Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1440 Reviews) 1172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation88%1,260 out of 1,440reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 978 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Awesome TV for living room

06/22/2012
By ,
El Segundo, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently purchase this Sceptre 50" TV which replaced my old fashion huge & heavy projection TV in my living room, and this is my daddy's day gift for him. He loves this TV. He is always watching his favorite drama now. My family have no problem with it. The picture looks good. At this affordable price, it really helps to bring lots of joy and fun to family. Thank you Sceptre.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

"Buyer beware"

12/02/2013
By ,
Findlay, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When we got the television. The screen was cracked in many pieces. We noticed this as soon as we got home from work. This would get 0% ratings. Never got to hear the sound or turn the dumb thing on since the screen was cracked. Wow, what a disappointment! I took the television back to my local Wal-Mart and they were great about it though. When I called Wal-Mart at first, they were shocked to find this happened. The customer service rep. at my local Wal-Mart store couldn't believe when she scanned the bar on the box, the original price through her hand-held scanner let her know the television rang up to $799.99 but I only paid $399.99. However, it was no deal at all since it was broke when it arrived.
The t.v. has been replaced with an in-store purchase and thus far I am satisfied after 4 days. Not a Sceptere, but I did have to pay the higher price of the difference of $49.00 since most local stores don't carry that brand. My advice is "BUYER BEWARE" when it comes to purchasing something expensive on the Internet. "You truly get what you pay for!"
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

It was great when it worked.

10/16/2013
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The purchase of this product has been a disappointment. My TV was delivered on 10/5/13 and on 10/14/13 it turned itself off and never came back on.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Fair at best

07/26/2012
By ,
Webster, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this TV online. I read the reviews prior to purchasing the TV and it got pretty good reviews for an inexpensive TV. In a nutshell I think I got a lemon. The TV would just go out on me time and again. The TV would show that it is on but lose the picture completely. I would have to pull the plug out to reboot the TV. I called the company, they told me how to reset it and I did however this did not work. I returned the TV to Walmart and got my money back. I then purchased a Sanyo for a little more money and now completely happy. I guess some things are just meant to happen in life.
It is not a bad TV when it was working. At least I discovered the problem shortly after I purchased it. I do love the Sanyo, it is a better TV all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Sceptre tv and I absolutely love it. You can't beat the price either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV no cons

06/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently purchased this tv and have found it to be excellent. Picture and sound are great. Well built, good looking, great features and easy to use. Very straight forward unit. No design drawbacks. Swivels smooth and easy. Stand is rock solid. The remote is very well laid out with the buttons you'd use most grouped where you want them. Also remote has a nice rubber strip around it for ease of grasp and to protect it from damaged when dropped on hard surfaces. I am very pleased with this tv. The user can adjust the picture and sound to their liking. Picture will brighten to satisfy anyone viewing needs, I can't stand tv's with an inherent dim picture and this one isn't. No glare, plenty of volume, great build quality and materials. Plus what I like is the no-lag time when using the remote, other tv's I've had seemed slow to react to the remotes buttons. Also this tv comes right on without going through fits. You hit the on button and the Sceptre name appears for a moment across the screen then the picture lights up clear and crisp. Also this tv has a great tuner and while scanning for over the air channels I was pleased that it found 10 more channels than my older hd tv. Nothing cheap about this tv, it's an excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Sceptre's in the past year. All of them are great! I even bought a 4th for father in law! He loves it but is too cheap to get HDTV so he uses it at 720. Can't convince otherwise! I read every review online before I bought this tv. Thank you to all posters, it makes us all better consumers! I wanted a Vizio but I'm too cheap, especially when 1 TV set is with jr.@ college, 1 is in younger sons bedroom and I have the 50" in our bedroom. Everything is great except the sound quality as other posters have said, however don't let that decide for you to buy another high end brand name that will be another $100.00? Save your $$ and the warranty was only $36.00 for 4 years and Walmart is great with returns. I'm not losing any sleep spending $340-$350 for a tv, especially a 50"!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the price

06/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV on sale almost a year ago for a really good price! (I mean really good!). First of all it's huge and the picture quality is great. However, the sound isn't the greatest. I find myself turning the volume up to 100 and still straining to hear it (and my hearing is great). It seems to me that volume remains the same essentially from level 30 to level 100. Other than that issue the TV is great, I can connect my Playsation 4 and Apple TV to it with no problem. Great TV for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

theres a picture, thats about it

12/04/2012
By ,
Huntington Beach, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so I thought it was a good deal for the money, but I took it back the next day. When I hooked it up to the Blu ray , the picture quality was horrible. The colors were distorted and "pasty", there were "ghosts" in the action scenes, two or three layers at times. Not my player , got a samsung TV and it is perfect with the same player and movie.
Also the the HD digital air channel system is not user friendly.
if you just want a 50" basic level its ok for the money, but spend the couple hundred extra if you want at least middle of the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great picture , but sound is just OK

09/23/2012
By ,
Palm Bay ,Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart shipped it free to my home!! I Thought Fed Ex broke it ,as it had a couple of large holes in the box, but it was fine. The Picture is fantastic either on Direct Tv (Hd) or off my Antenna. It is very bright and clear, with vivid colors. The stand is a bit flimsy and the Tv leans a 1/2 inch lower on the left side. The swivel on the base is very convenient. Unlike other reviewers, I love the connections on the side, so I can hook up my computer or camera without moving the TV. I love all the connections it has. The sound is just OK, (why I gave it 4 stars)but it does have plenty of volume. I hooked up my surround sound system to the audio out connectors and it's fine. The remote is user friendly and easy to use. I was pleasently surprised to see how little energy this set uses for a 50inch TV. This is my 2nd Sceptre TV (the other is 46inch), and I would definitely buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the money. 1 Small Problem !

08/06/2012
By ,
Brilliant,Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the TV, picture is awesom, sound is a little cheap, but all features work well. The only problem is when mounted on its base, it leans 1/2 inch lower on the left side than on the right. Contacted Sceptre about it and they said it's normal and I would have to live with it. I recommend anyone buying this TV ,buy a wall mount for it if you like looking at your picture straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/07/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was extremely surprise about the excellent quality of this product. I particularly like the sound quality and ease of operation. This will be put to good use by the family for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Broke in 2 weeks

09/12/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this tv via walmart.com and picked it up from the store two weeks ago. Tonight while I was watching TV I heard a pop and the TV died. We were pleased with everything before this happened, but we're not sure we want to give it another try. Just an fyi, the protection plan doesn't start until 1 year after you buy it. Between 90 days and a year you must contact the manufacturer to get replaced, I really don't want to deal with that complicated mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent value, very HAPPY!

06/20/2012
By ,
Troy, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV replaced a 46" Sony HDTV that I paid over $2000 for about 4 years ago. A 4" bigger screen and 1/4 of the price! Once you go through the setup and make a few changes, the picture is stunning, even the non-HD picture is excellent!!! Xbox 360, blue ray movies all look great. I would even say, it's on par, if not better than the Sony we used to have. Excellent controller, easy to change between connections (also has 3 HDMI, the Sony only had 2) and swivels. Thanks to everyone who recommended this TV, so far, it's exceeded my expectations.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Extraordinary bang for the buck.

11/25/2012
By ,
Cinnaminson, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whether this TV is good for you depends on your needs. This is a great Value for the money, with a good picture and decent sound. What it lacks are higher-end features like WiFi, only has a 60 hertz refresh rate, "only" has 3 HDMI connections, etc. If you want/"need" those and other features, you will need to spend several hundred more to get them. I'm 60 years old, and I can't see much difference in picture quality between this and higher end TVs, although my children can.
I got this for my basement gym to watch the news and sports while exercising, and it is great for that. Unless money is no object for you, you should give this a serious look before shelling out much more money for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
11/10/2012
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,but the first one sent had a cracked lcd,ordered a second one.and un boxing i noticed apiece left out of the first one's box, which resulted in the cracked lcd...second is going strong.looks good and sounds good. and was packaged properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

not what I expected

10/18/2013
By ,
monroe mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I ordered this tv was in sep and when I got it we found a crack in the screen so sent it back.Had another one sent but had it sent to the store instead.Everything was working fine but the last couple of days the picture has been going in and out and there is sometimes a line at the top of the screen.Im disapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Awesome TV!

12/12/2013
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went out the day after Thanksgiving on a quest for a 50" TV. When I arrived at Wal-Mart, they had already given out all the tickets for the 50" TVs on sale so I turned to their website to continue my quest. I found this TV for a great price of $399. The reviews were pretty good so I was sold. I used the site to store to pick it up which was not terrible but was a bit crazy only because it is Christmas time and layaway ends this weekend. So I had expected to wait. Got our new TV home and of course we couldn't wait to open it. Right out of the box it worked perfectly. The picture is even better than the 40" TV we already had that we bought several years ago from Best Buy. The sound is good too. I mean looking at the TV all I can say is WOW! If you are not looking for a smart TV, cause that is not what this is, but want a really great flat screen TV. This is the ticket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

A 50/50 gamble for a tv!

12/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gave this tv a chance for the great price, but stopped working 2 wks after I got it. It was a decent tv during the time that it actually worked. Just have to be lucky enough not to get a defective one, or end up losing money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This is a Great Television for the price !!

10/13/2013
By ,
Monroe,Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, that I almost didn't buy this Television. I had never heard of SCEPTRE, But the price was awesome for a 50 inch television. As a Senior Citizen, it was also great that I did not have to load or unload it from my car, it was Delivered to my home. It was easy to hook everything up, and the color in the picture is also nice and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 1,173 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  59 Next