Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Allen Sports Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Enjoy family time outdoors with the Allen Sports 2-Child Bicycle Trailer. This convenient trailer makes it easy to bring up to two children along on when you ride your bicycle. The universal coupler attaches to most bicycles. When you don't need it, the trailer folds for quick and easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation93%52 out of 56reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 44 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Love Love Love this Trailer!!!

10/15/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a very over protective mother of 8 and wanted something for my 2 and 5 year old to go along on bike rides with us. This is well made, safe, and I can't even feel it on the bake of my bike! I love this thing and it gives me the little extra work out I desire when out biking. I can not believe they don't charge more for this thing, we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great product for the price!

07/24/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this trailer. I love that it is universal and can be used on almost any bike (as far as I can tell). I have used it with my 14 month old twins and they absolutely love it. It is small like other reviews have said. But, my twins are about 21 lbs each and they fit just fine with a bag thrown in with them at their feet. I am not sure how bigger kids would fit so you may have to try it out. There is also a small storage space in back. It was very easy to set up out of the box, which I was thrilled about (I am a single mom and hate putting things together). It is a great product for the price. Just what I was looking for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

I Recomment This

08/14/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 4 year old daughter who is almost 4 feet tall. I decided to purchased this so that I can excerise and not have to worry about her and having to continue to stop because of cars. She loves it and I'm satisfied. Its enough room in their for her and she's comfortable inside. Its easy to put together. I didn't need the instructions ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer

03/22/2014
By ,
idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Allen Sports AST2 to replace our inStep Take 2, after replacing the tires multiple times in the year we owned it. This trailer has been such a step up! It's easy to pull, and my 5 and 4 year old have plenty of room. Very sturdy, and a great price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Rolling rolling rolling

04/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one child I pull in this trailer he is 7 months old. Its well build and a good buy. I pull him with a full suspension mountain bike. Gears are good Mines have 27 speeds but i can also pull him with m wifes bike which has less. Its def worth more than what I paid. Skip the $299 ones and get this one and buy the little one a stuffed bear to ride with them. I plan to use it to pull some of my personal stuff behind a road bike one day when we ride to a local camp site. Very light and easy to pull, also has premium things like steel wheels and rubber air up tires like some the the expensive ones. Go for it and be safe folks,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Mr.

04/04/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Transports Two Children. Two Tiny Children.

06/05/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a way to bring my son along on longer trips until he graduates from training wheels.
My son is almost 5 years old, about 50" tall and 50lbs. When Allen say this will transport two children, they were definitely not thinking of two children this size. Not to say this isn't a good product, but it was definitely made with smaller kids in mind. My son ends up sitting kind of diagonal after a while when the top is on just because he's so tall. But enough about him, back to the product.
The assembly on this is incredibly easy. It's all just metal pins with a U shaped clip to lock them in place. There's one to lock out the tongue of the trailer, two to support its unfolded shape, and two to hold the wheels on. Attaching it to the bike is as easy as removing the nut on the left side of your back tire, sliding the attachment over the bolt, and tightening down the nut again.
It only takes about 5 minutes to go from completely disassembled to ready to ride. And when it is folded down with the wheels stored inside it, it takes up just a bit less room than it did in it's box.
Overall, a good product, but if you plan on putting two kids over 3ft tall in there, it'll be a squeeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

It works

04/05/2014
By ,
Stockton , CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. My 3 year old son is loving this bike trailer!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great Trailer Great Value

06/28/2012
By ,
Punxsutawney, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently my family and I decided that we needed to get in shape and decided that biking would be a good way to do this. After weighing all the options of how to bring our 2 year old along for the ride we decided to go with a trailer. I was originally going to purchase the Schwinn trailer stroller combo for $159, but my local store was out of stock so after looking a little more I found this trailer for $99.97. I am so glad that I found this one. First of all I saved $60 which was great seeing how i had just purchased 3 new bikes and a bike carrier along with this. We got this trailer home a honestly had it together and ready to go in 15 minutes. We took our first ride and my son loved it, what is nice is that with just him in the trailer he can sit in the middle and has a lot of room. There is storage space in the back and you can take the roof off for full visibility. It is incredibly easy to take anywhere to want to go, also attaching to my bike is very easy. There is enough room to put my 5 year old in as well (if we are going on along ride). My little guy is very happy in the trailer with a storage pocket on each side that is great to hold drinks. This trailer is very safe and stable, and you can't even tell that it is behind you. All and all I would recommend this trailer to anyone that wants to have family fun and feel safe at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Easy to assemble, not heavy, and sturdy wheels.

04/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price, not bad! The wheels are very sturdy and dont feel like they would fall off, or crack (like the plastic ones). The cover is very easy to install, and break down for storage is very easy. The trailer isn't as heavy as it looks. My only complaint over this 2 seated version is that it still seems to be tight on space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Trailer designed for 2 SMALL children!

06/17/2012
By ,
Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To everyone looking to buy this trailer for 2 children it is designed for 2 SMALL CHILDREN as stated in previous reviews and trust me it is. We bought this and got it home and the set up was quick and simple however, we have a 2 1/2 year old and a 5 year old and it was a very tight squeeze. (Our daughters arm/shoulder over our son's arm/shoulder to both fit in it. The picture on the front of the box is deceiving because it appears alot larger then it really is. We packaged it up and took it back.
The trailer is sturdy and pulls nicely and I give the overall design and build a 5 star but the width and size a 2 star fair rating. Just be sure if your looking to use it for 2 children they are smaller in size. Our children weigh 50 pounds and 34 pounds to give an idea. Hope this saves someone the headache and hassle!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This trailer is very well built and easy to put together. My wife and I bought this for our 2 year old son who is small for his age but he fits just right, it would be rather tight with two kids inside of it but it does ride very nice and you can't even tell its behind you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Trailer

04/18/2014
By ,
Aurora, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

This is great for my granddaughter.

04/11/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Awesome Bike Trailer - Really does fit 2 children!

06/13/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new trailer! I can fit both my 2 and 5 year old comfortably and the trailer is very sturdy and safe. I had to go off the curb the other day in order to avoid a child on a bike and my kids and the trailer were just fine. I don't recommend going off curbs with this thing, but it goes to show how sturdy the trailer really is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

decent trailer

03/29/2014
By ,
Kansas city
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It may be a little narrow but it works fir both my kids. I have a 4 and 2 year old
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer
06/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as advertised and a Great value. Little tight for two kids and assembly is tough for my wife. Fit perfect fully assembled in the back of my wife's forrester which is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great entertainment for littles ones

07/05/2012
By ,
Concord nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked for weeks at dicks, target, local bike shops, Craigslist, amazon and eBay for best product for the best value. Save yourself some times, BUY THIS ONE!!!! Owned for three weeks. Read some reviews saying some cheap parts, floor will rip, has not happened to me yet. All parts appear to qualiity. This is the best value anywhere for one of these bike trailers. I have not tested up to 100 pound limit, but I take my 6 year old and 3 year old for a ride together every night and they must weigh about 80 combined.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer
06/21/2012
By ,
Norwich, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how easy it was to assemble, and how easy it was to hook on to my bike. My son loves it, have yet to try it with 2 kids in it but it should work since my son is very tiny. The trailer is so light you can't even tell it is there when riding
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Fits 2 children, comfortable, easy for me to ride.

09/02/2012
By ,
fresno, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this bike trailer and tested it out, and I will update as time goes on.
My first impressions are that this is very functional. Not as cool looking as some other ones, but a lot cheaper. My son is 5 1/2 and in the 75th percentile for height and weight, and he fits well with my 3 1/2 year old daughter who is average sized.
To be clear: My son is not overweight at all. So a thicker set of kids may not fit as well. Also, I can see some fighting in the future. It is not roomy with both kids, but if they get along well enough, it should be fine.
I bought this because we are biking my son to school. He will be riding his bike while his sister rides in the bike trailer. I wanted room just in case he was too tired to ride. If you were to use this to have 2 children in a lot, you may want to find something roomier, especially if they dont want their legs to touch or something.
It was a good price, easy to put together, and my kids love it. There are even pockets where you can put waters or toys for the kids. I really like it so far, and hopefully it will just be for my daughter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next