Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1438 Reviews) 1170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Recommendation88%1,259 out of 1,438reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

"Buyer beware"

12/02/2013
By ,
Findlay, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When we got the television. The screen was cracked in many pieces. We noticed this as soon as we got home from work. This would get 0% ratings. Never got to hear the sound or turn the dumb thing on since the screen was cracked. Wow, what a disappointment! I took the television back to my local Wal-Mart and they were great about it though. When I called Wal-Mart at first, they were shocked to find this happened. The customer service rep. at my local Wal-Mart store couldn't believe when she scanned the bar on the box, the original price through her hand-held scanner let her know the television rang up to $799.99 but I only paid $399.99. However, it was no deal at all since it was broke when it arrived.
The t.v. has been replaced with an in-store purchase and thus far I am satisfied after 4 days. Not a Sceptere, but I did have to pay the higher price of the difference of $49.00 since most local stores don't carry that brand. My advice is "BUYER BEWARE" when it comes to purchasing something expensive on the Internet. "You truly get what you pay for!"
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 42 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Stopped working in 2 days!

02/24/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had two bad experiences with Walmart's Site to Store, I don't know why I even bothered with it again! The first two times was the same entertainment center being broken or missing pieces. This TV came in a week earlier than expected, which was wonderful! the box was slightly damaged. We hooked it up and thought what a great picture for the price it was, the sound was pretty good as well. We got to enjoy it for a day and a half. Wake up to turn it on and it blows. No TV. Well, needless to say, we returned the piece of junk and went to Best Buy. Walked out with a bigger, better quality TV for just slightly more. I am through with Site to Store. NEVER AGAIN!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 43 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

WHAT A PIECE OF.......HEAVEN!!!!!

06/12/2012
By ,
Wisconsin...
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
O.K. folks....Here's the deal.
I was VERY hesitant to purchase this baby after getting the big one from an internet site that rymes with "1 sale a day".
So anywho I take a chance on another 3rd string t.v. I'm telling ya, this baby is SOOOO worth the 499.00 price tag it's SICK! I've only had it for a week but I cannot in good concious delay the review any longer and let some other folks pass up what I believe to be a fantastic buy. The 1080 picture is to die for and the ease of use/setup is idiot proof! The sound from such a thin T.V. isn't going to be theater quality, but it so much more than you need for watching cable! Such a t.v. for the money should really be considered!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+83points
Review 44 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Terrific picure quality and excellent remote

07/02/2012
By ,
Southern N.J.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using it for a few weeks now and have it connected to an outside antenna. I receive about 50 broadcast channels most which are in HD some of the time. The picture is crystal clear with brilliant color. The remote control is well designed with excellent grip and button layout. Setup was a snap and hope to add a dolby 5.1 sound system with blueray player soon. The sets sound quality is pretty good as is. I've heard these are made by Hitachi but I haven't researched it thoroughly yet. I couldn't believe the ad when I saw a 50" 1080p LCD HD tv for less than $500, WOW! I thought they may have been refurbs but there is no indication of it. I can't complain about a thing as yet but time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 45 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

GREAT TV

02/18/2014
By ,
PEARLAND, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tv in march of 2013 and to date have had no problems, except for it seems the weight of the tv is too much for the base. I noticed the tv kept leaning forward. There is nothing that "locks" it into place. This weekend, the base broke off the tv, while i gently tried to lean it to the correct position. Luckily i hadn't completely let go and I had help when it started falling forward and totally broke from the base. Besides this problem, I haven't had any other issues. The picture is great. I'm not one that has to keep up with trends, so i wasn't going to pay a small fortune to keep up with the joneses. So this tv has been great for what i paid.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 46 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Awesome TV!

12/12/2013
By ,
Columbus, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went out the day after Thanksgiving on a quest for a 50" TV. When I arrived at Wal-Mart, they had already given out all the tickets for the 50" TVs on sale so I turned to their website to continue my quest. I found this TV for a great price of $399. The reviews were pretty good so I was sold. I used the site to store to pick it up which was not terrible but was a bit crazy only because it is Christmas time and layaway ends this weekend. So I had expected to wait. Got our new TV home and of course we couldn't wait to open it. Right out of the box it worked perfectly. The picture is even better than the 40" TV we already had that we bought several years ago from Best Buy. The sound is good too. I mean looking at the TV all I can say is WOW! If you are not looking for a smart TV, cause that is not what this is, but want a really great flat screen TV. This is the ticket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 47 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good product, great price

06/21/2012
By ,
Wichita, ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cheapest price I've seen for a 50" TV, the picture is pretty good but anything vhs quality like old movies or low quality youtube videos will look grainy. Looks great with xbox360, ps3, or any hd source 720p or better. Good pic quality with 480p or better. Hooking up a computer and using it looks great as well for surfing most websites. Not so great with any video quality less than this, so consider what you intend to watch with this before buying so you won't be too disappointed.
Sounds like a TV when using it's internal speakers, highly suggest an alternate sound system like a cheap amp and bookshelf speakers minimum. I'm not a fan of horrible soundbar speakers, they seem to only be a slight improvement for the price which isn't worth it to me. For a cheap great sounding amp do a search for a tripath amp and buy a decent pair of bookshelves or better yet towers, for the same price as a soundbar you get a much higher quality difference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 48 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

It was great when it worked.

10/16/2013
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The purchase of this product has been a disappointment. My TV was delivered on 10/5/13 and on 10/14/13 it turned itself off and never came back on.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 49 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Superb TV

02/16/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative experience we had with this television was the delivery. We decided to have the TV shipped to the store in case we weren't home when it was delivered. Apparently our shipment was "lost" and we were not notified. We had to call the customer service line and get a replacement sent leaving us obviously angered. I will say once we received the TV and got everything set up we were happy with our purchase. This TV is a phenomenal buy. We've been using it about 4 months now. It looks sleek and way more expensive than we purchased it for. I would recommend it to anyone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 50 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

worked great then...

09/19/2012
By ,
Fresno
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Unit was working fine, then developed a red thick line down at the bottom that came and went. Then oneday while watching it, loud pop... and no tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 51 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre= junk

08/08/2013
By ,
chula vista
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doa.. its amazing how Sceptre will answer questions about if it has vga or whatever on this site but if your tv is dead or has other problems they do not respond. by phone email or pigeon carrier. do yourselves a favor and get lg or samsung
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Review 52 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the money

12/11/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a quality cheap larger television and noticed the overwhelmingly positive customer reviews on this site that I decided to buy one, especially when Walmart dropped the price for Thanksgiving Day and beyond by $30 pricing this model at $399.00. The set arrived at my doorstep 36 hrs after ordering it online TG night, incredible.. I am totally satisfied with the picture, sound, looks and overall ease of installation. I run two analog Sony bookshelf speakers on Atlantic Speaker stands (both can be purchased here at Walmart.com) and get a sound that sometimes knocks me out of the seat watching movies.. The USB port that allows you to listen to music or see photos is a nice bonus.. I think I have 21st century entertainment center on the cheap..I did some checking and found Sceptre is an American electronics manufacturer in business since 1984..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 53 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good product for the money

02/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a techie but a pretty good product for the money. We play PS4 and Wii with no prob. Great picture and sounds. The menu settings are limited but still overall good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 54 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Realistic Review-Understand Your Purchase

12/03/2012
By ,
Atlanta Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Folks, let me give you readers a realistic review on this Sceptre. I saw this 50" TV for $429 for Walmart's PreBlackFriday Deal and had to investigate the opportunity further. This was an incredible big TV for a great deal. I needed 2 new BIG TV's to replace my existing 32" and 37" LG flat screens. My primary TV is the 37" of course, so I knew I could take a chance and buy a bad BIG TV to replace the 32" and if i determined i made a mistake i would simply take it back. I read all the reviews and the worst consistent CON i saw was the bad speaker comments. Well, i will tell ANY SKEPTIC that is also considering this TV that the Sceptre is a FANTASTIC buy for the money and size. Folks, if you are honest, informed, and realsitic on what you are buying- 1. Sceptre is a brand not many people are familar with 2. They are supposedly known for computer parts 3. they are trying to crack the consumer electronics industry 4. Therefore they are trying to offer you more product for less and make a name for themselves.....the story should sound pretty familar just like Vizio, LG, Honda, Hyundai, Kia. You can not expect this TV to blow away at every category like a Sharp, Sony, Samsung, or LG right out of the gate on every feature #But the Sceptre is real close#. If you understand this going in, you will REALLY REALLY appreciate this TV and how great of a performer it is. You must have HD service to first enjoy the picture clarity-This TV's clarity competes with any. Yes the screen is so wide that its possible your screen can tilt lower on one side because of the screens weight. The Sceptre engineers need to use a thicker diameter neck and wider support base to support the screen. BUT IT IS A 50" SCREEN FOLKS. The darn TV should be mounted on a Wall or Entertainment Stand ANYWAY. Lastly, the speakers, i was expecting the sound to be as terrible as the sound you get out of some of these cell phone speakers or touch tablets. The sound is NOT TERRIBLE. In fact, i would imagine most users are placing there Sceptres on low level stands so the sound accoutics are already below ear level. I have found the sound quality to be pretty decent and very functional for those users who have either mounted their Sceptres on the wall or have them high over top a fire place mantle such as myself. The sound quality emits better when high above or at your ear levels since the speakers are on the bottom underside of the tv. LG, Samsung, and others have great sound b/c they invest much energy in the emission of their bottom speakers. But this technology often comes at an expensive price. BUT AGAIN PEOPLE, its a 50inch TV made for Theatre-like viewing.....INVEST IN A SOUND BAR. Most people are connecting their 50" to a HOME SURROUND SYSTEM anyway. Thats the assumed understanding if you are trying to step up to a BIG-BOY product. Sorry to be brash but i wanted the normal skeptical consumer like me to not be scared about this product-I love this inexpenive TV. Lastly, buy the cheap 3year warranty too just to cover your bases, It could be worth it later should you need it. Now i can move on and go spend my money on buying a BIG High Quality LED SMART TV for my primary room or consider buying another Sceptre since my first experience was such a good one! Good luck to you in your search.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+424points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Hatboro, PA
Thank You
Posted 09/15/2013
Being in I.T. I have tried to explain to my wife that Sceptre is well known in the Computer Industry. Plus people believe more in Vizio which has had no experience next to TVs. People don't realize that the Computer Industry was the first to utilize flat panel technology before main stream Tv Companies. Glad to see that finally a Company that has the Assets to sell a TV cheaper and make a good quality. This is a Win for the Consumer and as far as the Speakers, there is no Flat Panel TV that will have amazing speakers that is why the aftermarket on Speakers is still alive and thriving. I say grab this TV and Bose sells a Sound Bar that you can pay monthly with no interest and I am sure there will be no complaints about Sound.
http://www.bose.com/controller?url=/shop_online/home_theater/simplified_home_theater/cinemate_1_sr/index.jsp
+3points
Customer Avatar
04401
Why buy a smart TV?
Posted 08/18/2013
You can turn your Sceptre into a smart TV with a Roku device and having more streaming data available to you. Just a thought is all and save you $$.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 55 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv for the price.

03/02/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv was better than I expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 56 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Not worth 1 star, nor is it worth $1.

08/09/2013
By ,
Margate, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought once, returned due to broken base. Tried again, returned for no sound and had pixel burn on left side of screen. There is no third time.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+10points
Review 57 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv

02/25/2014
By ,
Pine Bluff, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really enjoying this TV. The picture quality is excellent. The sound quality is great. So far it has exceededmy eexpectations. Glad that I purchased this product. I will definitely recommend this TV to family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 58 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Awesome value!

02/25/2014
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product the the price. I had my doubts about it when read about the shipping nightmares but I'm glad I bought it. Nice picture. Just great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 59 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV!

02/24/2014
By ,
Okeechobee,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tv for the price. Sound and picture have excellent quality. The only thing the bothers me is you have to have the remote in direct line of the sensor or it doesn't work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 60 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great product

06/11/2012
By ,
Searcy, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great experience with Walmart.com and I am very pleased with the product. This is my third Sceptre product and have been very pleased with all 3. This TV has stunning picture quality and has all the features I wanted. I had recently purchased a Sanyo that did not have a program guide and it was very difficult to navigate among the inputs. Unfortunately I did not have a way to know that until I got it home and hooked it up, but this TV is great. Program guide capability and easily navigate among inputs with one button ease. Sound is good, but I have external speakers with a subwoofer which I would recommend to give you sound that is on par with a vivid and excellent picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
41-60 of 1,171 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  59 Next