Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Peg Perego Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

With the John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On, adventurous kids can ride just like mom and dad. Kids can drive around the yard at speeds of up to 4.5 miles per hour in their own John Deere XUV, hauling their toys in the extra-large dump bed with opening tailgate. The John Deere Gator XUV ride-on features a multi-position SmartPedal accelerator that provides smooth driving, automatic brakes and increased riding time. Best of all, the John Deere off-road ride-on is safe to take nearly anywhere — the two-speed shifter with reverse allows driving on grass, dirt or hard surfaces.
Average Customer Rating:
4.142 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation89%144 out of 162reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
49 Questions | 110 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
82
4 stars
48
3 stars
15
2 stars
7
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

You get what you pay for

12/23/2012
By ,
Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid usa built vehicle
Add an hour to assembly time for adding stickers. Battery takes 18 hours to charge 1st time so plan accordingly.
Wish walmart disclosed additional free 2 yr warranty that comes inside the pakage, Wouldn't have purchased walmarts'
Shipping worth the cost as the box is almost 4 feet tall. Would only fit in a pickup truck
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Ride-On but recommended age should'nt be 3-8

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as the "from Santa" gift for my 4 yr old (had just turned 4 two weeks before Christmas). He loves John Deere and I knew this would be his favorite toy. Unfortunately he got on to ride it and his knees were so crammed against the front that it is not fun for him. He is a tall 4 yr old (probably the same size as most 6-7 yr olds) but I expected this toy to be suitable since it says ages 3-8. I am very disappointed, as is he, that he is too tall for this ride-on. I believe the age range should be more like 2-5--at that it would be for average height children not tall children.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My son's favorite toy....ever! And a great value!

01/05/2014
By ,
Madison Heights, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mason (2-1/2yrs old at the time) noticed this thing on the sales rack in Oct. Almost weekly until Christmas, we walked past, and in most cases i got it down so he could sit on it. He had a sales flier at home and kept showing it to us, saying "My tractor". Santa finally brought it. It eclipsed all other presents on Christmas day. Every minute that the weather is decent, he's been on his 'Tractor'. We live on a hill and it goes great in 2nd gear. It took almost no time for him to learn to ride it. The battery life is much better than the Motion Trendz 4wheeler i bought one of our other kids a couple years ago. Even with all the uphill riding, he gets about an hour of steady ride time. By the time he loads and unloads the bed, he plays for 2-1/2 to 3 hours at a time.
My only gripe with the whole experience is the assembly instructions. I am a very mechanically inclined person, so logic and the illustrations were good for me to put it together. However, a person who doesn't work on cars regularly or has no experience building things may have trouble with the instructions. The paper explaining what screws go where, is separate from the instruction book and could be overlooked, making assembly a real headache.
All in all, this is the best outdoors toy i've run across. A friend's son has had a Gator for 4 years and still riding it! (very roughly). I can only hope ours gives the same kind of service!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My son loves his Gator

07/08/2014
By ,
Wheatfield IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The cons are the battery charger has already stopped working and the decals are a little bit of a pain around the shocks area. We use are own charger now so it hasn't been a huge issue but I don't want to pay another 67.00 for a new one. For the most part were very pleased and my son is extremely happy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My Son Loves it! (2yo)

06/13/2014
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for our son for his second birthday and he loves it!! Worth every penny!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/12/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this for my son's second birthday, and he LOVES it! My four year old daughter loves it, too. He is able to drive it everywhere and all through the woods...it even went through a pretty deep swampy area. Definitely an awesome present!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great Product

01/02/2013
By ,
Burlington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembly was quick and simple. Our 4 year old granddaughter had a ball. I am looking forward to her younger sister getting involved also.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Great ride-on for Toddlers

04/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 2 year old son for his birthday. He has never been happier. His older brother has the tractor version and this is much bigger than that one side by side. Easy to put together - like that you can pull the gator up to an outlet and recharge the battery without removing from the vehicle as we recharge these batteries every night - the boys love to ride these daily. The other one we have had for 3 years and the battery still holds a charge so I hope this one is the same. Must charge battery for 18 hours before using for the first time, so plan ahead. I am thoroughly satisfied with this purchase - big, durable and fun fun fun for the kiddos. Walmart has it for the best price - compared for a couple of months before we bought and if you buy online and pick it up at the store they offer a better deal - over $40 cheaper using Walmarts Site to Store option. Great product by far! The kids even drive around the yard and we load the back up with sticks - so it comes with free yard work!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
03/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

JD just keeps going!

12/27/2012
By ,
Upstate New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My boys LOVE this!!! I have a 7 year old and a 4 year old and they can both ride in this, side by side. Very easy to use and understand. Seems well built and heavy duty! My 4 year old calls it his 4-wheeler. The only think I don't like-or that I would change-is that the wheels are kinda grooved, but totally slippery plastic. So, in the snow, the wheels just keep turning. It's probably not supposed to be going over rugged terrain, but my boys and I live on a farm, and this has been up to the barn countless times. And when it does get stuck, the boys just hop out, push it and drive on.
The back dumps, but my boys don't really use it for more than hauling stuff around. The tailgate does not stay closed very well and is constantly popping open. But, I would still recommend this John Deere to anyone, for boys or girls! All I have to do is unplug it, take it off the porch and the boys go and go on this!
Definitely recommend this...can't go wrong with a John Deere!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Expensive for what it is

08/12/2012
By ,
Trumbull CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Granted we bought this for a 4 year old's birthday (who has a 6 year old sibling) but it definitely is smaller than it looks in terms of seating space. It is plenty roomy for the 4 year old and 6year old, but they will likely outgrow it sooner than later. It may have been better to purchase the single John Deere tractor that accomodates one slightly larger child and let them take turns, plus save over $100 in the purchase price. It seems fairly well made, but was a nightmare to put together given there were only picture instructions vs picture and written instructions. It is rather large and bulky of an item so it is tough to carry across the yard when the battery dies far away from the outlet in the garage. The battery only seems to last an hour or so, and the battery is not easy to get to to plug in...you need a screwdriver to remove the battery cover each time. Overall, my son enjoys riding and taking friends for rides, but I have the few gripes mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
08/26/2012
By ,
Roxboro, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My grandsons love riding the Gator which is great. BUT when it comes time to charge the battery you have to take most of the front of it off just to charge the battery which is VERY time consuming. Also you have to hold the shifter in reverse while you are backing up and my 3 yr old does great with it but the two 2 year olds don't understand that you HAVE to hold it in reverse to back it up. I also feel like they could have done a better job with the tires.... they are hard plastic and have trouble with traction at times, If they had put some rubber on the tires I feel like that would have solved all of the "sit and spin" situations!!! I think they will out grow this one quicker than the John Deere Tractor models - there is not a lot of leg room in them. IF I only had one child then I would buy the Tractor model over the Gator model due to them out growing the toy so quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Piece of Junk!!!

08/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you want to pay $400.00 for something that will only last for 1 year, this is the one! I'm going to assume that most people who reviewed this item, reviewed it soon after they got it. At first it seems great. One year later (and it has not been used excessively) it has a wheel that is completely cracked in half. The other 3 wheels are starting to crack. The steering wheel falls off every few uses because the bolt comes loose. The tailgate busted off without much force. If you buy this, keep your receipt!!! Unfortunately I didn't and now we're out $400.00. The thing won't drive anymore with a busted wheel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Best Riding Toy on the Market!

06/08/2012
By ,
Christiansburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the new model of the John Deere Gator XUV for our 2 1/2 year old grandson. We have a very large lot that is all grass and wanted to have something he could ride around on when he came to visit. Could not have made a better choice. This vehicle is slightly larger then the previous model Gator and is of very high quality. Took about 2 hours to assemble including the application of all the decals. Peg Perago missed no details in designing this new model. It looks just like the full size version. One small part was missing and I called Peg Perego customer service. They shipped out a replacement part without question and we received it in 2-days! Great customer serivice!!!! This vehicle is powerful and handles hills without any problems. The working tail gate and working rear bed dump are a real plus. Our grandson simply loves this vehicle. Battery life is about 2 hours even on hilly terrain. Quite remarkable. If you are looking for a top quality ride on toy then do not hesitate to pick this one up. Walmart has the best price on this toy bar non plus free shipping to the store. Can't beat the deal anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Awful Customer Service & poor quality for the $

07/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We haven't even owned the gator for a year and the back gate has already completely broken off and the battery no longer works!
I contacted customer service, and they said they would replace the battery, but I would have to pay all the shipping costs. Frankly, that is just ridiculous. For as much as I paid for this gator, you would think they would replace the battery at no cost to me. On top of that, the customer service was very rude about the whole thing.
I will never purchase another product or recommend a product that they manufacture!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

New model is for smaller kids!

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought the older model gator in 2010 for our then 3 yr old and it was a really great product, we wanted to buy another for our younger son. They'd still be using the 2010 model but they wore it out. Our youngest is 5 (42 lbs.) and the new model gator is too small for him, his knees hit the dash. Recommended age on the box is 3 - 8 yrs old. We're taking it back! I wouldn't recommend the new gator for kids older than 3 -4 yrs old. We are super disappointed in the new model gator!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Easter Present ruined

04/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
4/4/14 I ordered the above item for my 2 2 1/2 year old grandsons for Easter. It was suppose to be in Thursday, April 17 but I got an e-mail said it would not be in till Friday, April 18. My husband went Sat a.m. April 19 and was told it was not put together and they could not have it ready until Sunday, April 20, now remember this is a present that the Easter Bunny was bringing for my 2, 2 1/2 year old grandsons. So, Sunday morning we went to church, came home and my husband went back to Walmart to pick it up because he was told it would be ready between 9 & 10, he got there and no one had even started on it, but, they would call when it was ready. About, 1:30 we get a call it is ready, they went & got it only to find out that it has to charge for 18 hours which we were not told about that part either. So needless to say my Easter present was ruined. Will never order anything again from Walmart. com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

My son Loves his!

02/05/2013
By ,
Springtown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought one for my 3 1/2 yr old for christmas. The only prob we had was we live on a hill our yard isn't flat. We figured it would have been a prob before we purchased it. When we got it home and my son finally got to ride it. It did slip a lot and you would have to push him. You can solve this prob two ways. Either put something heavy in the bed. Which we didnt like doing cuz then he couldnt put anything in the back. So my husband took some self tapping i think he used 5/8ths screws and put them in the back tires so it could get better traction. Worked like a charm! It will even go up hill on wet grass now. Just a thought for some people that have the same prob. Now he only goes on low speed so I have no idea how it handles in high.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On
05/20/2012
By ,
KCMO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 3 year-old son for his birthday. He absolutely loves it. The quality is great. Price is fair and I would recommend this product. I will purchase more Perego products in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 06/01/2012
Does the XUV have seatbelts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Peg Perego John Deere Gator XUV 12-volt Battery-Powered Ride-On

Pretty good little machine.

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this for our two year old daughter. It is a nice little machine. It is more expensive than other battery powered ride on toys but it does handle terrain very well. It can climb gravel inclines, and second speed is pretty fast for a toddler!! Would recommend this for little ones.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 138 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next