Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GE GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

GE GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

The slim and stylish GE X400 14MP Digital Camera is packed with features so you can take fantastic photos wherever life takes you. 19 different scene modes help you get the most out of your pictures by using the settings that best match your surroundings. Optical Image Stabilization helps keep your photos from becoming blurry, even if your hands aren't the steadiest. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(156 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation76%118 out of 155reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 85 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
36
3 stars
4
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Will not stay in focus! Not stable, drifts!

12/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera will not stay in focus, hard to take picture, quality is not up to expectation.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Good camera if it worked.

06/04/2012
By ,
DB Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pictures are blurry. Video will start great then start to go slow motion voice first and then the action. Had to return it after first use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Out of box failure

02/18/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Camera did not work. Lens zoom mechanism was locked up. Unit did not have sufficient packing material in shipping box to protect it from handling damage.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Unsatisfied customer

12/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tthe lens would not go back in after taking a few photos.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

early malfunction

06/16/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked well for a week , then lost the ability to scan through the photos properly, the only way u could get it to scan was to take a pic then it would scan but only in one direction, then it would not turn off----you had to take the batteries out in order for it to turn offf---------sending it back
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

camera

06/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i wish i would have known that this did not have a rechargeable battery. I returned this item because i did not like that it did not have a rechargeable battery.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Totally Disappointed

10/08/2013
By ,
Newark, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The camera is beautiful, but it's quality is pathetic. I was disappointed from the first time I used it because the pictures would turn out blurry. So, I called customer service and found out that I needed to program my memory card to the camera! Yep, it took only about 10 steps and 25 minutes on the phone. When I got off the phone, it took clear pictures only until I unloaded the card and started over. Who has time to program the memory card every time you clear the card. Then, when I would set the "self-timer" and jump into the view, I would be the one that was ALWAYS blurry. Never could I trust the pictures to turn out so I was constantly taking multiple views in hopes to get one good one. Finally, the stress was not worth it, so I called to see if I could get a refund only to find out that they do not give refunds. Imagine that. I sent the camera back and told them to just keep it. They said it had been checked out and was fine, BUT they offered to send me a new one to replace it. Needless to say, I have my own opinion about that one.....no refund, but they will send me a new one? I told them I would not even give a new one away to someone and I would not recommend them to anyone. So, now they have the camera and I wasted $130!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Not a good camera

06/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not a good camera
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Don't bother

07/01/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pictures are poor quality,
Camera is being returned today - tried last night to take a picture, wont take pictures any more 10 days after purchase.
Going to stick with my 11 year old digital SLR
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization
07/10/2013
By ,
Small Town, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I could not get one good picture with this camera yet. My settings must be wrong.
The lens cap keeps dropping. Not tight enough.
I will read the manual one more time before returning to a Kodak camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Battery life is very poor its drycell battery

01/05/2014
By ,
Bangladesh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera is very bad specially battery system old model. even they don't give good memory card on it ... never buy this kind of product .. i m fool to buy this
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Poor picture quality

12/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality is horrible. I am taking this camera back to the store to exchange for a different camera.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Not Good

05/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cons:Cons:
Does not include paper Manuel (on disc)
Lens cover comes off easily
Pictures are blurry, even with focusing they aren't the best.
Auto Scene does not detect correct scene when used.
High quality, does not produce high quality photos.
The 'best' setting does just as good as the 'fine' or 'normal' settings.
Macro does not take clear close ups.
Screen is very grainy, pictures looks dark.
Camera is very noisy.
Etc.
Overall this camera is horrible.
I do not reccomend this camera
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

buy it

01/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
works for the intended purpose of new baby
Recommends this product? Yes
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

DO NOT BUY THIS!!!

02/28/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This camera takes horrible pictures!! what a waste of money! ANd GE customer service is just as bad. I've included a picture with a comparison pic using a Canon A3100 camera. Do yourself a BIG favor and do NOT buy this camera!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
A3100
Posted 10/14/2014
Your comparison pick,the A3100,runs about 3-4 times the price of this camera.
Why not send a picture taken with a $8K Nikon D3X ?
It's just as valid as what you did.
0points
Customer Avatar
Washington
Posted 10/26/2013
Sorry you had a bad experience with there customer service. My disc broke for this camera and i called customer service about getting a new disc and the lady i talked with was super nice and sent me a replacement disc right away.
0points
Customer Avatar
Washington
Dang
Posted 04/23/2013
I'm not saying i don't believe you but my manual disc got damaged and i called customer service and the lady i talked too was very nice. I asked how to get a replacement disc and she said they will send me one and i asked for how much and she said it be no cost. And about 5 days later my replacement disc came.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 16 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Returned

01/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item was returned because it would not function properly. It would not focus and the power button did not work correctly either right out of the box.
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Worst camera ever

04/07/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this camera after my sister recommended it to me. I had the worst luck. Right from the start it drained batteries faster than a vampire drains a victom.
After owning it just over a month it stopped working. I would turn it on and it would shut down instantly. Of course since I didn't pay for the extra warrenty, the store I purchased it from would do nothing. I shouldn't have to pay $50+ extra to make sure the product works longer than 30 days. I did not purchase it from WalMart, my bad.
Either way. I would strongly recommend you stear clear of this camera. Stick with Nikkon, Cannon, Pentax or even Kodiak over GE...
This camera is the biggest waste of money.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

sorry I bought it

07/05/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I would have known that no manual came with its on line but when your away from the computer that does not help.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

Ok picture quality, POOR memory card reader

07/07/2012
By ,
Kentucky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this camera Friday, today is Saturday and i will be returning it to the store tomorrow! I find it very unconvienent to constantly have to remove memory card and then reinstall. When I go to take a picture I want to be able to take a picture when the camera is powered on, not be disappointed when I captured an unforgetable moment only to have my camera have a "could not save to card" error. This was a brand new memory card, clean and formatted to the camera. GE has a lot of issues they need to resolve with this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
reply about this postings
Posted 10/07/2012
I had a hard time at 1st getting pictures off of this camera and all this posting is too see if this helps you any. I have no problem now as the usb cord that came with this is always plugged into my computer tower. I just get done taking pictures and hook my camera up too the ubs cord and my computer reads it and says i have like 9 photos would i like too upload them all and i click yes. And boom. So if you read this just try too keep that usb cord plugged in 24-7 and hook your camera up too it and should have no problems.
Hope this helps
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for GE X400 Black 14MP Digital Camera with 2.7" LCD, Optical Image Stabilization

no smiles for this camera

05/28/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this camera because I needed one for a family event. Read mixed reviews but it was on sale - good price., so I bought it. :( Seemed to work 'ok' but the promised features were difficult to use. I am pretty good photographer - good majority of my shots were blurry and I couldnt get camera to focus correctly. Sometimes the camera only worked if I used the full zoom, sometimes I couldnt get the zoom to work at all. Now after having the camera for about 6 months - it just stopped working all together. Very frustrated and angry because warranty is up, I dont have a camera and I'm out financially. Would NOT recommend this camera!!
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 154 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next