Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1474 Reviews) 1206
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
822
4 stars
402
3 stars
75
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation88%1,291 out of 1,473reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
822
4 stars
402
3 stars
75
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

for the price I hav no complaints

12/27/2013
By ,
Chebanse, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its a brand I never heard of but figured I'd giv it a shot anyway. I was just looking for a bigger tv mostly. I didn't care about any features or anything. I don't even use the volume on the tv. I use my theater system. So far, I lik it. Picture is good except a lot of the times, I can't read whats on the screen cuz its cut off as if the show is too big for my screen. I duno if its the tv or my cable but that's not a huge deal. But I am happy with my overall purchase and intend on buying another one soon
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 362 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
12/20/2012
By ,
Titusville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Our elderly mother needs a large screen tv due to failing eyesight and sitting pretty far from it in the mornings when she has her coffee and reads the paper. The 50" was a perfect solution. Ordering couldn't have been easier and delivery was quite prompt. The picture was a bit dark when we first turned it on, but with a simple adjustment of the brightness and contrast, it was perfect. We haven't augmented the sound yet, but when we do I'm sure it will be fine (it sounds like a smaller tv or a radio at the moment).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 363 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Way Better Than Expected!!

09/28/2013
By ,
Satellite Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't believe the quality of this TV. Only thing to assemble was the stand SOOOOO easy. A no-eyed baboon could put the stand on! Did it myself in less than 5 minutes!!! (No, I'm not a baboon, just inept at putting things together). They even included a screwdriver believe it or not. I'm beside myself at such a great deal. So worth it. The picture is awesome. Didn't have to adjust anything!!! I never rate or respond to purchases, but this one I just have to tell you that you'd be totally NUTS if you don't buy one of these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 364 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

great for the price!!!

12/25/2012
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yeah the sound's a little low, but it's pretty easy to make it alot louder...but much better with a sound system of any type...but so would any TV...you also need to tweak the picture settings which is pretty easy also...even says the sound & picture need adjusting because it's default settings are in energy saving mode...only has a poorer quality picture on channels that have poorer quality pictures anyways...we play a multitude of video game systems and have had no problems...I'm truly happy with the TV and especially because of the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 365 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price !

08/19/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were amazed when we connected our 50" Sceptre tv..I didn't expect to get the high quality picture we got, very clear picture, we didn't have to do anything to the color as far as adjusting it. We just connected it after we put it on the brackets, and programmed it to our cable network.. DONE! for $398.00 it can't be beat.. I would recommend this tv for sure. The volume is also very good.. If I could download a picture I would sure do it to really show you the clear picture we have. Very pleased with our purchase...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 366 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/22/2013
By ,
Thornton, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this tv for my elderly parents who live far away. The volume wasn't working right. Spent somuch time emailing the company trying to get them help. They told my mom she needed to buy a flash drive download an update and plug it into the tv. My parents don't even know what a flash drive is. I asked if that was really going to fix the problem and they said probably not. Poor customer service. Why are they sending people new TVs that need updates? If you don't mind fixing and reparing a new tv go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 367 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent TV for the price.

12/29/2012
By ,
Philly, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the TV sent to the store for pick up, and the box was slightly damaged when I picked it up. Luckily the TV was not damaged at all. The TV was easy to set up and install. The picture quality is exactly what one would expect from a 1080p 50" TV. The sound quality is somewhat lacking. It sounds very hallow and tinny. However I use a Home Theater system, so I do not use the stock sound anyway.
Decent TV for the price. If you're an audiophile I would suggest that you either use a surround sound system or look for another TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 368 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Just ok not as good as others that I have seen.

01/12/2013
By ,
Atlanta, Ga.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I will never buy another tv online that I have not seen in person. It is not a bad picture but definitely nothing to brag about. My granddaughter just bought an insignia and my daughter has a Curtis Mathis and they both have spectacular pictures. I bought this one because of the reviews and I am dissapointed. The price was the best. My husband thinks that it is fine and he is satisfied with it. I think that he just did not want to return it. If this is all that you can afford, it will work but look around at others first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 369 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good deal, but terrible sound

12/10/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this TV on Thursday and received it on Saturday, so I commend Walmart for it's great service. Moving on to the TV itself. It's a good deal, a 50 inch for $400, and I would be ecstatic overall if it weren't for the horrible sound quality. Thank goodness I have a surround sound system or I would have returned the TV. Yes, it's that bad. I've been reading over some other reviews and most say that the sound is good, so I don't know if the TV I got is just messed up or if the other reviewers don't know what they're missing when it comes to good sound quality. As for the picture quality, it's great and I have no complaints about that part. Overall, if you're looking for a cheap TV, it'll suffice. However, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone unless they have some sort of alternate sound system they could use with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
Neptune, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order this tv three times before the order actually went through. I have to say that the third representative that I spoke to was the most helpful and I'm very sorry that I don't know his name. When I spoke to him, he told me that he would take care of all problems and he did. It came about three days later and I was so happy, hopefully his name is in my account. I would just really like to tell him thank you. He also said that we would be very happy with this tv and we are so cuddos to him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 371 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good price. Humms loudly. Bad Sound.

09/01/2013
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a great tv for the price. It does humm loudly when turned on, but this is easily covered up by sound from the tv. The sound from the tv itself is terrible, but a quick hookup to a soundbar fixes that easily. I was amazed that the reception of free digital channels blew my Vizio out of the water! The base looks flimsy but works fine if installed properly. Apparently there is no fiber optic sound output which is disappointing, but overall for the price a new 50" doesn't get any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 372 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Picture quality is terrible.

11/10/2013
By ,
Mt. Greenwood
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Guess this is a case of "you get what you pay for..." Thought I was getting a great deal. Picture quality is awful. Constant snow (?), looks like you're running a hair dryer next to it. Constant interference. I'll be returning it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 373 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
12/26/2012
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased a 37in Sony 3 years ago and still enjoy it. I read many reviews and didn't know anything about Sceptre. My wife and I are extremely happy with this purchase. The Picture in HD is awesome, the clear voice sounds great, I added some bass and removed some treble or it sounded a bit tinny to me. I paid $400 on a 1 day blockbuster holiday special deal ( I almost bought another brands 55in with 3D for $700) and received free shipping.
I watch sports and the picture does not look blurry in fast action.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 374 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

GREAT PICTURE WITH HD SERVICE

12/25/2012
By ,
Oak Grove,MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent TV for $400. Great picture with HD service, BluRay & DVD, pretty good picture with digital signal. Sound is not too bad, but recommend hooking up to receiver for surround sound or to a Sound Bar. Stickers on front came off easily with no residue. My only complant is that the audio input jacks are shared between the component and composite inputs, so you would have to keep plugging and unplugging the audio cable if you wanted to use both. Small inconvenience for a great price on a big screen TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 375 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

So far so good

01/01/2013
By ,
Lincoln
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought it on 20/12/22 and so far I like it. Assembling was very easy except srewing in the stand (mine is not mounted on the wall. I got very frustrated trying to fit five screws into very small holes). The channels have random numbers (e.g., ABC could be at D104 but the next channel at A2 or something like that) so cannot easily find the channels I want unless I attach to my cable box -- but that makes it lose picture quality. All the same, the price was right and Walmart delivery was excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 376 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

GREAT deal for the price!

09/26/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV for a great deal of $398.. At first I was a bit skeptical, so I did my homework and found that the product itself was a huge bargain. The only negative reviews I found were about the sound.. which at first does seem a bit off, but I have mine on a stand – not mounted on the wall, so I do think that if it were mounted the sound quality would too be perfect. Great great great buy! Crisp clear picture, good sound, user friendly, easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 377 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Product Received Damaged

10/24/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My order for the Sceptre TV was received damaged (cracked screen) so I had to return to store due to it being a gift and needed that day. The Electronics Manager at my local Walmart made it possible to trade in for a Sanyo of similar features since Sceptre TVs are not sold at the store location. My Son and Daughter both have Sceptre TVs 32" and I had gotten good feedback from them prior to ordering the 50". So I'm sure that for the money, this TV is a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 378 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

To Buy or Not, You Decide

11/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The TV is a great price compared to other sets. It has a very good picture and many functions. I was not happy with the quality of the sound (crackly) , but had a sound bar (70.00) that I use with it and that fixed the problem of sound. Only other thing about it is that I am a channel surfer, and the channels do not seem to keep up with my quick finger..... other than this the tv is great. I bought another brand same size couple of years earlier for the bedroom, and paid about 2x as much, seeing very little difference in the quality.....
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 379 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Better than expected

01/03/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this tv because I am frugal, and didn't want to spend a lot of money. I had it sent to my home,(free shipping) and a neighbor helped me get it into the house. It is heavy for an elderly lady. My son hooked it up for me and I am delighted with the picture the sound and the remote functions.
I was so glad that the screen was not reflective.(Some big screen tv's I have seen reflect all the lights in the room and the light coming in the windows.) I am very very pleased with my selection.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 380 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/18/2013
By ,
Morrisville, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
50'' lcd flat panel for less than 400.00 equals a great buy! The picture quality is a little better than I expected from a sceptre, the sound quality is a little worst. But I never intended to use the built -in sound. The best part of the magnavox i replaced was the soundbar that was included. It works just as great with the sceptre. The sceptre has 3 hdmi connections, but only 1 av input. Not quite ready to upgrade my home theater system, but looks like I will have to soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
361-380 of 1,181 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  60 Next