Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hummingbird Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Hummingbird Humminbird Fishfinder 561

The Humminbird Fishfinder 561 features a five-inch screen so you won't miss a thing beneath your boat. The easy-to-use menu system lets you quickly adjust key settings and spend more time fishing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.19 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%19 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
40 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

The best value for the money

04/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked at a lot of different makes and models, and for the money the 561 does everything I need it too. The only problem I had was, I was replacing both of my fishfinders on my Bass Boat so I ordered two. One of them would always show I was 2' of water, so I wanted to return it but couldn't because I didn't have all the parts to return(installed power and transducer wires and wasn't going to tear my boat apart to return the unit) so I had to purchase another unit and use the parts from that one the return the bad one or would have given it 5 stars. If you purchase the 561 don't just use the default settings, read the instructions and get into the advanced settings. They're not that complicated.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Good inexpensive Fishfinder

04/07/2014
By ,
Wernersville, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this Fishfinder to use as a second one on my boat .Wallmart had great price on it. Product shipped faster than expected. Easy to install. Had A instructional DVD and A book, even a quick guide. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Great low cost fishfinder

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to install, easy to operate, good sized display for the cost. I replaced a previous unit on my small fishing boat and the installation took about an hour. Unit comes with transom mount transducer that also reads water temp. I would recommend this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Decent for the money

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not to bad a finder and does just what it says.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

didn't work out of box

07/22/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The fish finder did not work right out of the package. The fish finder would give water temperature but would not provide depth. I am currently working with Hummingbird to remedy. Problem is that you need to be on the water while working with Hummingbird to run diagnostics over the phone. This is very inconvenient. I am hoping for the best... but not holding my breath.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Great Fish finder.

03/06/2014
By ,
Westmoreland, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only got to use it once so far but I love it all ready. Keeps up depth at high speed. Great product for the price. Only complaint that I have is the operators manual is on cd.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

great fishfinder at a moderate cost

07/23/2013
By ,
kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read several reviews before buying this fishfinder. I found it easy to install, and as well use.
I just have a 14' fishing boat and wanted something economical yet with dual beam.
I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Good fishfinder

07/25/2014
By ,
rockport tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the 561 to replace my Hummingbird 521 and it worked very well on the water. However when I plugged my 521 back in just to check, it started working again. I returned the 561 to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Humminbird Fishfinder:

05/19/2014
By ,
Hawkins, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Real good product for the price. Easy to mount and to operate. Instructions were good....better than most items like this. Recommend to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Very good fishfinder for the money.

08/08/2013
By ,
Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Lowrance Elite 5 DSI at the console and this 561 on the bow. The 561 shows nearly as much as the Elite 5. The detail is amazing for a sub $150 unit. Would recommend to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561
04/22/2013
By ,
fridley, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a great value and a great fish finder. I check other stores and you had the best price. Thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

great depth finder/locator for the price

06/26/2014
By ,
moore ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd one I've owned. 1st one stolen. never had any problems with either one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

instaled and used once so far so good

05/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
lives up to my expectation
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Great Product!

01/24/2013
By ,
Burleson,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use the split screen 83/200khz. Everything you see on the 200 khz screen is really there. The 83khz shows a lot of clutter. I am really happy with this unit especially for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561
08/29/2013
By ,
Joplin, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hummingbird fishfinder is will worth the money.
A bet hard to get use to using the menue
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

CAREFUL WITH THE TRANSDUCER MOUNTING !!!

04/28/2014
By ,
Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, ditch the long stainless bolt that is used on the transducer pivot.
I had read elswhere of this issue and I "tried" to prethread the nylok nut onto the supplied bolt.
Glad I did.
This averted a NIGHTMARE from happening.
The bolt and the nylok are of incompatible threads.
Save yourself some time and headache, it just doesn't work.
I put the allen wrench in my vise and "tried" to tighten the nut onto the bolt...wouldn't thread properly and locked onto the bolt stripping the allen head on the bolt and also seizing the wrench into the bolt head as well.
I had some stainless hardware on hand, which all boaters should have, so it was a non-issue
for me.
Had I tried to tighten it on the mount itself, it would have destroyed the transducer mounting bracket.
The transducer bracket is "fixed" meaning no "pop up" feature to avoid possible damage.
As far as the unit itself, the screen is high gloss and shows LOTS of glare.
Comes in handy as a mirror though, looking into some anti-glare film for this issue.
The display is very dark.
It has no backlighting to assist in daytime use.
The lighting it has is from above and below for night time use only.
LOTS of herky jerky digitizing in the scrolling, not smooth at all.
Have yet to use it on the water, so I hope it performs, I can read the screen, find some fish and some structure and have some fishing fun !!!
Not sure yet if this is "recommended" when an LED backlit screen is so close in price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Dad

05/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks good so far not installed yet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Humminbird Fishfinder 561

Item is as described

01/06/2014
By ,
Southern Kentucky
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Item shipped faster than anticipated
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Humminbird Fishfinder 561
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5