Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

For a limited time receive a free 30-day trial of Daily Burn streaming workouts with purchase. Up to a $14.99 value. Sign up at www.dailyburn.com/cap. The CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell combines the safety features of the six-sided, anti-roll, hexagonal design and the comfort of the ergonomic handgrips to form a durable and efficient dumbbell. Each dumbbell has a cast iron head and comes with a protective plastic coating and contoured steel handles. The PVC coating does not have any rubber odor typically associated with rubber-coated dumbbells.
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%27 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

No regrets

05/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These rubber coated dumbbells are nice. I consider them a long-term investment as I am expecting my young sons to use them as well when they get into high school. No regrets.
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Good value

12/26/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought a 35 lb. pair of these dumbbells over a year ago and they are great tools to have in your fitness training tool box at home away from the gym. I agree with other comments about their odor and it takes a long time to go away. Nonetheless, if you can work past that, they are great value and you can get/maintain in great shape using them to perform short but intense dumbbell complexes. I'm happy I own a pair.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Stunk up my whole house.

12/20/2013
By ,
az
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
you don't notice it in the store, but the rubber stinks bad once you take them home to a smaller confined area. they smell like a smoky barbeque! I left them outside for a week. then I washed them daily with soap. the smell never went away. So I returned them. I have come to found out that urethane does not smell like rubber; however, urethane coated weights cost 3x more.
My main reason for rubber was so they don't scratch the wood floor, but instead I bought the metal dumbbells and put a foam pad on the floor when using them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Somerset, Kentucky
The smell goes away and these are great quality.
Posted 05/12/2014
The metal ones without the rubber coating are substantially cheaper you didn't need to give 2 stars based wanting to save money.
My 81 year old mom had the metal ones for 10 years (yes, true! but she was so busy hauling fieldstone from all over her land to build garden walls that she didn't use them often) before she gave them to my little brother and kept them out doors in the shed with negligible rust so they are good quality too.
The smell does go away but I'd say the smell is similar to some liquid medicines I took for ear infections when I was a kid. I used the foam mats too, even with the coated dumbbells.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Nice Product

08/29/2012
By ,
Red Lion, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well made - although on the pricey side I like the rubber coating and the ergo grips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell 5 lb

10/25/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the looks on these dumbbell. Gonna start to collect the set.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Great Dumbbells

06/19/2013
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The 40lb pair of dumbbells arrived quickly and are comfortable to use. I plan to buy more; shipping was only $6.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Durable Dumbbells

12/29/2012
By ,
Fairfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dumbbells are durable and comfortable to handle. Good price as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Great

02/26/2014
By ,
Orlando
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Love that they don't roll when put down!

12/30/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The coating did not smell which is something other brands had a problem with in reviews. So far they were an excellent choice for my son the "fitness guru" of the family.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Barbell

07/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was expecting 2 for the price I paid. I could have paid the same price at Modell's and not had to wait for delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

great deal, best price for dumbbells

12/16/2013
By ,
St Charles, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the weights were a great buy, good price and shipped in a timely manner. the transaction was very easy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

feels great

11/13/2013
By ,
Hayward, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The weight of these barbells is true to measure. Each fits perfectly in my hand. I ordered two and believe now my workout is going to be a lot better because doing reps with these barbells is effortless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Great purchase!

11/19/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great dumbbells, I use them everyday. So glad I finally made the purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Pretty darn good

10/01/2013
By ,
Palmdale, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rubber ends were loose when I took the weights out of the box so I twisted them until they were even and tight.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

great weights

04/20/2013
By ,
cape cod
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought these today, love them!!! The grip is perfect, not like other dumbells where your hands slip if you are sweating. Will buy more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Perfect for my home use

07/21/2013
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is probably only one or two factories in China that produce 98+% of the rubber coated hex dumbbells sold in the US and they are marketed by many companies.
My CAP marketed dumbbells were competitively priced.
Shipping was only $6 for a pair of 45lb. dumbbells. That's a great deal.
Also, the CAP dumbbells were WELL PACKAGED AND PROTECTED for shipping.
(I have had their competitors ship me the same type of dumbbells just rattling around loose in a cardboard box.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Good work out tool

12/28/2013
By ,
Villa Rica
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast delivery and good work out equipment for home
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single
08/29/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice, high quality dumbbells. They feel good in my hands. Glad I purchased these and hope to work out with them for many years!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orlando fl
question
Posted 11/02/2013
does it come as a set of two, or do i have to order a quantity of 2?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single
05/11/2013
By ,
il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great prpduct for the beginner all the way to experienced lifters. Great value also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Coated Hex Dumbbell, Single

Hex dumbbell used at gym now at home

12/24/2012
By ,
Bellmore, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hex dumbbell is a quick and easy to use at home to keep toned. They are easy to hold with grooved metal to prevent from slipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next