Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.119 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(201 Reviews) 176
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
62
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation88%176 out of 201reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
98
4 stars
62
3 stars
20
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good times!

05/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have 6 grandchildren ranging in age from 1 to 7. They absolutely love this toy! The older children "drive" the younger children around on the lower speed and they have a ball (with adult supervision of course)! So far, a very good investment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Less than one month- being replaced. Quit working

08/29/2014
By ,
Ft. Wayne IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought Peg Perego for my children and grandchildren for 30 years now. We live in Ft. Wayne where they are made and they have brought so much joy.... until now. I bought the Gator for my granchildren and had it delivered to them over 800 miles away. For less than one month they have had a fantastic time with their new "wheels". 2 days ago it stopped working. At this time I am on the phone trying to find out a solution to my problem. Hopefully I can change my extremely low rating of this item to a better one. This is the 3rd Peg Perego Power vehicle I have purchased and so far it has fallen below any expectations. The representative I spoke to at Walmart.com was extremely helpful and I can return this item for a replacement. I do not expect any problems with the next one. The items I have purchased from Peg Perego in the past have been tough and lasted through years of play. I cannot imagine what went wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Go Gator Go

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had the gator for 2 weeks now and it is a hit with everyone. Very easy for small children to use. Takes about 45 minutes to assemble (including the stickers). The parts were all manufactured well and fit as they should. Note: this ride on toy is fairly large, so have somewhere to park it once assembled. When picking it up form the store bring a truck. The box it comes in is huge.
Rated it four (4) stars for this primary reason: there is no power or kill switch of any kind. My little guy jumps on it all of the time and just takes off, even when just sitting in it playing. This happened inside the house immediately after assembly... It needs a switch or key for parental control. Currently we keep the battery disconnect until we are supervised and ready to ride.
We are interested to see how it holds up to regular use and abuse when all of his buddies are around.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Hmmm

12/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm really surprised and disappointed that something this expensive doesn't have more going on. No horn, no real buttons that push or light up (just stickers of buttons), no radio, no headlights (just reflective plastic). The tailgate is manual. It has different speeds, which is nice, but that is to be expected. It is just a ride that goes basically. Could have easily gone with some other power ride toy cheaper. This was a gift from a grandparent so we're keeping it because we don't want to hurt feelings--if it had been my money it would go back. My son is 2 and played with it for 5 minutes and really wanted those sticker buttons and horn to do something. He enjoyed riding in it and wasn't scared, but lost interest quickly.
I got my son a Little Tikes truck for $70 that has an electric horn along with a side door and a manual tailgate. I think he will like it better. Sorry, those reviews are still out as Santa has not been by yet.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Couldn't be happier

04/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gator for my grandsons. Our property is only dirt and gravel, which made it extremely difficult for the plastic tires to move the gator. My husband took some old bike rubber tires and put them on the back tires of the gator. It now moves like it's on concrete. The dump bed works awesome. The boys helped grandpa move rock and would dump a pile and go back to get more. It is the first thing they run to when coming to visit, after hugs. Very happy with this little machine. We have since purchased another. The race is on.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Over priced; age spec wrong

04/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Poor quality, very disappointing

03/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for the Peg Perego Gator and we were very disappointed with the quality of this product, especially since it cost $400. My girls have had a Power Wheels Barbie jeep for 4 years now and that thing is a beast. It ran circles around the Gator and it very well made. It is heavy duty and can handle 2 children in it with no problem. We never had an issue with battery life and the battery is very easy for an adult to remove to bring in the house to charge. But we wanted something for my 3 year old son who loves John Deere so we thought this would be perfect for him. He was so excited when he saw it, but after 2 uses we decided to return it. Thank goodness Walmart.com orders can be returned to a store and that they have a great return policy. Here is why we returned it:
-It is made out of very flimsy plastic, when my 5 or 7 year old (not at the same time) step into the vehicle, the plastic frame actually bends. When you lift it up to move it the plastic flexes and pulls apart
-You have to actually unscrew the battery compartment every time you need to remove battery to charge it. Not an easy task and I imagine the screw will get stripped after several times of doing this.
-The battery has a short run time. We only got about an hour use before it died. And yes we did charge it for 3 days before using it. Our 4-year old Power Wheel jeep ran laps around this thing. And was faster.
-Instructions are terrible. Only pictures, no words. Took my husband 2 days to put together.
-Stickers don't stay on.
Do not waste your money on this Gator!!! Buy a Fisher Price Power Wheels ride on instead.
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Piece of Junk!!!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want to pay $400.00 for something that will only last for 1 year, this is the one! I'm going to assume that most people who reviewed this item, reviewed it soon after they got it. At first it seems great. One year later (and it has not been used excessively) it has a wheel that is completely cracked in half. The other 3 wheels are starting to crack. The steering wheel falls off every few uses because the bolt comes loose. The tailgate busted off without much force. If you buy this, keep your receipt!!! Unfortunately I didn't and now we're out $400.00. The thing won't drive anymore with a busted wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

So far so good

01/05/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My 4 year old son loves this. It's a little early to tell as it was a Christmas present, but seems to run well. We have some sloped areas with no snow currently. However the ground was a little froze. The tires spin quite a bit on leaves that are frozen to the ground. I put a few firewood logs in the back and it has a little better traction. I will be looking for other traction options. I thought I saw a rubber band that goes around the tires. The unit will not climb a 5:1 grade right now. So if your lawn area is sloped like mine it will spin. However we have enough flat spots for our son to drive it around.
Takes quite a while to put together and some of the decals are already starting to come off in the tailgate area, but my son has been throwing logs and sticks and what not back there. But don't expect them to stay on long.
Overall, I like this product. My son loves it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/29/2012
By ,
York,PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2013
Have you took out the speed screw, cause it sends power to both wheels when the speed is turned up and has double traction, we live in the country and that thing will go places it shouldn't be!!!!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tires
Posted 10/15/2012
Try putting some truck bed liner on the wheels. Works like a charm
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 31 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great if your land is flat!

06/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga Tennessee
FLAT GROND
Posted 11/27/2012
All you have to do is take old bike tire cut and put it around rear tires with screws.it will climb a hills great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/30/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Worth the $

06/06/2012
By ,
newport tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OK riding vehicle - U.S. products supporter

12/25/2012
By ,
Westwood, Nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this because it is made in USA & willing to pay more money then rather buy from
import made, i experted it will be a lot heavy duty or better construcion than the imported ones.
I am a bit disappointed on what came with it, no horn, no mirror, no actual lights, no seat belts and the assembly needs some technical assitance even only a few parts to put together, the AIS needs to improve to give more details specially when comes to install the dump tray joint in the back. The dashboard are all stickers, looks cheap, the wheel has no traction, the reverse gear has to press down to works, making kids hard to make the reverse by pressing down, truning the wheel & pedal down all together in one action and no subspension,
last bad thing is did not come with quick charger ( 2 hour full charge), it comes with a charger
that need to charge the battery full with 18-20 hours. ( " 3/4 of a full day)
The battery wont hold up charge, mine ran out 45 min to an hour at normal use on flat road by my 4 years old son with 35 lbs only. i will be calling for an RA for the replacement of the battery & charger next day or two.
Come on ! John Deere, $350+tax , you got to do better than that ! You are comparing yourself with import products, how that's make you feel with the products you are calling "made in U.S.A.", be fair to the consumers who support local industires, employment & economy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/20/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/01/2012
Does the XUV have seatbelts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 37 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Nice toy! Tires spin a lot.

06/21/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to add some weight to the dump bed like 25 pounds or tires will just spin. Spins on grass gravel and pavement. Otherwise great toy, my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Awesome!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son has only been able to ride this once due to winter in Michigan, but he absolutely loves it! The only downfall (and not really a downfall, more of a planning issue) is that the box says "easy assembly". It took my husband and his father (both good with tools, etc.) about 2 1/2 hours to assemble this thing and on Christmas Eve, that wasn't how they wanted to spend their time haha. However, seeing the look on our son's face made it all worth it. Also, I know it's a safety measure, but having to hold down the gear "shifter" to go in reverse is kind of a pain for a 4 year old, but he's learning. And the "fast" gear is quite fast as well, but he loves it. He now knows to go slow around turns and then he kicks it in gear :) Overall, an excellent gift from the grandparents. Would definitely recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

good product but beware

08/23/2013
By ,
flint,mich
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased the gator for our grandson and he was 2 1/2 at Christmas and didnt really take to it right away, however come May he was able to understand how to operate. We purchased the extended warranty as it was supposed to be a "cover everthing" , Well , it doesnt, come
July, THE BATTERY failed to hold charge. Called to get battery replaced, was then told "oh no, the BATTERY NOT INCLUDED, you only have 90 days on that. This is a pricey item that has to be replaced. No one would acknowledge our problem that it hadnt been used that much. Other than that he really enjoys this toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Easter Present ruined

04/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4/4/14 I ordered the above item for my 2 2 1/2 year old grandsons for Easter. It was suppose to be in Thursday, April 17 but I got an e-mail said it would not be in till Friday, April 18. My husband went Sat a.m. April 19 and was told it was not put together and they could not have it ready until Sunday, April 20, now remember this is a present that the Easter Bunny was bringing for my 2, 2 1/2 year old grandsons. So, Sunday morning we went to church, came home and my husband went back to Walmart to pick it up because he was told it would be ready between 9 & 10, he got there and no one had even started on it, but, they would call when it was ready. About, 1:30 we get a call it is ready, they went & got it only to find out that it has to charge for 18 hours which we were not told about that part either. So needless to say my Easter present was ruined. Will never order anything again from Walmart. com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 177 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next