Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1438 Reviews) 1170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Recommendation88%1,259 out of 1,438reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Happily surprised

02/25/2014
By ,
San diego Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like many others did not recognize the make but if how it looks we all shall I am happy with everything so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 62 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

love this tv

02/25/2014
By ,
phx az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ilove this tv looks great and works terrific a smart economic buy!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 63 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Purchase!

09/29/2012
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this purchase as you can see by my ratings. It is a much lighter TV than the LCD we replaced. We had planned on getting an LED on our next purchase but are satisfied with this one.
The only one negative that I found on this purchase was that all of the adapters on the back are on the left side of the TV when facing the TV so we have to run cords along the fireplace mantle because of where our outlets are. This I am sure would only be a problem to few.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 64 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Flat Screen TV

02/22/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm loving this television. Both my children brought the same TV and their enjoying it as well. Thanks for the marvelous price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 65 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

What a disaster

07/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and it came with a remote that doesn't work and the volume on the tv is awful. The funny thing is that there is a section in the manual that suggests what to do if the remote doesn't work...how about they just fix the remote and volume problem in order to provide customers with a better product. I will be returning this product immediately. This is a hassle. Its a big tv with beautiful picture quality but none of that matters when the other problems exist.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 66 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

not what I expected

10/18/2013
By ,
monroe mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first time I ordered this tv was in sep and when I got it we found a crack in the screen so sent it back.Had another one sent but had it sent to the store instead.Everything was working fine but the last couple of days the picture has been going in and out and there is sometimes a line at the top of the screen.Im disapointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 67 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Absoluetly love it!

05/11/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For being my 2nd Sceptre product, I am completely satisfied and amazed. This unit replaced our 6 year old 42" Olevia in the living room. This 50" Sceptre works superb with a PS3, Blu-Ray Player and a Roku player all connected via HDMI. This unit is a definite best buy for those looking to upgrade to a larger size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+409points
Review 68 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Sceptre's in the past year. All of them are great! I even bought a 4th for father in law! He loves it but is too cheap to get HDTV so he uses it at 720. Can't convince otherwise! I read every review online before I bought this tv. Thank you to all posters, it makes us all better consumers! I wanted a Vizio but I'm too cheap, especially when 1 TV set is with jr.@ college, 1 is in younger sons bedroom and I have the 50" in our bedroom. Everything is great except the sound quality as other posters have said, however don't let that decide for you to buy another high end brand name that will be another $100.00? Save your $$ and the warranty was only $36.00 for 4 years and Walmart is great with returns. I'm not losing any sleep spending $340-$350 for a tv, especially a 50"!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 69 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This is a Great Television for the price !!

10/13/2013
By ,
Monroe,Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have to admit, that I almost didn't buy this Television. I had never heard of SCEPTRE, But the price was awesome for a 50 inch television. As a Senior Citizen, it was also great that I did not have to load or unload it from my car, it was Delivered to my home. It was easy to hook everything up, and the color in the picture is also nice and clear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 70 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

tv

02/22/2014
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great llike the color the sound is great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 71 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied!!!! I recommend this product highley.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 72 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

More than my money's worth.

12/21/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for a couple of years now for a truly exceptional buy on a large screen HDTV. Is 'bigger' really 'better'? Well...DUH! I'm retired and watch quite a lot of TV so picture quality and a BIG screen were both very important to me. The Scepter 50" LDC 1080P delivers all that I was looking for (and more) for at a great price - except for sound quality which is a bit lackluster and lacks 'depth'. Overall, this TV is an outstanding value with a picture that is simply to die for. Easy set-up - once you figure out the remote control. I had it delivered (free!) to my home address. It arrived via Fed-Ex in fine condition. Be sure to open up the box from the bottom for easiest removal. A couple of minutes to attach the swivel stand (feels sturdy!), hook up the cables from my satellite receiver and PRESTO, I got a fabulous picture. Rarely now-a-days does one get more than your money's worth, but the Scepter 50" is the exception. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 73 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv for the price!

02/15/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one I have bought. First one had one bad pixel, not worth the effort to return. Was very happy with every thing about this TV. Second unit is perfect. For this price it's like getting two for the price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 74 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

loves it

02/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only had the tv for 5days. Great tv for the size, easy set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 75 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

You should consider your options

10/30/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this product for 6 weeks. After the first month the sound would not work properly. I went thru the reset procedure several times( unplug for 24 hours), to no avail. I had to turn the unit on and off until the sound finally came on. Not happy with Sceptre.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 76 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Broke in 2 weeks

09/12/2013
By ,
Asheville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this tv via walmart.com and picked it up from the store two weeks ago. Tonight while I was watching TV I heard a pop and the TV died. We were pleased with everything before this happened, but we're not sure we want to give it another try. Just an fyi, the protection plan doesn't start until 1 year after you buy it. Between 90 days and a year you must contact the manufacturer to get replaced, I really don't want to deal with that complicated mess.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 77 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price!

07/15/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not pass up on this great deal...have had t.v. for a week and everything works great. Picture good quality as well as sound. This is our first 50" and we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 78 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

distorted screen

11/02/2013
By ,
franklin, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The tv looked great out of the box but when we set it up and turned it on the colors were all mixed together everywhere like something has been shattered inside. The glass wasn't broken though. Bummer
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Review 79 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

For $499 it's hard to go wrong.

07/01/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife bought this TV for me for father's day. It arrived in perfect condition despite the box being a little beat up. I like the fact that it's only 60Hz helps it to retain that "film" quality. TVs with higher refresh rates (120Hz, 240Hz) tend to make the picture too clear, which makes it appear flat and cheap. The picture, when connected to an HD source, is very crisp. Standard definition looks good as well. My 7 year old daughter told me that she likes that it turns on and off so quickly.
I have a couple of issues with the TV. First, the sticky residue left after removing the stickers on the bezel is very hard to get off. Not cool. Second, after I finish watching a program from my Direct TV DVR, when I erase the program and my satellite box automatically switches to live TV there is a momentary loss of signal to the TV. Occasionally, once the signal returns, there is no sound. I have to turn off, and then turn back on my satellite box to help the sound return. With that said, this is a minor inconvenience.
All in all, I would definitely recommend this product. It's impossible to beat for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 80 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

11/06/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for Man Cave. Nice size, excellent picture and sound quality. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
61-80 of 1,171 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  59 Next