Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.171 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1442 Reviews) 1174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
796
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation87%1,261 out of 1,442reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 978 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
796
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
50
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
06/27/2013
By ,
Leesburg,Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two of them in my home i like them
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
12/26/2012
By ,
va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture quality not quite as good as my 2 year old 42"emerson,but close enough.
Got a great price on he second saturday after thanksgiving.I only have basic cable,no
high def package,but as mentioned the picture isnt as sharp as my emerson,does have a nice sharp
picture while playing back blu rays,so I suspect your results will be better than mine if you have high def.I wasnt dissapointed with this purchase,I couldnt afford a higher end 50"screen,so I really wasnt expecting more than I actually got.Time will tell how durable the television is,but for now I am happy with it,and would purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Value

08/14/2013
By ,
Liverpool, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought an RCA 50" TV on a Saturday. Monday it didn't work. Returned it and found this one for about $50 less. Love it. Picture is good and great for the kids and their PS3. Great product at a great price. Also own a 32" Sceptre for my sons's room and love it. Buying another for my daughter's room next. Again, I love this company's products. Seems they've invested more into their product as opposed to advertising. Sceptre TVs are exceptional value and quality. Have and will continue to recommend Sceptre's products to friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Product Received Damaged

10/24/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My order for the Sceptre TV was received damaged (cracked screen) so I had to return to store due to it being a gift and needed that day. The Electronics Manager at my local Walmart made it possible to trade in for a Sanyo of similar features since Sceptre TVs are not sold at the store location. My Son and Daughter both have Sceptre TVs 32" and I had gotten good feedback from them prior to ordering the 50". So I'm sure that for the money, this TV is a great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

I was so surprized at the quality of this tv..

08/03/2013
By ,
Rio Vista, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews of this tv before purchasing it....It took me a while to make up my mind...There are so many different kinds to choose from...But I decided to go with this one..It was delivered the day after I ordered it...Surprize.....
The picture is really beautiful...It was easy to set up....The sound was good but I bought a sound bar to make it better...I LOVE my television,would recommend it to anyone...The price for that size was so good ...This past week It was even cheaper.I recommend it highly...HAPPY WITH MY PURCHASE...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
04/20/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy. My sound went out 4 months after purchasing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Nice for the price

01/19/2014
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered online and didn't open the box til Christmas Day and found the screen cracked, but walmart credited my card and we ordered a new one at the Black Friday online price, and it has been great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Much More than I expected!

12/30/2013
By ,
Philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This television has exceeded my expectations. It has many features that I am learning about as I use it. I especial love the flash drive port as I have many family pictures that I can display at family gatherings. And the display is all of that. I'm in LOVE with this set.
Thanx A Lot!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price !

08/19/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were amazed when we connected our 50" Sceptre tv..I didn't expect to get the high quality picture we got, very clear picture, we didn't have to do anything to the color as far as adjusting it. We just connected it after we put it on the brackets, and programmed it to our cable network.. DONE! for $398.00 it can't be beat.. I would recommend this tv for sure. The volume is also very good.. If I could download a picture I would sure do it to really show you the clear picture we have. Very pleased with our purchase...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/22/2013
By ,
Thornton, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this tv for my elderly parents who live far away. The volume wasn't working right. Spent somuch time emailing the company trying to get them help. They told my mom she needed to buy a flash drive download an update and plug it into the tv. My parents don't even know what a flash drive is. I asked if that was really going to fix the problem and they said probably not. Poor customer service. Why are they sending people new TVs that need updates? If you don't mind fixing and reparing a new tv go for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Price. Great basic large LCD TV

11/26/2013
By ,
San Bernardino, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The price on this television was by the cheapest, I had seen on the market.
This TV doesnt have a lot of 'cool' features that the more expensive units (No Internet, Not LED). But if you want a good tv at a low price than this is it.
Some of the reviewers had mentioned sound quality, and perhaps the sound quality is not the greatest, but I have the sound going thru my stereo anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV For The Price

06/19/2012
By ,
St. Paul, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't have asked for any more for the price. This TV does exactly what we wanted it to do. Very happy with the purchase. Good TV for a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Nice TV

06/19/2012
By ,
North Beach,Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tv for the price.the sound is the only thing that could be a little better.The sound is not bad,but it would be nice if it were a little louder
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Good price. Humms loudly. Bad Sound.

09/01/2013
By ,
Alamogordo, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a great tv for the price. It does humm loudly when turned on, but this is easily covered up by sound from the tv. The sound from the tv itself is terrible, but a quick hookup to a soundbar fixes that easily. I was amazed that the reception of free digital channels blew my Vizio out of the water! The base looks flimsy but works fine if installed properly. Apparently there is no fiber optic sound output which is disappointing, but overall for the price a new 50" doesn't get any better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD
08/30/2013
By ,
Neptune, New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had to order this tv three times before the order actually went through. I have to say that the third representative that I spoke to was the most helpful and I'm very sorry that I don't know his name. When I spoke to him, he told me that he would take care of all problems and he did. It came about three days later and I was so happy, hopefully his name is in my account. I would just really like to tell him thank you. He also said that we would be very happy with this tv and we are so cuddos to him.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

GREAT deal for the price!

09/26/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this TV for a great deal of $398.. At first I was a bit skeptical, so I did my homework and found that the product itself was a huge bargain. The only negative reviews I found were about the sound.. which at first does seem a bit off, but I have mine on a stand – not mounted on the wall, so I do think that if it were mounted the sound quality would too be perfect. Great great great buy! Crisp clear picture, good sound, user friendly, easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Superb TV

02/16/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only negative experience we had with this television was the delivery. We decided to have the TV shipped to the store in case we weren't home when it was delivered. Apparently our shipment was "lost" and we were not notified. We had to call the customer service line and get a replacement sent leaving us obviously angered. I will say once we received the TV and got everything set up we were happy with our purchase. This TV is a phenomenal buy. We've been using it about 4 months now. It looks sleek and way more expensive than we purchased it for. I would recommend it to anyone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

I'm glad I purchased this TV...

11/30/2012
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I know most people are skeptical because the brand is uncommon. I first purchased a 32" inch of this brand back in April of 2012 and it didn't give me any trouble. I then purchased another 32" inch for my dad for father's day in June. So when I saw that Wal-Mart.com was running a special for under $500 for a 50" inch...I HAD TO GET IT!!! This is a great TV and it works well. The sound quality could be a little better, but you can always hook up a surround sound system. I love the TV and I would recommend it to others. I have bought 3 TVs of this brand within the last year!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 379 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the price!

12/21/2012
By ,
Cedar, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this TV in November to upgrade from a 40" Samsung to have a larger TV in our main room. It's not as clear as our Samsung, but serves its purpose, and I can't complain since this 50" was 1/4 of the price! When hooked up to the blue ray or the XBOX 360 through HDMI the picture quality is great! If your expecting Samsung/Sony picture/sound quality for $400 you will be disappointed. If you are upgrading from a rear projection, or a tube TV, you will be extremely satisfied! Keep in mind we just have basic cable with no box, so the picture quality may be better if the picture were filtered through a cable box. I would recommend this TV to anyone that isn't a complete tech snob, and we purchased the warranty for 4 years just to be safe... Happy TV searching!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Very good TV for the price!

01/13/2013
By ,
Lawton,Okla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just got this TV right after Christmas. It's easy to use, has a VERY good picture and controls that make whatever I'm watching adjust to deliver the fullest, sharpest quality on the screen every time. It's as good a picture as any I see when I'm in the store shopping, and the price was DEFINITELY what I've been holding out for! The SOUND, however, needs to be upgraded to match the PICTURE, but the grandkids are hooking me up a surround sound system that they say will make me forget all about the sound system of the TV itself, so I'm really gonna have the best of both!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 1,175 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  59 Next