Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(192 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
59
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation88%169 out of 192reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions | 115 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
59
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Piece of Junk!!!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want to pay $400.00 for something that will only last for 1 year, this is the one! I'm going to assume that most people who reviewed this item, reviewed it soon after they got it. At first it seems great. One year later (and it has not been used excessively) it has a wheel that is completely cracked in half. The other 3 wheels are starting to crack. The steering wheel falls off every few uses because the bolt comes loose. The tailgate busted off without much force. If you buy this, keep your receipt!!! Unfortunately I didn't and now we're out $400.00. The thing won't drive anymore with a busted wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Passed the test!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I gave this to our 4 year old little boy for christmas this year (2014) and he LOVES it. He loves to load and unload firewood with Daddy and help clean up the backyard with Mommy. The only slight downside I would say is the traction. It spins a lot, when in grass or any slight incline, but the nice thing is that it is super light so even my son can get out and push it to where he needs it to be so it will stop slipping. My son wished it had working lights on it but maybe when he gets a real tractor one day he can have that.
We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great if your land is flat!

06/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga Tennessee
FLAT GROND
Posted 11/27/2012
All you have to do is take old bike tire cut and put it around rear tires with screws.it will climb a hills great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/30/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Over priced; age spec wrong

04/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/29/2012
By ,
York,PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2013
Have you took out the speed screw, cause it sends power to both wheels when the speed is turned up and has double traction, we live in the country and that thing will go places it shouldn't be!!!!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tires
Posted 10/15/2012
Try putting some truck bed liner on the wheels. Works like a charm
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 28 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great power, goes on grass, hard to steer

01/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My boys love this tractor. The battery stays charged for more than 20 days. My only complaint is that the steering was hard at first for my 3 year old. The handling is really bad but the kids still seem to love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

not big enough for normal size kids

01/07/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
shop around found the john deere gator box said 3-8 years of age my son is 4 years old hardly fits my 6 year old daughter has to ride by her self and sit in the middle and still hardly fits call peg perego and they said to bad so sad !!! will work for you if you have small kids that don't grow
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Durable Fun

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Gator is a great ride on toy for kids. After a few weeks this device has withstood plenty of collisions in the yard and keeps going.
One note to parents - the assembly instructions are among the worst I have ever read. Take your time when assembling (A little over an hour which includes all the decals) and this Gator should last.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OK riding vehicle - U.S. products supporter

12/25/2012
By ,
Westwood, Nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this because it is made in USA & willing to pay more money then rather buy from
import made, i experted it will be a lot heavy duty or better construcion than the imported ones.
I am a bit disappointed on what came with it, no horn, no mirror, no actual lights, no seat belts and the assembly needs some technical assitance even only a few parts to put together, the AIS needs to improve to give more details specially when comes to install the dump tray joint in the back. The dashboard are all stickers, looks cheap, the wheel has no traction, the reverse gear has to press down to works, making kids hard to make the reverse by pressing down, truning the wheel & pedal down all together in one action and no subspension,
last bad thing is did not come with quick charger ( 2 hour full charge), it comes with a charger
that need to charge the battery full with 18-20 hours. ( " 3/4 of a full day)
The battery wont hold up charge, mine ran out 45 min to an hour at normal use on flat road by my 4 years old son with 35 lbs only. i will be calling for an RA for the replacement of the battery & charger next day or two.
Come on ! John Deere, $350+tax , you got to do better than that ! You are comparing yourself with import products, how that's make you feel with the products you are calling "made in U.S.A.", be fair to the consumers who support local industires, employment & economy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Pedals too close

01/05/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bought for a 6 yr old. Pedals are much too close! He is average height. He has to hang left leg out the door and bend right knee and lean it out to use pedals.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good power wheel

01/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good product. My son likes it alot. Only knocks are the wheel quality and the battery cover is hard to get off.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Fun but little traction

01/03/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good. Kids enjoy riding and easy to operate. Putting together wasn't too bad. Lot of plastic so lets see how well it holds up. Biggest problem so far has been lack of traction with the plastic wheels
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Go Gator

01/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. My grandsons who are 4 & 2 love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Cute but....

12/31/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 3 year old son loves it.. But: it was awful to put together. The instructions are only tiny pictures and the pieces do not fit easily together. Function-wise, the tires spin even on the slightest hill. And battery is not easy to charge...
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Worth the $

06/06/2012
By ,
newport tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

saved $40 online and another $95 for store pickup

10/26/2014
By ,
Clancy, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never ordered online with Walmart before, but was very easy to do and saved $40 over store price and another $95 by having it shipped to our local Walmart instead of my home. It took me longer to assemble than the 60 minutes stated. spent longer on applying the Decals. I wish it was a little larger. you can't put the seats in the farthest back adjustment or the box will not latch. All in all my Grandson loves it. He wants me to mount a hitch on it to pull a small trailer I had made him for his battery operated jeep which came with a hitch molded on it. I will probably buy an extra battery so he can drive it longer than an hour because he goes wide open most of the time. I wish I would have gotten this for him a year ago. Great product,excellent service, no missing or damaged pieces. Thanks Walmart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/20/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/01/2012
Does the XUV have seatbelts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Nice toy! Tires spin a lot.

06/21/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to add some weight to the dump bed like 25 pounds or tires will just spin. Spins on grass gravel and pavement. Otherwise great toy, my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 168 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next