Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1438 Reviews) 1170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Recommendation88%1,259 out of 1,438reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Realistic Review-Understand Your Purchase

12/03/2012
By ,
Atlanta Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Folks, let me give you readers a realistic review on this Sceptre. I saw this 50" TV for $429 for Walmart's PreBlackFriday Deal and had to investigate the opportunity further. This was an incredible big TV for a great deal. I needed 2 new BIG TV's to replace my existing 32" and 37" LG flat screens. My primary TV is the 37" of course, so I knew I could take a chance and buy a bad BIG TV to replace the 32" and if i determined i made a mistake i would simply take it back. I read all the reviews and the worst consistent CON i saw was the bad speaker comments. Well, i will tell ANY SKEPTIC that is also considering this TV that the Sceptre is a FANTASTIC buy for the money and size. Folks, if you are honest, informed, and realsitic on what you are buying- 1. Sceptre is a brand not many people are familar with 2. They are supposedly known for computer parts 3. they are trying to crack the consumer electronics industry 4. Therefore they are trying to offer you more product for less and make a name for themselves.....the story should sound pretty familar just like Vizio, LG, Honda, Hyundai, Kia. You can not expect this TV to blow away at every category like a Sharp, Sony, Samsung, or LG right out of the gate on every feature #But the Sceptre is real close#. If you understand this going in, you will REALLY REALLY appreciate this TV and how great of a performer it is. You must have HD service to first enjoy the picture clarity-This TV's clarity competes with any. Yes the screen is so wide that its possible your screen can tilt lower on one side because of the screens weight. The Sceptre engineers need to use a thicker diameter neck and wider support base to support the screen. BUT IT IS A 50" SCREEN FOLKS. The darn TV should be mounted on a Wall or Entertainment Stand ANYWAY. Lastly, the speakers, i was expecting the sound to be as terrible as the sound you get out of some of these cell phone speakers or touch tablets. The sound is NOT TERRIBLE. In fact, i would imagine most users are placing there Sceptres on low level stands so the sound accoutics are already below ear level. I have found the sound quality to be pretty decent and very functional for those users who have either mounted their Sceptres on the wall or have them high over top a fire place mantle such as myself. The sound quality emits better when high above or at your ear levels since the speakers are on the bottom underside of the tv. LG, Samsung, and others have great sound b/c they invest much energy in the emission of their bottom speakers. But this technology often comes at an expensive price. BUT AGAIN PEOPLE, its a 50inch TV made for Theatre-like viewing.....INVEST IN A SOUND BAR. Most people are connecting their 50" to a HOME SURROUND SYSTEM anyway. Thats the assumed understanding if you are trying to step up to a BIG-BOY product. Sorry to be brash but i wanted the normal skeptical consumer like me to not be scared about this product-I love this inexpenive TV. Lastly, buy the cheap 3year warranty too just to cover your bases, It could be worth it later should you need it. Now i can move on and go spend my money on buying a BIG High Quality LED SMART TV for my primary room or consider buying another Sceptre since my first experience was such a good one! Good luck to you in your search.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+424points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hatboro, PA
Thank You
Posted 09/15/2013
Being in I.T. I have tried to explain to my wife that Sceptre is well known in the Computer Industry. Plus people believe more in Vizio which has had no experience next to TVs. People don't realize that the Computer Industry was the first to utilize flat panel technology before main stream Tv Companies. Glad to see that finally a Company that has the Assets to sell a TV cheaper and make a good quality. This is a Win for the Consumer and as far as the Speakers, there is no Flat Panel TV that will have amazing speakers that is why the aftermarket on Speakers is still alive and thriving. I say grab this TV and Bose sells a Sound Bar that you can pay monthly with no interest and I am sure there will be no complaints about Sound.
http://www.bose.com/controller?url=/shop_online/home_theater/simplified_home_theater/cinemate_1_sr/index.jsp
+3points
Customer Avatar
04401
Why buy a smart TV?
Posted 08/18/2013
You can turn your Sceptre into a smart TV with a Roku device and having more streaming data available to you. Just a thought is all and save you $$.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 62 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Flat Screen TV

02/22/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm loving this television. Both my children brought the same TV and their enjoying it as well. Thanks for the marvelous price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 63 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

tv

02/22/2014
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great llike the color the sound is great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 64 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied!!!! I recommend this product highley.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 65 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great product

06/11/2012
By ,
Searcy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great experience with Walmart.com and I am very pleased with the product. This is my third Sceptre product and have been very pleased with all 3. This TV has stunning picture quality and has all the features I wanted. I had recently purchased a Sanyo that did not have a program guide and it was very difficult to navigate among the inputs. Unfortunately I did not have a way to know that until I got it home and hooked it up, but this TV is great. Program guide capability and easily navigate among inputs with one button ease. Sound is good, but I have external speakers with a subwoofer which I would recommend to give you sound that is on par with a vivid and excellent picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 66 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

not what I expected

10/18/2013
By ,
monroe mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I ordered this tv was in sep and when I got it we found a crack in the screen so sent it back.Had another one sent but had it sent to the store instead.Everything was working fine but the last couple of days the picture has been going in and out and there is sometimes a line at the top of the screen.Im disapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 67 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv for the price!

02/15/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one I have bought. First one had one bad pixel, not worth the effort to return. Was very happy with every thing about this TV. Second unit is perfect. For this price it's like getting two for the price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 68 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

What a disaster

07/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and it came with a remote that doesn't work and the volume on the tv is awful. The funny thing is that there is a section in the manual that suggests what to do if the remote doesn't work...how about they just fix the remote and volume problem in order to provide customers with a better product. I will be returning this product immediately. This is a hassle. Its a big tv with beautiful picture quality but none of that matters when the other problems exist.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 69 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

loves it

02/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had the tv for 5days. Great tv for the size, easy set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 70 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Purchase!

09/29/2012
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this purchase as you can see by my ratings. It is a much lighter TV than the LCD we replaced. We had planned on getting an LED on our next purchase but are satisfied with this one.
The only one negative that I found on this purchase was that all of the adapters on the back are on the left side of the TV when facing the TV so we have to run cords along the fireplace mantle because of where our outlets are. This I am sure would only be a problem to few.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 71 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This is a Great Television for the price !!

10/13/2013
By ,
Monroe,Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, that I almost didn't buy this Television. I had never heard of SCEPTRE, But the price was awesome for a 50 inch television. As a Senior Citizen, it was also great that I did not have to load or unload it from my car, it was Delivered to my home. It was easy to hook everything up, and the color in the picture is also nice and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 72 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Sceptre's in the past year. All of them are great! I even bought a 4th for father in law! He loves it but is too cheap to get HDTV so he uses it at 720. Can't convince otherwise! I read every review online before I bought this tv. Thank you to all posters, it makes us all better consumers! I wanted a Vizio but I'm too cheap, especially when 1 TV set is with jr.@ college, 1 is in younger sons bedroom and I have the 50" in our bedroom. Everything is great except the sound quality as other posters have said, however don't let that decide for you to buy another high end brand name that will be another $100.00? Save your $$ and the warranty was only $36.00 for 4 years and Walmart is great with returns. I'm not losing any sleep spending $340-$350 for a tv, especially a 50"!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 73 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Absoluetly love it!

05/11/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For being my 2nd Sceptre product, I am completely satisfied and amazed. This unit replaced our 6 year old 42" Olevia in the living room. This 50" Sceptre works superb with a PS3, Blu-Ray Player and a Roku player all connected via HDMI. This unit is a definite best buy for those looking to upgrade to a larger size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+409points
Review 74 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

You should consider your options

10/30/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this product for 6 weeks. After the first month the sound would not work properly. I went thru the reset procedure several times( unplug for 24 hours), to no avail. I had to turn the unit on and off until the sound finally came on. Not happy with Sceptre.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 75 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

More than my money's worth.

12/21/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for a couple of years now for a truly exceptional buy on a large screen HDTV. Is 'bigger' really 'better'? Well...DUH! I'm retired and watch quite a lot of TV so picture quality and a BIG screen were both very important to me. The Scepter 50" LDC 1080P delivers all that I was looking for (and more) for at a great price - except for sound quality which is a bit lackluster and lacks 'depth'. Overall, this TV is an outstanding value with a picture that is simply to die for. Easy set-up - once you figure out the remote control. I had it delivered (free!) to my home address. It arrived via Fed-Ex in fine condition. Be sure to open up the box from the bottom for easiest removal. A couple of minutes to attach the swivel stand (feels sturdy!), hook up the cables from my satellite receiver and PRESTO, I got a fabulous picture. Rarely now-a-days does one get more than your money's worth, but the Scepter 50" is the exception. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 76 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

distorted screen

11/02/2013
By ,
franklin, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tv looked great out of the box but when we set it up and turned it on the colors were all mixed together everywhere like something has been shattered inside. The glass wasn't broken though. Bummer
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 77 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the Price

01/29/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is Great TV for the Price... we looked at the clearance section and found it.. we order three is all for rentals and out tenants love them... again the price was right ... 398.99 before tax... for a 50' is a great price... Very Happy with them at this point... but have only had for a few month...! Time will tell all...! LOL>..
one thing I did not like... I can not seem to find a botton to push to go back to channel before..! or return to channel before botton..?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 78 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Broke in 2 weeks

09/12/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this tv via walmart.com and picked it up from the store two weeks ago. Tonight while I was watching TV I heard a pop and the TV died. We were pleased with everything before this happened, but we're not sure we want to give it another try. Just an fyi, the protection plan doesn't start until 1 year after you buy it. Between 90 days and a year you must contact the manufacturer to get replaced, I really don't want to deal with that complicated mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 79 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price!

07/15/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not pass up on this great deal...have had t.v. for a week and everything works great. Picture good quality as well as sound. This is our first 50" and we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 80 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Happy Camper

11/16/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I puchased a 42" Sceptre more than a year ago and still works great! I really wanted a 60" for my living room but decided for the 50". The combine price for the two TV's equal the price of one 60". So it made more scents to puchase two TV's for the price of one. If your on a budget and want a TV almost as good as the more popular TV's, this is the way to go. For you who are looking for a smart TV all you have to do is buy a smart DVD player and get the same results. I have read some who have complain about the volume going up and down on its own or your will not turn on. There are ways to work with your TV before you return it to the store. First read your manuel all the though and troubleshooting. Unless your TV doesn't appeal to you and you just want to return it. Walmart will receive it, they are good company to work with.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+1point
61-80 of 1,171 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  59 Next