Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kryptonite Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Kryptonite Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Keep your bicycle protected when you are not around with this KC890 HD Kryptonite chain lock. This Kryptonite bike lock is a high-performance chain model that features a strong, solid steel lock head to give you greater protection against attacks than with 8mm chain links. The nylon webbing on this bike lock chain helps to protect your bike from unsightly scratches. The Kryptonite chain lock, model KC890 HD, has a 3-foot length with an anti-pick feature for added protection. There is also a key-safe program that allows you to register your key code online.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation70%14 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Very intimidating lock

10/19/2012
By ,
Long Beach, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honestly for $17 (Plus Tax) you can't go wrong. If you're looking for a heavy duty chain lock thats strong, reliable, well made, but don't have the money for a $30-$90 lock then look no further. Considering Kryptonite (Top of the line manufacture of bicycle locks known for its amazingly strong locks) made this lock i was expecting it to be more than $30 or $40. I just bought this a week ago and honestly if i were a bike thief and saw this lock on the bike i wanted to steal i wouldn't even waste my time, This lock looks very intimidating and it should be. Some people might say its a bit heavy (5lbs) But don't expect a heavy duty bicycle lock to weigh less than 5 lbs. Talk about bang for your buck!
-This lock comes with 2 keys, which you can register at Kryptonite.com and get 2 free replacement keys if you ever lose your first set.
- The owners manual comes with helpful tips on how to properly lock your bicycle up. READ THEM.
Overall you can't beat this price. Buy it and you'll thank me later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Very heavy, but AWESOME quality

09/25/2012
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a sweet bike lock for $20 bones. Its so easy to lock my bike to literally anything i find in a parking lot. you cant do that with a U-lock. This lock is super high quality, the fabric material covering the look feels and looks nice. The inside out key is awesome. It feels solid and its easy to throw around my neck or arm if im going for a commute under 5 miles.
Assuming you don't know some of the different advantages and disadvantages of a big chain lock, heres mine
Pros:
-Easier to lock bike to trees, signs, poles, ect than a U-lock
-Stronger than a cord lock
-U-lock style inside out key
-Can wear around your neck while riding/wrap around your frame
Cons:
-Not as strong as U-lock (but still pretty darn strong)
-Heaviest out of all locks
-The lock part is made out of tough plastic, could possibly be smashed with a sledge hammer
the only not desirable thing about this lock is the weight. VERY heavy, be prepared to throw it around your neck or bring a backpack with you. But AMAZING for $20 bucks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Gone n 60S ecomds

10/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fantastic lock for the price... used it on a motorized bicycle I built. You could see where someone had tried to cut the lock but I had much success. Unfortunately round two involved what my best guess was a cordless grinder (probably also available at Walmart) to jack my ride. Success not so great... I just ordered another lock & bike.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Great chain for its price

10/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lock chain is heavy and looks resilient, which is important to avoid potential thieves from attempting to break it .
Lock is not wonderful though, the key works but it doesn´t unlock easily, you have to pull it.. it´s a bit odd, so not sure how secure it is, I guess we´ll have to wait and see!
But for the price, definitely worth it, specially for us that cannot carry a U-lock around in our bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Medium security, good price

08/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kryptonite (and OnGuard) is the biggest bike lock brand in the US. Item of this quality usually costs double as much. The reason for the cheap price isn't cheap quality, but because Kryptonite appears to make this specifically for Walmart, a high volume retailer. Avoid unknown brands because they could be made of low quality metal, or the lock and key mechanism would get stuck after a while.
However, it doesn't mean this is the best way to secure your bike. It's more secured than the cable lock (which can be cut easily), and not as secured as the U-lock. A U-lock of the same price has 15mm steel diameter, while this chain only has 8mm. Since the steel is made of carbon alloy, it would take very long to saw through, and would require significant effort with a huge bolt cutter to cut through. Knowing this, the most important tip to remember is to keep the chain as high as possible off the ground so that the thief would have to use 2 hands to press the bolt cutter, rather than placing one side of the cutter on the ground and use his/her entire weight on the other side.
So why didn't I buy the U-lock? Because where I usually park the bike I couldn't hook up the U-lock to anything. The 3 feet chain gives me more options, like to a tree or a post. If where you park always has a bike rack or anything else that can fit the U-lock, then by all means get the U-lock instead.
Kryptonite has a warranty for the lock, but not for a stolen bike. In the packaging, it clearly states that the chain is for "convenience deterrence against theft" only, not for serious security.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Great Bike Security

06/24/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You can't beat the price on this Kryptonite Chain Lock! Most comparable Kryptonite Chain Locks are around $100 from other popular online stores. The reason they are so pricey is because they are the best chain locks available. This model is very high quality, VERY Strong and just about perfect, especially considering the price. The length of it is perfect, any longer just adds more weight you have to carry while riding your bike around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

The lock itself is very nice

09/11/2014
By ,
Miami, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The white writing/design is the worst. It's flaking off all over everything.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

missing key

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The key was missing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Very helpful and at the same time fashionable

09/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently bought this product in Walmart, it is still in good shape and works perfectly. I loved this chain because it is light, small, and also fashionable (good looking). In overall, it was a good purchase
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

good product, good price

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
An excellent deal and fast shipping. Would recommend to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Keys didn't work

08/11/2014
By ,
Boston
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The chain lock did not open with the keys provided. For the price of it, I won't loose my time going to the post office to send it back for replacement or drive all the way to Walmart. The lock went straight to the Trash
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Heavy duty

08/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a big heavy duty lock. lots of metal for the price. looks good around my girlfriend's waist which is how we carry it while biking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Great price, great product.

12/11/2012
By ,
SF Bay Area , CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was as described, arrived way before the expected date (which is usual for Walmart I have to say).
The lock is not too heavy and does the job perfectly. I do use it as a complementary lock with a U lock as well.
For the price it is definitely a great Lock and you can register your Key Lock online since it's a Kryptonite lock.
Definitely would recommend.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Bike Lasted less than 24 hours

08/30/2013
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this, locked my bike with this AND a steel cable thru the wheels.
Next morning, bike is gone.
Apparently it is easy to pick or cut.
I thought I would be safe with this brand's reputation....I was wrong.
If you value your bike, do not buy this lock....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville Fl.
lol
Posted 09/26/2013
I think your bike was gone regardless of the lock, this AND a steel cable? If some wants your bike bad enough... It's gone. :(
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Heavyduty lock

05/19/2013
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The lock is heavy duty. It is easy to use, opens and locks pretty easily. The only small negative point is the length is little short perhaps this is to keep the weight in check since it is made of real steel and is heavy.
Overall very good product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

This Lock Lasted 1 Week Before My Bike Was Stolen

06/24/2013
By ,
Silver Spring, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this lock nine days ago at Walmart and began using it two days later to lock up an old-model Schwinn in the basement parking lot of my building (which supposedly has security). This morning, I found the broken lock on the ground near the bike rack.
Using this Kryptonite KC890 lock is about as secure as tying up your bike with a string of toilet paper.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock
05/06/2012
By ,
NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not long enough to lock bike to post that that is thick in width
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/29/2013
This review isn't of the bike lock, it is of the post you put your bike on. Please only leave viable information in the future for other buyers, and don't bring down the ratings on a good product.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock
10/30/2012
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
really great for the price and toughness. Great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

Not happy

11/19/2012
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This lock was to be a birthday present for my son along with the helmet that was purchased at the same time...how sad when both products took longer than expected to get here and the lock does not work. We have to take it to a local Roseburg store to exchange. Not happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite KC890 HD Chain Lock

WAY too big

11/20/2012
By ,
orange
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
i was looking for a standard lock for a kids bike this was EXTREMLY heavy and way too big for a kids bike
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next