Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equate Equate Acne Treatment System

Equate Equate Acne Treatment System

Keep your skin clear with the Equate Acne Treatment System. This unique facial acne treatment system uses three steps to make your skin look its best: cleanse, soothe and moisturize. The Equate Acne System works to fight existing blemishes, prevent new blemishes from popping up and remove dead skin cells that can clog pores. The kit for the Equate Acne Treatment System includes one purifying cleanser to use for cleansing, one rejuvenating toner to use for soothing your skin and one repairing lotion for moisturizing your skin. Treat your skin well with the Equate Acne Treatment System.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation93%125 out of 135reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 71 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Acne Treatment System

ACNE BE GONE!

09/01/2013
By ,
New York, NY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first review on any product I've used for acne because none of them worked... until I got this kit. I am 28 years old and never had acne , until around my 26th birthday I started seeing it popping up around my cheek area. For two years I struggled with this horrible skin condition , everyone was asking me what happen to your face? I was so embarrassed. I couldn't see a dermatologist because I don't have insurance. I used so many herbal and over the counter acne medication until I stumbled across this at Walmart I was hesitant to try another product but the reviews were excellent, I received my package and just after only two days of use I saw great improvement , all the pimples were fading , drying up. I one week I had no pimples on my face. I continue using it everyday for two weeks then to every other day , as with alot of acne medication it dries the skin out. I would recommend this to ANYBODY. TRY THIS YOU WON'T REGRET IT!! oh did I mention how affordable this is? 12 bucks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Acne Treatment System

It WORKS!!!

05/31/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My acne cleared up in a month, helped with some dark spots as well!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Acne Treatment System

amazing, will use forever, unique acne was cleared

10/27/2013
By ,
san diego ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So after trying a plethora of products, and tricks during my teens to fight my serve acne, I'm shocked I a) have skin on my face and b) skin capable of producing a pimple. Then in my mid 20 I started my teenage acne all over again. I came across the equate acne system and thought for $12 and its the only one on this skin care rack I haven't tried over the years. Omg the frist night I was impressed! !!!!!!!! Compared to proactiv is an understatement, this is proactiv, even the bottles are the same design just at an extremely affordable price. The only difference is I'm able to actually use this product in the necessary amount to see results because I'm not forking out $60 for it. So this is day 3 and I went from 30+ cystic pimples some scabbed over trying to heal to beautiful skin that is smooth with little redness. I attached pics because this is something that some one with sensitive skin, finding no results with other products on acne that happens from oily and dirty skin will be glad they tried.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Exceeded My Expectations!

10/23/2013
By ,
Janesville, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see that Walmart had come out with a comparable product to Proactive, but was so grateful. Proactive is overpriced, and a hassle to buy. I read the reviews from the Walmart website, and thought I would give the Equate Acne Treatment System a try. I have been fighting breakouts on my chin for a while now, and have tried everything from natural cleansers, to top brand cleansers with salicylic acid in them, and nothing was working. I used the cleanser for the first time last night before bed, and to my amazement my acne was pretty much gone in the morning! I have an important charity gala coming up tomorrow, and now I can feel confident and beautiful during the big event. Thank you so much Walmart!!!! I can't wait to tell all of my friends. The only request I have for your product development team is to provide the different components sold separately for restocking purposes. I usually run out of the cleanser before anything else. You would be ahead of Proactive's product line if you made this possible. Thanks again!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Works just as well as Proactiv, but is affordable!

01/12/2013
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been constantly complaining around the house that Proactiv is too expensive and nothing else works for me, so my mom went and bought this for me as a Christmas present (and to probably stop my complaining). I didn't actually think it would work, but I was still excited to try something new. I looked up reviews and videos on it, and it sounded too good to be true. However, after a few weeks of using this, I can definitely see a difference! When I first tried this, my chin and neck was just covered with a very bad breakout of huge, itchy bumps. I'm happy to say that almost all the blemishes are completely gone! My pores look smaller, too! Sometimes I forget to use it twice a day and my face ends up just fine. I will say that the little trial mask seemed to make me break out, but the actual three step system is wonderful. I'm so happy to finally have something that works well with my annoying acne and is at a price that I can afford! I'll definitely be purchasing this for myself from now on!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Long Term Proactive User Happy to Save!

12/22/2013
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Proactive user since I was 17 years old, and now being almost thirty and paying my own way in life, it can be really hard to keep up with the price of keeping my skin clear. Proactive was literally the only thing that was effective for me. Then, my best friend told me about the equate system, and for the price, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. I am SO glad I did, because this stuff is great. The only notable difference I can find between it and the proactive system is the scent. My order even came with the sulfur mask I like so much. It works great, and for a fourth of the cost. The only issue I have run across, is that it can be hard to find in stock in store. Walmart needs to work on keeping this product in stock. But, even with paying the costs for shipping, it was still a much better value than ordering from Proactive. This equate system has found a return customer in me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Peace of Mind for $12.

03/21/2012
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 22 years old and I have had clear skin up until around six or eight months ago. So unfortunately, I have adult acne. :( I guess this is pretty common. I have been using this for almost two months and my skin is looking So great! My complexion is incredibly even, I have no blackheads, my acne scars are fading, and I do not get any breakouts (not even during that dreaded time of the month...). The only issue that I have had with this system is that it takes a few weeks to get used to. It took about two weeks for my skin to stop burning when putting on lotion and flaking during the day. Your skin just takes awhile to get used to the benzoyl peroxide, just like with Proactiv. But honestly, the irritation wasn't ever bad enough to make me stop using this product. Plus, my skin started looking great right after I started using it, so I was motivated to continue. My best tip for using this is to only use the first step cleanser at night, not in the morning. I use step 2 & 3 in the morning and steps 1,2,& 3 at night. It works great and I will keep using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Acne Treatment System

EXACTLY the same ingredients as Proactiv!!

03/05/2012
By ,
Arlington, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Proactiv for years, but paying $40+ a month for the kit was too costly for my budget. I came across this kit while browsing for a cheaper alternative at Walmart and decided to give it a try (for only $11, it was worth a shot.) I was amazed to find that when I compared the ingredients in my Proactiv system to the ingredients in Equate system, they containted the exact same ingredients! It has been 6 months and my face is perfectly clear- I LOVE this stuff! It is also nice that you can buy the kit or purchase the items seperately, i.e. if you run out of one faster than the other. I hope Walmart never stops selling this!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+161points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Really Great Price

03/04/2012
By ,
Moore, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was 10 years old, I've started to break out since until from now. I saw a commercial of "Proactive". My dad brought me a Proactive Kit. He told me it cost nearly about $60 dollars a month for Membership (It was back since 2002). Been using Proactive the age 14-20. My dad stop buying for me. Since I've turn 18, I didn't have enough money to buy Proactive. Then I've been using Clean & Clear Advantage, it is a really good product for my skin, however it was too expensive for me. When I was looking through the aisle, I saw the Store Brand compare to Proactive. So I gave it a try. I have to say the ingredients and the smell are the same as the Name Brand. If someone who used to use Proactive and try to save money. Then here is your chance to give it a try. I do recommend for everyone who tries to get rid of acne.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Allergy Warning

03/01/2013
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hi everyone. I love my Proactive, however on a single parent budget, it's simply too expensive. After seeing great reviews for this product, I decided to try it out. The active ingredient is the same as Proactive, but the inactive must not be, because I had an allergic reaction to it :( I'm so disappointed. The skin around my eyes specificly is swollen and itchy, which is odd since I didn't use the product on my eyes. The rest of my face wasn't as bad, but still a bit red and itchy. Basically, I just wanted to let you know that if you are a proactive user and want to try switching to this, I recommend doing a spot test on your skin before using it on your whole face. I'm glad it's working for most people, though. Don't let my reaction to it keep you from at least trying it. Good luck, guys! :):)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington, DC
Worth the around the eye irritation
Posted 03/19/2013
My face also got very dry and irritated around the eye, but for what the system was doing for my acne I was willing to tolerate it! I now use an additional eye, which has seemed to alleviate the problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Effective and Affordable!

02/07/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had acne since I was 14, but much to my dismay I recently started breaking out again at the age of 20. I went searching for an acne treatment product that would work well and not break the bank (unlike some 3 step acne treatment systems). This product is wonderful because the entire 3 part kit cost me less than 12 dollars, which is almost what I would spend for ONE bottle of other brands of face wash/toner/acne lotions. I've only been using this for a couple of days, but I already have seen a huge difference in my acne and the overall texture of my skin. My skin is far less red, very soft, and not dry at all. It seems to be just as effective as other systems without being anywhere near as harsh. I tend to get acne right between my eyebrows and on my chin that leaves horrible bright redish-purple spots, but after the very first use of this system i woke up the next morning and they were 75% faded! I was completely speechless! It started to dry out existing pimples overnight as well, and I haven't had any new ones pop up since I started using this. The consistency of the cleanser and lotion is a bit thin, but that just means it spreads much easier and you therefore use less, so it should last quite a long time. I think this kit will easily last for two months using it twice a day. I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Wonderful

12/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Equate for more than one year. My last purchased this month was five kits so I wouldn't run out.
I have recommended Equate to many family members and friends. I was using Pro active but it is too expensive and Equate does the same job. I constantly get compliments about my clear smooth skin and its youthful look , I am 69 years of age.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equate Acne Treatment System

ABSOLUTELY! THE BEST ACNE SYSTEM EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/01/2014
By ,
ashville, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First...I would like to say that this is by far the best acne system I have ever used!!! I have had acne my whole life, so I have tried every single acne system imagineable! I cant begin to tell you how many hundreds of dollars I have spent on acne systems throughout my life claiming to be "the best", when the whole time the best acne system was available at walmart for 11.97!! I know this product is meant to mimic the proactiv system, but I personally think it way surpasses their technology. Most of the acne systems I have used are either are not strong enough to combat my acne or either they are way to strong. Some of the products I have used have even changed the color of my clothes!!! There is something so wrong about using a product like that on your bare skin!! I LOVE this product but have recently noticed it is becoming harder and harder to find at walmart stores! I hope they are not going to discontinue the product? The only suggestion/wish I would like is if that the products were available individually. I cant tell you how good it feels not to have to worry about skin issues anymore! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ANY OTHER ACNE SYSTEM!!! this is by far the best available on the market today...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Love it, but it's never in stock!

05/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best acne treatment system for the money... the only problem is that it is never in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Bargain

01/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product work quite well. I once ordered proactiv and I find this product works just as good and I don't have to worry about it being shipped without my knowledge. I can order when I need it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Works Really Fast

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 45 and haven't had a problem with acne since being a teenager, until last winter. Living in Delaware for the past 12 years and all of a sudden I developed seasonal acne starting in October and ending in Spring. I tried everything last year, changed my diet to combat the acne from within, and started really washing my face consistently and applying topical treatments, even taking vitamin supplements and applying vitamin D solution topically to my face and scalp (i've been shaving my head for the past 10 years with no visible acne ever appearing on my scalp or back of neck). But last Winter I was always just reacting to a breakout, never able to feel like what I was doing was preventing the next painful whitehead breakout.
This year when October came I started to breakout again, with big painful whiteheads starting to sprout on the back of my scalp, and 1 or 2 appearing near my nose or forehead. Luckily I stumbled across this Equate system while browsing Walmart and I immediately ordered it online (couldn't find it in the store). I must say this stuff is truly a life saver. I apply step 1 in the morning when taking my shower, I find a hot shower really helps this stuff work into my pores, and it's easy to rinse off this way. Then within the next 10 minutes I'll apply steps 2 & 3. Within a couple days all remnants of painful whiteheads were gone, and as long as I use this system once a day, or once every-other day, I've been able to keep my face and scalp free from acne. If I go more than 3 days without using this system the acne starts to creep back in, so I know this stuff really is the key to keeping the acne gone. The only slight con is that my face is more dried out than usual, but it's a small price to pay to have clear skin.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Great save!!

01/14/2013
By ,
Jacksonville Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited when I found out that Walmart made a generic Proactiv. The first time I used it, I noticed a difference in my skin immediately. My skin appeared to be brighter, smoother and more clear. However, I think I was allergic to it. My skin felt warm to the touch and almost felt like it had the texture of snake skin. But because my skin looked so much better, I was determined to find a way to use this product. So I asked my husband, who is a reputable physician, what I could do to make this work. He told me to use the face wash like I normally would, but then to wash my face afterwards with my regular face wash to clear my skin of the active ingredient which was what was causing the reaction. I applied the toner as you normally would, and then avoided the moisturizer because it contained the same active ingredient that the face wash did. I use this system every other day. It really makes the difference. Love this product. I'll just buy the cleanser and toner separately in lieu of the kit since I won't be using the moisturizer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Great generic for much pricier name brand

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the same ingredients and same quality as the 3-piece "P*******e" name brand sold on TV and the internet. I buy it for my step-son and he says it is exactly the same. I made the mistake of buying the name brand, and it was a nightmare of getting extra shipments, not being able to cancel, and even getting charged very high" restocking" fees when returning. I will never buy the name brand again, and there is no need to when there is a much better substitute from a company with much better customer service.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Itchy, itchy, scratchy, scratchy!!!!!!!

01/08/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my 12 year old daughter and was very disappointed! The very first time using the lotion - she broke out in a bright red and bumpy, itchy rash. I have purchased equate products for years and never had any problems, but I will be taking this item back to the store and asking for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Works great but watch out if you have sensitive sk

01/05/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It cleared by skin up quick after a few applications but I guess my skin is more sensitive then I thought because I developed a rash and became itchy. But the product does suggest if this happens then stop using and then just use one of the products so I am going to do that because it works really well and cleared up the pimples quick and I have been struggling with acne since I was a teenager!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next