Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Pacific Cycle 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Pacific Cycle 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Make molehills out of mountains with Roadmaster's Mt. Fury bike. With a beefy oversized fork, high-tensity frame and 15-speed shifting, you'll overcome the obstacles and make it to the top of the hill. The handcrafted frame carries the confidence of a lifetime warranty. Play it safe! Always wear a helmet and safety pads when you ride. See our recommendations below.
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation72%28 out of 39reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

all in all a very good bike

10/21/2007
By ,
baltimore Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my wife got the for my birthday i had a huffy but i wanted one like she has i need to take the bike to the shop and have the gears (ADJ) but all in all it is a very good bike for the money i am 6" 180 and the bike if fine for me it is very lite not like my huffy i would tell any one to get this i thing you would like it also her is a pic of my bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

A Good Value for Certain Applications

09/10/2007
By ,
Wichita, KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Let's face it-- this is the cheapest bike you can get, period. If you're looking for a bike that will receive infrequent use, or just for a little exercise, or for your kids-- this is a good choice. If it gets stolen, you're only out $50. A cheap bike at a bike store usually runs $300-$500 minimum.
On the downside-- the worst part about this bike is the shifters. They are truly awful, and require frequent adjustment. Keep an eye on the brakes, but if you know anything at all about bikes, you should be able to keep them from rubbing too badly.
Make sure you spin the wheels of your bike before purchase to make sure the wheels aren't warped or the brake pads are rubbing. You can always get it tweaked before you leave, or pick a different bike.
My overall rating is low because this bike is, well, cheap. But where else are you gonna get a bike for $50? The bottom line is, you get what you pay for, and if a cheap bike is what you want, then that's what you'll get. If you want a bike that will last 10 years with low maintenance, then look at a Giant, etc, but plan to spend at least 6-10X as much.
It's a great value for a starter bike, for the kids, or if you're strapped for cash. Grab a bike tool, and if you're willing to experiment, and get your hands dirty, you could get a few decent years out of this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 3 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Great for the not-so-serious bikers

07/10/2007
By ,
Kunkletown, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike because I wanted something cheap to ride so that I could get a little exercise. All in all I'm not disappointed. The bike is constructed like you would expect a bike in this price range to be, but it doesn't feel poorly constructed. The only parts that I was a little disappointed in were the gear shifts, which were made of a plastic that feels like of cheap and seems likely to break at some point or another. Also, I would highly advise that you invest some money in a more comfortable seat, because the one that comes on this bike is not unlike a medieval torture device.
I recommend this product to anyone like me who is just looking for a bike to use as a casual form of exercise and doesn't plan on riding it every single day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 4 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Buying cheap can turn into expensive

09/22/2007
By ,
key biscayne, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The main reason of buying this product was because the quality versus price looked good to me based on the information provided. I now realize that buying cheap can turn into expensive.
After less than two months using this bicycle I have got a flat tyre. I decided to repair by myself otherwise the price by a bicycle repair shop will probably cost half of the price of the bicycle. I have been trying to remove the locknuts of the wheel to proceed with the repairing. Their quality is so bad that they are no hexagonal anymore. They have become round and there is no way to remove them with a normal tool!!!!
On the other hand, since day one, changing speeds is really something. The chain never gets in the right place and is constantly noisy while pedaling.
Conclusion, I will through this bicycle away and buy a proper one, obviously more expensive if I want an acceptable quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 5 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

quality for price

10/24/2007
By ,
houston tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this is a quality for quanty product.
I used to work for roadmaster The gearing systems and brake systems are the same as schwinns, and If the proper tools are used the nuts won't be rounded. To many people think brute force will remove the stuck nut. If you use a little oil and stablize the bolt, the nut will not strip in most cases, Nuts are not hand threaded on, a air tool is used to secure the removeable parts. A bike repair shop will use correct tools for repairs. In general this bike is not s a stunt bike, It will not hold up for serious jumping but as a basic backyard and street bike. Flat tires are to be exspected when they get punctured or If someone to heavy rides them.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Pedro's Machine

07/24/2007
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good, Beautiful & Walmart Price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 7 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Great Bike

01/15/2008
By ,
Clearfield,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike was a gift for my son at Christmas. It was a great buy and he is happy with it. We have plans to change the seat in the next month or so to a more comfortable one. But other wise it is a great bike. He will enjoy it this summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Good bike

07/14/2007
By ,
west allis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderful gets the job done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Ok Bike For Commuting...Very Tough...But Heavy

04/21/2008
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this bike for an entire summer, commuting 11 miles each way to and from work. It held up very well. Once I adjusted the shifting mechanisms (found a useful tutorial online) it worked great (all you need is a small screwdriver and some attention to detail to adjust the screws). The bike is very tough, which also makes it very heavy. It also has knobby tires which doesn't make it the best bike for commuting on pavement and bike paths. This year I am upgrading to the GMC Denali road bike from Wal-Mart. Twice the price, but should be much more efficient. Overall the Mt. Fury bike is a good bike for short distances, going up and down curbs, and riding through dirt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

worth $50 but not much more

02/17/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had 2 of these...the first one was stolen.
The first one worked fine, no problems in 3 months.
Second one won't change gears...i could of gotten walmart to fix or replace it but i always ride in the same gear so no problem. Front tire tube burst after 3 months. My main issue is that the bike starts to rust after 3 months. Most of the metal parts from top to bottom are rusted. I ride on the beach in the ocean water and after one year, the bike spokes are corroded and rusted and it looks bad.
I put a comfortable seat on it and it works fine but the rusted spokes look bad. It's worth 50 dollars...i don't want to spend a lot on a bike that could get stolen.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 11 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Horrible Product

08/23/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bicycle is probably the worst bike you can buy. The bike is unreliable and not properly assembled. I had to bring it back 5 times to fix the brake, chain and handle bars. I rode it down my block and the chain started rattling against the frame, the tire flattened and handle bars loosened. I tighten every bolt and nut but it the problems were still evident.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 12 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Decent bike for a cheap price

04/10/2008
By ,
Owensboro, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bike for over a year now and have ridden it over 500 miles now. The brakes are really cheap and should be replaced ASAP. All the hardware (gears, brakes, pedals, cables) should be routinely checked once a week because it is a cheap bike and needs continual adjustments. New tires are a must for city riding, but the knobbies that come with it are decent for easy trails. A new seat is recommended also. All in all, I have invested about $100 on top of what I paid, but have enjoyed this bike alot. This is a great deal for anybody that is wanting to get their feet wet and to start learning about bikes and bike maintenance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

extreme value

01/12/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this bike is a great value for the money. i bought this bike for $41.73 out the door fully assembled. it was the last one. i was lucky. there are parts of this bike that are extremely cheap and i wouldnt even consider road worthy. ( gears, brakes etc.. ) but for the price and considering i am only going to use the rear rim, chain, sprocket + thumb shifters ( in converting my old bike to electric + tune it up ) it was a great deal for me personally.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Very nice, rigid

02/29/2008
By ,
Lake Ridge, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very nice bike, brakes are a bit cheap, but lasted me about a month. Tires lasted about 5 months, but after a couple months it starts to get very small openings and that eventualy gets to the tube, then you have to fill the tires up every 2 weeks. The 5th Gear is the same as the 4th but I don't use the 5th anyway. It's heavy though, every day I have to lug it up the steps to my apartment, all-in-all it's very nice for its price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

You get what you pay for

07/23/2007
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This bike looked good when put together, but it all went down hill from there. The first time I rode it the front tire blew out, when I took it down to get the tube replaced the bike shop had a hard time because the tire is too big for the rim. After I got it fixed I tried to ride it again and the back brakes fell apart. I will be taking this piece of garbage back to the store today
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 16 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Website Image Misleading

07/25/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overal the product is good. My only bad experience is the website image for the product, it showed a silver color product and what got delivered is a blue color product which is very misleading, I wouldn't have purchased this had I known the color is blue. Nowhere in the website it mentions the color of the product that is being shipped.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 17 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

piece of junk

07/31/2007
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this bike was junk, the first thing to go was the back brakes, then the tube pops and then the front brakes broke and of course the seat was painfull to sit on and it didn't stay in place because the nuts chouldn't be tighten anymore. Also the back wheel fell off and the nuts was tight.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 18 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

I should have known better

07/22/2007
By ,
Tulsa, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The bike was very cheap price, so I should have expected a cheap product. Well, the tire went flat the first hour (had to purchase a new tube) and the brake pad broke off in three days. I should have known better. Bike should be sold for less or not sold at all. Very poor product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

this bike

02/22/2008
By ,
simi valley, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
first of all this was a very durable bike, but as heavy as it was, i would expect it to be indestructable. seriously, it was a very good bike for $50, but nothing more. it is a very heavy bike, i rode it 50 miles in one day and cursed the bike's girth every mile of the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for 26" Mens' Roadmaster Mt. Fury Mountain Bike

Value for $

08/26/2007
By ,
Western NY SW of Rochester
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bike had a slight bulge in tire when I first rode it, went back where purchased and it was cheerfully replaced in no time. After riding about a week, use it every day(6 /week) to work, bought road tires for it and now very happy with it. Use it on small hills to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1 2 Next