Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Cap Barbell CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

The CAP Barbell Olympic Solid Black Power Bar with Silver Zinc Sleeves has a black oxide finish, and comes with proper hand placement markers and comfortable knurls. The silver zinc sleeves rotate at the most delicate touch. This bar accommodates two-inch plates, and has a 1200-pound weight capacity.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation93%26 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

First impressions - Nice bar for the price

09/06/2012
By ,
Nor Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have been looking for a bar to complete my garage gym. Read several good reviews of this CAP bar (product #OB-86B) and the price was the lowest of all the bars I was considering, plus you cannot beat the free shipping. I am planning on using it for CrossFit workouts at home.
Bar arrived today packaged well in a thick cardboard sleeve. Was slight box damage to one end from the shipping, but the bar was flawless. Most cheap bars have a large bolt that often works its way loose holding on the sleeves. This bar is of a higher quality and uses a snap ring to hold the sleeve. The sleeve has deep grooves to keep the plates in place. The sleeves have some spin and may spin more freely once it gets broken in.
The knurling feels a bit aggressive and that is why I gave 4 stars instead of 5. It feels a bit sharp in my hands. Maybe after some use I will feel differently. This bar has no center knurling which is good if you are doing exercises like thrusters or cleans, where the center of the bar rests near your neck.
Overall an excellent bar for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Good deadlift bar

05/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bar has what I would say is the perfect amount of knurling. The knurling also travels farther in to the middle than other bars I have. This makes it ideal for sumo deadlifts. You can get a whole had full of knurling rather than just a finger or two. It doesn't tear chunks out of shins and fingers either. I was going to buy a Texas powwrbar, but decided to give the cap 86 pb a try due to cost difference. Very happy I did. I like this bar better than a tpb. The bearings/ bushings what ever is in the end spin well, diameter feels good. For the money they charge you can not beat this bar. Anything I found to be similar walked me up at least 100 dollars. It also works well for benching and rows and overhead pressing. Might be sketchy for squatting due to the fact there is no center knurling. I think good bar placement is the key factor in that though. I would definatley buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

CAP barbell 2 inch 1000 lb

05/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bar works very well, used 2-3 times a week over with over 300 lbs. Surprised to find it is a smaller diameter than the 500 lb capacity bar I was using, but getting used to it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

The good and the ugly

02/06/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The good:
1. Grooved sleeves that is safer than smooth sleeves.
2. Snap pin ends which should be better than hex nuts ends.
3. Sleeves in different color than the shaft so that it is easy to see without mirror in front.
4. Well packaged.
The ugly:
1. The shaft black coating is very thin. When delivered, there is ready a thin scratch line from the sleeves all the way to the center on one side.
2. No center knurl.
Overall it is a good value. I was considering buying an American Barbell's stainless bar but it costs 4 times this bar and does not have grooved sleeves. Overtime, this bar most likely will get rusted (don't expect me to oil it frequently to prevent it getting rusted since it is not healthy and time consuming) but it may take more than 5 years for the bar to become useless and then it will be the time to buy a new, assuming the price does not good up as most sporting goods do. Otherwise I will ask American Barbell whether it has a bar with grooved sleeves at no increased price. However, unless the stainless is 18/10 the stainless bar may get rusted too. Let's see whether someone will make 18/10 stainless bar at a reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Good value for a a barbell

06/08/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a barbell that was a step above the poorly made bars that come with weight sets. After researching for a good intermediate bar, I found that many people recommend this particular barbell (especially for the price). I can say the quality appears good and it should last me a very long time. Walmart shipping and delivery were top notch as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Best "Value" bar

09/05/2013
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been more than happy with this bar. I use it was bumper plates for cross-fit and it hold up to the abuse quite well. The action and feel of the bar isn't as nice as, say a rogue bar, but you can also buy three of these for the price of one of the higher end bars. All in all, the best bar I've used at this price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Great First Bar

07/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is an awesome bar. Knurling is perfect. I bought this bar for doing crossfit in my garage. It is almost perfect. Great balance, just the right amount of whip, spins very well etc. The only drawback I have is that the black bar it is difficult to see the markings in the knurling and the knurling is so light it is hard to feel - even though I do not wear gloves. I still think the knurling is perfect though, just enough to keep the bar from slipping, but no where near too much that it eats your hands, just too light to see the markings. I'm going to buy some chalk and mark the bar with it to help with that aspect. Still a great bar and I am looking forward to buying a couple more so friends can work out with me. I would have given 4 1/2 stars if that was possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Strong Bar, Whimpy Knurling

05/03/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used this bar for just over a month now. I have loaded 800lbs and un-racked and re-racked it. It did NOT permanently bend the bar. The collars spin freely. I have squatted and Deadlifted 400lb+ with no issues. This bar would be a great bar if it had better (more aggressive) knurling. The Knurling on this bar is almost non-existant. I have a hard time finding the rings without visually looking for them. I guess I'm spoiled with the Capps Texas Power and Deadlifing Bars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Awesome Bar

05/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What an absolutely great bar. The knurling is absolutely perfect, not too aggressive, not too weak. Perfect. The bar came in a cardboard tube, and had a couple of dings in it. I blame the shippers, not the manufacturer. The bar had a brown oil covering it, which was easily wiped off and replaced with a lighter gun oil. The bar has a very nice whip to it, collars spin very freely. I love this bar and at 1/3 the cost of another bar I was looking at, there are no complaints. I am very satisfied with the purchase and look forward to getting a second bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Best bar for the money

03/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Black oxide bar, zinc coated ends, bushings and spring clip ends. Nearly zero maintence. Rated for more than I can dead lift. IMO, this is the best bar out there at this price point. Comparable bars like this are $170 and up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Great bar!

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great knurling, great balance, tough, beautiful bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

super bar

09/25/2013
By ,
abbotsford B.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got my bar and put it to use right away. Just love the feel of the bar, just the right thickness for benching, great knurling as well . Am considering buying another one exclusively for deadlifting as the bar has lots of weight potential. Training for the WABDL worlds and this bar will be a great asset.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Great bar for at home Olympic lifting

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best bargain I could find for a good product. I didn't want to fork out the cash for the rogue Ohio bar- which is a great bar that I have used- but this is almost as great and a heck of a bargain.
My first bar was damaged in shipping so I would recommend site to store to keep the delivery man from dropping it off the truck in your driveway.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Nice bar!

10/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bar is perfect for my bench press. The bushings make the bar spin freely. In addition the grip is perfect. Stays planted in your hands but is not overly aggressive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

outstanding quality

04/05/2014
By ,
Ocean Spings
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy user, this bar holds up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Great buy!

10/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awsome barbell for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Excellent for the price.

09/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bar came assembled. No hex head screws to install/tighten. Bar feels great on squats due to no knurling mid bar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

The last barbell you'll ever need

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sealed ends. Rolls really really nice. Plates go on and off smoothly every time. Probably the last barbell you will ever need in your lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Awesome bar for the price....

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't say enough. This bar is ideal for my power rack and looks good also. It will hold far more than needed. You can't go wrong. I spents months researching bars and this one rocks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for CAP Barbell Olympic Bar, 2-Inch, 1000-Pound Capacity, 7-Ft

Good bearings

05/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bearings were tight so no loud bang if using bumper plates. The only down fall is its hard to see the knurlings because of the black coating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1 2 Next