Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1438 Reviews) 1170
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Recommendation88%1,259 out of 1,438reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
396
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
124
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Ended up returning

11/27/2013
By ,
Elizabethtown KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tv because the price and size was hard to pass up! The sound quality was pretty bad but the picture is what really matters. As far as picture quality goes it was great durning gaming on my play station but when I tried to watch a bluray on my new "1080p" tv I just wasn't too satisfied. However for it only being 400 I could live with it. A few days after purchase Best Buy had a sale on a name brand 50" Sharp tv with a better 120hz refresh rate AND the same price! I had to return this off brand and get the Sharp! Still for the price conscious minded it's a great buy and I would still recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 362 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent product for the price better than many

09/17/2013
By ,
Hegins, Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture and sound are excellent for the price and much better than sets costing much more. This is our second Sceptre TV, the first was a 40" which is now in the master bedroom and the new 50" is in the living room. I would recommend this companies TV's to anyone without any reservation. It may not be a big brand name but it is an excellent value!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 363 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

TOTAL 10* for the Money ! Read this before you spe

01/23/2013
By ,
Scranton, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Total 10 for the money. The sound just needs to be adjusted to fit the room size to sound good.
Excellent TV !
NOTE: Picture on Cable/Dish TV is Blurry and is NOT the TV, if you plug in a Blu-Ray Disk the picture is Crystal CLear and almost real ! I almost gave it a bad rating until I tried the DVD, wow, what a difference!
I would buy another one right now if I had a place to put it!
You won't be sorry if you just set it up the right way..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 364 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
09/20/2013
By ,
Clayton, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is great value. The picture is probably not as sharp as I would love it but it is very good. Sound is awesome, we don't have it anywhere near as high as we did on our old TV. It was very easy to set up and the instructions were clear and concise. All in all a great bargain for the price and well worth purchasing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 365 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great television for the money

12/24/2013
By ,
San Antonio Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My set arrived with a huge crack within the screen that affected the viewing. The staff at my store were friendly and helpful with my online return. Could not exchange for another since none were available, but would have exchanged the set. Quality and sound were very good. Free shipping was great to make this a super affordable set.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 366 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Died after 3 weeks!

01/13/2013
By ,
WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't believe the picture just died on this tv. Sound works, but no picture on any source. I didn't even change the channel -it just went out during watching a show. Hubby hooked it up day after Christmas and it's Jan 13th. We are going to take it back for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 367 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

DO NOT EVER BUY A SCEPTRE TV!!!

12/16/2013
By ,
Splendora, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved my Sceptre 50inch TV until we hit the 90 day period for being able to return it Walmart. Right after that warranty period passed while watching the TV it turned off and we were never able to get it back on. Dealing with Sceptre customer service has been very interesting to say the least. They now want me to send back this 50 inch at my own expense to get it fixed. So basically there is NO warranty on these TV's..... BEWARE!!!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Shipped to home

06/22/2012
By ,
Lawton, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well I ordered my tv with the option to 'ship to home free'. I thought....why not?! I don't have a truck and having it delivered seemed like the perfect option. I was disappointed to see that my tv was on my front porch in a tv box! Not a brown box...but a tv box! It showed the whole neighborhood what indeed was in that box. If I have one complaint about the product...so far, it is the packaging in which I received it in. It may be a weird complaint, but I guess I'm used to receiving all of my online orders...including from walmart, in some sort of brown box that doesn't reveal it's contents. I have yet to set it up and use it, but I gave it 4 stars because my friend has one, and it seemed like a good buy for the $$$. I am going to be buying two more tvs, but this time, I will have it shipped to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-4points
Review 369 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great tv for the price

12/05/2012
By ,
Breweron,ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about this tv because of the price. After watching it for about a month I can
say that I am glad I made the purchase. The only real negative is the quality of the sound. It really is poor, however, I have it connected to a surround sound system so the sound quality is not a factor. For someone that wants a good sized LCD and does not need extra
features it is hard to beat this offer especially if you already have a surrond sound system to hook it up to
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 370 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good for Rental Unit

06/29/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my oceanfront rental unit. FedEx sent it to the maintenance office instead of my unit on third floor. My son and I had been waiting whole day and did not know this. Finally I asked around the whole community and found out maintanance guy signed it. Next day I got the TV in the office. My son connected it to his Xbox360 and worked great. The sound is not so bad as some other pointed out in the review. We like its picture and the size fits perfect for the living room. We hope this TV can last long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 371 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

You get what you pay for........

12/15/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordered the TV for our new home. I was flabergasted when it arrived in 2 days, great delivery time! Wish I could say the same about the product.....when we turn it on it had a thick pinkish/redish line going from top to bottom. We exchanged it at the store for a name brand television.......you know the saying "you get what you pay for"? Pay cheap and you shall get cheap.....Save yourself the hassle and spend the extra money to get a real TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 372 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
10/01/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is great for the price. Although I think the picture quality would be much better with HD service. But its still not bad without it. I would recommend this TV
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 373 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
05/12/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised with this TV.Picture quality equals that of sets that cost twice as much.Average sound quality.After 6 months of heavy usage there have been no problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 374 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
09/24/2013
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. I had this TV for just one week now and is all that I'd hope for and then some. The price was very good and the picture is really good. Easy set up fast free delivery. For the money this was a great buy and would do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 375 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

As Promised

12/03/2013
By ,
Oklahoma City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new TV arrived exactly as estimated. It did arrive in great condition and was easy to take out of box and set up. Although, it is a heavy unit for one person to handle alone, it appears to be quite sturdy and a great product for the cost.
I would definitely recommend this product to family and/or friends. It was great that Walmart offered free shipping for this item, however, to receive it a week earlier a shipping cost of just over $2.00 was more than fair.
So far, so good. I rate this product and the walmart.com shopping experience 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 376 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the price!

01/08/2013
By ,
Roscommon, Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews, I agree that the TV is great for the price and that the speakers are the only thing wrong with it. I wish that there would have been a back view in the ad so that I could have known there was no optical port for my surround sound system. I could have saved a trip back to Walmart for a different cable . Luckily my system had more than one option for hook up. I would recommend this TV to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 377 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

I was so surprized at the quality of this tv..

08/03/2013
By ,
Rio Vista, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews of this tv before purchasing it....It took me a while to make up my mind...There are so many different kinds to choose from...But I decided to go with this one..It was delivered the day after I ordered it...Surprize.....
The picture is really beautiful...It was easy to set up....The sound was good but I bought a sound bar to make it better...I LOVE my television,would recommend it to anyone...The price for that size was so good ...This past week It was even cheaper.I recommend it highly...HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 378 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great value. Great picture. Great features.

12/26/2012
By ,
Orem, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for an inexpensive HD upgrade for our Hitachi 46" projection TV. We read the reviews and took a chance on this 50" Sceptre. We are not disappointed! The installation and setup were seamless. We were not concerned about the reviews that indicated the Sceptre sound was inadequate. We attached it to our DVR and surround sound system. The whole process took about 30 minutes. We also purchased the 3-year service contract.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 379 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Beware of rhis Product !

12/29/2012
By ,
Prescott Az
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wrked for ONE DaY !.. After that picture took a minute to warm up and theen clear but within 4 days it takes 5 minutes for pic to clear up and now have to return and spend more money than I want for a better tv but guess U get what U pay for!..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 380 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Very good for the price

09/16/2013
By ,
Chicago
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV a couple weeks ago and have enjoyed in thoroughly. The picture is great, though the sides are a bit dark, but nothing too noticeable. The audio is a bit average and I'd recommend a sound bar or other external speakers. It seems as there is no center channel, so some speech is hard to hear.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
361-380 of 1,171 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  59 Next