Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit was designed with families in mind and offers the easiest, most affordable way to enjoy high-quality post-paid service. Every line of this T Mobile Starter Kit has unlimited talk and text, so customers can be assured of no surprise overages when they receive their bill each month. The first line of service on the Walmart T Mobile Family Plan is just $45 per month and each additional line is only $35 per month. Get all the benefits of today's modern cell phone technology at an affordable price when you get the T Mobile Activation Kit. Text, email, social media, web browsing and more, it's all yours on the Walmart Activation Kit plan.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
10
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation77%50 out of 65reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
10
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

GREATEST Cell Plan EVER!!!!

12/05/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had a cell since 16 yrs old (I'm 30 now# with Sprint, Alltel, US Cellular, & T-Mobile. Always had issues with auto systems, or people at call ceters out of country, messed up billing, surprise charges, mistaken suspentions with crazy re-activation fees....it was INSANE!!!!
Then wandering around Wal-Mart electronics, my husband and I about 2 yrs ago now, found a Family Mobile kiosk....sounded way to good to be true...but hey what's another cell company at this point, right?!?!?! We went for it....and OMG they dont lie!!!! No hidden fees, no roaming, no signal issues, same bill every month for a year and a half #changed recently because we now have 3 lines instead of 2# & we are ALL running brand new androids #from T-Mobile# on our plan with NO ISSUES and no crazy extra data plans!!! We have the nationwide unlimited talk, txt and web plan for all 3 lines and my bill has never been over $120 #with tax included).
I only pray that Wal-Mart NEVER discontinues this!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+80points
Review 2 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Very let down by this service

12/11/2012
By ,
Dunkirk NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Right off they could not transfer my old number from Verizon and they do offer keeping your same number- but do not count on that at all.
So the next thing that actually made me laugh was that it would not get reception inside my Walmart store... (my verizion phone had no problem with that). So no comparing prices online while shopping and that was one of the reason I got this plan.
The web service is so slow it makes me want to run over my phone... it would be faster to drive home and log onto my computer than try and get online with this service.
The phone is always going dead.... not a very good battery life at all. I chose the Samsung Dart and it is always unpredictable. Sometimes it will just shut off and I have to remove the battery, and wait for like 10 minutes and see if I get lucky and it comes back on.
Overall, if I had the forsight, I would not have given up my voice only calling plan with Verizon for this low quality service.
The price is right... if only the service matched it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 3 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Awesome value! Best choice for Baltimore area

11/16/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Coverage is a little weaker than my previous carrier, but I have had no problems in Maryland. Wife and I purchased two unlocked win phones to use with this service. Both are fully compatible with Family Mobile. Just had to set them up properly - found instructions on internet. We previously had the nations largest carrier and were nervous about switching, but NO regrets. Now with the unlimited Family Mobile plan, we can use our music pass to download alsmost any song we want no matter where we are without paying extra. Also we can pull word or excel files onto the phone, edit them, and email them, which is nice when I travel around the state for work. So far no problems with reception. The win 7 phones coupled with the Family Mobile service is an incredible combination!!! The phones are like a mini PC and with the unlimited Family Mobile service, the sky is the limit with what you can do.
NOTE: Walmart's site indicates the sim card is "standard" size. Just to clarify, this is a mini-sim card, so most unlocked GSM phones out there are compatible.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

I Love Walmart Familiy Mobile

02/17/2013
By ,
Virginia Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm not afraid to be negative in my reviews, but I can't on this one. I order two Activation Kits online to save $10 in each kit, but they took one week to be ready for pick up.
Once I get them, open the box: the instructions inside are so clear that you will not have any problem. I called the number inside and in a few minutes I created an account and had my old numbers transferred to this Walmart Family Mobile. Within a hour or so, my old SIM card was OFF and the new SIM card from Walmart was already ringing. Then the only managing of you account is GREAT!!! You can monitor all your Walmart Mobiles in one account and even impose limits, like limiting text, voice or data for you kids. Web data is included and unlimited, but the first 1GB is 3G speed and then the speeds go down to 2G. But I can tell you that 2G is more than enough to have you email up to date, using your map in a emergency.
This is a post-payed service, meaning: use first pay later. I will see the surprises I will have on my bill. The ads says that I'll pay $40/month for the first one and $35/month for the second one. Will see.
No contract. I'm free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 5 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Happy long term customer

06/08/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had 2 lines for over a year now. So I got plenty of experience and time to rate this product.
Before I switched to Family Mobile, I was very hesitant as it sounded too good to be true. I did my homework and researched all the different plans and prices from all main providers and decided to go with Family Mobile.
I was sick and tired of paying about $140 a month for calls, text, and data for 2 lines. Just wanted good service and not as expensive. Even though there are smaller providers with cheap plans, the problem is that it was just local and I needed a provider that worked at national level and didn't want to have to worry about roaming fees.
It's been great so far, I really have no complaints at all. The coverage is great and it really has unlimited national calls and texting. No roaming fees either.
I also use the Extras Pack quite a lot to access the internet on my phone and even to make international calls. The charges are very accurate for both internet access and international calls. By the way, the quality of the international calls is very good.
So, yes, Family Mobile really is as good as it sounds and I hope more families can benefit as well and save $$$, specially during these times.
Cheers!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+291points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beaumont, TX
Follow up Question
Posted 03/11/2013
Your review stated that you used the Extra Pack for internet access on your phone. Doesn't the plan include unlimited data as well? Also, which phone do you have and are you satisfied with it? Thanks for your help.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Best Service!! A++x2^

03/07/2012
By ,
Superior, WI 1447
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my father to transfer his AT&T number to Family Mobile. He was complaining about how much he paid for their service. So I talked to him about Family Mobile, since I have 5 lines on my account and 2 lines on my wife's account. The service coverage is really good around here. The service coverage is in the middle of Pre-paid and contract coverage. So its like flex-pay coverage.. Layamons terms - only 3g coverage. While pre-paid and contract uses 4g coverage. It is still not bad for a person to pay $45 + tax for unlimited talk, txt and web on a more reliable service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+136points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Raleigh, NC
Posted 04/30/2013
You can get 4g service with 4g phones.
0points
Customer Avatar
la quinta
tmobile family plan
Posted 05/02/2012
this is the best economical plan ,and they have been giving us free web
i recommend it to everyone
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Bad Experience X2 Now

11/22/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had T-mobile years ago, who runs this and it was a diaster. So when I went to Walmart and the assoiciate was great, she even called to make sure we could use the phone I had, they said YEs no problem. I purchase and activate the SIM card, get home wait, wait, wait about 4 hours and it still had not changed over so I called. A man, who did not speak english, told me it could take up to 24 hours or longer, and so just to make sure I ask again could it be the phone. He ask what it was I told him, he said No problem. Ok hang, up and decided to go onto their website and look around. Found out that the phone that we had ask about twice can not be used on their service. Now get this it is a T-mobile phone that will not work on their service. Now I am returning the SIM card and have to stand in line probably on Black Friday because they don't know what they are talking about.
Never again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+18points
Review 8 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Features that should work are not included!

04/09/2013
By ,
Minnesota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you are a T-Mobile Regular customer you will be very upset to find some basic features do not work on this plan. First, you can't do contests (you know where you text in 12456 keyword "WIN") - not allowed. For me, I am a "power user" and need Good Mobile Messaging that works with my Outlook server at work. Can't do it. Not allowed. So if you have a connection with your phone to work email or something that has a server based you won't be able to. Let's see the other feature I had that I can't use - wireless calling if I am at home and the 4G connection in the house is very very very bad- inbound calls and voicemail do not work. These all worked on my old plan. Well because I travel for work I will not be renewing next month. It's not really called out anywhere in their ads so just saying as an FYI to those who use features like this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas
I AGREE:Walmart Family Mobile powered by TMobile
Posted 09/05/2013
Have you found non prepaid plan that we can move our phones to?? I bought the LG Optimus 9 in July, 2013 and I am ready to move to get these features back. I don't really care about contests, but my facebook verifications, my debit card banking anytime alerts, and my Redbox alerts are the ones I was using all along and even on Straight Talk. I am also disappointed that I can't use the wireless for calls or texts from home in an emergency. I haven't tested the 4G outside of my city, Las Vegas, so I am worried about that. I have 2.5 gig data at 4g then it goes to 2G. But I am wondering whether the phone will work at 3 or 2G if we are out of range of 4G network coverage..
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Works great, so much cheaper than big companies!

01/01/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy, no problems with service or dropped calls or anything. Half the price of most other everything p,ans out there. Bought my own unlocked smartphone, no issues!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 10 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Best value for the money

01/10/2013
By ,
Sumter, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was getting gouged by T-mobile for the last 2 years, bill kept creeping up every month for some unexplained reason so I decided to go with the family mobile plan. So far, I have no complaints. I like the flexibility of the GSM network and I unlimited everything (and yes, i know internet it slows down after a certain point). My kids like the phones that come with it and for the money you can not beat it. My bill dropped 100 dollars per month! Best thing is, if something better comes along I am not tied to a contract.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 11 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Worked Well With My Iphone's

04/12/2013
By ,
Mendon Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been with ATT for 2 years paying almost $150.00/month. Got 2 of these kits after my contract was up with ATT. I went online to activate them and everything worked good but the site said I could not port my old phone numbers? After a short call under 5 minutes (Thank You Jesus) to WFM support the numbers were ported within a few hours. Now I almost cut my bill in half.
I also live out in the boondocks in southern Michigan and still get 3 bars most of the time.
The phones I used were iPhones 3GS's. Everything went fine just takes a little time to manually put in the settings for MMS etc... Had no issues though. My phones were also unlocked through ATT ahead of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 12 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Seriously Flawed Customer Service

09/30/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had a problem with our discount not being applied for a phone we bought in January. It is 9 months later and the issue still isn't fixed. My husband calls monthly, and is repeatedly reassured the discount will be applied "next month". He has to give the same information over and over. The wait time to even get a rep is 20 min- 1 hour, as they are always "experiencing a high call volume", day and night! Then he explains everything, and gets the same reassurance, even when transferred to higher ups.
One month, I tried to use my bank bill pay service that I typically use for everything. The money was taken from our account and appeared to be transferred to Family Mobile. The nightmare then ensued. Our service was cut off, because we "didn't pay our bill". We had to make daily phone calls as they tried to "track down the money". I faxed our proof of check, at their wishes, THREE TIMES!! The store I faxed it from let me fax one for free, because they felt so sorry for me. We spent hours on the phone with reps. Finally, we got a return check in the mail, from Family Mobile, dated two weeks before. The last two weeks of phone calls were meaningless! They should have had that in their records.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Family Mobile could care less about your issues

01/02/2013
By ,
Sandbridge, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware: Family Mobile customer service is horrible. I've been a customer for two years. I tried to activate a new additional line and they said there was a "system issue" and I had to get a THIRD activation kit from the store. A manager refused to get on the phone to explain why it would take up to three days to fix the issue. Would other services take days to activate a phone?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 14 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

We have used this service over a year now

12/27/2012
By ,
Ringgold, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I have used Walmart Family Mobile for close to a year now. We love this service!!!! It picks up great in our area and we enjoy being able to use any phone we choose that takes a SIM card. We just bought our son a phone for Christmas and will be adding him to our plan!!! For us financially you can't beat the price with the service!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 15 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Good phone ,,,, not great phone

04/26/2013
By ,
Ephrata, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Samsung Galaxy SII is a good phone, but it's the T-Mobile Family Plan that makes this package work for me. Bought the additional 3 Gb data package for a total of 4 Gb at $60 per month. I can stream Aha RadioThe apps are very good, the bloatware is there but not overwhelming, the screen is very good, the battery will give me about a day of use with moderately heavy use on Wi-fi. The 4G is reliable when I leave my wi-fi spots at work and home. Has more features than I expected. Very happy with this package from Walmart. Thinking of buying another phone for my sweetie so she can keep track of my whereabouts. DOH?
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

*AWESOME!!*

02/01/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My family and I had Tmobile, and spent so much money! every 2 yrs when I would renew with them they made me feel like I was getting a deal! HA! NOT! Finally I was tired of having limited service for a high price and changed to Family Mobile and it has been great! It is a lot cheaper! And most importantly their service is dependable!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Great Service, Great Product

10/27/2012
By ,
Brilliant, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I switched to Family Mobile several months ago, and LOVE the service! It is truly UNLIMITED everything for the same low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 18 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Service Area

03/23/2013
By ,
Exchange,WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The coverage map needs to be detailed. It sure looked like I would be able to save money by using this service; but no, only 10m miles between service access from my home. Call customer service before trying to use this service to make sure you have coverage if you live in the country.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Review 19 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

So far so Good

02/06/2013
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the WM Family Mobile plan over 4 months now and I have had a very good experience with them so far.
I used to be with Boost but since they did away with their SIM card phones, I figured this was a good time to switch. I have found that the service is better than boost and the customer service is also much better than I previously had with Boost. We've did some traveling from SC to PA and don't recall having any signal issues during the whole trip including our destination being in the country.
Pros: Price, coverage, customer service.
Cons: I haven’t found any yet.
Overall, I would recommend this to friends and family, so much so, I have signed on my wife and family members as well.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Walmart Family Mobile Starter Kit

Family Plan "catch"

06/05/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is NOT in the fine print... All numbers in the Family Plan MUST have the same Area Codes! Why? In today's global society, it would be rare that all members of a family have the same area code! Why is this a t-mobile requirement?
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas : )
This is not a 'catch'...
Posted 08/31/2013
I have AT&T.. I live in Texas... the main phone line on my plan is in Utah... guess what? I live in Texas and have a Utah area code... this is not specific to this plan... this is, apparently, the way it is.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next