Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1440 Reviews) 1172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation88%1,260 out of 1,440reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 978 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Read reviews, picture okay but sound is terrible.

09/09/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched tvs and decided to try this brand because it had 4 out of 5 stars on your website. Buyer beware. Read poor reviews first. I read one review initially that said sound quality not so good but I figured that I didn't care about surround sound that much. The tv was sent fedx and arrived a day earlier than e-mail stated. Person left it at front door and didn't even ring bell. ( I was at home.) There are two vertical black lines on each side of screen which shortens picture to 42". The sound is poor and surges up and down. The picture is okay but 2 days after receiving it, the picture went to white static. The channel also switched from movie to PBS on its own. Now the volume doesn't change with the remote so I went back to website and read from low to high reviews. Over and over people have same issues, even to point of tv not working at all. I will be taking it back to store and probably choose a Vizio or Samsung. I am in my 60s so to return 50" tv to store is going to be a challenge but I know Walmart will help me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio TX
We usually get what we pay for
Posted 11/20/2013
I've been very pleased with Samsung and Magnavox flatscreens (is there any other kind of TV anymore???).
0points
Customer Avatar
Burnet, Texas
Bad picture?
Posted 11/02/2013
In the TV's menu settings for changing your picture, check different settings, and you'll probably get a better picture. Make sure it's set up for the 16:9, and NOT the 4:3 setting. You have to do this with all of the different things you have hooked to the TV like VCR's DVD players, etc.etc...If you're connecting a cable TV system, or satellite, the cable box or satellite receiver must be set to 16:9 also. Over the air can be set through the TV's picture menu, or even the button on the remote. You should also be aware that movies and TV shows on different channel may have different formats, so what you see from program to program, or movie to movie will vary; you may have to zoom to get a full picture, hiding the bars, then zoom back out later with another show or movie, but sometimes you'll have some kind of bars....Remember this varies with what you're watching.... Just practice and you'll get the hang of it...
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 22 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Purchase!

09/29/2012
By ,
UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very happy with this purchase as you can see by my ratings. It is a much lighter TV than the LCD we replaced. We had planned on getting an LED on our next purchase but are satisfied with this one.
The only one negative that I found on this purchase was that all of the adapters on the back are on the left side of the TV when facing the TV so we have to run cords along the fireplace mantle because of where our outlets are. This I am sure would only be a problem to few.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Our Second Scepter

11/11/2013
By ,
Hedgesville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our 2nd Scepter. The first was a 32" that we use as both a PC monitor and TV in our guest room. This second unit is in our great room and both were excellent buys, so don't let the bargain price concern you. Both sets have great sound sound quality out of the box but we added 200 watt surround sound to this 50 inch unit to give theater quality sound boost when watching movies in the large great room space with vaulted ceiling. We have a ROKU 2 and Nintendo Wii, as well as DVD/VHS players and a free to air satellite receiver also connected to this 50 inch set, and there are still 2 unused HDMI ports and a VGA port unused as of yet. It even has a surround sound connection. I am an engineer, but the quick start instructions and user manual are very user friendly - very clear and easy to understand and follow. We are very pleased with this purchase as both sets are well worth the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Terrible picture quality

06/12/2012
By ,
Milpitas, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this 50" LCD model on the basis of the good reputation of Sceptre, a company known for quality computer components. However, the picture quality of this HDTV was certainly NOT HD, and in fact was the worst I've ever seen (using a high-end HD receiver and HDMI cable). I subsequently returned the item to my local Walmart store for a full refund within the first 72 hours. Ironically, there was a store display model (Visio 55" LCD smart HDTV) for sale at the same price of $500 (normal retail of $1000). The difference was analagous to a go-cart vs a Ferrari. Despite it's size and features, this Sceptre model is not worth buying at any price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Didn't work

06/13/2012
By ,
Turlock, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Plugged the TV in and turned it on, it came on for just a couple seconds, then turned itself off. It just kept doing this over and over again.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Price for a Large Flatscreen

10/29/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only two problems I had with this TV was screwing the stand to the base and the remote batteries. The screws were hard to line up and both the stand and TV are pretty heavy for it to be a one person job. It took me about 30 minutes.
The remote batteries were super cheap, barely lasted an hour so be prepared to buy new AAA batteries for the remote.
I was weary buying this TV after reading dozens of positive and negative reviews but sound quality and picture have been no problems for me. I originally had some speakers hooked up but they are old and the wiring is too frayed for me to use them anymore, but the sound on the TV is very full and loud (after playing with the adjustments a little).
Some TVs have netflix hulu and other streaming apps built in so this TV is not advanced or top of the line but it holds up well for a college kid who likes to watch a lot of movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Poorly made tv set

06/19/2012
By ,
Walnut Creek, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this lcd from walmart.com due to the sale for $499 they had. I had it shipped to Walmart store for free, so that was good. However when I assembled the tv stand, the stand was so poorly made that it didn't hold the TV steadily and the stand was not set correctly, I actually had to unscrew a lot of screws just to straight out the TV and stand.
The picture and sound was ok. But the TV was very thick.
If you buy this unit, be prepared to get what you paid for. I ended up returning it within a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

It was great when it worked.

10/16/2013
By ,
Houston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The purchase of this product has been a disappointment. My TV was delivered on 10/5/13 and on 10/14/13 it turned itself off and never came back on.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/07/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was extremely surprise about the excellent quality of this product. I particularly like the sound quality and ease of operation. This will be put to good use by the family for a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Very disappointed

08/29/2013
By ,
Chesterfield, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We ordered this TV on 7/24/13 and received it on 7/26/13. We powered it up and loved it from the first time it came on. The picture was great and once you adjusted the treble down a tad and the bass up a tad, the sound was very adequate. I almost submitted a review remarking what a fantastic unit it was for the price and to ignore the bad reviews. Then, this morning it just clicked off with no sound or picture. We were staring at a black screen. I unplugged it and even changed outlets...nothing. It doesn't even click when you hit the on/off button. I have the return slip printed and will be returning it to Walmart and buying a Sanyo which is what our other two TV's are. We are very, very disappointed. It lasted one month!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the Price!

06/28/2012
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit replaced my old 32" 1080 HD flat screen that I have been using for over six years. It's true that the Scepter is not a $2k TV... but it's not far off in features, picture and quality. I've only had this unit for about a month but I am completely satisfied in all respects. It worked fantastic right out of the box, set up was easy and the picture and sound are both excellent. I run a PS3 with it along with a Roku box and just use the built in digital receiver for local news and sports. Streaming videos typically has very good quality (not quite HD), regular DVD's up convert to excellent quality via the PS3 and both Blu-ray and HD channels are amazingly sharp and detailed. The only 'slightly' negative is that the base the TV mounts to is not as sturdy as it could be. If you have wild pets or children (or are clumsy :) this could be a slight issue. It is not really an issue for me though and seems to be sturdy 'enough'. This of course would not be an issue at all if it's mounted to the wall... which I may do anyway soon enough.
Anyone that gives this TV, for the price, only 1 or 2 stars either got a lemon (it happens) or is just bitter for some other reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Terrific picure quality and excellent remote

07/02/2012
By ,
Southern N.J.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been using it for a few weeks now and have it connected to an outside antenna. I receive about 50 broadcast channels most which are in HD some of the time. The picture is crystal clear with brilliant color. The remote control is well designed with excellent grip and button layout. Setup was a snap and hope to add a dolby 5.1 sound system with blueray player soon. The sets sound quality is pretty good as is. I've heard these are made by Hitachi but I haven't researched it thoroughly yet. I couldn't believe the ad when I saw a 50" 1080p LCD HD tv for less than $500, WOW! I thought they may have been refurbs but there is no indication of it. I can't complain about a thing as yet but time will tell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

love it

05/29/2012
By ,
Rochester new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tv is really big i love picture is great price is wonderfull
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price

07/05/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I would recommend this to a friend but only as a temporary TV or at least for a TV that you wouldn't use too often. The sound on it isn't the best. I don't know if it is because the speakers are pointing down under the TV and bouncing off of the stand but it sounds muffled. When playing the DVD player, the sound has to be turned up to the 70's-80's just for a comfortable sound but don't forget to turn it down when switching it back to the "TV" setting. Another problem I had with it was turning it from "AV" to "TV", my brother decided that it'd be funny to turn the TV off right then and when turning it back on I had a blue screen for about 15 mins. Nothing worked to get a picture. I then had to unplug it, plug it back in and it finally worked. And for a one time thing, I hit the mute button and it randomly turned to channel 5. Yes, I panicked for a while but I turned it back and it never happened again. I wouldn't suggest getting Wal-mart's 2 year warranty package because the manufacture gave it a 1 year warranty so you'll just be paying for an extra year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre= junk

08/08/2013
By ,
chula vista
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doa.. its amazing how Sceptre will answer questions about if it has vga or whatever on this site but if your tv is dead or has other problems they do not respond. by phone email or pigeon carrier. do yourselves a favor and get lg or samsung
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Big TV little price

10/04/2012
By ,
Deltona,Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchase this Sceptre 50 inch TV based on reviews and price the only thing that bothers me is the sound quality had to purchase a sound bar to get the quailty sound would I buy another one no.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price!

07/15/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Could not pass up on this great deal...have had t.v. for a week and everything works great. Picture good quality as well as sound. This is our first 50" and we love it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

DON'T BUY THIS TV

11/12/2013
By ,
NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DON'T WASTE YOUR $ AND DON'T BUY THIS TV!!! Product doesn't even last a year and Customer Support is non-existent. They do not answer their calls or allow online chat with customer service.
Bought this tv less than a year ago. Screen developed a purple line through it and I was directed to send it away under warranty for repair. Received the TV back and the screen was cracked. Sceptre only handles customer inquiries via email and they won't make good on replacing the TV. STAY AWAY....Buy a reputable TV brand...if there is a problem they will come out to your house and repair not hide behind emails.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Sceptre tv and I absolutely love it. You can't beat the price either.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Exceptional Value at $419

10/14/2013
By ,
Lake Havasu City, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't add much more than the other reviews; IMO they were spot on. Picture is VERY GOOD while the sound quality is ACCEPTABLE, not great. Since I'm using it in my home office it's fine. If this model were my main TV I'd at least buy a soundbar to enhance the sound a bit. I looked all over the internet for a price match and just could not find anything even close to the size and quality of this model for the price. Since there's not much data on the manufacturer's TV track record, I bought the three year warranty, it was cheap. So out the door, including the three year warranty it cost me about $465; delivery was free. BTW, speed of delivery was fantastic, about four business days as promised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 1,173 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  59 Next