Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1444 Reviews) 1176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
797
4 stars
398
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation87%1,263 out of 1,444reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
797
4 stars
398
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre= junk

08/08/2013
By ,
chula vista
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doa.. its amazing how Sceptre will answer questions about if it has vga or whatever on this site but if your tv is dead or has other problems they do not respond. by phone email or pigeon carrier. do yourselves a favor and get lg or samsung
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Review 62 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Fair at best

07/26/2012
By ,
Webster, MA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this TV online. I read the reviews prior to purchasing the TV and it got pretty good reviews for an inexpensive TV. In a nutshell I think I got a lemon. The TV would just go out on me time and again. The TV would show that it is on but lose the picture completely. I would have to pull the plug out to reboot the TV. I called the company, they told me how to reset it and I did however this did not work. I returned the TV to Walmart and got my money back. I then purchased a Sanyo for a little more money and now completely happy. I guess some things are just meant to happen in life.
It is not a bad TV when it was working. At least I discovered the problem shortly after I purchased it. I do love the Sanyo, it is a better TV all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 63 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

What a disaster

07/27/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this a couple of weeks ago and it came with a remote that doesn't work and the volume on the tv is awful. The funny thing is that there is a section in the manual that suggests what to do if the remote doesn't work...how about they just fix the remote and volume problem in order to provide customers with a better product. I will be returning this product immediately. This is a hassle. Its a big tv with beautiful picture quality but none of that matters when the other problems exist.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 64 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Color Went Out

11/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD in September 2013 and the color went out in November 2014. I'm hoping the 3 year extra warranty covers it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 65 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Sceptre tv and I absolutely love it. You can't beat the price either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 66 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV no cons

06/12/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently purchased this tv and have found it to be excellent. Picture and sound are great. Well built, good looking, great features and easy to use. Very straight forward unit. No design drawbacks. Swivels smooth and easy. Stand is rock solid. The remote is very well laid out with the buttons you'd use most grouped where you want them. Also remote has a nice rubber strip around it for ease of grasp and to protect it from damaged when dropped on hard surfaces. I am very pleased with this tv. The user can adjust the picture and sound to their liking. Picture will brighten to satisfy anyone viewing needs, I can't stand tv's with an inherent dim picture and this one isn't. No glare, plenty of volume, great build quality and materials. Plus what I like is the no-lag time when using the remote, other tv's I've had seemed slow to react to the remotes buttons. Also this tv comes right on without going through fits. You hit the on button and the Sceptre name appears for a moment across the screen then the picture lights up clear and crisp. Also this tv has a great tuner and while scanning for over the air channels I was pleased that it found 10 more channels than my older hd tv. Nothing cheap about this tv, it's an excellent value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 67 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

It was great when it worked.

10/16/2013
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The purchase of this product has been a disappointment. My TV was delivered on 10/5/13 and on 10/14/13 it turned itself off and never came back on.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 68 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for an awesome price!

12/05/2013
By ,
Terre Hill, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just had this arrive yesterday. Got it all set up and plugged in and is a great addition to the living room! I read some reviews stating the sound wasn't all that great, and sure enough, when i turned it on, it sounded alot different from what i was used to. I didn't know if i had to adjust to the new sound i was hearing, or if it was just overall low quality of sound. Fortunately, i had a pair of Laptop speakers and sub i hooked up temporarily until i find either a sound bar, or some other speaker system.
Remote comes with batteries, even comes with its own little screw driver to install the base. Another thing is that you should be careful with how wobbly it is. Even with the screws torqued as much as i could into the base...i think one little push from the back and its game over. My friend has a 40 inch scepter and he says his is the same way.
Other than that, it seems really nice so far! Only had it for a day and have my 360 and cable hooked up to it and the picture is really clear. Its a big upgrade from my 30 inch so i was quite impressed with what i paid for.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 69 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

theres a picture, thats about it

12/04/2012
By ,
Huntington Beach, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
so I thought it was a good deal for the money, but I took it back the next day. When I hooked it up to the Blu ray , the picture quality was horrible. The colors were distorted and "pasty", there were "ghosts" in the action scenes, two or three layers at times. Not my player , got a samsung TV and it is perfect with the same player and movie.
Also the the HD digital air channel system is not user friendly.
if you just want a 50" basic level its ok for the money, but spend the couple hundred extra if you want at least middle of the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 70 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

"Buyer beware"

12/02/2013
By ,
Findlay, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When we got the television. The screen was cracked in many pieces. We noticed this as soon as we got home from work. This would get 0% ratings. Never got to hear the sound or turn the dumb thing on since the screen was cracked. Wow, what a disappointment! I took the television back to my local Wal-Mart and they were great about it though. When I called Wal-Mart at first, they were shocked to find this happened. The customer service rep. at my local Wal-Mart store couldn't believe when she scanned the bar on the box, the original price through her hand-held scanner let her know the television rang up to $799.99 but I only paid $399.99. However, it was no deal at all since it was broke when it arrived.
The t.v. has been replaced with an in-store purchase and thus far I am satisfied after 4 days. Not a Sceptere, but I did have to pay the higher price of the difference of $49.00 since most local stores don't carry that brand. My advice is "BUYER BEWARE" when it comes to purchasing something expensive on the Internet. "You truly get what you pay for!"
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 71 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Sceptre's in the past year. All of them are great! I even bought a 4th for father in law! He loves it but is too cheap to get HDTV so he uses it at 720. Can't convince otherwise! I read every review online before I bought this tv. Thank you to all posters, it makes us all better consumers! I wanted a Vizio but I'm too cheap, especially when 1 TV set is with jr.@ college, 1 is in younger sons bedroom and I have the 50" in our bedroom. Everything is great except the sound quality as other posters have said, however don't let that decide for you to buy another high end brand name that will be another $100.00? Save your $$ and the warranty was only $36.00 for 4 years and Walmart is great with returns. I'm not losing any sleep spending $340-$350 for a tv, especially a 50"!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 72 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great picture , but sound is just OK

09/23/2012
By ,
Palm Bay ,Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart shipped it free to my home!! I Thought Fed Ex broke it ,as it had a couple of large holes in the box, but it was fine. The Picture is fantastic either on Direct Tv (Hd) or off my Antenna. It is very bright and clear, with vivid colors. The stand is a bit flimsy and the Tv leans a 1/2 inch lower on the left side. The swivel on the base is very convenient. Unlike other reviewers, I love the connections on the side, so I can hook up my computer or camera without moving the TV. I love all the connections it has. The sound is just OK, (why I gave it 4 stars)but it does have plenty of volume. I hooked up my surround sound system to the audio out connectors and it's fine. The remote is user friendly and easy to use. I was pleasently surprised to see how little energy this set uses for a 50inch TV. This is my 2nd Sceptre TV (the other is 46inch), and I would definitely buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 73 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the money. 1 Small Problem !

08/06/2012
By ,
Brilliant,Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the TV, picture is awesom, sound is a little cheap, but all features work well. The only problem is when mounted on its base, it leans 1/2 inch lower on the left side than on the right. Contacted Sceptre about it and they said it's normal and I would have to live with it. I recommend anyone buying this TV ,buy a wall mount for it if you like looking at your picture straight.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 74 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/07/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was extremely surprise about the excellent quality of this product. I particularly like the sound quality and ease of operation. This will be put to good use by the family for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 75 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent value, very HAPPY!

06/20/2012
By ,
Troy, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV replaced a 46" Sony HDTV that I paid over $2000 for about 4 years ago. A 4" bigger screen and 1/4 of the price! Once you go through the setup and make a few changes, the picture is stunning, even the non-HD picture is excellent!!! Xbox 360, blue ray movies all look great. I would even say, it's on par, if not better than the Sony we used to have. Excellent controller, easy to change between connections (also has 3 HDMI, the Sony only had 2) and swivels. Thanks to everyone who recommended this TV, so far, it's exceeded my expectations.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 76 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Extraordinary bang for the buck.

11/25/2012
By ,
Cinnaminson, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whether this TV is good for you depends on your needs. This is a great Value for the money, with a good picture and decent sound. What it lacks are higher-end features like WiFi, only has a 60 hertz refresh rate, "only" has 3 HDMI connections, etc. If you want/"need" those and other features, you will need to spend several hundred more to get them. I'm 60 years old, and I can't see much difference in picture quality between this and higher end TVs, although my children can.
I got this for my basement gym to watch the news and sports while exercising, and it is great for that. Unless money is no object for you, you should give this a serious look before shelling out much more money for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 77 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
11/10/2012
By ,
oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product,but the first one sent had a cracked lcd,ordered a second one.and un boxing i noticed apiece left out of the first one's box, which resulted in the cracked lcd...second is going strong.looks good and sounds good. and was packaged properly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 78 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

A 50/50 gamble for a tv!

12/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gave this tv a chance for the great price, but stopped working 2 wks after I got it. It was a decent tv during the time that it actually worked. Just have to be lucky enough not to get a defective one, or end up losing money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 79 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

DO NOT BUY!!!

06/11/2012
By ,
Madison, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Weird that all these reviews look so similar...I ordered a Sceptre Tv a little under a year ago. Within the first month I had problems with it! All I can see now is a big blue screen! I have been trying to get ahold of Sceptre for months and they will not call me back. I do not know what to do with this huge piece of junk now. 400 bucks down the drain. DO NOT BUY SCEPTRE!! You will regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+59points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
DO NOT BUY
Posted 09/15/2012
Did you lay the TV down when you transported it?
It sounds like the optical block has gone bad on you.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Tucson AZ
What sam said.
Posted 06/26/2012
I agree with what Sam said, if you had problems during the first month you could have simply returned it to wal-mart.
+7points
Customer Avatar
Yuma,Az
skeptic sam
Posted 06/18/2012
I had no problems in reaching Sceptre-just to see if you told the truth-and if you had problems with it in the first month you could have returned it to Walmart-this is a very fishy review
+6points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 80 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Poorly made tv set

06/19/2012
By ,
Walnut Creek, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this lcd from walmart.com due to the sale for $499 they had. I had it shipped to Walmart store for free, so that was good. However when I assembled the tv stand, the stand was so poorly made that it didn't hold the TV steadily and the stand was not set correctly, I actually had to unscrew a lot of screws just to straight out the TV and stand.
The picture and sound was ok. But the TV was very thick.
If you buy this unit, be prepared to get what you paid for. I ended up returning it within a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
61-80 of 1,177 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  59 Next