Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.201 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 119
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation90%130 out of 144reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 100 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
75
4 stars
42
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

You get what you pay for

12/23/2012
By ,
Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid usa built vehicle
Add an hour to assembly time for adding stickers. Battery takes 18 hours to charge 1st time so plan accordingly.
Wish walmart disclosed additional free 2 yr warranty that comes inside the pakage, Wouldn't have purchased walmarts'
Shipping worth the cost as the box is almost 4 feet tall. Would only fit in a pickup truck
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My son's favorite toy....ever! And a great value!

01/05/2014
By ,
Madison Heights, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mason (2-1/2yrs old at the time) noticed this thing on the sales rack in Oct. Almost weekly until Christmas, we walked past, and in most cases i got it down so he could sit on it. He had a sales flier at home and kept showing it to us, saying "My tractor". Santa finally brought it. It eclipsed all other presents on Christmas day. Every minute that the weather is decent, he's been on his 'Tractor'. We live on a hill and it goes great in 2nd gear. It took almost no time for him to learn to ride it. The battery life is much better than the Motion Trendz 4wheeler i bought one of our other kids a couple years ago. Even with all the uphill riding, he gets about an hour of steady ride time. By the time he loads and unloads the bed, he plays for 2-1/2 to 3 hours at a time.
My only gripe with the whole experience is the assembly instructions. I am a very mechanically inclined person, so logic and the illustrations were good for me to put it together. However, a person who doesn't work on cars regularly or has no experience building things may have trouble with the instructions. The paper explaining what screws go where, is separate from the instruction book and could be overlooked, making assembly a real headache.
All in all, this is the best outdoors toy i've run across. A friend's son has had a Gator for 4 years and still riding it! (very roughly). I can only hope ours gives the same kind of service!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride-On but recommended age should'nt be 3-8

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as the "from Santa" gift for my 4 yr old (had just turned 4 two weeks before Christmas). He loves John Deere and I knew this would be his favorite toy. Unfortunately he got on to ride it and his knees were so crammed against the front that it is not fun for him. He is a tall 4 yr old (probably the same size as most 6-7 yr olds) but I expected this toy to be suitable since it says ages 3-8. I am very disappointed, as is he, that he is too tall for this ride-on. I believe the age range should be more like 2-5--at that it would be for average height children not tall children.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/12/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my son's second birthday, and he LOVES it! My four year old daughter loves it, too. He is able to drive it everywhere and all through the woods...it even went through a pretty deep swampy area. Definitely an awesome present!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Product

01/02/2013
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was quick and simple. Our 4 year old granddaughter had a ball. I am looking forward to her younger sister getting involved also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great ride-on for Toddlers

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 2 year old son for his birthday. He has never been happier. His older brother has the tractor version and this is much bigger than that one side by side. Easy to put together - like that you can pull the gator up to an outlet and recharge the battery without removing from the vehicle as we recharge these batteries every night - the boys love to ride these daily. The other one we have had for 3 years and the battery still holds a charge so I hope this one is the same. Must charge battery for 18 hours before using for the first time, so plan ahead. I am thoroughly satisfied with this purchase - big, durable and fun fun fun for the kiddos. Walmart has it for the best price - compared for a couple of months before we bought and if you buy online and pick it up at the store they offer a better deal - over $40 cheaper using Walmarts Site to Store option. Great product by far! The kids even drive around the yard and we load the back up with sticks - so it comes with free yard work!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
03/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

JD just keeps going!

12/27/2012
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys LOVE this!!! I have a 7 year old and a 4 year old and they can both ride in this, side by side. Very easy to use and understand. Seems well built and heavy duty! My 4 year old calls it his 4-wheeler. The only think I don't like-or that I would change-is that the wheels are kinda grooved, but totally slippery plastic. So, in the snow, the wheels just keep turning. It's probably not supposed to be going over rugged terrain, but my boys and I live on a farm, and this has been up to the barn countless times. And when it does get stuck, the boys just hop out, push it and drive on.
The back dumps, but my boys don't really use it for more than hauling stuff around. The tailgate does not stay closed very well and is constantly popping open. But, I would still recommend this John Deere to anyone, for boys or girls! All I have to do is unplug it, take it off the porch and the boys go and go on this!
Definitely recommend this...can't go wrong with a John Deere!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Expensive for what it is

08/12/2012
By ,
Trumbull CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granted we bought this for a 4 year old's birthday (who has a 6 year old sibling) but it definitely is smaller than it looks in terms of seating space. It is plenty roomy for the 4 year old and 6year old, but they will likely outgrow it sooner than later. It may have been better to purchase the single John Deere tractor that accomodates one slightly larger child and let them take turns, plus save over $100 in the purchase price. It seems fairly well made, but was a nightmare to put together given there were only picture instructions vs picture and written instructions. It is rather large and bulky of an item so it is tough to carry across the yard when the battery dies far away from the outlet in the garage. The battery only seems to last an hour or so, and the battery is not easy to get to to plug in...you need a screwdriver to remove the battery cover each time. Overall, my son enjoys riding and taking friends for rides, but I have the few gripes mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/26/2012
By ,
Roxboro, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My grandsons love riding the Gator which is great. BUT when it comes time to charge the battery you have to take most of the front of it off just to charge the battery which is VERY time consuming. Also you have to hold the shifter in reverse while you are backing up and my 3 yr old does great with it but the two 2 year olds don't understand that you HAVE to hold it in reverse to back it up. I also feel like they could have done a better job with the tires.... they are hard plastic and have trouble with traction at times, If they had put some rubber on the tires I feel like that would have solved all of the "sit and spin" situations!!! I think they will out grow this one quicker than the John Deere Tractor models - there is not a lot of leg room in them. IF I only had one child then I would buy the Tractor model over the Gator model due to them out growing the toy so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride!

03/14/2014
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My now four year old got this from his father for Christmas at the age of 7 months. His older brother who is now eight almost nine is barely outgrowing it. My four year old has been driving it since he was two. All the kids in the neighborhood love to go for a ride in this thing! It has two speeds which is great because we would allow the boys to ride in fields and if there was a bump or it was steep they could power down and get out of it. It also goes reverse. It has a handle go the passenger can hang on. The battery still has not failed me after all these years. I even kept it out doors for a whole year and didn't charge it at all and it kept up. Amazing! I love this thing and believe that when the boys outgrow it I will just pray paint it pink and give it to my niece. For three fifty it is definitely worth the price. It has lasted through four years of my older sons wear and tear as well as two almost three years of the four year olds wear and tear. Great and long lasting toy. I wish I had one as a kid. Also the boys love putting items they don't want to carry in the back like scooters, toys and somewhat heavy things or even a passenger in the back.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

OLDER MODEL WAS MUCH BETTER!!

04/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this gator for my first grandson 3 years ago. He (and his little sister) have ridden it, hauled with it, abused it, and it STILL is running like the day we bought it. (Looks a little rough, but that's becasuse they're having some much fun with it!). So, we bought another for my second grandson about a week ago. Worked fine for about one hour, then all of a sudden, only high gear would work! NO REVERSE, NO LOW GEAR. How disappointing! My son took it the next day back to Walmart and they exchanged for another. Not sure how that one is doing at this time, but we went home and read reviews and several people have similar comments as this one. Whatever the manufacturers have done to make it "better" has failed miserably. I would not purchase another one of these again.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Best Riding Toy on the Market!

06/08/2012
By ,
Christiansburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the new model of the John Deere Gator XUV for our 2 1/2 year old grandson. We have a very large lot that is all grass and wanted to have something he could ride around on when he came to visit. Could not have made a better choice. This vehicle is slightly larger then the previous model Gator and is of very high quality. Took about 2 hours to assemble including the application of all the decals. Peg Perago missed no details in designing this new model. It looks just like the full size version. One small part was missing and I called Peg Perego customer service. They shipped out a replacement part without question and we received it in 2-days! Great customer serivice!!!! This vehicle is powerful and handles hills without any problems. The working tail gate and working rear bed dump are a real plus. Our grandson simply loves this vehicle. Battery life is about 2 hours even on hilly terrain. Quite remarkable. If you are looking for a top quality ride on toy then do not hesitate to pick this one up. Walmart has the best price on this toy bar non plus free shipping to the store. Can't beat the deal anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Love it!!

03/22/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My sons got this as a combined birthday gift they are 3 and 1. They absolutely LOVE it. They fill the bed up and dump it all day. I have bought the power wheels before but it didn't last long. I think this brand/model is a better product and will last longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Awesome

03/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son loves it! Worth buying!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great for our son

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our two yr old son. He was driving the smaller toys so good we figured it was time to get something bigger. we have the seat adjusted to the front position and he can drive it great. Great for having a friend ride in it too. Very happy with our purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

The only problem is it take 18 hours to charge.

04/14/2014
By ,
Santa Fe Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You need to buy a second battery to keep one charge so they can play 3hours instead of an hour and a half. its takes 18 hours to charge it. that the only draw back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

great outdoors FUN for the young childern

03/09/2014
By ,
20619
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On Lots of fun for the kids... I --- ALL by myself put this together ( not knowing if I could ) last night-- took me about 2 hrs. we charged it up 18 hrs. took it out for a spin this morning... Rode for 2 hrs... Alan ( 3yr old ) had lots of fun...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Too cute

12/22/2013
By ,
Saxonburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It looks just like the real thing. We bought this for our grandsons, ages 2 and 3, for Christmas. The 3 year old really wanted a John Deere. After some shopping around, I found Walmart had the absolute best price.
The boys love it. We put the seats in the most forward position and it's just right for them. Plenty of room to grow.
It takes a bit of work, but we got it put together in one evening. There were a couple of confusing instructions. The seats go on last and adjust from under the vehicle. Very tricky. It is solidly made and I can tell it will survive many years of use.
A disappointment is that the interior "controls" are decals. No switches. The first thing my grandson did was try them and then asked "Could you turn on the lights?" I thought it could at least have clicking switches or buttons. He got over it quickly but I felt bad. The 3 year old figured out the forward and reverse right away and found the steering easy. The dump bed is difficult to operate and neither child could do it without adult assistance.
Since it was raining they could only go back and forth in the hallway. I can't wait to see them get it really going outside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 120 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next