Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

VTech's - Safe and Sound Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 parent units features DECT 6.0 digital technology, providing crystal clear transmissions and eliminating the annoying white noise produced by analog monitors. The only sounds you hear are coming from your baby, not the digital baby monitor.
Average Customer Rating:
4.277 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(94 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation87%82 out of 94reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 51 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
60
4 stars
17
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
09/29/2012
By ,
Little Rock, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This monitor, which we are using to help us care for my dad who has Alztheimers, has proven helpful in monitoring him while he sleeps/naps. It was easy to set up and easy to use. I do wish we could turn it up louder than it goes so my mother would be better able to hear him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Hears everything

11/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can use it as a walkie talky and up to 1000 ft. I can hear the slightest little noise.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Best value for digital monitors

03/24/2014
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love these monitors for the price, and sound quality! As some before me have described, there may be times when troubleshooting is needed. I have had an issue once with turning back on the monitor and not getting feed right away, but after a quick look at advice on here or in manual, its an easy fix. With digital items like these I don't expect there to never be issues, but these are a lot more reliable than older models, and less interference.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great Product

09/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not expensive. great sound. keeps charge for a long time. love this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Poor sound quality

04/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this monitor because it was the only one I could find with a talk back feature. As soon as I set it up, I realized two things. First, it is way to soft. At full volume, I couldn't hear my daughter's lullabies while in the same room as the monitor! Second, the sound came in and out in waves...very annoying when you are trying to sleep. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Excellent!

01/22/2013
By ,
Hammond, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used to monitor my sick mother during the night so we can come to her assistance. Works great! The 2 receivers allow us to hear her from all over the house without having to carry the receivers around with us!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great

08/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE this monitor. It works great, and there's hardly any background noise. I received this as a gift, and I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

excellent monitors, so far loving it....

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this system was purchased to monitor my invalid 90 year old mother.
with the 2 receivers, are ideal, one in my bedroom the other in the man cave,
providing me with 24/7 coverage......
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Does just what it should

01/07/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this set after reading lots of reviews on baby monitors. We wanted audio only, and this one had good reviews. I am very happy with my purchase. We had had no issues with feedback or the range of use- we have a 2 story house and the handsets work both upstairs and down. The battery life seems reasonable- we usually get 2 nights of use before having to re-charge. The adjustable sensitivity is great- our baby is a loud sleeper and it's nice to be able to filter out some of the noise she makes and just be able to pick up when she wakes up and starts fussing or crying. The talk back feature will be handy when she's a little older- right now it doesn't phase her. It is kind of annoying that the handsets turn on when you plug them in to charge- we have the charger cords in the same room as the monitor unit- and unless you turn them off before the handset links, it makes an awful feedback noise. The feedback stops if you leave the room with the monitor unit- so it's probably best to charge them in a separate room so you don't wake baby by accident.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
10/18/2012
By ,
Fond du lac
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only Thing i dont like is its kinda o pain to turn on and off you have to push and hold the button this is totally pointless and anyoying when you just want to quick trying it off to have a converstion. maby its a safty feautre so the kid doesnt turn if off but i keep mine on a shelf anyway. also when u plug it in it instantly turns on and if the main unit isnt on it beeps anoyingly. a simple green light that says your connected would surfice just fine!
BUT WOW the range is great i can go out to the shop 50 feet behind my house and hear everything going on clear no static. talk back feature is a plus. the 2 moniters are great why both parents or 2 people can keep a ear on a sleeping child. over all i like this product i just didnt like the way it turns on and off but maby someone would veiw that as a peark about this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Bought for monitoring an elderly parent

02/07/2013
By ,
Malta Bend, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has been a God send for me. I'm able to passively monitor my Mom at night, when doing the laundry in the basement and doing gardening. I especially like the push to talk button. Mama gets a little startled and disoriented when I'm speaking and I"m not there but it is really helping me to care for my mom. This is much better than one of the emergency buttons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Impressive signal transmission

09/30/2013
By ,
Brier, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The unit has exceeded my expectations in terms of signal transmission over three floors of our tri-level home. The audio is clear and the volume and sensitivity settings are very good. The battery power source should really should be limited to use in case of a power outage situations or when portability is essential for short time periods.because they need to be recharged each day. The unit works far better when used with the power cords. All things considered, this is a good value so far after three weeks of service.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Great monitor for elderly patients also

07/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this monitor for my elderly mother who cannot get out of bed. I can hear every sound. I can get to her quickly and get what she needs. It is much more economical then the ones sold in medical supply stores and does a great job!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Revised Review...DONT waste your money!

11/24/2013
By ,
Bethany Beach, DE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this a year and a half ago. I LOVED it. I gave it a rave review. I am now here to resend that review. My 4yr old daughter is Autistic and needs to be monitored at night. So I needed a monitor that would last longer than 1 1/2 yrs. I have carried both handheld receivers all over my house and property and had no problems. BUT, I had never moved the base. Last week I changed the furniture layout in my daughter's room. I unplugged the base for the first time in 1 1/2 years. I walked ten feet with it and plugged it in another socket. BEEP. BEEP. BEEP. " No Link" WHAT? I walked it ten feet from where it's always been and now it doesn't work? So I returned it to it's original socket. Nope. Same thing. Maybe it's just me but I feel I should be able to move the base once every 1 1/2 tears and still have it WORK! Very irritated!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

My out of the box use for baby monitor

04/02/2014
By ,
Boca Raton, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought these baby monitors to use as an intercom. I live in an apartment that does not have an intercom and when I am at the back of the apartment I sometimes can not hear the bell. Even when I do hear the bell I can't get there fast enough. Now I can ask who is at the door, they know I am home and they can wait for me to get there. I bought this one because there are two parents units so I can put one in each bedroom. Also since they have a talk button I can speak to whoever is at the door. Since they have both batteries and electric I can have them plug in and not worry about batteries. I am happy overall.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
11/08/2012
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. I use the main monitor on the second floor and use the two parent units in the basement level; one inside the house and one inside the house. Its not used for children but instead for care of my elderly mom. It is very clear with no white noise and no interruptions. I ordered this product on Monday and received it only three days later with standard shipping. Kudos to Walmart; I'm very saftisfied with Walmart and the products they sell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

awesomely quiet

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a new monitor because the one we had was so noisy...so much feedback when it was plugged in...it was horrible. We can barely tell this one is on until we hear our little guy change positions in his bed or call for us in the morning! We love it so far...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Not loud enough

08/02/2014
By ,
TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This isn't loud enough even turned up all the way. There are lots of settings you can control and an intercom feature from parent unit to baby unit. My toddler was freaked out with my husband scolding her to get to sleep with the monitor feature (even though I demonstrated and explained the intercom and monitor to my toddler). That is no fault of the product but if you are switching or replacing an old monitor, your child probably needs to be introduced to the intercom feature.
The only real complaints are this: I can't get it loud enough, even when the child unit is touching my child's bed. And, it is DECT technology which I did not want and I don't remember the product description including that fact. If you wonder why, look up DECT technology to find some people's opinion of it, sort of like Wi-Fi interfering with the electro-magnetic functions of a brain. Also, the range of the unit seems weak. Places around the outside of the house where my old non-DECT monitor would work, this one loses signal. I think it is outside at the corners of the house is where it loses signal.
Also, it is great that the parent units include rechargeable batteries so you can unplug it and take it with you sort of like a cordless phone.
But, honestly, I wish I could just find a better one but I haven't taken the time. I think I may send this back.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2

Love it!

06/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love having 2 parent monitors. Works fantastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for VTech - Safe and Sound 1.9 GHz Digital Audio Baby Monitor with 2 Parent Units, DM221-2
07/13/2012
By ,
Marlboro, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic! Great range, easy to use, and second unit means as you use on unit, the other is charging; just switch when low pattery alarm sounds.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 86 total reviews