Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Allen Sports Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Enjoy family time outdoors with the Allen Sports 2-Child Bicycle Trailer. This convenient trailer makes it easy to bring up to two children along on when you ride your bicycle. The universal coupler attaches to most bicycles. When you don't need it, the trailer folds for quick and easy storage.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%58 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 50 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Love Love Love this Trailer!!!

10/15/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a very over protective mother of 8 and wanted something for my 2 and 5 year old to go along on bike rides with us. This is well made, safe, and I can't even feel it on the bake of my bike! I love this thing and it gives me the little extra work out I desire when out biking. I can not believe they don't charge more for this thing, we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great product for the price!

07/24/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this trailer. I love that it is universal and can be used on almost any bike (as far as I can tell). I have used it with my 14 month old twins and they absolutely love it. It is small like other reviews have said. But, my twins are about 21 lbs each and they fit just fine with a bag thrown in with them at their feet. I am not sure how bigger kids would fit so you may have to try it out. There is also a small storage space in back. It was very easy to set up out of the box, which I was thrilled about (I am a single mom and hate putting things together). It is a great product for the price. Just what I was looking for.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

I Recomment This

08/14/2013
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 4 year old daughter who is almost 4 feet tall. I decided to purchased this so that I can excerise and not have to worry about her and having to continue to stop because of cars. She loves it and I'm satisfied. Its enough room in their for her and she's comfortable inside. Its easy to put together. I didn't need the instructions ;)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Transports Two Children. Two Tiny Children.

06/05/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a way to bring my son along on longer trips until he graduates from training wheels.
My son is almost 5 years old, about 50" tall and 50lbs. When Allen say this will transport two children, they were definitely not thinking of two children this size. Not to say this isn't a good product, but it was definitely made with smaller kids in mind. My son ends up sitting kind of diagonal after a while when the top is on just because he's so tall. But enough about him, back to the product.
The assembly on this is incredibly easy. It's all just metal pins with a U shaped clip to lock them in place. There's one to lock out the tongue of the trailer, two to support its unfolded shape, and two to hold the wheels on. Attaching it to the bike is as easy as removing the nut on the left side of your back tire, sliding the attachment over the bolt, and tightening down the nut again.
It only takes about 5 minutes to go from completely disassembled to ready to ride. And when it is folded down with the wheels stored inside it, it takes up just a bit less room than it did in it's box.
Overall, a good product, but if you plan on putting two kids over 3ft tall in there, it'll be a squeeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+90points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great Trailer Great Value

06/28/2012
By ,
Punxsutawney, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently my family and I decided that we needed to get in shape and decided that biking would be a good way to do this. After weighing all the options of how to bring our 2 year old along for the ride we decided to go with a trailer. I was originally going to purchase the Schwinn trailer stroller combo for $159, but my local store was out of stock so after looking a little more I found this trailer for $99.97. I am so glad that I found this one. First of all I saved $60 which was great seeing how i had just purchased 3 new bikes and a bike carrier along with this. We got this trailer home a honestly had it together and ready to go in 15 minutes. We took our first ride and my son loved it, what is nice is that with just him in the trailer he can sit in the middle and has a lot of room. There is storage space in the back and you can take the roof off for full visibility. It is incredibly easy to take anywhere to want to go, also attaching to my bike is very easy. There is enough room to put my 5 year old in as well (if we are going on along ride). My little guy is very happy in the trailer with a storage pocket on each side that is great to hold drinks. This trailer is very safe and stable, and you can't even tell that it is behind you. All and all I would recommend this trailer to anyone that wants to have family fun and feel safe at the same time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Trailer designed for 2 SMALL children!

06/17/2012
By ,
Pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To everyone looking to buy this trailer for 2 children it is designed for 2 SMALL CHILDREN as stated in previous reviews and trust me it is. We bought this and got it home and the set up was quick and simple however, we have a 2 1/2 year old and a 5 year old and it was a very tight squeeze. (Our daughters arm/shoulder over our son's arm/shoulder to both fit in it. The picture on the front of the box is deceiving because it appears alot larger then it really is. We packaged it up and took it back.
The trailer is sturdy and pulls nicely and I give the overall design and build a 5 star but the width and size a 2 star fair rating. Just be sure if your looking to use it for 2 children they are smaller in size. Our children weigh 50 pounds and 34 pounds to give an idea. Hope this saves someone the headache and hassle!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great item

08/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

keep up on those spinning classes!

06/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First of all, this thing comes already assembled in the folded position. Throw the tires on click it to together and you can be out on the road in literally 10 min. It seems built rather well for the price. Holds my two kids( 5 and 2) without too much problem. My 5 year old is taller for his age so he was complaining about leg room towards the end of the trip. However... if you think you can throw the kids in and go for a nice little ride, keep in mind that this thing is like a giant anchor on the back of your bike. If you're like me, pulling the slightest incline with 80lbs of children behind you leads to a good work out. But as for this tailor, both the kids and I agree it's worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Awesome Bike Trailer - Really does fit 2 children!

06/13/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new trailer! I can fit both my 2 and 5 year old comfortably and the trailer is very sturdy and safe. I had to go off the curb the other day in order to avoid a child on a bike and my kids and the trailer were just fine. I don't recommend going off curbs with this thing, but it goes to show how sturdy the trailer really is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great trailer

03/22/2014
By ,
idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the Allen Sports AST2 to replace our inStep Take 2, after replacing the tires multiple times in the year we owned it. This trailer has been such a step up! It's easy to pull, and my 5 and 4 year old have plenty of room. Very sturdy, and a great price!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Fits 2 children, comfortable, easy for me to ride.

09/02/2012
By ,
fresno, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought this bike trailer and tested it out, and I will update as time goes on.
My first impressions are that this is very functional. Not as cool looking as some other ones, but a lot cheaper. My son is 5 1/2 and in the 75th percentile for height and weight, and he fits well with my 3 1/2 year old daughter who is average sized.
To be clear: My son is not overweight at all. So a thicker set of kids may not fit as well. Also, I can see some fighting in the future. It is not roomy with both kids, but if they get along well enough, it should be fine.
I bought this because we are biking my son to school. He will be riding his bike while his sister rides in the bike trailer. I wanted room just in case he was too tired to ride. If you were to use this to have 2 children in a lot, you may want to find something roomier, especially if they dont want their legs to touch or something.
It was a good price, easy to put together, and my kids love it. There are even pockets where you can put waters or toys for the kids. I really like it so far, and hopefully it will just be for my daughter!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great entertainment for littles ones

07/05/2012
By ,
Concord nh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked for weeks at dicks, target, local bike shops, Craigslist, amazon and eBay for best product for the best value. Save yourself some times, BUY THIS ONE!!!! Owned for three weeks. Read some reviews saying some cheap parts, floor will rip, has not happened to me yet. All parts appear to qualiity. This is the best value anywhere for one of these bike trailers. I have not tested up to 100 pound limit, but I take my 6 year old and 3 year old for a ride together every night and they must weigh about 80 combined.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer
06/18/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works as advertised and a Great value. Little tight for two kids and assembly is tough for my wife. Fit perfect fully assembled in the back of my wife's forrester which is a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Mr.

04/04/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great quality great value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Rolling rolling rolling

04/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one child I pull in this trailer he is 7 months old. Its well build and a good buy. I pull him with a full suspension mountain bike. Gears are good Mines have 27 speeds but i can also pull him with m wifes bike which has less. Its def worth more than what I paid. Skip the $299 ones and get this one and buy the little one a stuffed bear to ride with them. I plan to use it to pull some of my personal stuff behind a road bike one day when we ride to a local camp site. Very light and easy to pull, also has premium things like steel wheels and rubber air up tires like some the the expensive ones. Go for it and be safe folks,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer
06/21/2012
By ,
Norwich, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love how easy it was to assemble, and how easy it was to hook on to my bike. My son loves it, have yet to try it with 2 kids in it but it should work since my son is very tiny. The trailer is so light you can't even tell it is there when riding
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Great for our use - biking & taking dogs with!

04/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product will allow us to take our two 15 lb dogs with us on vacation which will involve a lot of biking! We are soooo excited! Placed two mats in the bottom, hooked one dog up to the outside child restraint harness to their dog harness & whalla! The perfect doggie Cozy Coupe! The ease of assembly & transportability is great. It folds down flat to 4-6 inches thick and stores all pieces compactly. Thank you Allen sports for this quality item at a reasonable price!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

has helmet pocket

04/28/2013
By ,
20895
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros:
It was easy to assemble, fits two small children, quite light to pull it, great costumer service, warning flag is included
Most importantly: It has a helmet pocket.
The company should put this detail in the description, since it is an important feature. (Helmet pocket allows your child to wear a helmet and ride comfortably in the trailer. Most inexpensive trailers has a flat seat area, so the child has to tilt his/her head forward to make room for the helmet)
If you put one child in it in the middle, I recommend to put a small pillow behind the child's back, since the helmet pocket is closed there.
Cons:
It cannot be attached to my husband's old bike
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Two kids? You kidding me?

05/13/2014
By ,
NYC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
A really nice trailor that is well built and very easy to setup. However, as other reviewers mentioned, it is very tight for 2 kids. I have twin 3 year olds; my boy is a little bigger than my girl and his shoulders were hanging over her. They were super excited to ride in it so they didn't complain but man it looked uncomfortable. This is a great trailor for one child only even though it says otherwise.
Returned.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports AST2 Steel 2-Child Bicycle Trailer

Excellent!!

04/29/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, my trailer was missing a part. Emailed Allen Sport Sat. night, got a response Sunday stating a replacement part was being sent out, got it that week. How great was that!! We got this for 1 child figured that since the single buggy was not any cheaper might as well have room my child brings along toys so she enjoys the longer bike ride. Hope to get a lot of use out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next