Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.173 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1441 Reviews) 1173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
796
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation88%1,261 out of 1,441reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 978 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
796
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV because of all the good reviews saying that it has great picture quality and how it compares to higher end TVs. Let me tell you the picture on this is terrible the 8 year old 55” projection TV it replaced had 10x better picture quality and it was barely even 720p and any movement in the video is unwatchable because it gets so pixelated. When I went to Wal-Mart to exchange it the sales person said it is bar far the worst brand they carry and that’s why they don’t display/sell that brand in store. Also If I were to keep the TV there is no way the stand would have lasted, it was made of thin chintzy plastic and it wobbled around just from walking around the house.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Product Received Damaged

10/24/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My order for the Sceptre TV was received damaged (cracked screen) so I had to return to store due to it being a gift and needed that day. The Electronics Manager at my local Walmart made it possible to trade in for a Sanyo of similar features since Sceptre TVs are not sold at the store location. My Son and Daughter both have Sceptre TVs 32" and I had gotten good feedback from them prior to ordering the 50". So I'm sure that for the money, this TV is a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
09/12/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this TV for almost a month now, I really try to find something bad to say about it other than the sound, nothing. It is a very good TV, Why pay three times more when you can get a very good TV, great picture for $499.00. I brought the 3 years warranty because it was cheap.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Price. Great basic large LCD TV

11/26/2013
By ,
San Bernardino, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price on this television was by the cheapest, I had seen on the market.
This TV doesnt have a lot of 'cool' features that the more expensive units (No Internet, Not LED). But if you want a good tv at a low price than this is it.
Some of the reviewers had mentioned sound quality, and perhaps the sound quality is not the greatest, but I have the sound going thru my stereo anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Value

08/14/2013
By ,
Liverpool, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought an RCA 50" TV on a Saturday. Monday it didn't work. Returned it and found this one for about $50 less. Love it. Picture is good and great for the kids and their PS3. Great product at a great price. Also own a 32" Sceptre for my sons's room and love it. Buying another for my daughter's room next. Again, I love this company's products. Seems they've invested more into their product as opposed to advertising. Sceptre TVs are exceptional value and quality. Have and will continue to recommend Sceptre's products to friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/27/2013
By ,
Leesburg,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of them in my home i like them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

great for the price

11/26/2013
By ,
Leicester Ma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the first tv I ordered came in and the screen was cracked so I had to order another one and it seems to be working fine but the volume goes up and down without touching the control this happens according to what channel you put it on . we are still trying to get used to it and how to set the controls . otherwise I am glade and happy with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Television

01/05/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not familiar with the brand name, but very economical, meets my expectation, excellent picture quality and the sound is fine after adjustments
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

I was so surprized at the quality of this tv..

08/03/2013
By ,
Rio Vista, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews of this tv before purchasing it....It took me a while to make up my mind...There are so many different kinds to choose from...But I decided to go with this one..It was delivered the day after I ordered it...Surprize.....
The picture is really beautiful...It was easy to set up....The sound was good but I bought a sound bar to make it better...I LOVE my television,would recommend it to anyone...The price for that size was so good ...This past week It was even cheaper.I recommend it highly...HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

A good TV for $400

01/14/2014
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pros.: Hi folks. Don't let the no name-brand turn you off. This is a great TV for the price ($399#. The remote control has many useful features that saves time sifting through the on screen menu while watching TV. I love the "Aspect" button to make partial screen broadcasts into full screen #Cinema# on the TV with a one push of the button. Also, the "Sleep" button is very useful. The sleep feature was not even listed in the specs. The QAM tuner allows watching all unscrambled digital and analog channels without a Set-top box from your cable TV company. Picture is sharp and the internal speakers are clear, nice and loud. I don't understand why there are so many unfavorable comments about the sound. My most favorite feature is the "Favorite" channels buttons on the remote #No pun intended#, which also was not listed in the specs. The four favorite control buttons on the remote makes it a breeze to select and access your favorite channels.
I bought a 46" Samsung smart TV two weeks ago for $200 more than I paid for this TV. Samsung customer service in India were terrible. I am so glad I returned Samsung to buy this TV. I discovered that I don't need/want the Smart feature for internet access on a TV. It was so slow and froze so much, it was crazy. A computer or I-Pad is much better access to internet. This TV has a MHL connection for a Roku stick if you want internet access. The old adage that you get what you pay for, is not true for this TV. This is a good TV for a low price. The package even includes a screw driver and a soft cloth to clean the screen. Not that I needed a screw driver, but it's a sign how detailed oriented Sceptre company is.
Cons.:
 The USB connection cannot play a movie #motion picture#. It can only display a picture from a USB thumb drive.
 The CC #Closed Caption# setup options are either On or Off. There is no option to automatically activate on mute only and disappear when un-muted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price !

08/19/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were amazed when we connected our 50" Sceptre tv..I didn't expect to get the high quality picture we got, very clear picture, we didn't have to do anything to the color as far as adjusting it. We just connected it after we put it on the brackets, and programmed it to our cable network.. DONE! for $398.00 it can't be beat.. I would recommend this tv for sure. The volume is also very good.. If I could download a picture I would sure do it to really show you the clear picture we have. Very pleased with our purchase...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/22/2013
By ,
Thornton, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this tv for my elderly parents who live far away. The volume wasn't working right. Spent somuch time emailing the company trying to get them help. They told my mom she needed to buy a flash drive download an update and plug it into the tv. My parents don't even know what a flash drive is. I asked if that was really going to fix the problem and they said probably not. Poor customer service. Why are they sending people new TVs that need updates? If you don't mind fixing and reparing a new tv go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

GREAT deal for the price!

09/26/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV for a great deal of $398.. At first I was a bit skeptical, so I did my homework and found that the product itself was a huge bargain. The only negative reviews I found were about the sound.. which at first does seem a bit off, but I have mine on a stand – not mounted on the wall, so I do think that if it were mounted the sound quality would too be perfect. Great great great buy! Crisp clear picture, good sound, user friendly, easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good price. Humms loudly. Bad Sound.

09/01/2013
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a great tv for the price. It does humm loudly when turned on, but this is easily covered up by sound from the tv. The sound from the tv itself is terrible, but a quick hookup to a soundbar fixes that easily. I was amazed that the reception of free digital channels blew my Vizio out of the water! The base looks flimsy but works fine if installed properly. Apparently there is no fiber optic sound output which is disappointing, but overall for the price a new 50" doesn't get any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
Neptune, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order this tv three times before the order actually went through. I have to say that the third representative that I spoke to was the most helpful and I'm very sorry that I don't know his name. When I spoke to him, he told me that he would take care of all problems and he did. It came about three days later and I was so happy, hopefully his name is in my account. I would just really like to tell him thank you. He also said that we would be very happy with this tv and we are so cuddos to him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
12/26/2012
By ,
va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality not quite as good as my 2 year old 42"emerson,but close enough.
Got a great price on he second saturday after thanksgiving.I only have basic cable,no
high def package,but as mentioned the picture isnt as sharp as my emerson,does have a nice sharp
picture while playing back blu rays,so I suspect your results will be better than mine if you have high def.I wasnt dissapointed with this purchase,I couldnt afford a higher end 50"screen,so I really wasnt expecting more than I actually got.Time will tell how durable the television is,but for now I am happy with it,and would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Poor Construction - Difficult Installation.

11/26/2013
By ,
Northern Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The base is too flimsy for the size of the TV so it tended to tip forward on a level surface.
Spent 2 hours trying to get it to work correctly with DISH TV and was never successful. After about 1 hour the remote quite working. Thought it was the batteries but replacing them didn't help. TV was returned the next morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
04/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy. My sound went out 4 months after purchasing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 379 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

WOW

09/18/2013
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a true bargain. Paying around 4 hundred bucks you get a nice 50" LCD with all the features possible. I have it plugged to a dish receiver and it delivers a nice HD performance. Good sound, and very steady swivel base plate, so you can turn it sideways accordingly.
The only downside (for me) is that the coaxial plug is not very strong, so it bends to the side a little bit. Nevertheless, you almost don't need coaxial connections anymore.
Definitely a nice trade!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv!

01/11/2014
By ,
Wanatah, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear picture and great sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 1,174 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  59 Next