Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for GALAXY Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

GALAXY Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

This Galaxy box fan features three speeds and top-mounted controls. The easy-to-use carrying handle enables convenient transport of the Galaxy box fan.
Average Customer Rating:
4.31 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Recommendation90%227 out of 252reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
154
4 stars
59
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
15
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Warped out of the box

05/08/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this after our 5 year old knocked over the bedroom box fan and broke the blade (this was a Galaxy and worked great for at least a full year with great airflow but we were not sure if they would still be as good). As it happens our misgivings were realized. After reading all the great reviews, hubby went out at 1130 pm and bought one. Got it home - ooh nice and white. Put the feet on it, plugged it in and whup whup whup.. sounded like a helicopter. The screen was pressed against the fan blades and made a terrible racket. We turned it off, looked to see if it had a retaining clip or something holding the screen in too tight. Nope, nothing just terribly warped. Off hubby went back to Walmart (now 1 am).. fast forward half an hour, 2nd Galaxy 20" box fan now installed and blowing great. This fan does blow - in all the right ways - as long as you don't get a defective unit. I would buy it again but not before I checked the actual unit I was taking home and not online.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 2 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

great value

06/24/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been using the same old cheap box fan for years now and it just wasn't getting the job done. Even on the highest setting the fan was still very weak. So I picked up the Galaxy fan at Walmart today and set it up as soon as I got home.
Being a low priced box fan and after having a disappointing experience with my last fan, I didn't have high expectations for this one. So it totally surprised me as soon as I turned it on. This thing is powerful! Even on the lowest setting it puts forth a wonderful breeze. It's great!
It is a bit louder than my old fan, but not to the point where it's unbearable or obnoxiously loud. It's something I can deal with.
If you're looking for a reasonably priced box fan to beat the summer heat, definitely consider the Galaxy.
My only regret is that I didn't buy this last year at the end of the summer season when it was probably on clearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 3 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100
06/27/2012
By ,
Carlisle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Light weight, easy to carry around.
If you have no small kids, remove the front grill and get twice as much air. Accidentally putting hand or foot into the fan just hits the flat sides of the blades and doesn't hurt.
Can't find wattage rating anywhere but at 2 cents an hour and 10 cents/KWH that would be 200 watts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 4 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Good Deal

06/18/2012
By ,
minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $15 you can not get one very much cheaper in price. This fan is really not any louder than any other box fan I have had in the past. Would recommend it to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 5 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

So worth it!

06/12/2012
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this fan!! It's such a good quality for a cheap price. It is a little loud as the previous review said but you do get used to it and the air it blows out feels awesome. I'm happy :).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 6 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Good deal!

08/07/2012
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made in the USA. Kodos for that! Fan is well made. Works great. Not sure what the fuss was about noise level from others. Fan is no different than any other box fan and its really not that loud. I've had desk fans that are more noisy. We're happy with the fan and have recommended it to others who were looking to replace their fans.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 7 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100
06/30/2012
By ,
La Grange Park, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these fans work better than any others that i've tried - much stronger wind power
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 8 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100
08/04/2012
By ,
Topeka, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fan cools very nicely. I have yet to use the medium and high speeds because Low is very powerful. It keeps my room cool and it's been in the 100's and 90's here. I was pleasantly surprised. The only drawback, (and I can live with it because it cools so well) is that it is a little noisy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Terrific fan!!!

08/10/2012
By ,
Boone, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great fan! It is ruggedly built with a metal housing - built in the USA, I believe, In any case, it really moves the air very quietly and efficiently. I have two of these and would certainly buy another one if needed. HIGHLY recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 10 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Great Price

06/09/2012
By ,
Galloway, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For $15 it's best price, yes it is a bit louder but once you get used to it no big deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 11 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Good Fan for the Price

06/21/2014
By ,
Denison, Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this fan as an exchange for another brand which I got at my local Walmart store. The other brand had a defective motor, so it was returned. I then purchased the Galaxy 20" Box Fan online, at the same price as the first fan. I have owned a Galaxy exactly like this new one for several years, so had no hesitation in buying another one. (It wasn't available in-store, hence the other-brand purchase). I like the Galaxy much better: it has a 3-speed control knob on top where it's easy to reach, and an actual handle that can be securely grasped to move the fan about. The fan motor, in my opinion, is reasonably quiet.
I use my fans (four, including this new one) to place in windows for ventilation during the "moderate" spring/fall seasons when A/C or heat is not needed. For some reason the manual that came with this new fan said NOT to use it in a window, yet instructions for my old Galaxy and the two others (different brands), only a few years ago listed use in a window as one of the fan's desirable features. Well, I will continue to use my fans in the windows -- with due caution to make sure they don't get wet from rain, and that they fit securely in the window frame. They may not be as powerful as an old-fashioned attic fan (had one in another home; it was wonderful), but they can pull in a lot of fresh air on a cool country night -- and at less expense than running the A/C.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+3points
Review 12 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Great fan, great price

06/21/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fan has been on in my apartment for about two weeks now. No problems. Easy to unpack. Showed up at my door within 2 or 3 days. GREAT PRICE. Great value. Everything I hoped for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Works Great!

07/21/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fan is definitely louder than most; however, it's '3' level is like extra, extra high! It is like a wind tunnel, circulates the air extremely well. On nights that I don't want to sleep with the windows open, I put this in the window and literally within a few minutes this fan cools down my entire apartment because it is so powerful. Even on '1' low level, it is like putting a regular fan on high - so if you're looking for a fan with light circulation, this probably isn't for you! Great buy for the price, I was going to buy 2 of these to keep my apartment really cool, but one is plenty because it works so well!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Great value

07/09/2012
By ,
Cairo, Egypt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this fan to pull air into our hallway bathroom that gets really hot. It works well and blows a lot of air. Regarding other reviewers' opinions that it is loud, it is not any louder than any other box fan I've ever encountered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 15 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Works but loud

06/15/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Moves some air but is fairly noisy. I wouldn't use it in a bedroom while sleeping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lima
no
Posted 08/01/2014
very loud
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

This Is A Wind Machine .

07/04/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With this fan, low seems like medium, medium seems like high and high seems like super high. A no-brainer for cooling and air circulation. And you cannot beat the price with a bat.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Great fan for the price!

05/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these fans--one for inflow of air and one for outflow, to create a cross breeze in my home. I'm attempting project "No Air (read:AC)" by investing in fans this year in order to reduce my dependence on electricity. Yesterday, it was close to 90 degrees here in TN and with these two fans and two window fans running, the house never got any warmer than 81 degrees inside. Surprisingly, I was completely comfortable. Furthermore, these Galaxy fans are able to push some air at extreme velocity--so far I've only needed to use them on the low setting. If you need some serious wind power in a light weight, economical, inexpensive, easy to move and operate fan, buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 18 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Box Fan

02/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little loud, but works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 19 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Love these fans!

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice sound blocker so I can sleep like a teenager on summer break
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 20 for Galaxy 20" Box Fan B20100

Very powerful fan works great

02/27/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use these fans all the time to bring fresh air into smokey rooms so they are liveable. I used to use a twin fan I got from walmart that I paid 20 bucks for to do that but this one does it a lot better for cheaper. Its great because its powerful enough to bring in air in or push the smoke out of a room if you put it in the window. But it also is great as just a cooling fan. Saves a lot on my light bill too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 181 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next