Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

The Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD is a stylish, glossy black HDTV that lets you view crisp, crystal clear and sharp images that eliminates all the motion blur for a realistic and enriching viewing experience. Four HDMI ports let you connect all of your favorite devices at one time. Plus, the innovative USB port further expands functionality, allowing you to listen to music and view digital pictures quickly and conveniently. This stylish 50" HDTV is a perfect addition to any home decor. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 50" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1440 Reviews) 1172
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Recommendation88%1,260 out of 1,440reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
200 Questions | 978 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
795
4 stars
397
3 stars
74
2 stars
49
1 star
125
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

So far, so good...

12/12/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this TV for barley 2 weeks. I ordered it on cyber Monday 2012 for $498 + 3 yr warranty included, and it arrived on Wednesday 2 days later, which is pretty impressive. So far, picture clarity, sound and everything else is on point with no problems. I upgraded from a 29 inch RCA tru-flat "tube" TV that I have had for 8 years. I am pretty much using this TV as I did my RCA esp. since I am still within my 90 day Walmart return period. The only thing that makes me weary about this TV is its longevity. My previous TV lasted for 8 years and quite frankly is still going strong. With this TV being new on the market, it is rather impossible to know how long its capable of lasting or not blowing something.
I am a regular girl with no flare for the latest technology or electronic. I feel with or without the latest TV, I will still live. Anyway, I bought this as a birthday present for myself, in addition to getting straight A's in college this semester. I thought I would indulge...besides, I deserve it.
I can only pray this TV will last....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+97points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Estill Springs, TN
How is it a year later?
Posted 12/10/2013
It's been a year, is it still solid? Any new info?
0points
Customer Avatar
CA
Same boat!
Posted 12/02/2013
We are in the SAME boat! I have had the same "tube" TV for 8 years, but I feel it is time to upgrade. I never have the latest technology so I figure I can just buy a starter flat TV and then go from there.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Amazing Television!!!

12/24/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For me, this has been an exceptional television. For the price I paid, I couldn't have found a better deal. This television comes from a manufacturer that I hadn't heard of, but I couldn't be happier. The TV has a great picture, decent sound, and all the bells and whistles I was looking for. It's not a wifi enabled smart tv, but that's not to be expected for a 50" television at this price... I think this is a great television with plenty of hdmi ports, a swivel tv stand, and a well deserved 5 star rating from me!!!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent TV. Very pleased with my purchase.

11/22/2013
By ,
san francisco, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV arrived at my door in perfect condition. It comes with the stand (as they all should), the remote, a screen cleaner, batteries, the screws for the stand, and it even included a Phillips screwdriver. I use it for my Xbox 360, and the graphics are awesome. Plenty of ports to connect to. I purchased the 3 year warranty, so with tax, shipping (which was only about $3.00), and the tv I spent around $450.00. I consider that an amazing deal. Most used tvs that size start at $500 plus shipping. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

I just love it..

12/10/2013
By ,
Cape Girardeau, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would definitely recommend this tv to everyone. I just got it last week and it was like love at first sight. I was a bit concerned about the company but after watching the results I m satisfied. The picture quality is excellent.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent Value for a 50inch TV

09/14/2013
By ,
Copperas Cove, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the 50 inch to replace the 32 that I got last Christmas, it's my Patio TV for outdoor entertainment and poolside viewing, the picture quality is excellent, all my guests comment on what a great picture it is!! And when 8 tell them how much I paid for it they run for the computer or mobile device to order one!! A great TV for the price!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great value for the money

11/05/2013
By ,
Glendale, Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV based on the price and on other reviews on picture quality. I knew their might be a disappointment with the sound quality. By tweaking the sound controls I was able to get "almost" acceptable sound. I had a decision to make. Try to connect to my home theater system, buy a sound bar or just return it. As I was very impressed with picture quality I wanted to keep the TV. The digital coax output would not mate with the optical input of the home theater system. So off to Walmart to check out sound bars. I found a huge selection. I picked out a Yamaha ATS 1010 because of a huge price discount and a digital coax input,output for sub woofer,and the ability to learn codes. What a great suprise in sound. The home theater system is now going out the door and I have a great picture (no need for HD) and wonderful sound. The Sceptre 50" remote has a full screen freeze frame function that is instantaneous. The stand seems very sturdy with unlimited rotation. Overall I could have paid a lot more and gotten a lot less.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Product - a real value

09/28/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about this product because of the price - 50" LCD 1080p for less than $400 - with free shipping to the house! I must say, however, that I am impressed with the product so far - 2 weeks in. I read a previous review before I purchased about the sound quality wasn't so good, but I think that's to be expected from a thin tv like this, there's just not enough room for really good speakers, especially not at this price point. This TV has a head-phone output on the back side of the unit so I did as a previous reviewer had suggested and plugged a set of computer speakers in and staged those behind the TV. You can't see them, the volume level is still controlled by the remote, and it sounds great! I used a set of computer speakers that have a sub-woofer so honestly, the sound quality I'm getting out of this tv now is the best sound I've ever had from a tv! I would highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a good tv at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

This is a good TV

10/27/2013
By ,
Staten Island NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV is a good one. Is it a major name? No. Does it perform like one? Yes.
I have TWC DVR cable box, Sony PS 3, Wii and a Yamaha sound system all hooked up to this baby.
I used HDMI cables for the DVR, PS 3 and the sound system and a PS cable for the Wii.
The picture is fantastic after adjusting the settings properly. Out of the box factory setting are setup to give a bright picture like all TV's nowadays. But properly adjusted and it's astounding.
You can even adjust the settings for each source like Blu rays and games.
It runs cool and there is the faint whir of cooling fans internally.
The remote is a button pushers paradise. ( I simplify things by using a Logitech Harmony remote)
I really have no complaints I just love this TV.
A word about the sound. If I just want to watch TV like a sitcom or the news the built in speakers are fine. For games, movies or music an external sound system is a must. For the price they put more thought into the picture and the sound was an afterthought. I added a surround sound system to it, and I'm happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Totally Awesome TV!

05/26/2012
By ,
07070
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a tad skeptical before purchasing this TV, Sceptre isn't a well known name. But I bought it anyway because at that price and with the plethora of features, it was looking real good!, It was delivered in two days. When I lifted this thing out of the box, it looked enormous!, I was shocked on how big a 50" TV can be! I hooked this baby up and tossed on an HD channel! The picture is so clear I can see ingrown hairs on peoples faces, and i can see razor burn on faces too! This TV has surpassed my expectations, I am in love with it! Quite Frankly, if it were legal I would Marry this TV today! For $499.99, this TV cannot be beat. The same TV with the same features made by let's say Sony, will cost you well over $2000.00, I did good, I did real good with this buy! I recommend this TV to anyone who does not want to waste money, you can have your cake and it it too with this Sceptre TV! I can sum this TV up with one word......"Wowsers" Buy one now!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+557points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Thanks
Posted 09/02/2013
Based on your review....think I'm gonna go for this. Btw. I would have had a lot better success in the marriage department had i married a TV! :)))))))))
-1point
Customer Avatar
04401
Love Sceptre too!
Posted 08/10/2013
I have 2 Sceptre TVs myself, one 32" 3D LED and another 22" LED. These are both excellent TVs and priced affordably. I am so tempted to get the 50" LCD Sceptre to replace my 20-year-old 50" big screen Hitachi projection TV which still works but its a behemoth and not HD. Your glowing review makes me very tempted.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 10 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Our Second Scepter

11/11/2013
By ,
Hedgesville, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our 2nd Scepter. The first was a 32" that we use as both a PC monitor and TV in our guest room. This second unit is in our great room and both were excellent buys, so don't let the bargain price concern you. Both sets have great sound sound quality out of the box but we added 200 watt surround sound to this 50 inch unit to give theater quality sound boost when watching movies in the large great room space with vaulted ceiling. We have a ROKU 2 and Nintendo Wii, as well as DVD/VHS players and a free to air satellite receiver also connected to this 50 inch set, and there are still 2 unused HDMI ports and a VGA port unused as of yet. It even has a surround sound connection. I am an engineer, but the quick start instructions and user manual are very user friendly - very clear and easy to understand and follow. We are very pleased with this purchase as both sets are well worth the money spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Best deal I've made!

09/03/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reluctant since I had never heard of Sceptre, but the price was too awesome to pass up. I was also scared because I had never ordered a major purchase online & to be shipped before. However, everything was easy and even quicker than I expected. None of the stores around me had this in stock.
This television is much better than my Vizio in the game room. It has all the features I wanted, but at about 1/2 the cost of most of it's rivals. I bought a $6 HDMI cable and ordered a mount at the same time. It took only minutes. I like the remote too. It is very user friendly though I only use the one with AT&T uverse to operate it now.
My only knock on this tv, and it is a little one, is the sound. The internal speakers are not too powerful so I recommend having it hooked up to a stereo or sound bar.
I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a great deal! The picture is awesome and sound is good. I think this is the best deal I have made in years! So glad I didn't buy the other televisions I was looking at for $400 MORE....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Read reviews, picture okay but sound is terrible.

09/09/2013
By ,
Katy, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched tvs and decided to try this brand because it had 4 out of 5 stars on your website. Buyer beware. Read poor reviews first. I read one review initially that said sound quality not so good but I figured that I didn't care about surround sound that much. The tv was sent fedx and arrived a day earlier than e-mail stated. Person left it at front door and didn't even ring bell. ( I was at home.) There are two vertical black lines on each side of screen which shortens picture to 42". The sound is poor and surges up and down. The picture is okay but 2 days after receiving it, the picture went to white static. The channel also switched from movie to PBS on its own. Now the volume doesn't change with the remote so I went back to website and read from low to high reviews. Over and over people have same issues, even to point of tv not working at all. I will be taking it back to store and probably choose a Vizio or Samsung. I am in my 60s so to return 50" tv to store is going to be a challenge but I know Walmart will help me.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio TX
We usually get what we pay for
Posted 11/20/2013
I've been very pleased with Samsung and Magnavox flatscreens (is there any other kind of TV anymore???).
0points
Customer Avatar
Burnet, Texas
Bad picture?
Posted 11/02/2013
In the TV's menu settings for changing your picture, check different settings, and you'll probably get a better picture. Make sure it's set up for the 16:9, and NOT the 4:3 setting. You have to do this with all of the different things you have hooked to the TV like VCR's DVD players, etc.etc...If you're connecting a cable TV system, or satellite, the cable box or satellite receiver must be set to 16:9 also. Over the air can be set through the TV's picture menu, or even the button on the remote. You should also be aware that movies and TV shows on different channel may have different formats, so what you see from program to program, or movie to movie will vary; you may have to zoom to get a full picture, hiding the bars, then zoom back out later with another show or movie, but sometimes you'll have some kind of bars....Remember this varies with what you're watching.... Just practice and you'll get the hang of it...
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great Picture, Great Value, Satisfied

12/30/2012
By ,
Frisco, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a cheap 50 inch TV. After looking at several stores and many online sites, I took advantage of this Sceptre offer. I read all the reviews on this product as I was not familiar with Sceptre. After reviewing other readers, I got exactly what I expected. Great picture, Great Value, and poor sound. Even after messing with the equilizer, the sound is very tinny. If you push the bass to the max, it gets distorted. But the sound will not bother me for long as I am expecting to run sound through a home theatre system within the next month or so. I did purchase the 3 year warranty though as I am still not sure about the brand. Overall, with warranty, taxes and shipping I am into this TV for right at $500... Hard to find a deal like that with a warranty on a 50 inch LCD with 1080p. It will buy me a few years to allow the smart TV technology to come down in price! I would definately recommend for those who want a nice, large picture at an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Sceptre 50" tv for $499.00

05/30/2012
By ,
Eastvale, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just received this TV last week and installed it. This is by far the best deal you will find on a 50" size LCD. I have had a Sceptre LCD in my bedroom for 3 year which this tv is replacing. I moved my 46" Sceptre to my sons room which is still working strong. Paid $699 for that one in 2009.
This 50" is about the same size as my 46" Sceptre from 2009 in respect to the way it is constructed with the housing and plastic, but the 50" has more view area for sure and lighter now with the way they build them now. Dont't buy into the hype of all the over priced name brand tv's this gets the job done hands down. I would only go for something better in a main living room but this tv will still handle that job too if your not to picky, for a bedroom its great. The sound is ok but most will always add a surround sound with a flat screen tv. Almost all flat screen tvs have moderate sound at best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+314points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jsfink754
Posted 09/21/2013
I have had my TV for about 3 weeks and a yellow line appeaered down the middle of my screen. I am not happy at all !! I should not have to deal with this problem I agree that the price was right and I was enjoying my tv untill this line appeared. I hope I am not going to continue to have problems. Walmart is standing behind thier product by replacing the defective tv. I have a three year service contract so if there is any other problems I trust they will be handled with the same quickness this problem was.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great deal for a 50" HDTV

06/06/2012
By ,
Sherman Oaks, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far, I am really pleased with this purchase. For $499 with free delivery to the local WalMart, this TV was a bargain and a long overdue replacement of our 10 year old monster of a 42" TV. Not only does it weigh a fraction of the set it replaced, it pivots on the stand, has a great picture and was an easy set up for my husband and 16 year old son. Sound quality is good, but I'm spoiled by the surround sound system we have in our family room with our home's only other big screen TV.
My only complaint is getting the correct code to allow the TV to be controlled via the cable controller. The Sceptre codes work for everything except volume. I called Sceptre and they said to use Sony codes...those work for all but the TV power on/off. Kind of annoying.
Quick delivery to the store and helpful employees to load it into our SUV.
We're really enjoying this purchase and I'd buy a Sceptre TV again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+63points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bridgeport
Sceptre 32" LCD TV
Posted 10/01/2013
I bought this TV last November 2012 online from Wal-Mart. I was satisfied until August 2013 when the TV just died. It wasn't even quite a year old yet.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Excellent value for $500

07/24/2012
By ,
TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is not the best tv, but paying $1/inch, you can't expect latest and greatest. However I've been pleasantly surprised by the quality of this product. It doesn't have a ton of features and little customization, however the picture is vivid (on gaming mode), the viewing angle is great for a LCD, the power saver mode is wonderful (it shuts off automatically if nothing is happening on it, great for falling asleep on the couch to a good movie), and so far nothing has broken or degraded.
The sound is terrible, but it can get loud enough for any room. You can also hook it up to external speakers as I do and it sounds just fine. The inputs are inconveniently located in my opinion (they are on the left side of the tv), I like them in back of the stand, put that is a matter of preference. The stand is nice that it swivels, however it seems to make the tv sit slightly lop-sided (it's a very cheap plastic).
If you're looking for a big screen at a very good price, I would recommend this TV. If you're looking for higher quality than just average, open up your wallet a little more.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Well worth the purchase

10/26/2012
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great t.v. for the price. I'm just a regular guy; I don't subscribe to GQ or drive an Audi, but, at the same time, I don't have an inflatable pool anywhere on my property (well to be honest that's only because my better half won't let me). I've had it for 6 months and no problems. Great picture (especially sports), but the sound is not great (so I plugged a decent set of computer speakers into one of the outputs and problem solved). I'm writing this review for people like me - on a tight budget and trying to get a good deal without spending a couple grand. I was skeptical, but I'm very happy with the purchase. Good luck and write reviews on good deals you find because I'm always looking for a good deal since my kid gets all of the latest and greatest products. Disregard any grammatical errors because I'm not proofreading this at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+229points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great for the price

07/05/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall I would recommend this to a friend but only as a temporary TV or at least for a TV that you wouldn't use too often. The sound on it isn't the best. I don't know if it is because the speakers are pointing down under the TV and bouncing off of the stand but it sounds muffled. When playing the DVD player, the sound has to be turned up to the 70's-80's just for a comfortable sound but don't forget to turn it down when switching it back to the "TV" setting. Another problem I had with it was turning it from "AV" to "TV", my brother decided that it'd be funny to turn the TV off right then and when turning it back on I had a blue screen for about 15 mins. Nothing worked to get a picture. I then had to unplug it, plug it back in and it finally worked. And for a one time thing, I hit the mute button and it randomly turned to channel 5. Yes, I panicked for a while but I turned it back and it never happened again. I wouldn't suggest getting Wal-mart's 2 year warranty package because the manufacture gave it a 1 year warranty so you'll just be paying for an extra year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Fabulous TV for low bucks!

01/22/2014
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was very suspicious of the low price on this HDTV, especially when I saw that it had all the typical features I want and need.
I had never owned a Sceptre product before but found the review material online to be very positive.
I decided to give it a try - boy am I happy I did!
It is BETTER than expected in every way! Incredible picture, plenty of inputs, a great remote, fabulous sound from the onboard speakers. I thought I would need a separate soundbar - nope... these speakers do a great job as is... something my expensive Samsung HDTV fails to do. Maybe I got lucky and got a reverse lemon, that is, a miracle unit. But I don't really think so. I think the little companies out there are finally catching up to the big boys - at least Sceptre is!
I swear - I want to buy another one even though I don't even need it. Plus, now that I finally received my add-on 4 yr extended warranty, I think I am good to go until 2017! Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sceptre 50" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, X505BV-FHD

Great TV for the Price!

06/28/2012
By ,
CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit replaced my old 32" 1080 HD flat screen that I have been using for over six years. It's true that the Scepter is not a $2k TV... but it's not far off in features, picture and quality. I've only had this unit for about a month but I am completely satisfied in all respects. It worked fantastic right out of the box, set up was easy and the picture and sound are both excellent. I run a PS3 with it along with a Roku box and just use the built in digital receiver for local news and sports. Streaming videos typically has very good quality (not quite HD), regular DVD's up convert to excellent quality via the PS3 and both Blu-ray and HD channels are amazingly sharp and detailed. The only 'slightly' negative is that the base the TV mounts to is not as sturdy as it could be. If you have wild pets or children (or are clumsy :) this could be a slight issue. It is not really an issue for me though and seems to be sturdy 'enough'. This of course would not be an issue at all if it's mounted to the wall... which I may do anyway soon enough.
Anyone that gives this TV, for the price, only 1 or 2 stars either got a lemon (it happens) or is just bitter for some other reason.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 1,173 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  59 Next