Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meguiar's Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Meguiar's Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Professional results are made easy with Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit. Included in the kit is a safe and effective hand sanding and machine polishing system that restores optical clarity to severely oxidized, yellowed and scratched headlights.
Average Customer Rating:
4.778 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation96%26 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Exceeds expectations

08/18/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product requires a little bit of effort, but the results are amazing. The process is completed in 4 steps, and our Land Rover required all 4. Heavy sanding, light sanding, polishing, and a protectant. Our Toyota's lights were not as bad and I was able to skip the heavy sanding.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Like night and day

08/02/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say I was really impressed by how good this worked. Most of the time taken to do this job was taping off the headlights. The rest was an easy 4 step process that got my headlights looking like new again with minimal work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

This stuff REALLY works GOOD!

08/21/2013
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like you am very skeptical when it comes to these sort of wonder work alls! Well guess what, it does WORK! You can see if you watch my video how bad my lenses were and then how clear they are at the end. Mind blowing. If your headlights are yellow, spend the money and get this stuff and fix it. I didnt have a drill and did the sanding by hand which was super easy and it worked. Note: be sure to reapply the plastic x and headlight restorer about once a month to keep the clear look because the lights will slowly begin to yellow again otherwise. You will not have to resand though!!!! Hope my review helps!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

This product WORKS!!!!!!

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hoping this kit would perform as well as all the other Meguiar's products I've used and I was not disappointed. Man does this stuff REALLY work. Follow the instructions closely and the results will amaze you, it sure did me! The lenses on my daughter's Honda Civic were so bad, to the point that I could only hope for modest results at best. Well, Meguiar's didn't let me down! The lenses on the car are now actually better than new and with the application of the protector sealant I have every confidence that they'll stay that way. Thank you Meguiar's and Wal-Mart, great product, great price, totally satisfied customer!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Car looks new again for only $21!

07/07/2012
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The headlights on my 2004 Cavalier were extremely yellow and gross, and I've tried sanding them and polishing them a couple times before in the past with no success. I got a gift card for Wal-Mart and didn't really need anything, so I decided to pick this up and give it a try since it came with a drill attachment for buffing.
I followed the directions for each headlight, and man, my headlights are crystal clear. I never would've thought it'd make them this clear, but I was wrong. This kit is definitely worth the $21 spent and you'll probably get four, maybe five uses out of it. My headlights were so yellow and rough that I figured sanding them anymore would only make them worse, but they look brand new. I'll be trying it on my roommate's Tiburon tomorrow as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Works Great

06/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This kit works and there is plenty of solution to get many uses out of it. I've used it probably 6 times now and there's still more left.
Here's the caveat with these kits. From the factory your headlights come with a UV resistant layer that eventually degrades causing the yellow haze. Once you sand and buff your way through that with these kits, it's gone. The UV coating in the kit isn't very good, and they will yellow again within 6 months or so.
However, there is plenty of supplies with this kit to reapply it many times.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit
04/08/2012
By ,
San Dimas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The headlight lens on my car were so badly yellowed light could hardly shine through.
I followed the directions on the kit and within one hour the lens looked better than new.
It was unbelievable! I was truly amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

IT WORKS!

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish there were more than 5 stars. I could barely see the bulbs it was so bad. I had tried other products that didn't make a dent in the haze.
I saw a video on youtube and gave it a try. It exceeded all my expectations. I have clear lenses now. Follow the directions and it WILL work for you.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Great product

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything Ok
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Great Results

07/04/2012
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical that these type products really worked. I was wrong. This kit exceeded my expectations. The headlights on my 8 year old truck look brand new again. It took less than 1 hour start to finish to restore them from dull and yellow to shiny and crystal clear. This kit really does work!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Great headlight restorer

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This restroration headlight is outstanding . I tried other products but none came close to doing the job as this one. I strongly recommend Meguiar' s heavy duty restoration kit.
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Wow! Amazed at the difference!

08/03/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2001 Dodge Neon. Over the last few years, I've become painfully aware how cloudy the headlights have gotten. Yellow, gross and hard for the light to shine through. I took a chance and bought this kit yesterday, hoping to improve the appearance of my car. Best twenty bucks I've ever spent!! It took less than 20 minutes to do both headlights and both are almost as clear as new! I'm so excited. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Meguiar's restoration kit worked for me.

05/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend you this product. Just follow the instructions to the letter and you will get the best results. My headlights look like new, im glad I didnt have to replace them. This kit saved me a good $250. If my headlights ever go bad again I know what product I can trust. 2012 Toyota Venza.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

AMAZING RESULTS

07/23/2012
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Meguiar's Heavy Duty kit after having less than perfect results 2 years ago with another product. I followed the directions and it delivered. The badly yellowed & oxidized lenses looked "brand new" when finished. Not just better or much better... BRAND NEW. The clarity was just as it was on the car when new. I was so impressed after doing my wife's car that I also used the kit on my own car, so it was an economical purchase as well in that 2 cars were completed with the same kit. Outstanding product and results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Works GREAT

01/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this product and used it on my truck, what a difference it made I can now see my headlights at night when I drive. I've used this on two other cars now and have some left for at least two more cars. You may have to sand it a couple of times for it to get totally clean so take you're time on it.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Great Product, with a Great Price!!

11/11/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit restored my Lexus ES300 headlights and fog lights to almost brand new condition. It only took about 1 & 1/2 hours to clean my headlights and fog lights. They weren't terribly yellow, but they were faded pretty bad. This really got the job done! All you need is a household drill for this kit and your good to go! I can still see a really tiny bit of yellow in my headlights, but that's because i was gentle with my sanding because i was worried it wouldn't work. This product is great, just MAKE SURE you follow the directions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

The Buffing Wheel made the difference.

09/09/2014
By ,
Orang County CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Package comes with two reusable wet sanding pads that I used but the real improvement appeared to come from use of the buffing wheel mounted on my drill. A small amount of a PlastX liquid is applied to the wheel that did bring back most of the clarity I was looking for. Have previously used a Turtle Wax kit that lacked the buffing wheel and did not work well. Have also tried toothpaste and a rag with marginal improvement. I believe the improvement is the result of the buffing wheel and buffing agent they call PlastX. The kit has enough PlastX to do several cars however, if you have a buffing wheel and some sort of buffing agent for plastic I suspect you could obtain a similar result.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Amazing!

03/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most amazing stuff ever! I watched the how-to video and I honestly thought it would take at least an hour to do the job. It only took about 10 minutes to do both headlights. I highly recommend this to anyone. It took no elbow grease, anyone can do it. This is my new best friend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Does what it says

09/23/2014
By ,
Slidell La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have tried all and everything to clear up headlights to the point of damaging one of them. Nothing had worked until I used this product. Not only did it clear up it also seemed to repair or at least hide the damage. Was told everything that was done to clean them damaged them so bad they needed replacing. Now I have clear lights and so far has stayed that way for a month. Time will tell how long it will last but will be using this product again to clear. Already did another vehicle for family with same kit and can possibly get another use or two out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Outstanding! 2003 Dodge Ram

01/28/2013
By ,
Hershey, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after previously trying to restore my headlights with another product. I'm not sure what kind of plastic polish is in this kit but it is amazing! I can't explain how great he difference is from before. If you put the work in with this kit it definitely is worth every penny. my headlights look mint!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next