawer stuck out about an inch. the screw holes were placed in the wrong spot. needs to be fixed!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Functions well, nice looking

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK, to start, this desk is not a high end piece of furniture. It made from compressed particle board with laminate on top to make it look nice. Then again, it doesn't cost much either, so for the money this is a nice piece of furniture. My guess is that it will hold up for a few years before my son has worn it out, but then again, that's what I wanted. I didn't want to spend a lot for a high end piece of furniture that he would destroy.
Figure it takes about an hour to put together. It's heavy and bulky, so you'll want to put it together in the room you plan on using it in.
All in all, this is a nice desk at a good price, but don't expect it to be something you'll pass down to your heirs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Fantastic desk!

03/28/2014
By ,
Yarmouth, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been eyeing this desk for a while, since it appealed to a lot of my needs(and wants)-
It looks good. It could be better, but for the price, it's gorgeous.
Just to keep some wary though- the setup itself is easy, but if you're doing it alone, you are going to get really tired. I'm pretty sure you need 2 people, especially when lifting the desk up, or moving it, but I'm stubborn. Also, pay attention when you're putting it together. Everything it labeled fine, but I had a habit of getting lost in the work, only to find out I have to undo something because I put the wrong piece on the wrong side. This is a personal mistake, not the fault of the desk or instructions, but putting it out there so others don't make the same mistakes.
I've had this desk for less than a month, but I'm extremely happy with this sturdy, useful desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Of the Utmost Lowest Quality

03/18/2014
By ,
Cumming,GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As you can see from my Overall Rating I'm very disappointed in this product. I purchased this for my Daughter to use as a inexpensive desk to use for her school studies.
Here's the problems as I see them.
1) The finish is splotchy.
2) The particle board is of such poor quality that it crumbles easily.
3) The particle board is so thin that when the screws went into the pre-drilled holes the veneer either bulged or "broke-out" so that you could see unfinished wood.
4) The handles are made of plastic.
I've purchased several pieces of un-assembled furniture for my house and have never seen anything quite like piece.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Very Cheap and poor quality

08/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all it toke me about 4 hours to set it up and assemble it. Then the top of the desk where I set my computer is chipped and it looks very bad. The shelf is not aligning with the side support; there is a gap in between. The edges of this desk are very sharp and it leaves marks on my arm when I rest it. Over all, it is very poor quality and design and never ever again.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice small office desk

06/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The desk is nice, if you have a small room in your home, that you want to convert into an office. Easy to assemble...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Desk

08/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this desk, it exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice desk

03/27/2014
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to assemble taking me about 3.5 hours by myself. I like the features and has everything I need in a desk. The only thing I dislike are the handles which imitate metal but are fully plastic. Other than that I am enjoying my desk and it fits everything I needed it to hold. The plus was the drawer since many desks do not come with one. I cannot speak to durability as I have only had the desk for a few weeks, but it seems solid so far and arrived in excellent condition.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

awesome desk

03/03/2014
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do love this desk its a bit smaller than the other one I had but I still love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Great desk!

10/18/2013
By ,
Springfield, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great desk! I love the color and I love that I was able to get one with a hutch on top for such a low price. My dad put it together for me so I'm not entirely sure how easy it was but it didn't take him very long and he didn't seem to have any complaints so I'm assuming it wasn't hard. My only complaints are that when it arrived, there was a small dent on one of the edges on the top part, and that the back panel (the part behind where you see the laptop) is not a full wood panel, it's just like a thin sheet. It doesn't look terrible, I guess, I just would have preferred a full wood back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry
04/02/2012
By ,
McCaysville GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality and value. Love the color. It id absolutely perfect for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice Computer desk

01/07/2013
By ,
Federal Way, Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice computer desk, however, I would have it so that you can have options like the wall
between where the monitor would go and possibly a printer just to the left of that to be able to
remove that partition so that you can fit just about any printer there. Also, I had to take off the front face there the keyboard would/could go. If you leave the front in tact, using your keyboard would be very uncomfortable. I took ours off and it works MUCH better. I would make the front so that it would go flat and even with the drawer where the keyboard would/could go.
Other than those suggestions, it is very useful and does not take up a lot of room, which is good to have!
I gave the "GOOD" ratings because they do not offer color options and like what I noted above.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice student desk

02/01/2014
By ,
Tennessee
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good desk if you have limited space but need table top for writing as well as computer. It came with all pieces needed, except one piece was broke in half. Luckily, that piece was not necessary to actually use the desk. Fits perfect in small apartment bedroom. Son uses for college homework. Pretty deep wood color. Nice appearance. The top half (hutch) is very flimsy. Not attached very well. (design flaw) Suggest using 2 people to move it once together. All in all, meets our needs. A little high priced for the quality. If the company does not send a replacement for the broken piece, I will not purchase from them again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

beautiful desk

05/27/2014
By ,
clio, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this desk with hutch has so much space, easy to put together and looks just as nice as it showed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Great size looks great

03/15/2014
By ,
Elmont. Ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson put the desk together for me. It was a great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

New Computer Desk

05/26/2012
By ,
Southwest Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this site to store with no damage.
Took me a little longer to assemble because I did it by myself.
The only thing I don't like is the keyboard drawer does not open flat - the front is not hinged. So you have to take the keyboard out and set it on the computer to use it.
Besides that, I think the desk looks great and is very sturdy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Nice little desk

02/12/2014
By ,
Edinburg, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice little desk for a student, would recommend this item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Beginnings Desk with Hutch, Cinnamon Cherry

Needed a desk

04/10/2013
By ,
Belton, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a desk to start editing on my computer, keeping it on my lap not a good idea. So I went looking for some options. This exact same desk was at NFM for about $20 more and I could either drive to Omaha, NE and pick it up OR they would ship it for $50. I liked the desk, not that much; till I saw it on Walmart's website, not as cheap but free shipping! No brainer on my part.
I'm strange and like putting things together and the directions were super easy to follow. The end result is amazing. Looks classy and a great piece for a room.
The pull-out drawer is small so don't overfill it. But I love the extra space and having a place to store my computer. I put it together myself but would recommend having a helper.
Thanks!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next