Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Allen Sports Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Enjoy family time outdoors with the Allen Sports 2-Child Bicycle Trailer. This convenient trailer makes it easy to bring up to two children along on when you ride your bicycle. The universal coupler attaches to most bicycles. When you don't need it, the trailer folds for quick and easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%69 out of 75reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 61 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Love Love Love this Trailer!!!

10/15/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a very over protective mother of 8 and wanted something for my 2 and 5 year old to go along on bike rides with us. This is well made, safe, and I can't even feel it on the bake of my bike! I love this thing and it gives me the little extra work out I desire when out biking. I can not believe they don't charge more for this thing, we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great product for the price!

07/24/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this trailer. I love that it is universal and can be used on almost any bike (as far as I can tell). I have used it with my 14 month old twins and they absolutely love it. It is small like other reviews have said. But, my twins are about 21 lbs each and they fit just fine with a bag thrown in with them at their feet. I am not sure how bigger kids would fit so you may have to try it out. There is also a small storage space in back. It was very easy to set up out of the box, which I was thrilled about (I am a single mom and hate putting things together). It is a great product for the price. Just what I was looking for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

I Recomment This

08/14/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 4 year old daughter who is almost 4 feet tall. I decided to purchased this so that I can excerise and not have to worry about her and having to continue to stop because of cars. She loves it and I'm satisfied. Its enough room in their for her and she's comfortable inside. Its easy to put together. I didn't need the instructions ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Easy set up and sturdy construction.

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this product. Thought it would require tools for assembly but NONE NEEDED!!!!!! My child loves it also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Transports Two Children. Two Tiny Children.

06/05/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a way to bring my son along on longer trips until he graduates from training wheels.
My son is almost 5 years old, about 50" tall and 50lbs. When Allen say this will transport two children, they were definitely not thinking of two children this size. Not to say this isn't a good product, but it was definitely made with smaller kids in mind. My son ends up sitting kind of diagonal after a while when the top is on just because he's so tall. But enough about him, back to the product.
The assembly on this is incredibly easy. It's all just metal pins with a U shaped clip to lock them in place. There's one to lock out the tongue of the trailer, two to support its unfolded shape, and two to hold the wheels on. Attaching it to the bike is as easy as removing the nut on the left side of your back tire, sliding the attachment over the bolt, and tightening down the nut again.
It only takes about 5 minutes to go from completely disassembled to ready to ride. And when it is folded down with the wheels stored inside it, it takes up just a bit less room than it did in it's box.
Overall, a good product, but if you plan on putting two kids over 3ft tall in there, it'll be a squeeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great Trailer Great Value

06/28/2012
By ,
Punxsutawney, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently my family and I decided that we needed to get in shape and decided that biking would be a good way to do this. After weighing all the options of how to bring our 2 year old along for the ride we decided to go with a trailer. I was originally going to purchase the Schwinn trailer stroller combo for $159, but my local store was out of stock so after looking a little more I found this trailer for $99.97. I am so glad that I found this one. First of all I saved $60 which was great seeing how i had just purchased 3 new bikes and a bike carrier along with this. We got this trailer home a honestly had it together and ready to go in 15 minutes. We took our first ride and my son loved it, what is nice is that with just him in the trailer he can sit in the middle and has a lot of room. There is storage space in the back and you can take the roof off for full visibility. It is incredibly easy to take anywhere to want to go, also attaching to my bike is very easy. There is enough room to put my 5 year old in as well (if we are going on along ride). My little guy is very happy in the trailer with a storage pocket on each side that is great to hold drinks. This trailer is very safe and stable, and you can't even tell that it is behind you. All and all I would recommend this trailer to anyone that wants to have family fun and feel safe at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Trailer designed for 2 SMALL children!

06/17/2012
By ,
Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To everyone looking to buy this trailer for 2 children it is designed for 2 SMALL CHILDREN as stated in previous reviews and trust me it is. We bought this and got it home and the set up was quick and simple however, we have a 2 1/2 year old and a 5 year old and it was a very tight squeeze. (Our daughters arm/shoulder over our son's arm/shoulder to both fit in it. The picture on the front of the box is deceiving because it appears alot larger then it really is. We packaged it up and took it back.
The trailer is sturdy and pulls nicely and I give the overall design and build a 5 star but the width and size a 2 star fair rating. Just be sure if your looking to use it for 2 children they are smaller in size. Our children weigh 50 pounds and 34 pounds to give an idea. Hope this saves someone the headache and hassle!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Love this

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 4 1/2 yr old and a 1 1/2 yr old and it works great for pulling them both, even training for a long bike ride I have no problem taking the kids out with me, love that the window can be an open screen or have the plastic covering on the kids if it is cold or windy out
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Super-lite bike trailer for my little dogs!

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike trailer is very easy to put together, easy to attach (and detach) from my bike, and creates no drag at all when carrying my 2 shiz tzus around town. It's well-made and a bargain at this price. I added a pillow to provide comfortable seating, but if you use this for kiddos, there are 2 seats with harnesses for safety. I like that the dogs can see out and there is a pocket on either side, inside, that I used to hold their leashes. This is well-worth the money and a 5 star rating,
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Awesome Bike Trailer - Really does fit 2 children!

06/13/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new trailer! I can fit both my 2 and 5 year old comfortably and the trailer is very sturdy and safe. I had to go off the curb the other day in order to avoid a child on a bike and my kids and the trailer were just fine. I don't recommend going off curbs with this thing, but it goes to show how sturdy the trailer really is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Easy to assemble

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works great for my 2 boys ages 2 and (almost) 4. The assembly was really easy and didn't require any tools other than a wrench to attach it to the bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great accessory

05/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I carry my daughter with me everywhere...
She loves it a lot
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Fits 2 children, comfortable, easy for me to ride.

09/02/2012
By ,
fresno, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this bike trailer and tested it out, and I will update as time goes on.
My first impressions are that this is very functional. Not as cool looking as some other ones, but a lot cheaper. My son is 5 1/2 and in the 75th percentile for height and weight, and he fits well with my 3 1/2 year old daughter who is average sized.
To be clear: My son is not overweight at all. So a thicker set of kids may not fit as well. Also, I can see some fighting in the future. It is not roomy with both kids, but if they get along well enough, it should be fine.
I bought this because we are biking my son to school. He will be riding his bike while his sister rides in the bike trailer. I wanted room just in case he was too tired to ride. If you were to use this to have 2 children in a lot, you may want to find something roomier, especially if they dont want their legs to touch or something.
It was a good price, easy to put together, and my kids love it. There are even pockets where you can put waters or toys for the kids. I really like it so far, and hopefully it will just be for my daughter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

love it

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did lots of research and ended up purchasing this trailer. great product for great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer
06/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as advertised and a Great value. Little tight for two kids and assembly is tough for my wife. Fit perfect fully assembled in the back of my wife's forrester which is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

It's decent

05/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Puts together easy enough, but it doesn't break down as easily. It's large and sturdy and a little heavy to pull. Rides nice and smooth. I do not fear for my daughter's safety when riding. I have't taken it into the car yet, not sure that I will need to.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer
06/21/2012
By ,
Norwich, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how easy it was to assemble, and how easy it was to hook on to my bike. My son loves it, have yet to try it with 2 kids in it but it should work since my son is very tiny. The trailer is so light you can't even tell it is there when riding
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great entertainment for littles ones

07/05/2012
By ,
Concord nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked for weeks at dicks, target, local bike shops, Craigslist, amazon and eBay for best product for the best value. Save yourself some times, BUY THIS ONE!!!! Owned for three weeks. Read some reviews saying some cheap parts, floor will rip, has not happened to me yet. All parts appear to qualiity. This is the best value anywhere for one of these bike trailers. I have not tested up to 100 pound limit, but I take my 6 year old and 3 year old for a ride together every night and they must weigh about 80 combined.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer

03/22/2014
By ,
idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Allen Sports AST2 to replace our inStep Take 2, after replacing the tires multiple times in the year we owned it. This trailer has been such a step up! It's easy to pull, and my 5 and 4 year old have plenty of room. Very sturdy, and a great price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

I love it!!

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think this is a great trailer. It carries both of my kids comfortably ( a three year old- 33 pounds and a 9 month old 22 pounds (yes he is a giant). ) They still have room between them. and carry their toys with them. The helmet pocket works well for the 3 year old, but my 9 month old isn't tall enough for his head to reach it. We got a flat back helmet that works fine though. There is no helmet pocket in the middle though, so if you are using it for only one kid be aware of that.
I was skeptical because Walmarts Stock photo makes the trailer look really cheap. You can get better pictures and a video on the Allen website (but buy it here- the price is MUCH better). You can also buy an extra hitch for a second bike. The workmanship is great and strong. Good seams. Take care of it, and it will last. It folds up really easily- we have a small garage so that comes in handy- just pop the tires off and pull out the pins to fold it up. it doesn't fold small because you can't really fold the frame itself. watch the video on the Allen Website to get an idea.
The trailer rides really smoothly so it doesn't really seem like you are pulling anything once you get going ( and be realistic, you can feel it on hills) I have pulled it with a mountain bike and a road bike, it is really the bike that makes the difference. if you use a cheap $80 walmart bike this trailer will seem heavy and not ride as smooth. If you have a nice road bike or Hybrid, it will be great. Blame the problem (the bike) not the trailer.
My only complaint is the storage pocket in the back. It isn't separate from the cab the kids are in so stuff just slides under the seat and can get stepped on by the kids. Not really a big deal.
Don't forget to keep your kids safe- get a blinking red light to attach to the back of the trailer (there is a spot to attach it) and don't let them ride without a helmet. Protect yourself as well. The last thing your kids need to see is your head smashed on the pavement, wear a helmet. I am bewildered by the number of adults who put helmets on kids but don't wear one themselves.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next