Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.161 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%144 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 110 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My son Loves his!

02/05/2013
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one for my 3 1/2 yr old for christmas. The only prob we had was we live on a hill our yard isn't flat. We figured it would have been a prob before we purchased it. When we got it home and my son finally got to ride it. It did slip a lot and you would have to push him. You can solve this prob two ways. Either put something heavy in the bed. Which we didnt like doing cuz then he couldnt put anything in the back. So my husband took some self tapping i think he used 5/8ths screws and put them in the back tires so it could get better traction. Worked like a charm! It will even go up hill on wet grass now. Just a thought for some people that have the same prob. Now he only goes on low speed so I have no idea how it handles in high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Good but not great toy for 3 year old

06/08/2014
By ,
La Fayette NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My grandson loves John Deere and helping Grampa in the yard, so, this seemed like an ideal toy.
In many ways it is just what he wanted. However, the assembly instructions were difficult and some of the parts are flimsy. For example, the release pull for the dump is near impossible to operate by a child. Even my husband had difficulty with it and the first time it finally worked, the ring pull broke! ( we repaired it ourselves rather than go through the tedious process of going back to vendor/manufacturer) The battery life is short so we will be getting a second one or a quick charger. We have yet to see if it will perform as stated - time will tell.
Still, the light on his face when he saw it made it all worthwhile.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride!

03/14/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My now four year old got this from his father for Christmas at the age of 7 months. His older brother who is now eight almost nine is barely outgrowing it. My four year old has been driving it since he was two. All the kids in the neighborhood love to go for a ride in this thing! It has two speeds which is great because we would allow the boys to ride in fields and if there was a bump or it was steep they could power down and get out of it. It also goes reverse. It has a handle go the passenger can hang on. The battery still has not failed me after all these years. I even kept it out doors for a whole year and didn't charge it at all and it kept up. Amazing! I love this thing and believe that when the boys outgrow it I will just pray paint it pink and give it to my niece. For three fifty it is definitely worth the price. It has lasted through four years of my older sons wear and tear as well as two almost three years of the four year olds wear and tear. Great and long lasting toy. I wish I had one as a kid. Also the boys love putting items they don't want to carry in the back like scooters, toys and somewhat heavy things or even a passenger in the back.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/20/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/01/2012
Does the XUV have seatbelts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/30/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 6 year olds birthday, to replace the one we bought him for his second birthday. The age recommendation is 3-8 years, it should be 3-5 years! His knees are hitting against the dash board, it is no bigger than the old one. The width is wider than the old one so I thought the seat would be wider, NOT at all, same size! We should not have bought this for our son:( Great product for a younger child 3-5 years!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Bought as a Christmas gift for 3 yr old grandson.

06/11/2014
By ,
Grand Haven, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Can't really say much yet as the grandson won't see it until near
Christmas, but it was something he really wanted. I was glad
that it could go "Site to Store" as I live in Grand Haven, MI
and the grandson is in Cumming, GA, so my son and
daughter-in-law could pick it up now in June and save it
boxed in their basement until I am able to be there for
Christmas.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great if your land is flat!

06/10/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our 3 year old son, he has wanted it for a year! It looks very sharp, and my husband had no problems assembling, just an hour. My complaints are the tires spin out unless you are driving on completely flat land. It states that it is for 3-8 yr. olds, I also have a 6 & 8 year old boys, and my 6 year old has to sit sideways as the passenger with his legs hanging out the side, because there is no leg room, I won't let the 8 yr. old sit on it. For right now the big brothers follow along behind to push it when it gets stuck, but my 3 yr. old thinks it is great fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga Tennessee
FLAT GROND
Posted 11/27/2012
All you have to do is take old bike tire cut and put it around rear tires with screws.it will climb a hills great.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Not what we expected

06/08/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not realize this was plastic even the wheels. Hope it holds up!!! A lot of money for plastic!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

awesome gift for my grandson

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great price fast shipping
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OLDER MODEL WAS MUCH BETTER!!

04/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this gator for my first grandson 3 years ago. He (and his little sister) have ridden it, hauled with it, abused it, and it STILL is running like the day we bought it. (Looks a little rough, but that's becasuse they're having some much fun with it!). So, we bought another for my second grandson about a week ago. Worked fine for about one hour, then all of a sudden, only high gear would work! NO REVERSE, NO LOW GEAR. How disappointing! My son took it the next day back to Walmart and they exchanged for another. Not sure how that one is doing at this time, but we went home and read reviews and several people have similar comments as this one. Whatever the manufacturers have done to make it "better" has failed miserably. I would not purchase another one of these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grandson loves it. Battery is strong. Good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/29/2012
By ,
York,PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This John Deere wasn't designed for the country. My son spends more time sitting with the tires spinning on the grass and on gravel then he does riding around. This product stinks because of the cheaply made tires. I would not reccomend this product to anyone and wish i never spent 400.00 for it. It was defintely a waste of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2013
Have you took out the speed screw, cause it sends power to both wheels when the speed is turned up and has double traction, we live in the country and that thing will go places it shouldn't be!!!!!!!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Tires
Posted 10/15/2012
Try putting some truck bed liner on the wheels. Works like a charm
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 33 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Too cute

12/22/2013
By ,
Saxonburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks just like the real thing. We bought this for our grandsons, ages 2 and 3, for Christmas. The 3 year old really wanted a John Deere. After some shopping around, I found Walmart had the absolute best price.
The boys love it. We put the seats in the most forward position and it's just right for them. Plenty of room to grow.
It takes a bit of work, but we got it put together in one evening. There were a couple of confusing instructions. The seats go on last and adjust from under the vehicle. Very tricky. It is solidly made and I can tell it will survive many years of use.
A disappointment is that the interior "controls" are decals. No switches. The first thing my grandson did was try them and then asked "Could you turn on the lights?" I thought it could at least have clicking switches or buttons. He got over it quickly but I felt bad. The 3 year old figured out the forward and reverse right away and found the steering easy. The dump bed is difficult to operate and neither child could do it without adult assistance.
Since it was raining they could only go back and forth in the hallway. I can't wait to see them get it really going outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Love it!

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 speeds and reverses! My 5 year old daughter loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Over priced; age spec wrong

04/18/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this for our 7 year old grandson. Specs say 3-8 year old but would be more appropriate for 3-6 years old. Difficult to assemble based on the instructions. Over priced based on cheap plastic materials. Best suited for city kids on the sidewalk but not country boy on the farm. Does not go well in the grass. I would not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

The best!!!!!

06/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My kids love it!!!! Just got it. Hope to be happy with it in the near future!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OK riding vehicle - U.S. products supporter

12/25/2012
By ,
Westwood, Nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this because it is made in USA & willing to pay more money then rather buy from
import made, i experted it will be a lot heavy duty or better construcion than the imported ones.
I am a bit disappointed on what came with it, no horn, no mirror, no actual lights, no seat belts and the assembly needs some technical assitance even only a few parts to put together, the AIS needs to improve to give more details specially when comes to install the dump tray joint in the back. The dashboard are all stickers, looks cheap, the wheel has no traction, the reverse gear has to press down to works, making kids hard to make the reverse by pressing down, truning the wheel & pedal down all together in one action and no subspension,
last bad thing is did not come with quick charger ( 2 hour full charge), it comes with a charger
that need to charge the battery full with 18-20 hours. ( " 3/4 of a full day)
The battery wont hold up charge, mine ran out 45 min to an hour at normal use on flat road by my 4 years old son with 35 lbs only. i will be calling for an RA for the replacement of the battery & charger next day or two.
Come on ! John Deere, $350+tax , you got to do better than that ! You are comparing yourself with import products, how that's make you feel with the products you are calling "made in U.S.A.", be fair to the consumers who support local industires, employment & economy.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Worth the $

06/06/2012
By ,
newport tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Met all of our expectations and more. Our son couldn't have been more happy with his birthday present. Basically put together just small details to finish up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Nice toy! Tires spin a lot.

06/21/2012
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You have to add some weight to the dump bed like 25 pounds or tires will just spin. Spins on grass gravel and pavement. Otherwise great toy, my son loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Love it!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sons got this as a combined birthday gift they are 3 and 1. They absolutely LOVE it. They fill the bed up and dump it all day. I have bought the power wheels before but it didn't last long. I think this brand/model is a better product and will last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 137 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next