Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Bissell Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Bissell Bissell Carpet Sweeper

For quick pickups without the hassle of tangled cords and vacuum noise, choose this updated traditional carpet sweeper from Bissell. It's great for picking up dirt, crumbs and pet hair in your home or in buildings without electricity, such as cabins and garages.
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation66%23 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
15
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Very helpful product

04/06/2008
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this product but you cannot have unrealistic expectations. You should not expect this prodcut to replace your vacuumcleaner. This product is good for keeping tidy in between vacuuming. We are a large family with 5 boys ranging from 2.5 years to 18 years old and do not have time to vacuum everyday (even though it is needed). I can pull this little (light) contraption out and keep tidy till the next time. But this is not meant for large jobs. The only aspect about the design is the handle--it does fall apart easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Better then expected

10/19/2008
By ,
Sunrise, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mother-in-law wanted a carpet sweeper and I wasn't sure if they still made them. She loves this one and is totally thrilled with it's performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

bissell sweeper

12/26/2007
By ,
Montpelier,OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
its great to have so I don't have to run the vacuum cleaner all of the time for little things that i can't pick up with my hands
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper
07/27/2007
By ,
Oceanside CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A quality product! Well made, does what it claims to, not overpriced. I highly recommend this carpet sweeper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper
06/30/2007
By ,
Laughlin, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was awful - did not pick up anything off the carpet - brought it back
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Great for Work

01/21/2008
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Okay, we actually use these at my work. We even wrote names on them like "Good Ol' Bessie" and "Billy Bob." They are great for picking up quick messes, but not for a real cleaning. You can adjust the handle to make it as tall or as short as you need it. As far as durability...? We've only had to replace one of them and that's because someone threw it and broke it. Other than that, these things take a lot of beatings at my job and they're still functional and actually a little fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Bissell sweeper

10/25/2007
By ,
Tacoma, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the sweeper....the only downfall is that the handle which is pieced together keeps coming apart.
I read reviews here on it and one did tell me about the handle problem but I purchased it anyway.
They said they super glued it and never had another problem. So after many many times of it coming apart I super glued it and it works wonderfully.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Quick and easy!

08/27/2008
By ,
On the border of Texas!
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great for a quick pick up! I can go weeks without vacuuming and then use this little thing all over my bedroom. The results are amazing....it looks like I lugged out the vacuum to do the job! I know it doesn't go deep for a good allergen removal, but I don't have allergies so that doesn't bother me much. When you have a kid who just made a mess of small bits of paper cuttings, who wants to lug out the vacuum just to clean a radius of only 2 feet!? It picks up surface debris and hair (I have long hair and shed a LOT). If someone is coming over and your house is messy and you don't have time for a thorogh cleaning, this little thing is quick and light-weight for a speedy clean-up! Just make sure to keep the dust compartments cleaned out. This is a yuky, dirty job, (sometimes it might spill and make a mess if you are not paying full attention) but it keeps the thing working at its best. There is a small comb that attaches to the handle that you use to comb out hair that gets tangled in the brushes. Again, touching the thing is kinda gross, but worth it for a quick surface cleaning. You don't have to clean out the compartment and hair every time, just when it seems to no be picking up as well. For the price and performance I would definately recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

the handle needs work

07/21/2008
By ,
woodstock, ct
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product does a great job of picking up dirt and even sawdust off of a braided rug, just what we were looking for. It has even withstood my children "helping us clean" and trying to ride it (although not for long!) Our only frustration is that the handle is several pieces of metal you are supposed to push together. The instructions even reccommend hammering them together. No matter what we've tried, short of super glue or screws, the handle routinely separates and is a general nuisance. We are concerned that if we do glue it or screw it together that we may alter our warranty. Aside from this annoyance, this is a great compact product for quick cleanups or for a camp with no electricity!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Total Letdown!!

10/22/2007
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought a new home with wood floors throughout. I thought that this product would be a great addition to our cleaning regimen. Not only does it advertise being able to clean hardwood, but it can also clean the area rugs....so we thought. My sweeper is duct taped together because it has so many pieces to put together for the handle and it falls apart constantly!! It picks up dirt etc. off of the hardwood okay, but not on the area rugs!! I was so excited for this product and I have been totally let down!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Great for light cleaning!

09/08/2008
By ,
Madison,MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have two teenagers and four cats and this sweeper is really helpful to me. It's not a vacuum cleaner but it's great when you want to give the floor a "lick and a promise" as we say in the South. It picks up cat hair really well along with crumbs, etc. on my berber carpet and tile floors. I agree with a previous review that the handle leaves a lot to be desired. I'm thinking about super gluing it so it won't come apart. (It's in four separate pieces.) Otherwise, I'm really glad I bought this sweeper!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Horrible, Don't Buy!!!

02/24/2008
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recieved this product for a shower gift, I was very excited to try it out. It is the biggest piece of junk I ever saw! The handle keeps coming off and it doesn't pick up dirt at all! I used it on carpeting and hard wood floors. With a lot of elbow grease and going over the carpeting about 20 times you could notice a slight cleaning, but that is all. Don't waste your money on this, I recommend buying something with a power cord or just a broom. I am returning this product ASAP.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Good for quick cleanups

08/25/2007
By ,
Kipling, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this mainly to clean my patio carpet. I have also found it useful for quick cleanup on my kitchen linoleum. It will not replace a vacuum and works best on low-pile carpet. The most disappointing part of this product is the handle. It comes apart unexpectedly. I would think that they would have made a better connection system on this handle other than smooth tubes sliding together. I did try super-gluing mine together and so far that is working.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

perfect sweeper? no way!

03/10/2008
By ,
Virginia Beach, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this product a couple of weeks ago to use in between regular carpet vacuuming and it worked pretty well at first. After cleaning off the brush and even emptying the tray it still does not pick up cat hair from long haired cats now. It works okay on bare floors but not on carpet. The product also makes a schreeching noise that I cannot identify with any other sweepers.
I should have saved my money.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Good sweeper for the price

10/22/2007
By ,
Springfield, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have mostly berber carpet in my house and this sweeper is great for cleaning up little messes, like leaves and Cheerios. It is lightweight, stores easily, and works perfectly for what I need it to do. It does not replace a vacuum, but I don't need another vacuum. I do not like that the handle doesn't have a way to lock together, but that's a minor problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Very disappointed

08/22/2007
By ,
Opelika, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had expected a pretty good product after reading the reviews. I have to be honest, I will never buy this product again. It is OK on my area rugs, it is terrible on our hardwood floors. I have a dog and some dog hair, it will only move it around. Forget dust, it will not pick that up either. Don't buy if you have hardwood floors and a pet.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Sweepin' away

06/01/2008
By ,
Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I was younger my mother used this all the time and when I saw it online I thought if it was good enough for her, it must really work. The sweeper does pick up really well especially on carpet. The only drawback is the handle is difficult to snap together and sometimes comes apart. BUT it works and its fast!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Whew! what junk!!!

01/22/2008
By ,
fairfax, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get this and assumed all the other negative reviews were just hogwash. This is the biggest piece of junk I have ever seen!! I am returning it today I am an excellent DIY the handle is a joke as well is the cleaning ability of this "machine". Dont waste your time or money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Good Kid Babysitter

08/05/2008
By ,
Hamlet, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It keeps my 9 yr old daughter occupied for hours, trying to sweep up the little things on the carpet. I think the brush bristles need to be stiffer & then maybe it would sweep up a little better. Also, I wish there was a color choice, other than upchuck green.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bissell Carpet Sweeper

Not so good

02/05/2008
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This did not do so well with course Beagle hair on low pile carpet, the reason I bought it. Had to put alot of elbow grease and time to get it up and it still didn't get it all. Much faster to lug my real vacuum up from the basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next