Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.179 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1456 Reviews) 1188
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
807
4 stars
401
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
124
Customer Recommendation88%1,276 out of 1,456reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
807
4 stars
401
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
124
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Very good TV for the price!

01/13/2013
By ,
Lawton,Okla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this TV right after Christmas. It's easy to use, has a VERY good picture and controls that make whatever I'm watching adjust to deliver the fullest, sharpest quality on the screen every time. It's as good a picture as any I see when I'm in the store shopping, and the price was DEFINITELY what I've been holding out for! The SOUND, however, needs to be upgraded to match the PICTURE, but the grandkids are hooking me up a surround sound system that they say will make me forget all about the sound system of the TV itself, so I'm really gonna have the best of both!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 362 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Tv

08/22/2012
By ,
North Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It a great TV Very nice picture The sound could be better
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 363 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv

02/25/2014
By ,
Pine Bluff, Ar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm really enjoying this TV. The picture quality is excellent. The sound quality is great. So far it has exceededmy eexpectations. Glad that I purchased this product. I will definitely recommend this TV to family and friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 364 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price !

08/19/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were amazed when we connected our 50" Sceptre tv..I didn't expect to get the high quality picture we got, very clear picture, we didn't have to do anything to the color as far as adjusting it. We just connected it after we put it on the brackets, and programmed it to our cable network.. DONE! for $398.00 it can't be beat.. I would recommend this tv for sure. The volume is also very good.. If I could download a picture I would sure do it to really show you the clear picture we have. Very pleased with our purchase...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 365 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/22/2013
By ,
Thornton, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this tv for my elderly parents who live far away. The volume wasn't working right. Spent somuch time emailing the company trying to get them help. They told my mom she needed to buy a flash drive download an update and plug it into the tv. My parents don't even know what a flash drive is. I asked if that was really going to fix the problem and they said probably not. Poor customer service. Why are they sending people new TVs that need updates? If you don't mind fixing and reparing a new tv go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 366 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

For the price? Awesome

12/30/2012
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price of this TV it is the best thing in the world!!!!! hahaha but notice I said for the price. It is not the greatest if you compare it to any TV that cost even a few hundred more as they all have built in wifi are 120 hz and LED but for a 400 plus dollar 50 inch TV this is the best of the best for sure and the picture did truly suprise me it is a very good picture much much much better than I could have hoped for in this lowest of the low price range TV. this is the 3rd Sceptre brand TV I have bought and it is the ONLY one I thought was even decent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 367 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Product Received Damaged

10/24/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My order for the Sceptre TV was received damaged (cracked screen) so I had to return to store due to it being a gift and needed that day. The Electronics Manager at my local Walmart made it possible to trade in for a Sanyo of similar features since Sceptre TVs are not sold at the store location. My Son and Daughter both have Sceptre TVs 32" and I had gotten good feedback from them prior to ordering the 50". So I'm sure that for the money, this TV is a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 368 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Highly Recomend

01/04/2014
By ,
South East, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After testing this product for over 30 days, I would highly recommend this to anyone. I purchased a smaller version of the same thing over a year ago. I have not had a bit of trouble with either one! Sceptre's are easy to set up and work just fine. Not everyone can afford an expensive "big name" brand. I have gotten more than what I have paid for in both of these!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 369 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
Neptune, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order this tv three times before the order actually went through. I have to say that the third representative that I spoke to was the most helpful and I'm very sorry that I don't know his name. When I spoke to him, he told me that he would take care of all problems and he did. It came about three days later and I was so happy, hopefully his name is in my account. I would just really like to tell him thank you. He also said that we would be very happy with this tv and we are so cuddos to him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 370 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good price. Humms loudly. Bad Sound.

09/01/2013
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a great tv for the price. It does humm loudly when turned on, but this is easily covered up by sound from the tv. The sound from the tv itself is terrible, but a quick hookup to a soundbar fixes that easily. I was amazed that the reception of free digital channels blew my Vizio out of the water! The base looks flimsy but works fine if installed properly. Apparently there is no fiber optic sound output which is disappointing, but overall for the price a new 50" doesn't get any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 371 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Goood for the Price

12/04/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Got this unit on special for $429. When it was delivered I noticed a hole in the top of the carton. Later when I took the unit out noticed a large scratch on the outer frame. As it did not affect the picture and the TV is for the kids family room, I can live with the scratch.
So far, the TV picture is great but sound quality leaves a bit to be desired. It's very tiny. So far cannot connect it to a Home Theater System as my current one uses optical connector and the output on the TV is RCA. Therefore need to spend additional funds to buy a convertor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 372 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good product for the money

02/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not a techie but a pretty good product for the money. We play PS4 and Wii with no prob. Great picture and sounds. The menu settings are limited but still overall good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 373 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv for the price!

02/15/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one I have bought. First one had one bad pixel, not worth the effort to return. Was very happy with every thing about this TV. Second unit is perfect. For this price it's like getting two for the price...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 374 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV!

02/24/2014
By ,
Okeechobee,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tv for the price. Sound and picture have excellent quality. The only thing the bothers me is you have to have the remote in direct line of the sensor or it doesn't work
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 375 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
12/20/2012
By ,
Titusville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value for the money. Our elderly mother needs a large screen tv due to failing eyesight and sitting pretty far from it in the mornings when she has her coffee and reads the paper. The 50" was a perfect solution. Ordering couldn't have been easier and delivery was quite prompt. The picture was a bit dark when we first turned it on, but with a simple adjustment of the brightness and contrast, it was perfect. We haven't augmented the sound yet, but when we do I'm sure it will be fine (it sounds like a smaller tv or a radio at the moment).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 376 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

GREAT deal for the price!

09/26/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV for a great deal of $398.. At first I was a bit skeptical, so I did my homework and found that the product itself was a huge bargain. The only negative reviews I found were about the sound.. which at first does seem a bit off, but I have mine on a stand – not mounted on the wall, so I do think that if it were mounted the sound quality would too be perfect. Great great great buy! Crisp clear picture, good sound, user friendly, easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 377 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

great for the price!!!

12/25/2012
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yeah the sound's a little low, but it's pretty easy to make it alot louder...but much better with a sound system of any type...but so would any TV...you also need to tweak the picture settings which is pretty easy also...even says the sound & picture need adjusting because it's default settings are in energy saving mode...only has a poorer quality picture on channels that have poorer quality pictures anyways...we play a multitude of video game systems and have had no problems...I'm truly happy with the TV and especially because of the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 378 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

WOW

09/18/2013
By ,
West Lafayette, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a true bargain. Paying around 4 hundred bucks you get a nice 50" LCD with all the features possible. I have it plugged to a dish receiver and it delivers a nice HD performance. Good sound, and very steady swivel base plate, so you can turn it sideways accordingly.
The only downside (for me) is that the coaxial plug is not very strong, so it bends to the side a little bit. Nevertheless, you almost don't need coaxial connections anymore.
Definitely a nice trade!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 379 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Awesome value!

02/25/2014
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product the the price. I had my doubts about it when read about the shipping nightmares but I'm glad I bought it. Nice picture. Just great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 380 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Very good deal for an average tv for 50"

09/17/2013
By ,
Stanton Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tv is a very good deal for the price under $500 for a 50" inches.This tv well not blow u away like many known brands.Quality of the tv is questionable at best,should buy a extended warranties.50-50 chance this tv whould not last u more than 3-4 years.This company is not well known for tv research technologies they just got in the tv market for the market share in the electronic consumers for other than just laptops, desktops computers which is it dying slowly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
361-380 of 1,176 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  59 Next