Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech's - Safe and Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 parent units features DECT 6.0 digital technology, providing crystal clear transmissions and eliminating the annoying white noise produced by analog monitors. The only sounds you hear are coming from your baby, not the digital baby monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.338 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation90%61 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
45
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Excellent!

01/22/2013
By ,
Hammond, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used to monitor my sick mother during the night so we can come to her assistance. Works great! The 2 receivers allow us to hear her from all over the house without having to carry the receivers around with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Save Your Money

05/22/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money and time, do NOT purchase this product. I got the baby monitor on 01/08/2013. The charging adapter for the parental unit died. Called Vtech and discovered the units are no longer being produced and the replacement parts are no longer available. The only recourse was to return the units for replacement.
I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Poor sound quality

04/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this monitor because it was the only one I could find with a talk back feature. As soon as I set it up, I realized two things. First, it is way to soft. At full volume, I couldn't hear my daughter's lullabies while in the same room as the monitor! Second, the sound came in and out in waves...very annoying when you are trying to sleep. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Does just what it should

01/07/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this set after reading lots of reviews on baby monitors. We wanted audio only, and this one had good reviews. I am very happy with my purchase. We had had no issues with feedback or the range of use- we have a 2 story house and the handsets work both upstairs and down. The battery life seems reasonable- we usually get 2 nights of use before having to re-charge. The adjustable sensitivity is great- our baby is a loud sleeper and it's nice to be able to filter out some of the noise she makes and just be able to pick up when she wakes up and starts fussing or crying. The talk back feature will be handy when she's a little older- right now it doesn't phase her. It is kind of annoying that the handsets turn on when you plug them in to charge- we have the charger cords in the same room as the monitor unit- and unless you turn them off before the handset links, it makes an awful feedback noise. The feedback stops if you leave the room with the monitor unit- so it's probably best to charge them in a separate room so you don't wake baby by accident.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Short Range

11/19/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
150 feet away and it starts beeping. go behind a tree and it blanks out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Bought for monitoring an elderly parent

02/07/2013
By ,
Malta Bend, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a God send for me. I'm able to passively monitor my Mom at night, when doing the laundry in the basement and doing gardening. I especially like the push to talk button. Mama gets a little startled and disoriented when I'm speaking and I"m not there but it is really helping me to care for my mom. This is much better than one of the emergency buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
10/18/2012
By ,
Fond du lac
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only Thing i dont like is its kinda o pain to turn on and off you have to push and hold the button this is totally pointless and anyoying when you just want to quick trying it off to have a converstion. maby its a safty feautre so the kid doesnt turn if off but i keep mine on a shelf anyway. also when u plug it in it instantly turns on and if the main unit isnt on it beeps anoyingly. a simple green light that says your connected would surfice just fine!
BUT WOW the range is great i can go out to the shop 50 feet behind my house and hear everything going on clear no static. talk back feature is a plus. the 2 moniters are great why both parents or 2 people can keep a ear on a sleeping child. over all i like this product i just didnt like the way it turns on and off but maby someone would veiw that as a peark about this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Impressive signal transmission

09/30/2013
By ,
Brier, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit has exceeded my expectations in terms of signal transmission over three floors of our tri-level home. The audio is clear and the volume and sensitivity settings are very good. The battery power source should really should be limited to use in case of a power outage situations or when portability is essential for short time periods.because they need to be recharged each day. The unit works far better when used with the power cords. All things considered, this is a good value so far after three weeks of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

wish units were louder

01/15/2014
By ,
battle creek, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i wish parent units were louder but overall they work great. picks up baby movement and sounds very good. the light on the monitor can not be used as a night light... not bright enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Not sensitive enough.

12/15/2013
By ,
Washington DC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I use this product to keep an ear out for my 92 year old sickly mother. I wish it were a little more sensitive. I hear loud noises that she makes, but I would like to hear her breathing in the night. That doesn't happen with this product. If I were a young mother and I wanted to know what my baby was doing at all times, this product would not work for me, because unless the baby was crying, I would not know it was there. This is not new technology. It is basically the old walkie-talkie because it is two-way. The six year old baby monitor that we borrowed from my nephew is much more sensitive and I use it as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

BEWARE OF HOME DELIVERY ESTIMATES

01/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this item for a baby shower with an estimate for it to arrive on the 27th of Dec...it did not arrive resulting in a trip to the store to buy a replacement and a subsequent return of the item that came days later....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Excellent digital audio baby moniitor

12/20/2013
By ,
Pinole, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this item not for my "baby" but for my husband who has Parkinson's Disease and like a baby who is unable to help himself the audio monitor has saved me from making many trips to his room worrying if he has fallen. He can call me without having to hold on to the monitor. This device has 2 parents units so I can carry one with me anywhere in the home.
The item is of good quality and happy that it serves my purpose in communicating with my husband wherever I am in the home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Love it

12/28/2013
By ,
Colorado spring co
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I brought this for my father who is a cancer patient to call for me if he needed anything when I'm in other levels of my home. Works really well and is hassle free love that both my husband and I can have a handset to communicate
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
11/08/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. I use the main monitor on the second floor and use the two parent units in the basement level; one inside the house and one inside the house. Its not used for children but instead for care of my elderly mom. It is very clear with no white noise and no interruptions. I ordered this product on Monday and received it only three days later with standard shipping. Kudos to Walmart; I'm very saftisfied with Walmart and the products they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

An excellent device.

12/11/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monitor is used to assist in caregiving for my 94-year-old mother. Assembly is simple, reception is very clear, and there is no static or interference in communication. The two-way communication is most helpful, and the clip-on feature is great, allowing for freedom to perform other duties and still be able to monitor as well as communicate with my mother.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

So far so good

12/06/2013
By ,
Lancaster, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased 2 sets of the VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2. They are working great so far. We have had them for about 2 weeks. We have not had any problems with them. no static feed back.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

exceeds exspectations

12/01/2012
By ,
birmingham, al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The units are used by my son and I to have two way contact with my bed-ridden wife. This is especially critical during the night. Work perfectly !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Love this

11/22/2013
By ,
Warner Robins, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound quality is good
The clip on parent unit is convenient for when I move around the house
Having two parent units is very convenient also his dad has one while I have the other in anouther room (in case he falls asleep)
The light that appears at the sounds of his cries is really helpful in the event that it is turned down
You can also page the parent units from the base
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
07/13/2012
By ,
Marlboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! Great range, easy to use, and second unit means as you use on unit, the other is charging; just switch when low pattery alarm sounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great monitor for a toddler

12/01/2013
By ,
Stafford, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great monitor to use with an older child. No more having to run in and out of the room. Best monitor out there!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 60 total reviews