Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sceptre Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sceptre Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

The sleek and slim Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV can also be used as a computer display and has two HDMI ports, which allow you to view it at 720p and 480p resolutions. This widescreen HDTV with a quick response time and high refresh rate reduces motion blur and smear effect and displays a high-quality image. This HDTV with built-in digital tuner supports NTSC, ATSC and clear QAM, letting you tune into all of your favorite over-the-air channels. It has a USB input port that allows you to view JPEG pictures or play music. This energy-efficient TV is RoHs compliant, which makes it eco-friendly. This ultra-slim LED HDTV is lightweight and wall mountable. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Sceptre 15.6" HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%34 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Great tv for a great price

05/19/2012
By ,
Madison, Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tv to be in front of my treadmill to watch while running on it. As it is an online item I couldn't look at it in the store so I was a little apprehensive about it. It arrived and I set it up and ran the setup program. The only slight problem was hooking the cable to it as the connection points down at the stand bar but after some effort it connected. The picture was great as others have said. I worried that the sound would be terrible as many LED sets are due to the thinness of the sets. While the sound is not awe inspiring it was acceptable especially after I turned the bass up somewhat. Very pleased with it especially considering the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Review 2 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Great Bang for your Buck!!

05/02/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture and price. I would highly recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 3 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Might buy a second one!

06/07/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The good parts:
Very nice remote. Auto scan quickly found all my local stations. Setup menu is full featured and easy to navigate. User can tag and select favorite channels on the remote.
Excellent picture quality. Variety of extra options to fine tune it for personal preference, including sharpness, noise reduction, warm and cool picture, and more. Program guide for current and upcoming shows, some local channels listed up to 23 upcoming shows. Channel info with customizable channel ID. Highly customizable closed caption includes small to large sizes, many fonts and colors. Has closed caption button on the remote. Aspect ratio controls on the remote, but never had to use it. Displays 16:9 and 4:3 picture without a hiccup. Sound menu has 7 band equalizer, 3 presets plus user custom setup. Selectable standard or surround for output to your surround amplifier. Powered by 12 volt DC brick, so could be run from auto battery. Plentiful input options include VGA and HDMI and more.
The okay parts: User must attach base with 3 screws, but a nice screwdriver is included to do so. Picture quality is dependant on up and down angle, but side to side it has fairly good viewing coverage. Built in speakers are not hifi, but are more than adequate for general program viewing. No antenna, but have never seen a low end HDTV ship with a decent one, so no loss. The antenna input is poorly placed. If your antenna cable is not flexible it will stress the input connector. I bought a RG6 right angle adapter and also an RG6 "slip on" connector to correct this.
The rest: Plastic case and stand are shiny, somewhat cheap feel, but stand seems sturdy enough, since the TV is very lightweight. No tilt or height adjustment, but at this price that's not an issue. Has VESA mounting holes, a nice feature.
The screen is a few inches wider than my standard 17" LCD monitor. This would make a pretty decent replacement for it.
All in all this TV is a great bargain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 4 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Sceptre 15.6" class LED TV

06/01/2012
By ,
Romeoville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent picture. Very crisp. I use it for a television as well as a computer monitor and find it very good for both. Sound could be better for TV but for computer monitor, it is fine. I would recommend this unit to anyone and I would purchase another one when time comes for me to replace some of my older monitors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 5 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Great TV for under the kitchen cabinet.

06/24/2012
By ,
Tamaqua area, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality on this TV is excellent. I purchased this model after returning the Coby 15 inch TV which had much poorer picture quality. This set is not as well made physically as the Coby and some of the inputs and outputs are not as easily accessible, but to me picture quality is much more important, and that's where this set excells. I mounted this TV under the kitchen cabinet with a wall bracket. There is still space on the counter under the TV for small items, and the counter can be easily wiped.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

HDMI didn't work

06/07/2012
By ,
VT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I could not get either HDMI input to work for more than a few seconds [the other inputs worked fine] so I contacted Tech support. They got back to me once and told me to try a different HDMI source [although this source worked fine with my Visio]. They never got back to me a second time, so I returned the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 7 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Outstanding value

06/07/2012
By ,
Wilmington,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture quality is great, the sound is clear, crisp but you have to turn volume up higher than normal at times. Also, the cable connection is in a difficult to access location and angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Perfect size TV for my kitchen

05/24/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and program
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 9 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD
06/07/2012
By ,
San Diego, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do not have paid cable tv, so this review is based on that factor. I have a roof antenna, and have a line hooked into the tvs. Also, I purchaed two tvs.
The pictures are very vibrant, and the sound is great. I bought them as they could be moved around the house easily. After plugging them in to the roof antenna cable, I only received a few channels. Some uhf, and some mainstream channels. This is my problem right now, and I am working on the resolution.
The cable connection on the back of the tv is located in a "tight" spot to put the cable on. It could of been manufactured in a different manner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 10 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Great TV for the money

06/12/2012
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not the best quality but for the price it is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Great for a computer monitor

07/06/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this specifically to use as a monitor for my new computer. It is an HD TV, but it has the ability to connect either via the old fashioned VGA or with an hdmi cable. I didn't have an HDMI cable, but I did have a VGA with audio plug and that's how I've currently got it connected. It is significantly cheaper than the corresponding HD monitors and unlike the HD monitors that are near the price, this one has sound built in. Not great sound, but for a computer, it's perfect. The picture is sharp and clear. I would highly recommend this for a computer monitor. I'm sure it's also good as a TV, but I didn't buy it for that purpose. One other thing, it came with complete instructions, including what settings you should use if you use it as a computer monitor, a remote with batteries and even a cloth to clean the screen. At $80 this is a great deal!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD
06/21/2012
By ,
lake Jackson, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This TV has a good picture and very good sound. I mounted it under one of my kitchen cabinets and found that if you look down on the picture it is some what distorted, other than that I find the picture quality very good. As far as the features I can't say because with comcast cable you have very little control and the features don't mean much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Great TV for the kitchen

10/04/2012
By ,
Waverly, Ne.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought the TV for our kitchen and our camper it works great for both. I will buy another one when this one wears out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD
06/07/2012
By ,
Harvey, Ill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wasn't sure about flat screen televisions but this is the best purchase I've ever made, I am very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD
07/04/2012
By ,
Richmond Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There seems to be a problem,when you use the remote to turn it off.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

A piece of junk.

06/08/2012
By ,
Las Cruces, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I opened the package and took the TV out and something was shaking from inside the TV, ie. it was broken. Didn't even try to turn it on. Also, screws were missing to attach the base. I returned it to Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-4points
Review 17 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Outstanding

07/07/2012
By ,
Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was reluctant purchasing the brand Sceptre, since I never heard of this brand. The picture quality is oustanding. I was impressed the small screwdriver included to attach the stand. I did not check the sound since I'm using the Sceptre LCD T.V. with my Sony Home Theater. The T.V. It fits well on the small fold out shelf in our travel trailer. We can now watch a movie in our bed or on the larger T.V. in the dinning area.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 18 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD
06/06/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of the brand name, but it was the only one available at the precise size that I needed for my purposes. However, I was very pleasantly surprised to find that the picture quality is EXCELLENT. I am very please with my purchase. The sound could be better, but is good, nonetheless. The overall quality, thus far, surpasses what one would expect given the very reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD
06/28/2012
By ,
Humble, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When first tuned on ,and still, there is a major defect in the display!!! It has a red vertical line near the left side of the screen. It is about 1/8th of an inch wide at the top and nearly invisible at the bottom.
We don't like it, but decided to keep it due to the hassle of sending it back to SCEPTRE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Sceptre 15.6" Class LED 720p 60Hz HDTV,(1.67" ultra-slim) E165BV-HD

Sound is tinny

06/25/2012
By ,
Kerrville, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Two factors make me rate this lower than normal: the sound is very tinny...like a 70s transister radio and the screen front and surround plastic is shiny and reflects light making the television hard to see in daylight conditions. Otherwise, it's just a standard small television set...no better; no worse.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next