Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Minn Kota Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Minn Kota Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

The Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor is a motor you can count on whether you are spending a day at the lake or fishing in swamplands. Known for its 42" indestructible composite shaft, the Minn Kota Trolling Motor is ultra-tough with a marine-grade anodized aluminum spine and an impact-resistant composite head. This 12 volt trolling motor is equipped with a latch and door mounting system, 5 speeds for optimal comfort and a power prop. The Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor also comes with an easy-to-read directional indicator displayed on top of the motor and has a 2-year warranty, making it a reliable and sound investment for any avid or amateur fisherman.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%28 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Very satisfied

09/22/2014
By ,
40422
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace the ugly one I had on my 1977 Cobra Phantom after I restored it. This unit works great, is VERY quiet except on speed 5 where there is a slight hum but that is to be expected. Has two mounting patterns that allow you to mount this new unit where an older Minn Kota unit that used the small pattern was mounted.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Sturdy Trolling Motor with Power

08/10/2013
By ,
Blairsville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because the boat I bought didn't have one and I knew I was going to have to build a mount and figure a way to make it work. The mount is now installed and so is the trolling motor. Took it out this morning for a test run. The Minn Kota worked excellently. Quiet yet strong and responsive. I wish I had a photo to show but don't have one yet. The photo I have shows where I had to build a mount for the motor to install. Not like the normal bass boat. It operated great without having to make a lot of changes in the boat itself. It has enough weight to be positive in its movements. I really, really like this unit.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

worth it and would recommend

10/20/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing that is of concern to me now that I purchased the "Edge" is the size of the footpedal. On a previous Minnkota I owned it had a smaller footpedal and the turns to the right and left were automatic, not cable. Despite that difference I still am glad I purchased this unit and would recommend to any fisherman to purchase it. I also wanted to purchase a 55 pound thrust initially but could not afford that particular model at the time. No worries though; the 45 pound thrust Edge is doing a fantastic job and I am very happy with the speed and happy I got this model! It moves my 15' Lowe with console and 40 horse merc just fine. Definitely would recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Works great for the money

09/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this in a lake, if you have current you probably need something a little bigger. But still good for the money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Good for the money

04/08/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the money there is nothing better on the market. Good for my little 16ft lowe with 25 hpr johnson. If I had a bigger boat I would definitely bump up to the 50lbs thrust. Design flaw is that at its shallowest depth setting, it can not be retracted from the water to the mount. Caught me off gaurd while trying to load up the first time. Damaged the little pop-up cradle (made of plastic) and then it would not retract all the way after I dropped the motor down. Had to reach down and cut off the damaged piece with a pocket knife to get the trolling motor in the boat. Could not drop because floating over the trailer at this point. During this fiasco, boat floats around and taps a rock. Damage is minor but still ticks me off. The design should allow for retraction at any dept setting.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Cannot beat this motor for the money!!

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent motor for the money. Very easy to install. I have an 18' Procraft Bass Boat and this moves it around with no problem at all. Save yourself the time, I checked around with about 10 different dealers and Walmart has the best price on this motor hands down!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Good discount trolling motor.

04/21/2012
By ,
Goodyear, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a good discount trolling motor. It was a replacement to an old mororguide that was falling apart.. Doesn't seem to have the same thrust as the 44 motorguide, but it moves the boat around.. The downfall is the indicator dosn't light up for ease of use at night and it stopped working the second time on the water. I was able to have it replaced under warrenty. Overall decent motor for the price. I wish I would have paid the extra money and got the 55#..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Clarita Ca.
Great trolling motor
Posted 03/08/2013
I have a 16 foot Lowe bass boat this motor pulls it around great on 2 setting. It took about a half hour to install it and it came with the mounting screws. I love it. Great price Great motor.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Great Product

04/08/2012
By ,
North Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this over Motorguide & am very pleased. Quiet,powerful & has the continuous on switch which Motorguide doesn't. Love the secure store feature & composite shaft guranteed for life.
A great trolling motor,$30 lower in price than any other retailer & ONLY .97 cents shipping which saved me another $20.
You just can't beat Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Great on my 16ft alum boat

09/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moves the boat fine..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Very good product for the money

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for the money spent on it...cheaper than the large outdoor retailers prices...wish the cord to connect from the foot pedal to battery was longer though.oh well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Motor works well,easy mounting price was great DJK

04/12/2014
By ,
Seneca SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this motor to replace a old one, the mounting went fine about a half hour the power is better too and the price was great the only difference I could find is the shaft length Wal-Mart's is 42 inch. all others I viewed were 45, might make a difference on some boats. Rated for boats up to 18 feet ...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Good unit

08/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Moves my 16 Lund fine
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Good motor, beware prop pictured not in the box

08/21/2013
By ,
Wyoming, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Motor was an exact replacement for my boat and does a good job. Beware tho, the pictured prop is not the prop you get. And when you call about it, it is not even available for this model motor so Walmart needs to change the picture to not show a power prop.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Works as Advertised, Seems Tough

06/21/2013
By ,
Twin City, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't had it long, but the Edge seems well-made and tough. The foot-operated controller is very easy to operate compared to my 20-year-old Minn Kota. If you are looking for a no-frills bow-mounted trolling motor, I would definitely recommend giving this one a look.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

great trollingmotor and great price

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got installed and fished ten hours and worked great, and at a Wal-Mart great price. I give a five star.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Shipping was right on time.Product in great shape.

03/07/2014
By ,
Orangeburg S.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Happy with my trolling motor and the price was great. Thank you Walmart. ( Take A Child Fishing. )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Great trolling motor

04/26/2012
By ,
Bainbridge, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This trolling motor is great. I would highly recommend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor

Great Trolling Motor for the price

01/23/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I haven't been able to use my new minnkota trolling motor yet, however, it was very user friendly to install and looks great on my boat. I'm excited to try it out as I had a 35 lb minnkota originally. Thank you for the great price and even better service Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor
08/23/2013
By ,
canton,ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been using this trolling motor in some very weedy waters and it has been doing well. Going to try a different prop to see if it will help to pull my boat better in clean water. But over all out of the box ready to mount on your boat and GO FISH!!! 1 down side it does not come with a rubber backing plate for the mounting carriage. Makes your motor strap almost useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Minn Kota EDGE 45-42 Bow Mount Trolling Motor
09/11/2013
By ,
Vicksburg, ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install, replaced an older Motorguide. Has plenty of power for my 16 foot Express. Only complaint, it didn't come with the weedless propeller shown. Seems to be a good value.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next