Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.114 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(210 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
62
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation87%182 out of 210reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions | 118 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
62
3 stars
21
2 stars
10
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Less than one month- being replaced. Quit working

08/29/2014
By ,
Ft. Wayne IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought Peg Perego for my children and grandchildren for 30 years now. We live in Ft. Wayne where they are made and they have brought so much joy.... until now. I bought the Gator for my granchildren and had it delivered to them over 800 miles away. For less than one month they have had a fantastic time with their new "wheels". 2 days ago it stopped working. At this time I am on the phone trying to find out a solution to my problem. Hopefully I can change my extremely low rating of this item to a better one. This is the 3rd Peg Perego Power vehicle I have purchased and so far it has fallen below any expectations. The representative I spoke to at Walmart.com was extremely helpful and I can return this item for a replacement. I do not expect any problems with the next one. The items I have purchased from Peg Perego in the past have been tough and lasted through years of play. I cannot imagine what went wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Love it!

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandkids love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

rugged

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
4 year old grandson rides it every day, he is very rough on it. Goes through mud,over small obstacles, runs into objects on purpose. Seems like we found something he can't tear up. We have a 5lb brick in the back of it for traction.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

John Deere Gator

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very durable, great quality, kids love it, easy to operate.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Hmmm

12/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm really surprised and disappointed that something this expensive doesn't have more going on. No horn, no real buttons that push or light up (just stickers of buttons), no radio, no headlights (just reflective plastic). The tailgate is manual. It has different speeds, which is nice, but that is to be expected. It is just a ride that goes basically. Could have easily gone with some other power ride toy cheaper. This was a gift from a grandparent so we're keeping it because we don't want to hurt feelings--if it had been my money it would go back. My son is 2 and played with it for 5 minutes and really wanted those sticker buttons and horn to do something. He enjoyed riding in it and wasn't scared, but lost interest quickly.
I got my son a Little Tikes truck for $70 that has an electric horn along with a side door and a manual tailgate. I think he will like it better. Sorry, those reviews are still out as Santa has not been by yet.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

gator

05/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hard plastic tires and battery life not too good on grass. Great on pavement.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Fun

05/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves it
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

love it highly recommended

05/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
would highly recommend if ur look for a kids vehicle love it thought it was over priced compared to the other cars lik that
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Over priced; age spec wrong

04/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Go Gator Go

02/25/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have had the gator for 2 weeks now and it is a hit with everyone. Very easy for small children to use. Takes about 45 minutes to assemble (including the stickers). The parts were all manufactured well and fit as they should. Note: this ride on toy is fairly large, so have somewhere to park it once assembled. When picking it up form the store bring a truck. The box it comes in is huge.
Rated it four (4) stars for this primary reason: there is no power or kill switch of any kind. My little guy jumps on it all of the time and just takes off, even when just sitting in it playing. This happened inside the house immediately after assembly... It needs a switch or key for parental control. Currently we keep the battery disconnect until we are supervised and ready to ride.
We are interested to see how it holds up to regular use and abuse when all of his buddies are around.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Gator

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product. Plan on spending a lot of time outside. Can haul small loads of sticks and yard debris for kids to help out.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Love it

05/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son loves it, the battery could last longer when in 2nd gear though. I will be buying a second battery.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Gator

05/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this for our 31/2 year old grand daughter and she already has no leg room. We have only had it since early spring
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great if your land is flat!

06/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga Tennessee
FLAT GROND
Posted 11/27/2012
All you have to do is take old bike tire cut and put it around rear tires with screws.it will climb a hills great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 35 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Piece of Junk!!!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want to pay $400.00 for something that will only last for 1 year, this is the one! I'm going to assume that most people who reviewed this item, reviewed it soon after they got it. At first it seems great. One year later (and it has not been used excessively) it has a wheel that is completely cracked in half. The other 3 wheels are starting to crack. The steering wheel falls off every few uses because the bolt comes loose. The tailgate busted off without much force. If you buy this, keep your receipt!!! Unfortunately I didn't and now we're out $400.00. The thing won't drive anymore with a busted wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Poor quality, very disappointing

03/29/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had high hopes for the Peg Perego Gator and we were very disappointed with the quality of this product, especially since it cost $400. My girls have had a Power Wheels Barbie jeep for 4 years now and that thing is a beast. It ran circles around the Gator and it very well made. It is heavy duty and can handle 2 children in it with no problem. We never had an issue with battery life and the battery is very easy for an adult to remove to bring in the house to charge. But we wanted something for my 3 year old son who loves John Deere so we thought this would be perfect for him. He was so excited when he saw it, but after 2 uses we decided to return it. Thank goodness Walmart.com orders can be returned to a store and that they have a great return policy. Here is why we returned it:
-It is made out of very flimsy plastic, when my 5 or 7 year old (not at the same time) step into the vehicle, the plastic frame actually bends. When you lift it up to move it the plastic flexes and pulls apart
-You have to actually unscrew the battery compartment every time you need to remove battery to charge it. Not an easy task and I imagine the screw will get stripped after several times of doing this.
-The battery has a short run time. We only got about an hour use before it died. And yes we did charge it for 3 days before using it. Our 4-year old Power Wheel jeep ran laps around this thing. And was faster.
-Instructions are terrible. Only pictures, no words. Took my husband 2 days to put together.
-Stickers don't stay on.
Do not waste your money on this Gator!!! Buy a Fisher Price Power Wheels ride on instead.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/30/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good times!

05/07/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have 6 grandchildren ranging in age from 1 to 7. They absolutely love this toy! The older children "drive" the younger children around on the lower speed and they have a ball (with adult supervision of course)! So far, a very good investment.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/29/2012
By ,
York,PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2013
Have you took out the speed screw, cause it sends power to both wheels when the speed is turned up and has double traction, we live in the country and that thing will go places it shouldn't be!!!!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tires
Posted 10/15/2012
Try putting some truck bed liner on the wheels. Works like a charm
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
21-40 of 186 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next