Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for General Electric GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

General Electric GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Enjoy a more comfortable home with the GE 65-pint dehumidifier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation79%48 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
40
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Great product for our needs

08/30/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this on clearance to place in our unfinished basement. It has worked very well. It has a fan that is pretty powerful (I read another review about the fan being too loud, this isn't a quiet fan, but its part of getting the results so I don't mind). I've yet to hook it up to the sump pump for continuous results however it beeps when the bucket is full which is nice heads up to empty. I'd buy it again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 2 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

ADEW65 did not last 2 years

09/22/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this unit late September 2010. Worked great until recently. Coil inside is partially freezing (lower portion only) which indicates low refrigerant level. I noticed this by the crackling noises it starting making over the last month or two. It never did this before (even my wife was concerned about the new noise it was making). There has also been a drastic reduction in the amount of water in the bucket. It only has a one year warranty (some other manufacturers offer a longer warranty on the sealed system, not this one). Purchased for $224 and only got 2 years out of it (not good !!!!). Going to have to buy a new dehumidifier as the cost to repair these units is excessive (based on my previous experience). Dehumidifiers do not have a long life span (usually no more than 8 years under seasonal use), but it should last longer than 2 years. I saw another review on this site that indicated failure after 2 years. Now looking at another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

short lifespan

07/09/2012
By ,
Philadelphia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I previously owned this model and while it worked, it worked beautifully. But it only lasted 2 years before the compressor gave out, which seems to be longer than average if the reviews I've read elsewhere are to be believed. Sadly, this seems to be the norm for these products now. I had another GE dehumidifier that lasted around 20 years, so I know that they are capable of building a quality product. I would gladly spend twice as much money for a QUALITY alternative. Unfortunately, I have not been able to find one that costs less than $1200. Business opportunity anyone?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+21points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
Short lifespan as well
Posted 06/25/2013
When this unit works, it works well. However, I've had to replace it every 2 years, as the previous post suggests, over the past 10 years. At over $200 a pop, this is an expensive replacement. The unit runs, and you can hear the compressor kick on, but no water is draining. I'm a little tired of having to replace this every two years. Like I said, great when it works, just doesn't work that long.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Quality GE Energy Star Dehumidifier + great price

06/14/2012
By ,
Massapequa, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dehumidifier is very quiet, powerful and efficient with many different setting options. It also allows me to connect a hose to it that leads to my automatic pump. This way I never have to dump the water from the dehumidifier by hand. I am very pleased with this product and will recommend it to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 5 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Wonderful GE Product

05/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got the unit home, pulled it out of the box, plugged it in and set the humidity to 55% and waited....24 hours later we had a FULL bucket of water and the air felt so much better! This is a fantastic unit and we would highly recommend it, especially for high humidity areas, like in the North Georgia Mountains. Air feels & smells better in the area we are using this wonderful GE product.
+35points
Review 6 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Works well, maybe a little too much plastic

09/23/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Draws a lot of water out of the air in our basement--will easily fill its large container in a day, which has a floater for ease of judging water level. But best to use the built-in, standard size drain hose connector if you can. Has all the features you will need, and fan shuts right off shortly after humidity level is reached, which is not the case on all brands. Somewhat noisy when running but you get used to it. More hard plastic than my previous model, which makes me think some parts might be prone to breaking in the long run. Still, probably the best overall model on the market right now, and ranked highly by Consumer Reports.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Review 7 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ
04/29/2012
By ,
Fishers, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this over from the website. It arrived on a timely basis. I set it up and thought that it was extremely noisy. I had hooked a hose for draining and it did not work well. When I went to empty the bucket I noticed a crack on the inside where in the bucket slides into the unit. It was not easy to see on initial set-up.
I returned it to Walmart. I was granted a full refund less my one dollar for shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 8 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Good Product With Minor Issues

09/05/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews, I purchased this model for my basement. It is quiet enough if it is in another room or on another floor, but you would not want to be in the same room with the fan noise. Also, it throws a substantial amount of heat. When I open the basement door, whoosh!, a lot of heat comes up from the dehumidifier, a condition we certainly did not have previously. With that said, I am still pleased with how well it draws water, ease of removing water container with handle and disposing without any spills, has long enough cord, has wheels, easy to operate, it has a light to indicate the water bucket is full and also a clear water level gauge. There is one little design fluke, which wld not stop me from recommending this product. After I run the dehumidifier, I remove the bucket, but also pull the plug. For restart the next day, I plugged the unit in, and before I could replace the water bucket, it started to dehumidify, rather than not starting until the bucket was in position to receive water. I have not utilized the hose connection yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

BEST I EVER HAD.

08/04/2012
By ,
ELYRIA, OHIO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
YES, THE BEST DEHUMIDIFIER I EVER HAD. WORKS VERY GOOD REMOVING HUMIDITY AND IS QUIET. I LIKE IT AND I AM GLAD I BROUGHT IT. IT WAS DELIVERED QUICKLY AND IN GOOD CONDITION. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE
HUMIDITY READING ON THE DEHUMIDIFIER IS ABOUT 5 % HIGHER THAN AN ADJACENT HUMIDITY MEASURING INSTRUMENT. HOPE IT CONTINUES TO WORK AS IT DOING NOW FOR MANY YEARS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Lasted 21 months

04/09/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased in July of 2011. Worked well until April 2013. Unit blew oily substance all over itself and died. One year warranty. No more GE for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ
08/04/2012
By ,
Butler, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has only been in use for about 3 weeks. So far, works great in our basement. The only down side is the tank is small, so I have to empty at least twice daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

The dehumidifier was very noisey and hot

06/18/2012
By ,
South Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend it due to the above - I took it back to Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ
09/06/2012
By ,
Buffalo
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great dehumidifier for the price. My plan was to attach a hose so that it would empty into my sump pump. This tooK a little more work than expected. If the hose lays on the ground this function doesn't work well. As a result the bucket will fill up, and the unit won't run continuously as I had planned. I've now learned that if the hose is cut short enough, so that it just reaches into the sump pump, the unit does much better with running continuously.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Worked well for 20 months, then stopped working

06/13/2013
By ,
Chagrin Falls, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works well, very quiet BUT BUY the Walmart extended warranty or be sure your credit card gives extended warranty protection.Bought fall of 2011, worked well till winter of 2012 . then didn't need to run it till spring of 2013 and now it's not working. BUMMER
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

working great so far

09/04/2012
By ,
ffam4
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been using this unit for about a month now, and so far it is doing a great job! Our basement smells so much better now that we have gotten the humidity out. So glad we went with the 65 pint because we still have to empty it twice a day. It is a little noisy, but it's in the basement, so it doesn't bother us. Great price and good product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Great for the price

09/06/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Didn;t have to put it together(yea), just took it out of the box and read the quick directions and plugged it in. I put it in my basement and set it at 45% - Easy to empty. didn't realize how much humidity I had but i've had to empty it every day. Only have it about a month so I can't talk about longevity.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Excellent dehumidifier

06/10/2013
By ,
Georgetown, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We put this dehumidifier to work in our 1300 square foot basement immediately upon receipt on 05/24/13. It has been running 24-7 since then. It dropped the humidity from 60% down in 40% within 24 hours and is keeping it there. It seems to be an excellent machine except that the water container is very difficult to empty without spilling water on the floor, and in fact, must be emptied very slowly to avoid at least some drizzle onto the floor. The addition of a pipe threaded drain boss in or near the bottom of the water container similar to what GE provided in their dehumidifiers many years ago would be very helpful. This would permit those of us who wish to collect the water for other uses to add a plug, cap, or valve so we could drain without spilling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Works Great. Short lifespan.

08/29/2012
By ,
central, MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unit works great in my large basement. With hose hooked up, start it in spring and leave it. Shut it off in Fall. It is noisy, but doesn't bother me upstairs.
I rated it good on value and expectations because the price is good and it works the way it should. They need a line for durability or something like that.
Just picked this one up today. It is my 3rd one since April, 2011.
Bought 1st one 4/29/11. It quit working 4/26/12 (3 days short of 1 yr.). As instructed by GE warranty call, I returned it and was given the 2nd one.
Got 2nd one 4/27/12 and it quit 8/25/12.
Now on 3rd one 8/29/12. Let's see how long this one lasts??
I will continue to return it as long as they work with me. Doesn't bother me at all since wal-mart is on my way to work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

VERY NICE!

05/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item at a great price.. $25!! i couldnt pass this up!
very heavy.. and shipped to my door for 0.97! yessss!
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Posted 06/19/2012
How did you get it for $25? It is sold for $234.00
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for GE 65-Pint Dehumidifier ADEW65LQ

Time Will Tell

02/08/2013
By ,
Cumming, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second GE 65-pint dehumidifier of this model. The first worked well for a summer season. Upon restarting ten months after purchase, it ran and ran but no longer condensed water from the air. I suspect that the refrigerant leaked out of the unit. I obtained a certificate from GE to repay me for purchase of a GE replacement. I expect that this replacement will fail in a season or two, so I purchased a warranty extension through Walmart for less than $30, worth it from my perspective. When working, the unit was quiet, efficient and did an excellent job of holding the humidity at about 50% for our 1700 sq. ft. basement.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
0points
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1 2 3 Next