Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Equate Equate Acne Treatment System

Equate Equate Acne Treatment System

Keep your skin clear with the Equate Acne Treatment System. This unique facial acne treatment system uses three steps to make your skin look its best: cleanse, soothe and moisturize. The Equate Acne System works to fight existing blemishes, prevent new blemishes from popping up and remove dead skin cells that can clog pores. The kit for the Equate Acne Treatment System includes one purifying cleanser to use for cleansing, one rejuvenating toner to use for soothing your skin and one repairing lotion for moisturizing your skin. Treat your skin well with the Equate Acne Treatment System.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 92
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%90 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Equate Acne Treatment System

ACNE BE GONE!

09/01/2013
By ,
New York, NY.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first review on any product I've used for acne because none of them worked... until I got this kit. I am 28 years old and never had acne , until around my 26th birthday I started seeing it popping up around my cheek area. For two years I struggled with this horrible skin condition , everyone was asking me what happen to your face? I was so embarrassed. I couldn't see a dermatologist because I don't have insurance. I used so many herbal and over the counter acne medication until I stumbled across this at Walmart I was hesitant to try another product but the reviews were excellent, I received my package and just after only two days of use I saw great improvement , all the pimples were fading , drying up. I one week I had no pimples on my face. I continue using it everyday for two weeks then to every other day , as with alot of acne medication it dries the skin out. I would recommend this to ANYBODY. TRY THIS YOU WON'T REGRET IT!! oh did I mention how affordable this is? 12 bucks!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Equate Acne Treatment System

amazing, will use forever, unique acne was cleared

10/27/2013
By ,
san diego ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So after trying a plethora of products, and tricks during my teens to fight my serve acne, I'm shocked I a) have skin on my face and b) skin capable of producing a pimple. Then in my mid 20 I started my teenage acne all over again. I came across the equate acne system and thought for $12 and its the only one on this skin care rack I haven't tried over the years. Omg the frist night I was impressed! !!!!!!!! Compared to proactiv is an understatement, this is proactiv, even the bottles are the same design just at an extremely affordable price. The only difference is I'm able to actually use this product in the necessary amount to see results because I'm not forking out $60 for it. So this is day 3 and I went from 30+ cystic pimples some scabbed over trying to heal to beautiful skin that is smooth with little redness. I attached pics because this is something that some one with sensitive skin, finding no results with other products on acne that happens from oily and dirty skin will be glad they tried.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Exceeded My Expectations!

10/23/2013
By ,
Janesville, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was surprised to see that Walmart had come out with a comparable product to Proactive, but was so grateful. Proactive is overpriced, and a hassle to buy. I read the reviews from the Walmart website, and thought I would give the Equate Acne Treatment System a try. I have been fighting breakouts on my chin for a while now, and have tried everything from natural cleansers, to top brand cleansers with salicylic acid in them, and nothing was working. I used the cleanser for the first time last night before bed, and to my amazement my acne was pretty much gone in the morning! I have an important charity gala coming up tomorrow, and now I can feel confident and beautiful during the big event. Thank you so much Walmart!!!! I can't wait to tell all of my friends. The only request I have for your product development team is to provide the different components sold separately for restocking purposes. I usually run out of the cleanser before anything else. You would be ahead of Proactive's product line if you made this possible. Thanks again!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Long Term Proactive User Happy to Save!

12/22/2013
By ,
Gainesville, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been a Proactive user since I was 17 years old, and now being almost thirty and paying my own way in life, it can be really hard to keep up with the price of keeping my skin clear. Proactive was literally the only thing that was effective for me. Then, my best friend told me about the equate system, and for the price, I figured it couldn't hurt to try it. I am SO glad I did, because this stuff is great. The only notable difference I can find between it and the proactive system is the scent. My order even came with the sulfur mask I like so much. It works great, and for a fourth of the cost. The only issue I have run across, is that it can be hard to find in stock in store. Walmart needs to work on keeping this product in stock. But, even with paying the costs for shipping, it was still a much better value than ordering from Proactive. This equate system has found a return customer in me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Best Generic Ever

04/05/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nothing has ever worked for my acne. I started using Proactiv & it instantly starting clearing my acne. I decided to try this generic based on the recommendation of a friend and it's like I never switched at all. I used to have zits on my chin constantly, and now I haven't had one in literally almost a year. AMAZING product. Just use twice a day as recommended. The first few uses may cause burning & extreme dryness, but after that my skin was fine. I also use an Olay moisturizing lotion at night on everything except my chin (something that would have caused a guaranteed breakout before this product). Please try this if you have acne. Can't beat the price! Thank you, Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Equate Acne Treatment System

ABSOLUTELY! THE BEST ACNE SYSTEM EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!

01/01/2014
By ,
ashville, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First...I would like to say that this is by far the best acne system I have ever used!!! I have had acne my whole life, so I have tried every single acne system imagineable! I cant begin to tell you how many hundreds of dollars I have spent on acne systems throughout my life claiming to be "the best", when the whole time the best acne system was available at walmart for 11.97!! I know this product is meant to mimic the proactiv system, but I personally think it way surpasses their technology. Most of the acne systems I have used are either are not strong enough to combat my acne or either they are way to strong. Some of the products I have used have even changed the color of my clothes!!! There is something so wrong about using a product like that on your bare skin!! I LOVE this product but have recently noticed it is becoming harder and harder to find at walmart stores! I hope they are not going to discontinue the product? The only suggestion/wish I would like is if that the products were available individually. I cant tell you how good it feels not to have to worry about skin issues anymore! DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON ANY OTHER ACNE SYSTEM!!! this is by far the best available on the market today...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Peace of Mind for $12.

03/21/2012
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am 22 years old and I have had clear skin up until around six or eight months ago. So unfortunately, I have adult acne. :( I guess this is pretty common. I have been using this for almost two months and my skin is looking So great! My complexion is incredibly even, I have no blackheads, my acne scars are fading, and I do not get any breakouts (not even during that dreaded time of the month...). The only issue that I have had with this system is that it takes a few weeks to get used to. It took about two weeks for my skin to stop burning when putting on lotion and flaking during the day. Your skin just takes awhile to get used to the benzoyl peroxide, just like with Proactiv. But honestly, the irritation wasn't ever bad enough to make me stop using this product. Plus, my skin started looking great right after I started using it, so I was motivated to continue. My best tip for using this is to only use the first step cleanser at night, not in the morning. I use step 2 & 3 in the morning and steps 1,2,& 3 at night. It works great and I will keep using it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Works just as well as Proactiv, but is affordable!

01/12/2013
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been constantly complaining around the house that Proactiv is too expensive and nothing else works for me, so my mom went and bought this for me as a Christmas present (and to probably stop my complaining). I didn't actually think it would work, but I was still excited to try something new. I looked up reviews and videos on it, and it sounded too good to be true. However, after a few weeks of using this, I can definitely see a difference! When I first tried this, my chin and neck was just covered with a very bad breakout of huge, itchy bumps. I'm happy to say that almost all the blemishes are completely gone! My pores look smaller, too! Sometimes I forget to use it twice a day and my face ends up just fine. I will say that the little trial mask seemed to make me break out, but the actual three step system is wonderful. I'm so happy to finally have something that works well with my annoying acne and is at a price that I can afford! I'll definitely be purchasing this for myself from now on!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Effective and Affordable!

02/07/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had acne since I was 14, but much to my dismay I recently started breaking out again at the age of 20. I went searching for an acne treatment product that would work well and not break the bank (unlike some 3 step acne treatment systems). This product is wonderful because the entire 3 part kit cost me less than 12 dollars, which is almost what I would spend for ONE bottle of other brands of face wash/toner/acne lotions. I've only been using this for a couple of days, but I already have seen a huge difference in my acne and the overall texture of my skin. My skin is far less red, very soft, and not dry at all. It seems to be just as effective as other systems without being anywhere near as harsh. I tend to get acne right between my eyebrows and on my chin that leaves horrible bright redish-purple spots, but after the very first use of this system i woke up the next morning and they were 75% faded! I was completely speechless! It started to dry out existing pimples overnight as well, and I haven't had any new ones pop up since I started using this. The consistency of the cleanser and lotion is a bit thin, but that just means it spreads much easier and you therefore use less, so it should last quite a long time. I think this kit will easily last for two months using it twice a day. I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Equate Acne Treatment System

EXACTLY the same ingredients as Proactiv!!

03/05/2012
By ,
Arlington, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used Proactiv for years, but paying $40+ a month for the kit was too costly for my budget. I came across this kit while browsing for a cheaper alternative at Walmart and decided to give it a try (for only $11, it was worth a shot.) I was amazed to find that when I compared the ingredients in my Proactiv system to the ingredients in Equate system, they containted the exact same ingredients! It has been 6 months and my face is perfectly clear- I LOVE this stuff! It is also nice that you can buy the kit or purchase the items seperately, i.e. if you run out of one faster than the other. I hope Walmart never stops selling this!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+133points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Really Great Price

03/04/2012
By ,
Moore, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was 10 years old, I've started to break out since until from now. I saw a commercial of "Proactive". My dad brought me a Proactive Kit. He told me it cost nearly about $60 dollars a month for Membership (It was back since 2002). Been using Proactive the age 14-20. My dad stop buying for me. Since I've turn 18, I didn't have enough money to buy Proactive. Then I've been using Clean & Clear Advantage, it is a really good product for my skin, however it was too expensive for me. When I was looking through the aisle, I saw the Store Brand compare to Proactive. So I gave it a try. I have to say the ingredients and the smell are the same as the Name Brand. If someone who used to use Proactive and try to save money. Then here is your chance to give it a try. I do recommend for everyone who tries to get rid of acne.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Better than proactive!

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used proactive for years and go tired of paying for little results. I tried this, and it worked great. The mask is awesome.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Excellent value and results vs. Proactiv

04/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I think I have tried almost every acne product on the market, including the very expensive Proactiv System (which works great for me), Mary Kay's stuff (which didn't work for me at all) and anything you might find on the shelves at Walmart - but THIS Equate system works great, and costs a reasonable amount. For me, I'd say I get 98% of the results I get with Proactiv, but at a fraction of the cost. What more can I say? I love this stuff.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Allergy Warning

03/01/2013
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hi everyone. I love my Proactive, however on a single parent budget, it's simply too expensive. After seeing great reviews for this product, I decided to try it out. The active ingredient is the same as Proactive, but the inactive must not be, because I had an allergic reaction to it :( I'm so disappointed. The skin around my eyes specificly is swollen and itchy, which is odd since I didn't use the product on my eyes. The rest of my face wasn't as bad, but still a bit red and itchy. Basically, I just wanted to let you know that if you are a proactive user and want to try switching to this, I recommend doing a spot test on your skin before using it on your whole face. I'm glad it's working for most people, though. Don't let my reaction to it keep you from at least trying it. Good luck, guys! :):)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington, DC
Worth the around the eye irritation
Posted 03/19/2013
My face also got very dry and irritated around the eye, but for what the system was doing for my acne I was willing to tolerate it! I now use an additional eye, which has seemed to alleviate the problem.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Awesome stuff!!

02/17/2012
By ,
Bridgeton, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuff works great! I used proactiv but my bottles were getting low and I didn't want to go through the hassle of ordering it again. This stuff works just as good as my proactiv did but only a fraction of the cost. By far worth the 11 dollars i paid for it. I saw the redness go down in my face within the first day. I can feel my skin is softer and see its starting to get clear. Im so happy I bought this!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Perfect!!

02/04/2014
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My skin is clearing up beautifully after years of acne!, can't beat the price either
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Finally an EFFECTIVE and Affordable Skin Care

03/27/2014
By ,
Newport,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so happy to have found this skin care system. Prior to this I have tried many skin care products for oily acne prone skin. Until now I thought you need to have a Masters degree in chemistry or a Trust Fund to pay for the many products on the market. I am 50 years old and waited my whole life for this medication. my skin has never looked better. Unfortuantely now that I am an avid fan the product has been out of stock for weeks. Please get this back into stock!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Life Saver!!!

04/17/2013
By ,
South Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the worst acne. Facial redness, painful acne and semi sensitive and dry skin. If I scratched one area on my face, the whole area would turn red and itch more. My acne was getting really horrible! :( I started using this product and I could tell a difference in just 3 days. After 1 week ALL of my pimples were gone!!! I still had redness but that went away after a few more days. I only use it 1 time a day because I didn't want it to irritate my skin. I haven't bleached any clothes because iuse it in the shower but I have bleached the towel I dry my face with. Lol. Now I use a white towel. I love this cleanser and will never use anything else again, as long as it keeps working. I wish I could post the pictures I have of my "old face" because its soo much better now. (Pictures are on my old phone) The price is great also. It doesn't really have a scent and the beads are small but it does its job. :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Same as Proactive

06/29/2012
By ,
Warfield, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm 26 years old and I've been using Proactive since I was 18. Protactiv no longer fits into my budget due to money changes. This works just as well as Proactive without the price tag. My only complaint is that Equate does not have an extra strength version which it what I needed. Equate Acne Kit cleared a lot of my acne but I still had breakouts. The price is awsome and if you have mild to moderate acne this kit is for you but if you have a lot of acne I would suggest getting an Acne Free kit.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Equate Acne Treatment System

Great save!!

01/14/2013
By ,
Jacksonville Beach, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so excited when I found out that Walmart made a generic Proactiv. The first time I used it, I noticed a difference in my skin immediately. My skin appeared to be brighter, smoother and more clear. However, I think I was allergic to it. My skin felt warm to the touch and almost felt like it had the texture of snake skin. But because my skin looked so much better, I was determined to find a way to use this product. So I asked my husband, who is a reputable physician, what I could do to make this work. He told me to use the face wash like I normally would, but then to wash my face afterwards with my regular face wash to clear my skin of the active ingredient which was what was causing the reaction. I applied the toner as you normally would, and then avoided the moisturizer because it contained the same active ingredient that the face wash did. I use this system every other day. It really makes the difference. Love this product. I'll just buy the cleanser and toner separately in lieu of the kit since I won't be using the moisturizer.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 93 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next