Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JVC JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

JVC JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

The black JVC HD Flash Camcorder is a compact HD camcorder with an SDXC card slot and offers Full HD 1080p resolution. The JVC Camcorder, Advanced Image Stabilizer also features 40x optical zoom for great close up shots. Note: Memory card not included. Purchase of a memory card is highly recommended. The JVC HD Camcorder, 2.7" LCD display features 1.37 megapixel image sensor delivers high resolution video with excellent color and precision detail, 2.7" LCD display that allows you to shoot and review your footage on a bright screen 1920 x 1080 movie resolution. Get this black JVC HD Flash Camcorder and start creating professional-grade video.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%15 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Its good for regular takings!

12/20/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought mine but to shoot testimonial videos for t.v. but image was too poor, even though it said it was HD 1080, so I exchange it for a Sony, with a better sharper image. Yet, the price is reasonable and good for outside or home videos.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 2 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer
05/26/2012
By ,
new york city , NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful camcorder really good for taking pics and does not break when u drop it a bunch of times trust me i know ive done droped my alot zoom is really good hope if u get it u like it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 3 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

A simple camcorder that does its job well.

06/05/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was an awesome camcorder for the money that was paid. But looking here on the website to take a look at the camcorder was a bit confusing. First of all, the picture on this page of the JVC camcorder is not the actual camcorder, or at least that's what I get on my screen. The picture I see is actually the GZE200 JVC camcorder, not the GZHM40. That might not be the case for you, but keep that in mind. This camcorder does record at 1080p, which the camcorder shows as being called "UXP". I stay at the "XP" setting, which is probably the 720p. It records video nicely and sharply, but one thing that disappointed me was that I can't seem to take actual photos or "stills" with this. Other models had a round button on the top that takes the photos, but on my model, the only thing it does is switch from manual settings to I.Auto, or "Intelligent Auto". Also the battery, as mentioned in other reviews, isn't that nice. It stays alive for around 40 minutes, so I would recommend getting spare batteries.But on the nice side, it does well in low light, and even has "time-lapse"! Its audio is crisp and clear, and its video preforms great. But just keep money for getting an extra battery, and since a memory card is not included in the package, store some change for that too. So, overall, I'm really pleased. The camcorder did what it said it would, and while I'm not a fan of the included software, I still think it works nicely as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 4 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Good value

05/30/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this repeatedly over the past month. I have recommended it to one of my relatives.
A few things that a newbie needs to know:
1. Use the function to reduce the sound of wind.
2. Definately remember to use the Menu to select the HD setting (UXP)
3. Be prepared to either charge or have a spare battery.
4. You will need am ecternal flash or a light to use in the dark.
The auto-zoon mic is an improvement over the JVC GZMN30BUS, but not as good as having an external mic as with more expensive cameras. I have used it for over a month without any kind of software malfunction, which had been a problem with my Kodak.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Review 5 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Liked the camera, but did not like the software

08/15/2012
By ,
Va Beach
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
1) quality of the recordings was excellent in normal conditions and pretty good in low light.
2) the battery that comes with it only lasts 40 mins at best. go to jvc.com for additional batts
3) it is very compact and my hand was actually too big to comfortably hold the camera and press the record button on the back
4) in full 1080 quality (UXP) you can transfer the clips to a computer for playback BUT you cannot add UXP clips to a movie. the provided software converts the UXP clips to XP quality.
5) the provided software (which is loaded on the camera) is proprietary by EVERIO and is the only software you can use to edit clips or compile clips into a movie due to the file format the clips are saved in. i tried using windows movie maker and it attempts to convert the file format, but to convert a 2 min clip... 45 mins had passed and it still wasnt halfway done.
6) i returned the camera after 4 days of testing it mainly because of the software/file ext issues. I contacted JVC and EVERIO multiple times to no avail. if you dont care about the software then this could be an ideal camera for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Great Camera! Too Good?

06/13/2012
By ,
Albuquerquerque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this to make a summer film. I wanted something high quality. It is actually too high quality for the free Windows Live Movie Maker. I had to buy the new program because it took way too long to render. I highly recomend this to someone that has some experience before you just play around with it.
The only reason i said meets expectations 4/5 is it is really small, it does fit in the palm of your hands, but I bought a big tripod, so it looks a little funny with a giant tripod with such a small camera on top. Durable too, it took a 4 foot drop onto pavement on my driveway and has no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Williston, ND
USB cord and included program
Posted 06/20/2012
Did you use the free program that came with the camera? Did you like it? Was Windows live Movie Maker maker the free program that came with it or is it another program you used? Also, is the HMDI mini output the cord to connect to the computer? Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

GOOD QUALITY!!!

06/13/2012
By ,
Leesburg,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I may be a SONY fan, but JVC has outdone themselves with this camcorder. It may be one of the cheapest HD camcorders around, but it proves its great value through easy use, High Definition Quality, and many features. I love it and I recommend it to people who want great quality video for a great price (compared to most camcorders under $200).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 8 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Love it

05/14/2012
By ,
Colliers WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not for the professional, but great if you want really good videos.
Great zoom, but consider an extra battery.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 9 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Very affordable but get the touchscreen camera

12/19/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I didn't realize this was not a touchscreen camera. You have to keep looking at the inside panel to change controls WHILE you are recording. It was not convenient. Also this camera does not take still photos and I though it did. I returned it and bought the VHC with the touch screen and camera which also included a camera case----for the same price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 10 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Great product for the money.

03/02/2013
By ,
Katy,Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It takes great videos. The videos look so real on a high def tv.Colors are true to life and the zoom is awsome.The only thing that i didnt like is the battery life is terrible.Bout 30-40 min recording time. i think i will get a larger capacity battery.Battery life is why i only gave it 4 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Simple, easy to use, batter life poor

03/04/2013
By ,
Denver
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice Camcorder, simple to use, straight foreward interface. Many useful features such as time-lapse and motion detection. The battery life is about 50-60 minutes with the OEM battery. Plan on getting a spare battery. Battery charges in about 2.0 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 12 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

nice detail high def, good software editing

07/22/2012
By ,
otsego,MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
high def...nice
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-5points
Review 13 for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer

Great camera and easy to use

01/04/2013
By ,
Fenton, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality for that price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for JVC GZHM40BUS Black HD Flash Camcorder w/ 40x Optical Zoom, 2.7" LCD display, Advanced Image Stabilizer
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5