Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1442 Reviews) 1174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
796
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation87%1,261 out of 1,442reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 978 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
796
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Purchase!

09/29/2012
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this purchase as you can see by my ratings. It is a much lighter TV than the LCD we replaced. We had planned on getting an LED on our next purchase but are satisfied with this one.
The only one negative that I found on this purchase was that all of the adapters on the back are on the left side of the TV when facing the TV so we have to run cords along the fireplace mantle because of where our outlets are. This I am sure would only be a problem to few.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Absoluetly love it!

05/11/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For being my 2nd Sceptre product, I am completely satisfied and amazed. This unit replaced our 6 year old 42" Olevia in the living room. This 50" Sceptre works superb with a PS3, Blu-Ray Player and a Roku player all connected via HDMI. This unit is a definite best buy for those looking to upgrade to a larger size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+411points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Value for the sale price with free shipping

09/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You can't beat the value for the $200 off with free shipping deal. $398.00 for a 50" TV with 1080P. Sure it's not top of the line but, this stuff changes so quick these days i'll take the best bang for the buck. It's good enough to turn my living room into a theater like atmosphere! Beats my RCA 27" CRT style stereo tv that cost me that same price back in 1990! Needed something better than that to watch football since those events are now formatted for these bigger TV's. I'm Happy with it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

You'd Better Believe It!

11/18/2013
By ,
Sacramento, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking on line and in stores, this TV and it's price topped them all!
*PICTURE: Very good HD quality. In some cases, far better than other MAJOR brands at triple the price!
*SOUND: As with virtually any other flat screen, it's fair at best. Have never heard a flat screen deliver sound you would brag about. A pair of inexpensive computer speakers will easily correct this.
*SET-UP: Nothing complicated. Easy to read manual and on screen instructions.
*TV STAND: STRONGLY recommend power screwdriver for this. It will make installation easier and the stand sturdier.
Worried about reliability? Even top brands can have problems. Read the reviews on other higher priced competitors.....not all have perfect scores. BOTTOM LINE: What are you waiting for!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

DON'T BUY THIS TV

11/12/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T WASTE YOUR $ AND DON'T BUY THIS TV!!! Product doesn't even last a year and Customer Support is non-existent. They do not answer their calls or allow online chat with customer service.
Bought this tv less than a year ago. Screen developed a purple line through it and I was directed to send it away under warranty for repair. Received the TV back and the screen was cracked. Sceptre only handles customer inquiries via email and they won't make good on replacing the TV. STAY AWAY....Buy a reputable TV brand...if there is a problem they will come out to your house and repair not hide behind emails.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

More than my money's worth.

12/21/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for a couple of years now for a truly exceptional buy on a large screen HDTV. Is 'bigger' really 'better'? Well...DUH! I'm retired and watch quite a lot of TV so picture quality and a BIG screen were both very important to me. The Scepter 50" LDC 1080P delivers all that I was looking for (and more) for at a great price - except for sound quality which is a bit lackluster and lacks 'depth'. Overall, this TV is an outstanding value with a picture that is simply to die for. Easy set-up - once you figure out the remote control. I had it delivered (free!) to my home address. It arrived via Fed-Ex in fine condition. Be sure to open up the box from the bottom for easiest removal. A couple of minutes to attach the swivel stand (feels sturdy!), hook up the cables from my satellite receiver and PRESTO, I got a fabulous picture. Rarely now-a-days does one get more than your money's worth, but the Scepter 50" is the exception. BUY IT!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price!

07/15/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not pass up on this great deal...have had t.v. for a week and everything works great. Picture good quality as well as sound. This is our first 50" and we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Value buy

10/21/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works nicely 99% of the time. Sometimes glitches but once I shut it off and turn it back on, or hit a couple buttons on the side it comes back working nicely.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Worth Every Penny and More!

02/11/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased on 9/8/2013 for $388. What a deal! Nearly 6 months later and we love this TV! No delivery or packaging issues. Arrived safe and sound. No issues with the TV sitting level. The picture is awesome. If some reviews state there is a problem with the picture, they need to take into consideration the strength of each channel's individual signal, which can't be blamed on the TV's picture quality abilities. We hooked this up to HD Service and we are extremely pleased with the picture. Based on other reviews, we also purchased a sound bar and glad we did. Without it, the sound is tinny and average at best. But, even with this additional $50 addition, we couldn't beat this price. The only quirk is that the TV will show a box on the bottom right corner that counts down when the TV will shut off. There may be a setting we haven't found to delete this option. But, after several hours, the TV will shut off due to inactivity. We just turn it back on.
I did purchase the 3 year warranty, just for added peace of mind. Go ahead and buy this TV, you'll be glad you did!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

For $499 it's hard to go wrong.

07/01/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife bought this TV for me for father's day. It arrived in perfect condition despite the box being a little beat up. I like the fact that it's only 60Hz helps it to retain that "film" quality. TVs with higher refresh rates (120Hz, 240Hz) tend to make the picture too clear, which makes it appear flat and cheap. The picture, when connected to an HD source, is very crisp. Standard definition looks good as well. My 7 year old daughter told me that she likes that it turns on and off so quickly.
I have a couple of issues with the TV. First, the sticky residue left after removing the stickers on the bezel is very hard to get off. Not cool. Second, after I finish watching a program from my Direct TV DVR, when I erase the program and my satellite box automatically switches to live TV there is a momentary loss of signal to the TV. Occasionally, once the signal returns, there is no sound. I have to turn off, and then turn back on my satellite box to help the sound return. With that said, this is a minor inconvenience.
All in all, I would definitely recommend this product. It's impossible to beat for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre= junk

08/08/2013
By ,
chula vista
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doa.. its amazing how Sceptre will answer questions about if it has vga or whatever on this site but if your tv is dead or has other problems they do not respond. by phone email or pigeon carrier. do yourselves a favor and get lg or samsung
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

11/06/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for Man Cave. Nice size, excellent picture and sound quality. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Phenomenal deal!

06/16/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been wanting a larger screeen for a long time but was not willing to pay the price, most of which are over $1000 for a 50" screen. I purchased a Sceptre 32" for my office several months ago and have been super happy with it. When I saw the price on this 50" model, I couldn't resist. I ordered it on a Friday and it arrived the following Wednesday. I had it set up and was watching it within 10 minutes. It's truly an incredible TV for the price. I must admit that I was somewhat leary back when I bought the 32" model because I'd never heard of the Sceptre brand before but I'd certainly buy another of their products knowing what I know now. I have two neighbors who have 46" branded name sets and they are jealous because I got this one for a third of what they paid for theirs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Disappointed

06/14/2012
By ,
illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this tv online and received it yesterday. We hooked it up, and the picture quality was decent, but the sound was horrible. No matter how we adjusted it, it sounded very "tinny." Today a pixel burned out. I read the reviews before purchasing it, and it seemed like everyone else had good luck, but us, not so much. I probably wouldn't order one online again. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Not worth 1 star, nor is it worth $1.

08/09/2013
By ,
Margate, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought once, returned due to broken base. Tried again, returned for no sound and had pixel burn on left side of screen. There is no third time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great big screen LCD for the money

10/19/2012
By ,
MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
As others have said, the sound isn't great. But if buying a tv like this, there's no reason not to have it hooked up to a seperate sound system in which you turn the tv speaker off anyway. It has a coax digital audio out that outputs in 5.1 (I previously had an LCD that only output in PCM stereo). The picture quality is great. Mine had no dead or stuck pixels. If you will be using the televisions tuner for over the air channels (in otherwords, not hooking it up to a cable box or sat box), be aware that it is kind of slow changing channels. Other than that, I'm very pleased with it and would recommend it to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Very Disappointed!

02/25/2013
By ,
Orlando
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV on the last Black Friday sale at the end of November 2012. The TV ran fine for a couple months then the remote stopped working. I called Sceptre tech support and this is when the problems started. First of all no one ever answers the phone at Sceptre. When they do they basically want you to ship the TV back to them for repair in the orginal box which after two months was thrown away. Long story short they wanted me to troubleshoot and fix the TV (disasemble back of TV etc.) and they would send me the part to fix. I don't think its Walmart's fault. In fact they were very gracious in taking care of the situation thanks to a great customer service clerk and manager! Bottom line no more Sceptre products in my household.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Wonderful tv for a wonderful price

11/11/2013
By ,
Scottsburg, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This 50" Sceptre is such an amazing deal at $399. The picture on it is absolutely beautiful. If you currently watch football on a tv with a higher refresh rate than this 60hz you will notice a bit of pixelation in pixel transition but other than sports it is hard to notice the slightly hairy picture at times. The sound unfortunately is not beautiful. It is very tinny and you will probably need a sound bar to replace it. It is somewhat acceptable at times but is really just not good. I cannot believe how light this thing is. I feel like I made a very good purchase for my basement man cave tv. Sure can't beat $399 with free shipping before black friday sales!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Terrible picture quality

06/12/2012
By ,
Milpitas, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this 50" LCD model on the basis of the good reputation of Sceptre, a company known for quality computer components. However, the picture quality of this HDTV was certainly NOT HD, and in fact was the worst I've ever seen (using a high-end HD receiver and HDMI cable). I subsequently returned the item to my local Walmart store for a full refund within the first 72 hours. Ironically, there was a store display model (Visio 55" LCD smart HDTV) for sale at the same price of $500 (normal retail of $1000). The difference was analagous to a go-cart vs a Ferrari. Despite it's size and features, this Sceptre model is not worth buying at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Big TV little price

10/04/2012
By ,
Deltona,Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchase this Sceptre 50 inch TV based on reviews and price the only thing that bothers me is the sound quality had to purchase a sound bar to get the quailty sound would I buy another one no.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 1,175 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  59 Next