Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Meguiar's Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Meguiar's Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Professional results are made easy with Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit. Included in the kit is a safe and effective hand sanding and machine polishing system that restores optical clarity to severely oxidized, yellowed and scratched headlights.
Average Customer Rating:
4.706 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%16 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Like night and day

08/02/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I must say I was really impressed by how good this worked. Most of the time taken to do this job was taping off the headlights. The rest was an easy 4 step process that got my headlights looking like new again with minimal work.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Exceeds expectations

08/18/2013
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product requires a little bit of effort, but the results are amazing. The process is completed in 4 steps, and our Land Rover required all 4. Heavy sanding, light sanding, polishing, and a protectant. Our Toyota's lights were not as bad and I was able to skip the heavy sanding.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

This stuff REALLY works GOOD!

08/21/2013
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like you am very skeptical when it comes to these sort of wonder work alls! Well guess what, it does WORK! You can see if you watch my video how bad my lenses were and then how clear they are at the end. Mind blowing. If your headlights are yellow, spend the money and get this stuff and fix it. I didnt have a drill and did the sanding by hand which was super easy and it worked. Note: be sure to reapply the plastic x and headlight restorer about once a month to keep the clear look because the lights will slowly begin to yellow again otherwise. You will not have to resand though!!!! Hope my review helps!
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Car looks new again for only $21!

07/07/2012
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The headlights on my 2004 Cavalier were extremely yellow and gross, and I've tried sanding them and polishing them a couple times before in the past with no success. I got a gift card for Wal-Mart and didn't really need anything, so I decided to pick this up and give it a try since it came with a drill attachment for buffing.
I followed the directions for each headlight, and man, my headlights are crystal clear. I never would've thought it'd make them this clear, but I was wrong. This kit is definitely worth the $21 spent and you'll probably get four, maybe five uses out of it. My headlights were so yellow and rough that I figured sanding them anymore would only make them worse, but they look brand new. I'll be trying it on my roommate's Tiburon tomorrow as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit
04/08/2012
By ,
San Dimas, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The headlight lens on my car were so badly yellowed light could hardly shine through.
I followed the directions on the kit and within one hour the lens looked better than new.
It was unbelievable! I was truly amazed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Bright Lights!

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honda Ridgeline - 2006...I park this truck outside and the sun/UV slowly turned the headlights to a foggy white. I used this product and it makes me happy to find something that does what it says it will do. Headlights look new again. Follow the directions and it will work.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

works well

11/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall this did make my lights better, but i wish it had included a 3rd grade of sandpaper. one that was a little more course than the two provided.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Great Results

07/04/2012
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical that these type products really worked. I was wrong. This kit exceeded my expectations. The headlights on my 8 year old truck look brand new again. It took less than 1 hour start to finish to restore them from dull and yellow to shiny and crystal clear. This kit really does work!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Wow! Amazed at the difference!

08/03/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2001 Dodge Neon. Over the last few years, I've become painfully aware how cloudy the headlights have gotten. Yellow, gross and hard for the light to shine through. I took a chance and bought this kit yesterday, hoping to improve the appearance of my car. Best twenty bucks I've ever spent!! It took less than 20 minutes to do both headlights and both are almost as clear as new! I'm so excited. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Does what it says

09/23/2014
By ,
Slidell La.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have tried all and everything to clear up headlights to the point of damaging one of them. Nothing had worked until I used this product. Not only did it clear up it also seemed to repair or at least hide the damage. Was told everything that was done to clean them damaged them so bad they needed replacing. Now I have clear lights and so far has stayed that way for a month. Time will tell how long it will last but will be using this product again to clear. Already did another vehicle for family with same kit and can possibly get another use or two out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

The Buffing Wheel made the difference.

09/09/2014
By ,
Orang County CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Package comes with two reusable wet sanding pads that I used but the real improvement appeared to come from use of the buffing wheel mounted on my drill. A small amount of a PlastX liquid is applied to the wheel that did bring back most of the clarity I was looking for. Have previously used a Turtle Wax kit that lacked the buffing wheel and did not work well. Have also tried toothpaste and a rag with marginal improvement. I believe the improvement is the result of the buffing wheel and buffing agent they call PlastX. The kit has enough PlastX to do several cars however, if you have a buffing wheel and some sort of buffing agent for plastic I suspect you could obtain a similar result.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

AMAZING RESULTS

07/23/2012
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Meguiar's Heavy Duty kit after having less than perfect results 2 years ago with another product. I followed the directions and it delivered. The badly yellowed & oxidized lenses looked "brand new" when finished. Not just better or much better... BRAND NEW. The clarity was just as it was on the car when new. I was so impressed after doing my wife's car that I also used the kit on my own car, so it was an economical purchase as well in that 2 cars were completed with the same kit. Outstanding product and results.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Excellent product!!

10/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product worked as advertised!! The only thing that I did different was I did the sanding twice. Took the truck on a road trip to the mountains of Northern California… We were able to see very good at night on those dark mountain roads. Felt very safe!! WOULD BUY AGAIN!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Great Product, with a Great Price!!

11/11/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kit restored my Lexus ES300 headlights and fog lights to almost brand new condition. It only took about 1 & 1/2 hours to clean my headlights and fog lights. They weren't terribly yellow, but they were faded pretty bad. This really got the job done! All you need is a household drill for this kit and your good to go! I can still see a really tiny bit of yellow in my headlights, but that's because i was gentle with my sanding because i was worried it wouldn't work. This product is great, just MAKE SURE you follow the directions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

It works!

03/16/2014
By ,
Marianna Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Def buy this
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Outstanding! 2003 Dodge Ram

01/28/2013
By ,
Hershey, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this after previously trying to restore my headlights with another product. I'm not sure what kind of plastic polish is in this kit but it is amazing! I can't explain how great he difference is from before. If you put the work in with this kit it definitely is worth every penny. my headlights look mint!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Meguiar's Heavy Duty Headlight Restoration Kit

Waste of money! Fortunately refunded.

01/11/2013
By ,
Kingston, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not impressed at all!
This kit requires hand-sanding and I got hand cramps from using it before getting a single lens sanded sufficiently. The Meguiar's buffing pad throws excess fluffy fibers in the air while not focusing enough on the lens.
(I see from other videos that Mercedes-Benz has a clear coat on the lens, so I'll try the 3M kits that have a drill mountable disc pad holder and shows restoring even Mercedes-Benz lens with dry and wet sanding with drill mounted discs. The 3M kit also has a buffing pad that mounts on the same drill mountable disc pad holder.)
Meguiar's DID refund my purchase price without even sending the kit to them. I like other Meguiar's products, but certainly NOT their headlight restoration kits.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.