Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Yamaha Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Yamaha Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Your little one will have hours of adventurous fun with the Yamaha Raptor 700R Boys' ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On. With its realistic design, he'll feel like he's riding the trails.
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(403 Reviews) 377
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
225
4 stars
105
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
48
Customer Recommendation84%339 out of 403reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
130 Questions | 273 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
225
4 stars
105
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
48
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Yamaha Raptor 700R vs Power Wheels Kawasaki KFX

03/27/2011
By ,
Andalusia Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yamaha Raptor 700R vs. Power Wheels Kawasaki KFX
I originally purchased the Power Wheels Kawasaki KFX for my 2 year old son and was impressed, It seemed a little cheaply built, but overall it did what I wanted it to do, however, after only 10 days the rear end stripped out, and left us disappointed. We then went with the Yamaha Raptor, and all I can say is wow! This 4-wheeler is far superior, from the positive traction rear end(which makes it nearly impossible to get stuck), to the heavier (and I mean it carries twice the weight of the Kawasaki, 130 lbs!) built frame! Another great feature on this product is it has a shock underneath the backside which makes it a much smoother ride! Where the Kawasaki would get stuck, the Yamaha keeps going, for what it is, it is a beast! We have a trail through 20 acres of woods; this 4-wheeler travels it many times, without ever getting stuck, and keeps a great charge on the battery! It drives through dirt, pine straw roads, knocks down small bushes and even climbs steep hills! This is a great 4-wheeler, and I feel is far superior to that of the Kawasaki!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+553points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

So far so good. Great fun for kids!

01/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My 3 1/2 year old son received the raptor 4 wheeler as a Christmas gift this year. It's been pretty cold so we haven't had a lot of opportunities to use it much yet. So I'm only commenting on the machine for about a month of having it. So far so good. Assembly was fairly simple took my husband about a half hour or so to get it assembled on Christmas Eve night. FYI... the battery needs to charge at least 13 hours prior to first to use. Quality seems decent..an entire plastic frame and wheels. My only complaint at this point is how to access the battery...it is located under the seat and has to be screwed on and off in order to take it in and out. That is a poor design due to the inconvenience. The raptor has 2 speeds and a reverse setting. Goes about 6 miles per hour at its maximum. My 2 sons can ride together weighing approximately 75 to 80 pounds together, of course naturally it slows down a bit more with more weight but the seat is large enough for 2. My son absolutely loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

5 YEARS, 4 kids and going strong!

11/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
5 years ago we purchased this model for our then 2 (now 7) year old. It's been ridden hundreds of hours and is still in great shape! It's lived with us in California and Florida- with the great weather we're outside a ton and this seems to be the toy of choice for the hour of battery life. We have replaced the battery once, replaced the back wheels twice and it's amazing both on blacktop and does fine on our wood decking, pool deck concrete, and grass. It spins a bit in the mud but I could never complain considering the amount of abuse all of our kids have put it through and it's still kicking like it's brand new. We have a Jeep Powerwheels too but it's so difficult for the kids to steer through the grass and now that my boys are bigger their legs are simply too long for it- not a problem with the ATV! We'll be adding two more of these to the collection this Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

great customer service

10/06/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this in July and the battery never really lasted long- we have a john deere as well and that was outlasting the 4 wheeler all the time- well then it just stopped working completely. So I called the # on the product and got a very helpful rep, Kim, and she had me get a voltage reading on the battery- which showed 12.5- so that seemed good, but then after more discussion she told me since these batteries sit on a shelf for a year or more without ever being used or charged, cells can die, so mine was considered defective even though it showed a good reading. She sent me a new shifter, battery and charger all at no cost, and I recieved within 3 business days. Ever since it has been running great! And my boys, 2 and 5 love it!! I even ride it sometimes!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

All in all, a very good product!

05/07/2011
By ,
Scranton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this for my 3 year old grandson last year. Similar products looked poorly built by comparison, so I opted for the Raptor. The maximum weight load exceeds the competitions, so the kids will not grow out of it as quickly. Other thoughts:
* The battery (Yuasa NP12-12) costs $24 - $30 to replace. Proper maintenance absolutely required or it will not last beyond a year. Read the charging instructions and follow them to the t!
* The battery life is fairly short before it requires a charging (1-2 hours). Charging takes 14 to 24 hours.
* I suppose for safety reasons, there is no external battery charging hookup on the Raptor. You must remove the seat and disconnect the battery to charge it, making it easy for you to lose the seat retaining screw!
* Two speeds and reverse - pretty impressive! High speed clips along fairly well, though not dangerously so.
* The "tires" are hard molded plastic and will wear very quickly if used frequently on paved, concrete or other rough surfaces.
* The instructions warn against shifting speeds while moving lest the transmission break. Really, now, what 3 - 6 year old is going to listen to such reasoning!
Overall, I am happy with the purchase and would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

good purchase

05/27/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good price, kid loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

gift for grandson

05/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great our Grandson loves it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Awesome Ride!

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my purchase of the Yamaha Raptor. It is a nice looking, sturdy ATV. My 5 yr old son loves riding it. The 2 speeds are nice, the low speed for younger children. There is a lot of room for a child to grow on this. I an 120 lbs and 5'4'' and can ride comfortably! Great buy!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Ion battery burst into flames

05/06/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Search Yamaha raptor on Facebook you can see the video. Moments after my 3 year old got off because the battery was dead it was engulfed in flames and melted until all that was left was the metal handlebars and the battery. Very scary!! I hope no one ends up seriously injured because of this!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Okay for the price.

12/23/2011
By ,
York, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The easy 1-2-3 step assembly on the box is not so easy in my opinion. Word of advice: rely on the video provided and ignore the paper instructions. Out of the box I got everything together up to the front axle to realize none of the nuts and washers were provided for the front axle (missing from box, they are normally provided). It was the weekend so I just went to the hardware store and bought them. Customer service is only open monday through friday 8-5. So unrealistic. The front grill is very cheap and one of the four holes was not drilled through the entire way so ours only has 3 screws holding it onto the frame at the moment. The foot pedal easily pops out of the frame which seems cheap to me. For $200 it's an alright four wheeler. Big bonus is it holds up to 130lbs which is why I chose it over another brand/model. It's for Christmas so my son hasn't gotten to ride it yet but hopefully it will work as well as the other reviews says it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride on Toy that all the kids love

08/06/2011
By ,
Scranton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the biggest (12 years old) to the smallest (3 years old) they all love this ride on. The older ones drive the younger ones and then they get a turn by themselves. The big wheels handle our yard well, better then the mustang that we have. I have a great time watching the kids ride around too. We did not have a problem putting the ATV together and it looks very nice. We purchased an extra battery to get twice the fun. The ATV is sturdy, easily holding 2 children and is easy for the older kids to drive, since the peddle is not boxed in the body. Great buy for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good replica of real four wheeler

12/23/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought as Christmas gift for our son. Was missing the nuts and washers for the rear axle, a required component for riding. Called Motion Trendz during the day on a Saturday to request the replacement parts to only be told they were closed for system maintenance. So then called back on Monday morning to be put on hold with a message saying their hours are 8-5 and will not take calls after 5:00 p.m. even if you are on hold - what customer service. Got through to a service representative and was explaining the issue of the missing parts and asked if the parts could be overnighted since it was two days before Christmas. Before I could even finishing the statement, the representative cut me off in the middle of my sentence and sternly said she suggested for us to go to the local hardware store to purchase the missing parts!! What happened to customer service with customer satisfaction??? May be the last time we purchase a Motion Trendz product if they can not take care of a simple request!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

This ride on is great.

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would highly recommend. Lots of power. You wont be disappointed in ths one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Clearly not a lemon

09/28/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I thought I'd take my chances with this atv - just assumed all the negative reviews were angry buyers... NOT TRUE! My son used this once and the slow speed as well as the reverse stopped working. This must be a problem with these as so many reviews had the same problem. Other things I didn't like about this was you can't lock out the fast speed so they can go any speed they want, there is no real off switch, the stickers that came on it looked like my two year old put them on himself they were so bad, the turning radius is horrible, and they have so many "rules" for your child while riding (no grass, no dirt, no rain, concrete will damage tires, no fun!)!
Things I did like were the seat was very nice and the atv itself was very heavy and felt quality built - of course felt and actually are quality are apparently two different things.
Even though the atv had "do not return to store" plastered in about 10 different spots, I brought it back and the people at Walmart were very helpful and labeled it defective, returned my money and helped me pick out a new John Deere. Don't waste your time with this atv - it seems like you have a 50/50 chance it's going to stay working, not something you want to take a chance on when they cost that much.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

This Ride is perfect!

05/20/2011
By ,
Woodland, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this toy over a year ago for my son. He was 2 at the time but VERY coordinated. He has used this toy every single day that I let him outside and he LOVES it! He loves that he doesn't have to have help moving it around because of the 2 sppeds and the reverse. He had a smaller battery powered 4wheeler and it just sat and spun on the grass. This 4wheeler Has no problem gripping the ground. He has ridden it after it has rained and after it has snowed and never had a problem! I Love thatit has one slow speed so that he can ride it with his little sister and not go so fast it knocks her off the back, but in the high gear he is so excited because he is going "super fast"! This is just over all the perfect battery powered toy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
conroe, tx
700R
Posted 07/24/2012
All 3 of my kids love this one as they do the other two that I purchased. I recomend keeping track of your reciept though, as the shifters have an issue with going out and it is $15 to replace. My kids use these on rough terrain and have been stuck in low sand and goat weeds as well as deep grass, but only one exceeds 40 pounds and he gets stuck the least, so I am sure that as my kids grow the 4 wheelers will do better
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 36 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

BAD QUALITY

05/02/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my son's 6TH birthday; yet, he has yet to ride it due to defects and problems with it. The stickers were wrinked on the four wheeler, the screws were stripped, very poor quality, and it was missing pieces. So, if I'd only went with the reviews I would have bought something else for my child.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Perfect for the "in between" ages!

08/29/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We decided to buy the Yamaha Raptor over all of the other products out there because it has a weight limit of 130lbs!!! I bought this for my 6 year old for "bigger" fun outside toy because she has grown out of all her smaller toys. this is perfect because she can use it for years to come....and my younger kids will also be able to as well when they get a little bigger. I was worried that buying something for this price was going to be a mistake because it wouldn't be durable enough to withstand my daughter who is on the rough side :-)
I am VERY PLEASED to find that it has NOT disappointed me at all. It drives smooth as it has shocks on the rear. It does NOT get stuck at all!! It drives through the grass that is overgrown. It is easy to operate with 2 speeds and a reverse. In fact, she gives the younger ones rides...FUN FOR EVERYONE!! I am so happy we chose this over all the other ones out there. The battery life so far has been great as well!! Hours of riding! The only thing I would have liked to have seen is this product offered in girl colors. But she looks good driving blue too :-)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Deffective right out of box

10/11/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the Yamaha raptor for my grandsons third birthday. getting a jump on things I assembled and charged the battery the night before(battery requires 14 hours of charge time). The next day I thought I was ready when he came over he was really happy. I placed the battery in the unit and replaced the seat. he jumped on the yamaha expecting to go, but it did not work. moving the gear lever from low to high nothing, and then we placed it in reverse it did work. I got out the manual to call tech support, wow they are not open because the only work monday through friday 8 am to 5pm then to bad. they made sure to place stickers and cards all over assuring that you do not return to walmart. very disapointed, would not buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good Quality poor disclaimer

11/06/2011
By ,
GP, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my sons 6th birthday. While the actual product seems to be amazing we had to return it today. (shortly after opening the box.) The store seemed to have repackaged a previously used quad. Stickers were peeling off, tires were worn, and the plastics were scratched and faded. The quad worked okay but was not going to keep it for the price I paid for it! He loves the new one, and it can hold him 50 lbs and his sister thats 48lbs and they both love it. It handles better on the road then grass or gravel. I love that it has a battery indicator light so you can see how far you can go with the battery, unlike my daughters power wheel jeep that will just stop working on our adventures. All in all I recommend the product just make sure the package seems to be factory sealed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Yamaha Raptor ATV 12-Volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Super blue buggy

04/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very good looking riding toy. Great color. Easy to use. Speedy
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 378 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next