Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Presto Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Presto Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

This cool touch deep fryer creates delicious deep fried foods without the mess or hassle. It has an exterior handle that lowers your food into the oil and a locking cover, which prevents spattering and odor. This fryer automatically maintains the proper frying temperature, and the indicator light tells you when the oil is ready for frying. With the extra large viewing window, you can supervise the frying without opening the cover. The removable charcoal air filter absorbs frying odors. Once frying is done, the pot is removable and cleans easily. This 6-cup deep fryer is great for frying up to six servings. It comes with a frying timetable, and an important fryer guideline sheet that tells you what precautions need to be taken while using this electric deep fryer.
Average Customer Rating:
4.354 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%58 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 49 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
41
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Love it!!

12/28/2012
By ,
West Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this last night for myself, I have been wanting one for quite a while, standing in walmart staring at the options for deep fryers this was the most affordable and attractive one in my eyes. Great size, love the basket, we made chicken wings and home made wing chips in it last night and they were amazing! Love that the lid snaps shut and has the vent for steam, no splatter mess like if you pan fry and stays pretty cool to the touch everywhere else and cools down pretty quick. Cant wait to cook more with this!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Missoula, MT
You go Cool Daddy
Posted 12/12/2013
I bought this on line and it turns out to be the best new kitchen gaget I have no idea how I ever got by with out. The basket is perfect and the window on the cover eases my fear of over cooking. It is just the right size to deep fry a pre breaded Country style steak frozen or thawed. The Lid is a perfict way to keep the oil where it belongs in the Cool Daddy. It is to bad Presto didn't allow for a way for the basket to drain other then holding it over the hot oil to drain off excess oil. No one shoiuld be without one it is that good...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

nice fryer

03/25/2014
By ,
indianapolis in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I considered a t-fal for 49.95. its a nice unit. got the CoolDady for 39. CoolDaddy has a removable oil res for easier cleaning --uses 8 cups oil max and uses 1500 wats. 100 watts less than other unit . it has a light that goes out when oil is at 375 for frying. its cool touch . read the directions for minor assembly. it works great. don't over load and food is crispy. I keep the lid open most of the time --use the exhaust fan in kitchen to vent steam and odors. I light a candle when finished to get rid of stubborn odors. I get my oil from Sams--restaurant grade--flash point 450. it lasts much longer than regular oil in stores. it also seperates flavors if you fry different foods in same oil. I went to dollar gen. store and got a metal mesh splatter guard. cut it to fit basket bottom--its like a filter to catch refuse --empty it after each use to get oil to last longer--BON APPETITE im so old most of my friends have passed away BUT im engaged to a 52 year old chick and I told her about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

What! Missing Parts

02/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were excited about our new fryer. Couldn't wait to get it home and try it out. Our surprise came when we found the small drip tray on the back under the lid was missing. We tore all packing material apart, but no part. Calling Preston they said it wasn't safe to use without it. It took 10 days to get the part.
The Wal Mart side of this experience was exceptionally good and would use store pick again in the future. The best part was it was already paid for so no lines.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Cool Daddy Fryer

01/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I don't think myself it compares the the Presto Big Daddy fryer from the old days but it is a nice fryer. Alot of steam comes from it so be careful!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Temp got to 425degrees plus!

01/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this for a Christmas gift and will not be keeping it. I have contacted Presto before I take it back to the store because this unit seems to be defective. At least I hope that is all. Otherwise, I would rate this with negative stars, because it is a fire hazard. No kidding. My food was burning so I took the temp of the oil and had to pull the thermometer out of the oil when it reached 425 because I didn't want to break my thermometer. I read other reviews that said it was at 360 when the light went out, and it could be. But it does't regulate. It just keeps getting hotter.
Otherwise, it was easy to clean because everything comes apart and I like the larger capacity in comparison to some of the other fryers - which is why I wanted a new one, to replace my older and smaller one that had quit working.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

excellent fryer

02/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rate this higher if I could -- it was inexpensive to buy-- we have made fish and donuts and all came out excellent -- its easier to use, not hot or dangerous - easy to clean up -- good value wit h excellent results - recommend this fryer highly!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Great value & easy to use

12/12/2013
By ,
Brandon FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a replacement for the same fryer we bought 6 years ago. It fries foods quickly, heats up in about 10 min. These are durable - as long as you take care of it. I never put the fryer pot in the dishwasher with the old one & don't need to with this one either. It's a snap to wipe clean after each use. I don't store oil in the fryer - I stain it into a separate container & wipe down the fryer pot. Also its impossible to not put the fryer pot back in correctly since the spring mechanism won't let you close the lid if its not in right. Almost fool proof. Excellent value for the money. We use it a couple times a week & its durable, and dependable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Love it! Love it

05/04/2012
By ,
Conley , Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought the Fry Daddy Elite to replace the old Fry Daddy and I just love it. It's much safer than the old Fry Daddy with the spatula.The Fry Daddy Elite has a drop basket , low odor filter, easier to clean, faster cook time. If want a good fryer and food that will make your mouth water buy the Fry Daddy Elite and you'll be happy too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Excellent...

02/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this product a couple of weeks ago and am very satisfied with it. Heats up fairly fast, cooks food in no time and clean up is a breeze. Size is great for our family of 3 and the design is very look-appealing.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Fast and fantastic

01/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this product very much. The product stays true to its name and although the outside does heat up greatly it is not enough to burn you. The oil heats up in about 10 minutes and you can cook usually half of whatever bag of frozen food you have whether it be French Fries or chicken tenders. It cooks everything to perfection and has a cool indicator light to tell you when the oil is done heating up. You can close the lid before you lower the food down into the deep fryer so you do not get burned by the hot oil. Since using this product I have not once even had a splatter of oil. The charcoal filter also does a great job of minimizing fumes from the fryer and any smell that exists usually goes away within 10 minutes. Very good fryer and beats old style frying in every way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Great product.

08/22/2012
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I normally don't bother with reviews, but decided I would start. I would love to give this product and excellent rating, with 5 stars, but I can't. I do however feel this is a wonderful product, am not a bit sorry that I bought it. Bought it to replace a Waring Pro fryer. Will recommend it to my family and friends. That being said, let me tell you what I don't like.
Cons:
1. This unit is NOT cool touch. In fact, it was quite warm to the touch and when I replace my counter tops will be sure and have something for it to sit on.
2. No timer. I wish that they had taken the time to build in a timer.
3. No temperature control. It is self regulating.
4. Directions tell you to load fryer basket outside of the unit. I don't much care for that as it is messy.
Pros:
1. EASY to clean. The oil pan is separate and pulls out easy.
2. BIG fry basket. Larger capacity than any of the others I looked at, in that price range. In fact, the large basket is why I bought it. I did a whole batch of home made potato chips in on session.
3. Locking cover with a usable size window. Was nice to see, a little bit, how the color was coming on the chips.
4. Secure power cord. I don't know why all of the fryers have gone to magnetic type power cords, sure it is some safety reason, but this unit's cord stays in contact very well.
5. Odor filter. The unit has a little replaceable charcoal filter that cuts down on odors.
I read a lot of reviews about several fryers before I bought this one. I didn't really need a new one, my Waring Pro is still working wonderfully. However, even though my old one had a bigger fryer basket than most. I was drawn to the big round basket of this unit, which holds a significant more amount of food, there fore I can usually get enough for my family out of one frying. Some of the reviews commented about the smell when they first used the unit. The owner's manual tells you to expect this. I heated it up, and there was a smell, from being new. But then after it came up to temperature I turned it off while I prepared the rest of the meal. When it was time to use it, I heated it back up and the smell was not there. I did have some oil spill over the first session, but that was my fault. I should have patted the potatoes dry first as they were a bit wet. And I did probably over load the basket a bit too. All in all, I am well pleased with the unit, with the price, and am glad I have it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Great fryer to use.

12/12/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This fryer is small enough to fit on the countertop without taking up too much room. It is simple and easy to use. Fries come out perfect time after time. No more grease spills to clean up. All the splatters stay inside. I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

You Go Cool Daddy Elite!!!

12/18/2013
By ,
Missoula, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best purchase I have made in years for the Kitchen! In just 3 minutes I deep fried a batter coated country style steak with out oil spattered all over my flat top stove and counter as with an iron skillet . The viewing window is a perfect way to view what's frying and when it is golden brown and ready to be plated. The basket though shallow fried both sides perfectly with out turning. Plug it in and wait for the light to go out and you are frying. Clean up was to easy with just a paper towel and spray on cleaner for the inside of the lid which is removable. I used just 32 ounces of peanut oil to fill the oil container to the max oil line. Do carefully read the instructions carefully before first using. I would recommend this fryer to anyone....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Does the job safely and deliciously

05/05/2012
By ,
Bend, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 88yo father-in-law is addicted to deep fried foods. The problem was that he would try to deep fry them himself. At 88, I don't fret with him any more about the health issues. Any of you with an 88yo father-in-law in your home know the danger of someone walking away from what they were doing, completely forgetting something on the stove. There is also the issue of not believing in any temperature but "Hi".
This fryer regulates temperature automatically. There is no control, but I haven't had a problem with anything not cooking properly. It has also cut down dramatically on the amount of oil that got splashed and dripped during stove top frying.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
buena vista
presto cool daddy
Posted 05/14/2012
great product makes great tasting food easy cleanup im inpressed
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Great deep fryer

03/04/2012
By ,
Grafton, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a nice, easy to clean deep fryer to replace my older, hard to clean deep fryer.
This is a great deep fryer!
Easy to use- easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
United States
deep fryer usage
Posted 06/20/2013
this a non removable basket type if you want a removable one get the pro model.this works well but still not a true deep fryer because the heating comes from underneath the unit which will burn any thing on the bottom to avoid this you need one that has a submersible heating element thus heating the oil and not burning the crumbs on the bottom of the unit.over all great fryer but if you made one this small with the heating element would sell a million i believe.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

THE BEST

01/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was replacing an older model of this same frier. This one is SO much better. Only 1 temp, but cooks so much faster and makes the fries so crispy. Smoother sides, so makes it so much easier to clean that the older model. Would recommend to everyone looking for a good inexpensive frier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Good product

06/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product is just what I was looking for. I really like the fact that the lid prevents oil splatter everywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

coolest daddy

01/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to get started fried some chicken and was done in no time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Nice Fryer

01/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would be better if there were a thermostat. Next time I buy the product will have one.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Presto 6-Cup CoolDaddy Elite Deep Fryer

Love it

01/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it so I bought another one as a gift for a friend
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next