Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.113 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(194 Reviews) 169
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
59
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation88%170 out of 194reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
63 Questions | 117 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
95
4 stars
59
3 stars
19
2 stars
9
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great if your land is flat!

06/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga Tennessee
FLAT GROND
Posted 11/27/2012
All you have to do is take old bike tire cut and put it around rear tires with screws.it will climb a hills great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Over priced; age spec wrong

04/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/30/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/29/2012
By ,
York,PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2013
Have you took out the speed screw, cause it sends power to both wheels when the speed is turned up and has double traction, we live in the country and that thing will go places it shouldn't be!!!!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tires
Posted 10/15/2012
Try putting some truck bed liner on the wheels. Works like a charm
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 25 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Awesome!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son has only been able to ride this once due to winter in Michigan, but he absolutely loves it! The only downfall (and not really a downfall, more of a planning issue) is that the box says "easy assembly". It took my husband and his father (both good with tools, etc.) about 2 1/2 hours to assemble this thing and on Christmas Eve, that wasn't how they wanted to spend their time haha. However, seeing the look on our son's face made it all worth it. Also, I know it's a safety measure, but having to hold down the gear "shifter" to go in reverse is kind of a pain for a 4 year old, but he's learning. And the "fast" gear is quite fast as well, but he loves it. He now knows to go slow around turns and then he kicks it in gear :) Overall, an excellent gift from the grandparents. Would definitely recommend!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Product

03/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tractor was easy to assemble and the battery holds charge for multiple uses. My son is able to ride it from grass to sidewalk to street with ease. We would definitely say it was worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Piece of Junk!!!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want to pay $400.00 for something that will only last for 1 year, this is the one! I'm going to assume that most people who reviewed this item, reviewed it soon after they got it. At first it seems great. One year later (and it has not been used excessively) it has a wheel that is completely cracked in half. The other 3 wheels are starting to crack. The steering wheel falls off every few uses because the bolt comes loose. The tailgate busted off without much force. If you buy this, keep your receipt!!! Unfortunately I didn't and now we're out $400.00. The thing won't drive anymore with a busted wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Worth the $

06/06/2012
By ,
newport tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OK riding vehicle - U.S. products supporter

12/25/2012
By ,
Westwood, Nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this because it is made in USA & willing to pay more money then rather buy from
import made, i experted it will be a lot heavy duty or better construcion than the imported ones.
I am a bit disappointed on what came with it, no horn, no mirror, no actual lights, no seat belts and the assembly needs some technical assitance even only a few parts to put together, the AIS needs to improve to give more details specially when comes to install the dump tray joint in the back. The dashboard are all stickers, looks cheap, the wheel has no traction, the reverse gear has to press down to works, making kids hard to make the reverse by pressing down, truning the wheel & pedal down all together in one action and no subspension,
last bad thing is did not come with quick charger ( 2 hour full charge), it comes with a charger
that need to charge the battery full with 18-20 hours. ( " 3/4 of a full day)
The battery wont hold up charge, mine ran out 45 min to an hour at normal use on flat road by my 4 years old son with 35 lbs only. i will be calling for an RA for the replacement of the battery & charger next day or two.
Come on ! John Deere, $350+tax , you got to do better than that ! You are comparing yourself with import products, how that's make you feel with the products you are calling "made in U.S.A.", be fair to the consumers who support local industires, employment & economy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/20/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/01/2012
Does the XUV have seatbelts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Nice toy! Tires spin a lot.

06/21/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to add some weight to the dump bed like 25 pounds or tires will just spin. Spins on grass gravel and pavement. Otherwise great toy, my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Easter Present ruined

04/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4/4/14 I ordered the above item for my 2 2 1/2 year old grandsons for Easter. It was suppose to be in Thursday, April 17 but I got an e-mail said it would not be in till Friday, April 18. My husband went Sat a.m. April 19 and was told it was not put together and they could not have it ready until Sunday, April 20, now remember this is a present that the Easter Bunny was bringing for my 2, 2 1/2 year old grandsons. So, Sunday morning we went to church, came home and my husband went back to Walmart to pick it up because he was told it would be ready between 9 & 10, he got there and no one had even started on it, but, they would call when it was ready. About, 1:30 we get a call it is ready, they went & got it only to find out that it has to charge for 18 hours which we were not told about that part either. So needless to say my Easter present was ruined. Will never order anything again from Walmart. com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

good product but beware

08/23/2013
By ,
flint,mich
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We purchased the gator for our grandson and he was 2 1/2 at Christmas and didnt really take to it right away, however come May he was able to understand how to operate. We purchased the extended warranty as it was supposed to be a "cover everthing" , Well , it doesnt, come
July, THE BATTERY failed to hold charge. Called to get battery replaced, was then told "oh no, the BATTERY NOT INCLUDED, you only have 90 days on that. This is a pricey item that has to be replaced. No one would acknowledge our problem that it hadnt been used that much. Other than that he really enjoys this toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Passed the test!

01/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I gave this to our 4 year old little boy for christmas this year (2014) and he LOVES it. He loves to load and unload firewood with Daddy and help clean up the backyard with Mommy. The only slight downside I would say is the traction. It spins a lot, when in grass or any slight incline, but the nice thing is that it is super light so even my son can get out and push it to where he needs it to be so it will stop slipping. My son wished it had working lights on it but maybe when he gets a real tractor one day he can have that.
We love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My 3 yr old loves

07/03/2012
By ,
North plains, or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is great. Do not buy in store. We bought a display drove an hour home it was broken. Drove back another day 2 hrs round trip got one in box got home missing steering wheel charger and other pieces to dump bed. Had to order online to get correct one untouched
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride!

03/14/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My now four year old got this from his father for Christmas at the age of 7 months. His older brother who is now eight almost nine is barely outgrowing it. My four year old has been driving it since he was two. All the kids in the neighborhood love to go for a ride in this thing! It has two speeds which is great because we would allow the boys to ride in fields and if there was a bump or it was steep they could power down and get out of it. It also goes reverse. It has a handle go the passenger can hang on. The battery still has not failed me after all these years. I even kept it out doors for a whole year and didn't charge it at all and it kept up. Amazing! I love this thing and believe that when the boys outgrow it I will just pray paint it pink and give it to my niece. For three fifty it is definitely worth the price. It has lasted through four years of my older sons wear and tear as well as two almost three years of the four year olds wear and tear. Great and long lasting toy. I wish I had one as a kid. Also the boys love putting items they don't want to carry in the back like scooters, toys and somewhat heavy things or even a passenger in the back.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Too cute

12/22/2013
By ,
Saxonburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks just like the real thing. We bought this for our grandsons, ages 2 and 3, for Christmas. The 3 year old really wanted a John Deere. After some shopping around, I found Walmart had the absolute best price.
The boys love it. We put the seats in the most forward position and it's just right for them. Plenty of room to grow.
It takes a bit of work, but we got it put together in one evening. There were a couple of confusing instructions. The seats go on last and adjust from under the vehicle. Very tricky. It is solidly made and I can tell it will survive many years of use.
A disappointment is that the interior "controls" are decals. No switches. The first thing my grandson did was try them and then asked "Could you turn on the lights?" I thought it could at least have clicking switches or buttons. He got over it quickly but I felt bad. The 3 year old figured out the forward and reverse right away and found the steering easy. The dump bed is difficult to operate and neither child could do it without adult assistance.
Since it was raining they could only go back and forth in the hallway. I can't wait to see them get it really going outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
06/22/2012
By ,
new york
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No traction when attempting to navigate small inclines. Only works on level ground. Very disappointing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

saved $40 online and another $95 for store pickup

10/26/2014
By ,
Clancy, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Never ordered online with Walmart before, but was very easy to do and saved $40 over store price and another $95 by having it shipped to our local Walmart instead of my home. It took me longer to assemble than the 60 minutes stated. spent longer on applying the Decals. I wish it was a little larger. you can't put the seats in the farthest back adjustment or the box will not latch. All in all my Grandson loves it. He wants me to mount a hitch on it to pull a small trailer I had made him for his battery operated jeep which came with a hitch molded on it. I will probably buy an extra battery so he can drive it longer than an hour because he goes wide open most of the time. I wish I would have gotten this for him a year ago. Great product,excellent service, no missing or damaged pieces. Thanks Walmart!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 170 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next