Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech's - Safe and Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 parent units features DECT 6.0 digital technology, providing crystal clear transmissions and eliminating the annoying white noise produced by analog monitors. The only sounds you hear are coming from your baby, not the digital baby monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.283 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation89%94 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
67
4 stars
21
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Finally, a monitor that works in our house!

05/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've bought 3 baby monitors. I HATE returning things, and I was forced to return all 3 of them because none of them worked out of the box. We have tons of electronic devices in our 9-member household. Laptops, phones, you name it. I bought Motorola, Samsung, and First Years. The first two kept saying "not linked" and beeping "out of range" even if I went down the hall to the bathroom. The second one was just plain static (and yes I followed all instructions for each one, even charging the batteries for the recommended time period before testing them out.) . I read tons of reviews and finally bought vtech, still saving the box in case it gave me the same problem. I'm pleased to say that it's actually working. And it's way cheaper in price than some of these other ones I returned. I haven't used it for long, but it deserves a good review just for functioning when I'm 2 stories down in my basement.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Best value for digital monitors

03/24/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love these monitors for the price, and sound quality! As some before me have described, there may be times when troubleshooting is needed. I have had an issue once with turning back on the monitor and not getting feed right away, but after a quick look at advice on here or in manual, its an easy fix. With digital items like these I don't expect there to never be issues, but these are a lot more reliable than older models, and less interference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Excellent!

01/22/2013
By ,
Hammond, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used to monitor my sick mother during the night so we can come to her assistance. Works great! The 2 receivers allow us to hear her from all over the house without having to carry the receivers around with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Exactly what I needed

02/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The set up was easy. The sound is clear. The talk-back function works well so I can ask questions and get immediate responses which saves time and effort. This is perfect for monitoring my husband who had surgery recently. I can hear him if he needs me while I am working in the office.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Poor sound quality

04/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this monitor because it was the only one I could find with a talk back feature. As soon as I set it up, I realized two things. First, it is way to soft. At full volume, I couldn't hear my daughter's lullabies while in the same room as the monitor! Second, the sound came in and out in waves...very annoying when you are trying to sleep. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Step saver

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This monitor has been helpful for my husband, who is currently bed bound, and me. I can hear if he has any problem while he is resting and he can express his needs without having to push a button or by yelling out. I can respond by pushing the talk button. It has reduced my level of frustration and worry by enabling me to hear and respond when I am out of the room.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great Monitor

11/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have bought several brands and this is the only one that actually has no feedback when on. Great clarity and range with this model and would definitely recommend to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Not very loud/ batteries die quick

09/25/2014
By ,
Casper, WY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the small monitors and the fact that they have clips for my belt because I spend a lot of time outdoors while the baby is sleeping. I've only had this monitor for about 3 weeks but one thing I noticed is it's not very loud so when I'm outside you have to keep the monitor on you- you can't just set it down and expect to hear it from a distance. also the batteries die very quickly compared to our previous Sony monitor system. I don't like that when you plug the monitor in to charge it, it automatically turns on- what if I don't want it on and yet I want to charge the monitor? I guess you could turn the volume down but that's just a feature I don't like. overall I think it's worth the purchase price-could always return it if you don't like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Does just what it should

01/07/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this set after reading lots of reviews on baby monitors. We wanted audio only, and this one had good reviews. I am very happy with my purchase. We had had no issues with feedback or the range of use- we have a 2 story house and the handsets work both upstairs and down. The battery life seems reasonable- we usually get 2 nights of use before having to re-charge. The adjustable sensitivity is great- our baby is a loud sleeper and it's nice to be able to filter out some of the noise she makes and just be able to pick up when she wakes up and starts fussing or crying. The talk back feature will be handy when she's a little older- right now it doesn't phase her. It is kind of annoying that the handsets turn on when you plug them in to charge- we have the charger cords in the same room as the monitor unit- and unless you turn them off before the handset links, it makes an awful feedback noise. The feedback stops if you leave the room with the monitor unit- so it's probably best to charge them in a separate room so you don't wake baby by accident.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
10/18/2012
By ,
Fond du lac
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only Thing i dont like is its kinda o pain to turn on and off you have to push and hold the button this is totally pointless and anyoying when you just want to quick trying it off to have a converstion. maby its a safty feautre so the kid doesnt turn if off but i keep mine on a shelf anyway. also when u plug it in it instantly turns on and if the main unit isnt on it beeps anoyingly. a simple green light that says your connected would surfice just fine!
BUT WOW the range is great i can go out to the shop 50 feet behind my house and hear everything going on clear no static. talk back feature is a plus. the 2 moniters are great why both parents or 2 people can keep a ear on a sleeping child. over all i like this product i just didnt like the way it turns on and off but maby someone would veiw that as a peark about this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

My out of the box use for baby monitor

04/02/2014
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these baby monitors to use as an intercom. I live in an apartment that does not have an intercom and when I am at the back of the apartment I sometimes can not hear the bell. Even when I do hear the bell I can't get there fast enough. Now I can ask who is at the door, they know I am home and they can wait for me to get there. I bought this one because there are two parents units so I can put one in each bedroom. Also since they have a talk button I can speak to whoever is at the door. Since they have both batteries and electric I can have them plug in and not worry about batteries. I am happy overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Bought for monitoring an elderly parent

02/07/2013
By ,
Malta Bend, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a God send for me. I'm able to passively monitor my Mom at night, when doing the laundry in the basement and doing gardening. I especially like the push to talk button. Mama gets a little startled and disoriented when I'm speaking and I"m not there but it is really helping me to care for my mom. This is much better than one of the emergency buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this monitor. It works great, and there's hardly any background noise. I received this as a gift, and I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Impressive signal transmission

09/30/2013
By ,
Brier, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit has exceeded my expectations in terms of signal transmission over three floors of our tri-level home. The audio is clear and the volume and sensitivity settings are very good. The battery power source should really should be limited to use in case of a power outage situations or when portability is essential for short time periods.because they need to be recharged each day. The unit works far better when used with the power cords. All things considered, this is a good value so far after three weeks of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

awesomely quiet

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a new monitor because the one we had was so noisy...so much feedback when it was plugged in...it was horrible. We can barely tell this one is on until we hear our little guy change positions in his bed or call for us in the morning! We love it so far...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
11/08/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. I use the main monitor on the second floor and use the two parent units in the basement level; one inside the house and one inside the house. Its not used for children but instead for care of my elderly mom. It is very clear with no white noise and no interruptions. I ordered this product on Monday and received it only three days later with standard shipping. Kudos to Walmart; I'm very saftisfied with Walmart and the products they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Revised Review...DONT waste your money!

11/24/2013
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this a year and a half ago. I LOVED it. I gave it a rave review. I am now here to resend that review. My 4yr old daughter is Autistic and needs to be monitored at night. So I needed a monitor that would last longer than 1 1/2 yrs. I have carried both handheld receivers all over my house and property and had no problems. BUT, I had never moved the base. Last week I changed the furniture layout in my daughter's room. I unplugged the base for the first time in 1 1/2 years. I walked ten feet with it and plugged it in another socket. BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. " No Link" WHAT? I walked it ten feet from where it's always been and now it doesn't work? So I returned it to it's original socket. Nope. Same thing. Maybe it's just me but I feel I should be able to move the base once every 1 1/2 tears and still have it WORK! Very irritated!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Drop signal past 20ft

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WARNING--- WARNING----Good signal if you stay within 20ft past that will drop signal without you knowing it, light shows still linked but will be no sound,, Warning---- this is dangerous.......... GETTING MY MONEY BACK......
Recommends this product? No
From VTech_Support11/03/2014
Hello - Call our tech team @ 1-800-595-9511. We'd like to help you with your problem. Thanks!VTech
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great to monitor wife while in hospice at home

02/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would improve the lighting on the parent units panel, it is confusing and difficult to see at night.
Volume could be louder. Need to have a "necklace" to put around one of the parent units to carry around.
Like the size but most frustrating is the lighting on the parent panel, it does not light when you most need it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
07/13/2012
By ,
Marlboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! Great range, easy to use, and second unit means as you use on unit, the other is charging; just switch when low pattery alarm sounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 98 total reviews