Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

VTech VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

A two-parent-unit bundle, the Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor allows you to hear your baby from any room in the house, giving you peace of mind anywhere, anytime. The two parent units are easily clipped to your belt or pocket, enabling you to carry them as you go about your day. The two-way, talk-back intercom and the system's long range let you keep in touch with your baby from any room or even outside. Plus, the parent unit-finder feature comes in handy so you can quickly locate a misplaced unit. The VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor uses DECT 6.0 technology to ensure your connection is protected against interference and eavesdropping.
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation89%94 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Good security

05/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We had our shop broken into twice. Still not sure how they got in the second time. Lost all our tools and our new $900 generator. Can't afford high tech security, so thought we would try these. Monitor in the shop and receivers in each bedroom. It picks up every thing, even rain drops and our next door neighbors. It's volume is adjustable and high enough to wake us up at night. This was money well spent.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Excellent!

01/22/2013
By ,
Hammond, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used to monitor my sick mother during the night so we can come to her assistance. Works great! The 2 receivers allow us to hear her from all over the house without having to carry the receivers around with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Love it

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used these since April and we love them. Very durable!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

No static/reliable/excellent range

10/29/2012
By ,
Vancouver, BC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this baby monitor to replace a fisher-price one we bought 5 years ago. One thing we wanted was portable devices meaning rechargeable functionality. I high recommend this product. I have a 3 storey house and the range is awesome. I haven't used the walkie talkie feature yet as our baby is only 4 months.
Pros:
No Static
Portable and device can be taken around house without wires
excellent range
walkie talkie feature
vibration feature
visual indicator on device to alert noise if volume was low
Can control sensitivity
Cons:
?
Price $< 50.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Exactly what I needed

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The set up was easy. The sound is clear. The talk-back function works well so I can ask questions and get immediate responses which saves time and effort. This is perfect for monitoring my husband who had surgery recently. I can hear him if he needs me while I am working in the office.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Revised Review...DONT waste your money!

11/24/2013
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this a year and a half ago. I LOVED it. I gave it a rave review. I am now here to resend that review. My 4yr old daughter is Autistic and needs to be monitored at night. So I needed a monitor that would last longer than 1 1/2 yrs. I have carried both handheld receivers all over my house and property and had no problems. BUT, I had never moved the base. Last week I changed the furniture layout in my daughter's room. I unplugged the base for the first time in 1 1/2 years. I walked ten feet with it and plugged it in another socket. BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. " No Link" WHAT? I walked it ten feet from where it's always been and now it doesn't work? So I returned it to it's original socket. Nope. Same thing. Maybe it's just me but I feel I should be able to move the base once every 1 1/2 tears and still have it WORK! Very irritated!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Does just what it should

01/07/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this set after reading lots of reviews on baby monitors. We wanted audio only, and this one had good reviews. I am very happy with my purchase. We had had no issues with feedback or the range of use- we have a 2 story house and the handsets work both upstairs and down. The battery life seems reasonable- we usually get 2 nights of use before having to re-charge. The adjustable sensitivity is great- our baby is a loud sleeper and it's nice to be able to filter out some of the noise she makes and just be able to pick up when she wakes up and starts fussing or crying. The talk back feature will be handy when she's a little older- right now it doesn't phase her. It is kind of annoying that the handsets turn on when you plug them in to charge- we have the charger cords in the same room as the monitor unit- and unless you turn them off before the handset links, it makes an awful feedback noise. The feedback stops if you leave the room with the monitor unit- so it's probably best to charge them in a separate room so you don't wake baby by accident.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Not very loud/ batteries die quick

09/25/2014
By ,
Casper, WY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the small monitors and the fact that they have clips for my belt because I spend a lot of time outdoors while the baby is sleeping. I've only had this monitor for about 3 weeks but one thing I noticed is it's not very loud so when I'm outside you have to keep the monitor on you- you can't just set it down and expect to hear it from a distance. also the batteries die very quickly compared to our previous Sony monitor system. I don't like that when you plug the monitor in to charge it, it automatically turns on- what if I don't want it on and yet I want to charge the monitor? I guess you could turn the volume down but that's just a feature I don't like. overall I think it's worth the purchase price-could always return it if you don't like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver
10/18/2012
By ,
Fond du lac
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only Thing i dont like is its kinda o pain to turn on and off you have to push and hold the button this is totally pointless and anyoying when you just want to quick trying it off to have a converstion. maby its a safty feautre so the kid doesnt turn if off but i keep mine on a shelf anyway. also when u plug it in it instantly turns on and if the main unit isnt on it beeps anoyingly. a simple green light that says your connected would surfice just fine!
BUT WOW the range is great i can go out to the shop 50 feet behind my house and hear everything going on clear no static. talk back feature is a plus. the 2 moniters are great why both parents or 2 people can keep a ear on a sleeping child. over all i like this product i just didnt like the way it turns on and off but maby someone would veiw that as a peark about this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Great Monitor

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought several brands and this is the only one that actually has no feedback when on. Great clarity and range with this model and would definitely recommend to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Step saver

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monitor has been helpful for my husband, who is currently bed bound, and me. I can hear if he has any problem while he is resting and he can express his needs without having to push a button or by yelling out. I can respond by pushing the talk button. It has reduced my level of frustration and worry by enabling me to hear and respond when I am out of the room.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Bought for monitoring an elderly parent

02/07/2013
By ,
Malta Bend, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a God send for me. I'm able to passively monitor my Mom at night, when doing the laundry in the basement and doing gardening. I especially like the push to talk button. Mama gets a little startled and disoriented when I'm speaking and I"m not there but it is really helping me to care for my mom. This is much better than one of the emergency buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

My out of the box use for baby monitor

04/02/2014
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these baby monitors to use as an intercom. I live in an apartment that does not have an intercom and when I am at the back of the apartment I sometimes can not hear the bell. Even when I do hear the bell I can't get there fast enough. Now I can ask who is at the door, they know I am home and they can wait for me to get there. I bought this one because there are two parents units so I can put one in each bedroom. Also since they have a talk button I can speak to whoever is at the door. Since they have both batteries and electric I can have them plug in and not worry about batteries. I am happy overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Great

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this monitor. It works great, and there's hardly any background noise. I received this as a gift, and I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Impressive signal transmission

09/30/2013
By ,
Brier, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit has exceeded my expectations in terms of signal transmission over three floors of our tri-level home. The audio is clear and the volume and sensitivity settings are very good. The battery power source should really should be limited to use in case of a power outage situations or when portability is essential for short time periods.because they need to be recharged each day. The unit works far better when used with the power cords. All things considered, this is a good value so far after three weeks of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

awesomely quiet

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a new monitor because the one we had was so noisy...so much feedback when it was plugged in...it was horrible. We can barely tell this one is on until we hear our little guy change positions in his bed or call for us in the morning! We love it so far...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver
11/08/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. I use the main monitor on the second floor and use the two parent units in the basement level; one inside the house and one inside the house. Its not used for children but instead for care of my elderly mom. It is very clear with no white noise and no interruptions. I ordered this product on Monday and received it only three days later with standard shipping. Kudos to Walmart; I'm very saftisfied with Walmart and the products they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver
07/13/2012
By ,
Marlboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! Great range, easy to use, and second unit means as you use on unit, the other is charging; just switch when low pattery alarm sounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Drop signal past 20ft

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WARNING--- WARNING----Good signal if you stay within 20ft past that will drop signal without you knowing it, light shows still linked but will be no sound,, Warning---- this is dangerous.......... GETTING MY MONEY BACK......
Recommends this product? No
From VTech_Support11/03/2014
Hello - Call our tech team @ 1-800-595-9511. We'd like to help you with your problem. Thanks!VTech
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for VTech Safe&Sound DM221-2 DECT 6.0 Digital Audio Baby Monitor with Vibrating Sound Alert, 2 Parent Units, White/Silver

Save Your Money

05/22/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money and time, do NOT purchase this product. I got the baby monitor on 01/08/2013. The charging adapter for the parental unit died. Called Vtech and discovered the units are no longer being produced and the replacement parts are no longer available. The only recourse was to return the units for replacement.
I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 98 total reviews