Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.135 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
54
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation89%159 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
57 Questions | 114 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
89
4 stars
54
3 stars
16
2 stars
8
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My son Loves his!

02/05/2013
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one for my 3 1/2 yr old for christmas. The only prob we had was we live on a hill our yard isn't flat. We figured it would have been a prob before we purchased it. When we got it home and my son finally got to ride it. It did slip a lot and you would have to push him. You can solve this prob two ways. Either put something heavy in the bed. Which we didnt like doing cuz then he couldnt put anything in the back. So my husband took some self tapping i think he used 5/8ths screws and put them in the back tires so it could get better traction. Worked like a charm! It will even go up hill on wet grass now. Just a thought for some people that have the same prob. Now he only goes on low speed so I have no idea how it handles in high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Way too expensive - paying for name

10/05/2014
By ,
Taylor, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
While my son is extremely happy... he turns five in about a month & barely fits in it. And my son is only average height for his age. No way could any 8 year old fit. Then the first time my son tried using the lever for the back dumping part it broke. My son loves it & he REALLY wanted the John Deere model so that's why we got it but otherwise I believe there are other models that are half the price that are just as good or better. If you don't need to buy John Deere save the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Christmas and Birthday present for my 4 year old

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Even though he has not been given the ride-on just yet it seems to be well built and pretty sturdy for 2 kids. Putting it together was not a challenge even with all of the decals. I know my son is going to enjoy riding this machine around in the yard.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

So cute

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a Christmas gift for our grandson. We can hardly wait to give it to him. It was easy to assemble and all the parts were there. It is super cute. Price was great. Priced one at the John Deere dealership. It was $70 more than Walmart's price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great if your land is flat!

06/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga Tennessee
FLAT GROND
Posted 11/27/2012
All you have to do is take old bike tire cut and put it around rear tires with screws.it will climb a hills great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/30/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Over priced; age spec wrong

04/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My boys love it!!!!!

11/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this John Deere Gator for my son's 2nd birthday, it was the best decision we made. My two boys love it and use it to help me do work around the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/29/2012
By ,
York,PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2013
Have you took out the speed screw, cause it sends power to both wheels when the speed is turned up and has double traction, we live in the country and that thing will go places it shouldn't be!!!!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tires
Posted 10/15/2012
Try putting some truck bed liner on the wheels. Works like a charm
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 31 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good for city use on pavement

10/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tires are hard plastic with very little traction/tread. Not the best on uneven grass or gravel,tires spin easy. May have to fit some rubber tires around the plastic and glue and screw to the plastic. The manual used to put the gator together is a little tough to follow at times with the photos.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/20/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/01/2012
Does the XUV have seatbelts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 33 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Easter Present ruined

04/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4/4/14 I ordered the above item for my 2 2 1/2 year old grandsons for Easter. It was suppose to be in Thursday, April 17 but I got an e-mail said it would not be in till Friday, April 18. My husband went Sat a.m. April 19 and was told it was not put together and they could not have it ready until Sunday, April 20, now remember this is a present that the Easter Bunny was bringing for my 2, 2 1/2 year old grandsons. So, Sunday morning we went to church, came home and my husband went back to Walmart to pick it up because he was told it would be ready between 9 & 10, he got there and no one had even started on it, but, they would call when it was ready. About, 1:30 we get a call it is ready, they went & got it only to find out that it has to charge for 18 hours which we were not told about that part either. So needless to say my Easter present was ruined. Will never order anything again from Walmart. com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

amazing product

10/25/2014
By ,
Bath, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was the perfect size and dies a great job on wet and steep hills.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Worth the $

06/06/2012
By ,
newport tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OK riding vehicle - U.S. products supporter

12/25/2012
By ,
Westwood, Nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this because it is made in USA & willing to pay more money then rather buy from
import made, i experted it will be a lot heavy duty or better construcion than the imported ones.
I am a bit disappointed on what came with it, no horn, no mirror, no actual lights, no seat belts and the assembly needs some technical assitance even only a few parts to put together, the AIS needs to improve to give more details specially when comes to install the dump tray joint in the back. The dashboard are all stickers, looks cheap, the wheel has no traction, the reverse gear has to press down to works, making kids hard to make the reverse by pressing down, truning the wheel & pedal down all together in one action and no subspension,
last bad thing is did not come with quick charger ( 2 hour full charge), it comes with a charger
that need to charge the battery full with 18-20 hours. ( " 3/4 of a full day)
The battery wont hold up charge, mine ran out 45 min to an hour at normal use on flat road by my 4 years old son with 35 lbs only. i will be calling for an RA for the replacement of the battery & charger next day or two.
Come on ! John Deere, $350+tax , you got to do better than that ! You are comparing yourself with import products, how that's make you feel with the products you are calling "made in U.S.A.", be fair to the consumers who support local industires, employment & economy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Nice toy! Tires spin a lot.

06/21/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to add some weight to the dump bed like 25 pounds or tires will just spin. Spins on grass gravel and pavement. Otherwise great toy, my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Looks great!

10/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Directions were vague and confusing. Lots of decals and directions should tell you to put on decals first before assembly as it is much easier. Very good looking and details make it look like the real thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride!

03/14/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My now four year old got this from his father for Christmas at the age of 7 months. His older brother who is now eight almost nine is barely outgrowing it. My four year old has been driving it since he was two. All the kids in the neighborhood love to go for a ride in this thing! It has two speeds which is great because we would allow the boys to ride in fields and if there was a bump or it was steep they could power down and get out of it. It also goes reverse. It has a handle go the passenger can hang on. The battery still has not failed me after all these years. I even kept it out doors for a whole year and didn't charge it at all and it kept up. Amazing! I love this thing and believe that when the boys outgrow it I will just pray paint it pink and give it to my niece. For three fifty it is definitely worth the price. It has lasted through four years of my older sons wear and tear as well as two almost three years of the four year olds wear and tear. Great and long lasting toy. I wish I had one as a kid. Also the boys love putting items they don't want to carry in the back like scooters, toys and somewhat heavy things or even a passenger in the back.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

The grandchildren and cousins enjoy the ride

10/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great vehicle for the grandchildren.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 154 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next