Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GE GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

GE GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

The slim and stylish GE X400 14MP Digital Camera is packed with features so you can take fantastic photos wherever life takes you. 19 different scene modes help you get the most out of your pictures by using the settings that best match your surroundings. Optical Image Stabilization helps keep your photos from becoming blurry, even if your hands aren't the steadiest. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.825 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation76%47 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
34 Questions | 54 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization
07/10/2013
By ,
Small Town, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get one good picture with this camera yet. My settings must be wrong.
The lens cap keeps dropping. Not tight enough.
I will read the manual one more time before returning to a Kodak camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Battery life is very poor its drycell battery

01/05/2014
By ,
Bangladesh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera is very bad specially battery system old model. even they don't give good memory card on it ... never buy this kind of product .. i m fool to buy this
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Good camera if it worked.

06/04/2012
By ,
DB Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pictures are blurry. Video will start great then start to go slow motion voice first and then the action. Had to return it after first use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Not Good

05/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons:Cons:
Does not include paper Manuel (on disc)
Lens cover comes off easily
Pictures are blurry, even with focusing they aren't the best.
Auto Scene does not detect correct scene when used.
High quality, does not produce high quality photos.
The 'best' setting does just as good as the 'fine' or 'normal' settings.
Macro does not take clear close ups.
Screen is very grainy, pictures looks dark.
Camera is very noisy.
Etc.
Overall this camera is horrible.
I do not reccomend this camera
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Ok picture quality, POOR memory card reader

07/07/2012
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this camera Friday, today is Saturday and i will be returning it to the store tomorrow! I find it very unconvienent to constantly have to remove memory card and then reinstall. When I go to take a picture I want to be able to take a picture when the camera is powered on, not be disappointed when I captured an unforgetable moment only to have my camera have a "could not save to card" error. This was a brand new memory card, clean and formatted to the camera. GE has a lot of issues they need to resolve with this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
reply about this postings
Posted 10/07/2012
I had a hard time at 1st getting pictures off of this camera and all this posting is too see if this helps you any. I have no problem now as the usb cord that came with this is always plugged into my computer tower. I just get done taking pictures and hook my camera up too the ubs cord and my computer reads it and says i have like 9 photos would i like too upload them all and i click yes. And boom. So if you read this just try too keep that usb cord plugged in 24-7 and hook your camera up too it and should have no problems.
Hope this helps
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

It is being returned to the store

02/26/2013
By ,
Finger Lakes NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The relationship started out nice and I was enjoying the cool features of this camera. It was short lived. Why? Because the freshly charged batteries wore out after 10 pictures. I was still willing to stock up on batteries and be ready for it. Then things got worse. Pictures were blurry, even with the use of a tripod. And the clincher of the relationship was when I saw the video it took. Major disaster on that task. Videos froze up and was garbled. End of story. I think I will go back to Sony. Don't waste your money on the attractive price, you will make it up in gas when you take the camera back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

takes rotten pictures

10/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this camera, it is easy to use but the quality of the picture is awful, I had several cameras in the past so I know how to take pictures but this camera I do not recommend even for a beginner!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!

02/28/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera takes horrible pictures!! what a waste of money! ANd GE customer service is just as bad. I've included a picture with a comparison pic using a Canon A3100 camera. Do yourself a BIG favor and do NOT buy this camera!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
A3100
Posted 10/14/2014
Your comparison pick,the A3100,runs about 3-4 times the price of this camera.
Why not send a picture taken with a $8K Nikon D3X ?
It's just as valid as what you did.
0points
Customer Avatar
Washington
Posted 10/26/2013
Sorry you had a bad experience with there customer service. My disc broke for this camera and i called customer service about getting a new disc and the lady i talked with was super nice and sent me a replacement disc right away.
0points
Customer Avatar
Washington
Dang
Posted 04/23/2013
I'm not saying i don't believe you but my manual disc got damaged and i called customer service and the lady i talked too was very nice. I asked how to get a replacement disc and she said they will send me one and i asked for how much and she said it be no cost. And about 5 days later my replacement disc came.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 9 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Totally Disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The camera is beautiful, but it's quality is pathetic. I was disappointed from the first time I used it because the pictures would turn out blurry. So, I called customer service and found out that I needed to program my memory card to the camera! Yep, it took only about 10 steps and 25 minutes on the phone. When I got off the phone, it took clear pictures only until I unloaded the card and started over. Who has time to program the memory card every time you clear the card. Then, when I would set the "self-timer" and jump into the view, I would be the one that was ALWAYS blurry. Never could I trust the pictures to turn out so I was constantly taking multiple views in hopes to get one good one. Finally, the stress was not worth it, so I called to see if I could get a refund only to find out that they do not give refunds. Imagine that. I sent the camera back and told them to just keep it. They said it had been checked out and was fine, BUT they offered to send me a new one to replace it. Needless to say, I have my own opinion about that one.....no refund, but they will send me a new one? I told them I would not even give a new one away to someone and I would not recommend them to anyone. So, now they have the camera and I wasted $130!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

WORST camera I have ever owned!!

09/19/2014
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Takes poor pictures no matter what mode you are using. I went to a camera class & the teacher even had trouble with the camera. Would not recommend for a beginner or anybody for that matter. Battery life is very poor. Constantly reloading batteries. Threw my $ away on this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Many issues to consider

11/30/2012
By ,
Central New York
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm an amateur photographer who still has a 12' x 18' Kodak Darkroom in the cellar. I have had many film and digital cameras over the years. This camera was purchased for my Grandson. There were no professional reviews just user reviews so I conducted my own comparison against a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35 - a camera with stellar reviews.
In summary, these were my major concerns: Image quality on high 15x zoom, lag time focusing, noise at low iso, aberrations on hi-zoom and difficulty focusing on hi-zoom. To me, all that matters in a camera is image quality and not the litany of many functions. The functions are meaningless if the image quality isn't there. And to me, the image quality, noise, and slowness of the camera wasn't sufficient to retain it even for a budding young photographer.
I was optimistic that the camera would suffice as the price was reasonable for a youngster. In summary, I didn't agree with image quality that others felt was there when compared to images taken with another camera. I feared my Grandson would have been frustrated and lose his interest in the hobby so I returned the camera and decided to buy a used FZ35.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

so disappointed in this camera

01/04/2013
By ,
La Grange Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this camera to take pictures of our son playing College soccer. Even on "sports shot" by the time the picture takes he is not even in the screen. I am so unhappy. We have four boys so sports pictures are part of our daily lives.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Not what I expexted

10/28/2013
By ,
Kentucky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture quality is less than par. Hard to navigate from photo style to another
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Disappointed

10/24/2014
By ,
apple valley, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Will be returning it The cd that comes with it dosn't do anything its just book of info. When I tried to down load pics with plug nothing worked. I will most likely going to send it back. And they came out with the same one for $20 less the next day. In order to get it i would have to buy it and return the other. not easy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Bad power issues

10/16/2014
By ,
Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have had this camera for over 6 mo. now and from the beginning I real haven't been happy with it.
I thought at 1st it was just a learning curve and I was doing something wrong. But after reading the info many times and practicing with it. it didn't get any better.
I finally have come to the conclusion its a power problem, because when I put a fresh set of batteries in the camera the 1st 20 stills and the 1st 15-20 minutes of video is not to bad.But after that is when the pics start to degrade. I have used all the premium brands of batteries and even rechargables with the same results. In the still mode what happens is the pics start to become darker and grainy . In video mode after a few minutes the image becomes wavy and grainy. Then the sound starts breaking up.
Like I said I have used all the high dollar brand of batteries with the same results.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Liked at first. Not anymore.

10/06/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When my parents first bought this camera for me, I loved everything about it. The picture quality was so much better than a simple point and shoot camera and there are a lot more available settings to choose from. Then I got in to photography class and discovered that my camera isn't as good as I thought. In aperture priority (a setting on the camera), I was supposed to be able to blur the background. It even says so in the manual. Sadly, it doesn't do it. It has an option for shutter speed and when I try to raise my shutter speed, it darkens my picture immensely.
If you are a beginner though, and you just want a camera that is better than a normal point and shoot from kodak, try this one. But I wouldn't recommend it for classes, or serious picture taking.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Definitely not what it seems

03/21/2012
By ,
Ballard, WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Pros:
All functions are easy to use.
Comes with lens cover
Battery compartment locks to stay closed.
Cons:
Does not include paper Manuel (on disc)
Lens cover comes off easily
Pictures are blurry, even with focusing they aren't the best.
Auto Scene does not detect correct scene when used.
High quality, does not produce high quality photos.
The 'best' setting does just as good as the 'fine' or 'normal' settings.
Macro does not take clear close ups.
Screen is very grainy, pictures looks dark.
Camera is very noisy.
Etc.
Overall this camera is horrible. I currently own a Samsung 10.3 megapixel with 4x zoom. I was wanting a better camera to use for my photography. The GE 400 seemed like a great camera, with a lot more than the Samsung. However, even though my Samsung is out of date as far as mp, it is a better camera. It takes so much more clearer photos that are not grainy. I have been in photography for two years now and I will be returning this camera I bought. Definitely not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Nice Camera...

11/30/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a nice little camera, it's very user friendly, and has lots of different picture modes to use. However the reason for the three stars is the picture quality in itself. The subject your photographing has to be completely still or the picture will be blurry. Does not take good pictures in low light settings, and I've found I've had to take multiple pictures of something just as a fail safe I'll get a good one. Maybe it's just me and it may work better for you. However most smart consumers research their potential purchases, if that's you I hope this has been helpful.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

good for teen and older adults ages 14 and up

12/12/2013
By ,
Buffalo ny.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my son works it with know probs. and hes 15 and it took 5mins. to get the camera up and going for me. so on that note I love it !!!! It was the best gift i got from my kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Great for business or personal family use

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are in the real estate business and my wife and I both own this model camera. We have had 3 of them only because my wife dropped hers (but it did work for sometime after that). It is very affordable and does take very nice photos. It also has the date and time that we need and can be used for vacation and personal photos too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next