Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech's - Safe and Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 parent units features DECT 6.0 digital technology, providing crystal clear transmissions and eliminating the annoying white noise produced by analog monitors. The only sounds you hear are coming from your baby, not the digital baby monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation89%71 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
53
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

No static/reliable/excellent range

10/29/2012
By ,
Vancouver, BC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this baby monitor to replace a fisher-price one we bought 5 years ago. One thing we wanted was portable devices meaning rechargeable functionality. I high recommend this product. I have a 3 storey house and the range is awesome. I haven't used the walkie talkie feature yet as our baby is only 4 months.
Pros:
No Static
Portable and device can be taken around house without wires
excellent range
walkie talkie feature
vibration feature
visual indicator on device to alert noise if volume was low
Can control sensitivity
Cons:
?
Price $< 50.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
09/29/2012
By ,
Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This monitor, which we are using to help us care for my dad who has Alztheimers, has proven helpful in monitoring him while he sleeps/naps. It was easy to set up and easy to use. I do wish we could turn it up louder than it goes so my mother would be better able to hear him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Good sound, bad life to product

03/13/2013
By ,
Black Hills, South Dakota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have been using these monitors for just under 5 months. The sound from them is great, much better than the monitors we used for our last child. At first, we loved these monitors. The vibrating feature is great, and it's nice to be able to talk to someone in the baby's room.
Our complaint with these monitors is that they don't last. When we unplug our monitors, the sound cuts out quite often for very short periods of time. The battery in one monitor lasts for about 1.5 hours and the other monitor shuts off completely when unplugged from the charger. The words on the digital readout (screen) have started to disappear, so you can't tell what the screen says.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Poor sound quality

04/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this monitor because it was the only one I could find with a talk back feature. As soon as I set it up, I realized two things. First, it is way to soft. At full volume, I couldn't hear my daughter's lullabies while in the same room as the monitor! Second, the sound came in and out in waves...very annoying when you are trying to sleep. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Excellent!

01/22/2013
By ,
Hammond, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used to monitor my sick mother during the night so we can come to her assistance. Works great! The 2 receivers allow us to hear her from all over the house without having to carry the receivers around with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Revised Review...DONT waste your money!

11/24/2013
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this a year and a half ago. I LOVED it. I gave it a rave review. I am now here to resend that review. My 4yr old daughter is Autistic and needs to be monitored at night. So I needed a monitor that would last longer than 1 1/2 yrs. I have carried both handheld receivers all over my house and property and had no problems. BUT, I had never moved the base. Last week I changed the furniture layout in my daughter's room. I unplugged the base for the first time in 1 1/2 years. I walked ten feet with it and plugged it in another socket. BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. " No Link" WHAT? I walked it ten feet from where it's always been and now it doesn't work? So I returned it to it's original socket. Nope. Same thing. Maybe it's just me but I feel I should be able to move the base once every 1 1/2 tears and still have it WORK! Very irritated!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Awsome monitors, love them!

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these because our older monitors were terrible, but I got those for free so what do you expect. I love these new ones so much! They aren't all static like our old ones, it's like these monitors aren't even in the room it's so quiet. And it's crystal clear when we hear our son, and I can actually go a pretty good distance away and it still is clear and connected with the monitor in our sons room. Definitely worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Save Your Money

05/22/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money and time, do NOT purchase this product. I got the baby monitor on 01/08/2013. The charging adapter for the parental unit died. Called Vtech and discovered the units are no longer being produced and the replacement parts are no longer available. The only recourse was to return the units for replacement.
I would not recommend this product to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great for the price

04/21/2014
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this monitor to replace my previous one that was a different brand and several years old. I am amazed at how quiet the monitor is for background noise! I can hear my son, but I don't get the white noise that my other monitor had. I had to check to make sure it was on several times because I didn't believe it was on and so quiet! I also like the talk-back feature!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Does just what it should

01/07/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this set after reading lots of reviews on baby monitors. We wanted audio only, and this one had good reviews. I am very happy with my purchase. We had had no issues with feedback or the range of use- we have a 2 story house and the handsets work both upstairs and down. The battery life seems reasonable- we usually get 2 nights of use before having to re-charge. The adjustable sensitivity is great- our baby is a loud sleeper and it's nice to be able to filter out some of the noise she makes and just be able to pick up when she wakes up and starts fussing or crying. The talk back feature will be handy when she's a little older- right now it doesn't phase her. It is kind of annoying that the handsets turn on when you plug them in to charge- we have the charger cords in the same room as the monitor unit- and unless you turn them off before the handset links, it makes an awful feedback noise. The feedback stops if you leave the room with the monitor unit- so it's probably best to charge them in a separate room so you don't wake baby by accident.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great value for money!!

04/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I went with this one over one parent unit because of multilevel house i live in..
Great sensitivity, no background noises, no interferences. Nice clear sound from baby's room unit and between parents units (walkie talkie mode). Very pleased with this product. You can't go wrong with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
10/18/2012
By ,
Fond du lac
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only Thing i dont like is its kinda o pain to turn on and off you have to push and hold the button this is totally pointless and anyoying when you just want to quick trying it off to have a converstion. maby its a safty feautre so the kid doesnt turn if off but i keep mine on a shelf anyway. also when u plug it in it instantly turns on and if the main unit isnt on it beeps anoyingly. a simple green light that says your connected would surfice just fine!
BUT WOW the range is great i can go out to the shop 50 feet behind my house and hear everything going on clear no static. talk back feature is a plus. the 2 moniters are great why both parents or 2 people can keep a ear on a sleeping child. over all i like this product i just didnt like the way it turns on and off but maby someone would veiw that as a peark about this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Bought for monitoring an elderly parent

02/07/2013
By ,
Malta Bend, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a God send for me. I'm able to passively monitor my Mom at night, when doing the laundry in the basement and doing gardening. I especially like the push to talk button. Mama gets a little startled and disoriented when I'm speaking and I"m not there but it is really helping me to care for my mom. This is much better than one of the emergency buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Good crisp sound

04/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like it. Covers my entire house which is fairly large. good crisp and clear sound. like the volume control and the night light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
11/08/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. I use the main monitor on the second floor and use the two parent units in the basement level; one inside the house and one inside the house. Its not used for children but instead for care of my elderly mom. It is very clear with no white noise and no interruptions. I ordered this product on Monday and received it only three days later with standard shipping. Kudos to Walmart; I'm very saftisfied with Walmart and the products they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

great gift for a first time mom

03/25/2014
By ,
cleveland, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this was a baby shower gift for a mentally challenged girl to give to one of her staff's baby shower this one had good reviews so I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Impressive signal transmission

09/30/2013
By ,
Brier, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit has exceeded my expectations in terms of signal transmission over three floors of our tri-level home. The audio is clear and the volume and sensitivity settings are very good. The battery power source should really should be limited to use in case of a power outage situations or when portability is essential for short time periods.because they need to be recharged each day. The unit works far better when used with the power cords. All things considered, this is a good value so far after three weeks of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

exceeds exspectations

12/01/2012
By ,
birmingham, al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The units are used by my son and I to have two way contact with my bed-ridden wife. This is especially critical during the night. Work perfectly !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
07/13/2012
By ,
Marlboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! Great range, easy to use, and second unit means as you use on unit, the other is charging; just switch when low pattery alarm sounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Short Range

11/19/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
150 feet away and it starts beeping. go behind a tree and it blanks out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 72 total reviews