Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Abu Garcia Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

The Abu Garcia Black Max Reel is designed for anglers who require durability and dependability from a fishing reel. The Abu Garcia Max Reel features seven stainless-steel ball bearings and 1 roller bearing, a machine double-anodized aluminum spool and a Power Disk drag system that provides smooth drag performance. The Abu Garcia Reel's compact bent handle and star, accompanied by a recessed foot reel, provide a more ergonomic design. This Abu Garcia Black Max Reel is offered in black with red and silver accents that will complement almost any fishing rod. The Abu Garcia Reel is precision engineered to provide a smoother feel and increased performance on the water.
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 251
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
48
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%238 out of 244reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
195
4 stars
48
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

great baitcaster for the money!

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my first baitcaster and i'm very inpressed on how smooth it is. going to but another one soon!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Well worth it!!

04/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've bought two of these reels at Walmart and I'm going to buy two more. I'm not buying them to replace the ones I have. I'm buying two more so I have more choices of setups with different string and poles. The two I have now are almost 2 years old and are just as smooth as they were new!! At $40 and under price, you won't find anything else close to it. It's smooth. It's been reliable and it's very forgiving for the beginner. If you're new to baitcasting, you must have patience and learn the reel. This one happens to be very straight forward and the adjustments stay put. With baitcasting reels, you have to adjust them when you switch to a different weight lure to avoid the backlash. This is alittle more basic than the higher end reels are to adjust, yet nearly as sensitive which really helps. I've had the Shimano Citica reels as well. Although I will give the nod to the Citica in a side by side comparison,which really isn't an apples for apples comparison and when you're talking about an $80+ difference in price between the two, this one wins hands down for value!! I use both of my Black Max reels in tournaments. I can't say one bad thing about this reel. Is it going to be as nice as some higher priced reels? Of course not, but if you're like me and you don't really care about some bells and whistles and you're more concerned about reliability and cost, THIS is the reel you want. You just can't do better at this price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Absolutely amazing!

04/29/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this reel last weekend and it has completely blown me away. I've picked up reels priced up to $130 and they didn't feel as smooth as this one. Amazing quality for a fraction of the price. Great for veteran bait cast users or beginners.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Great reel

04/04/2013
By ,
Holliday, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this reel, so have not got a chance to use it. However, the feel of it as I was stringing it was great. Light easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Great reel!

04/11/2013
By ,
Florida, sanford
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great reel for starters or more expeirenced fishers. It has far smooth casting and 5 ball bearing system for very easy reeling. I was wandering if I should buy this reel for the price but it is deffenitly worth it. I would recemmend this to anyone. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Nice reliable product!

09/04/2014
By ,
Lexington ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Smooth reel! Durable and reliable!
Awesome price. I've had some spendy reels, and this one is by far the smoothest and durable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

awesome reel for begginers

04/23/2013
By ,
north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this reel the other day and it worked excellent didnt have a backlash all day
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

this reel works just as great as my 300.00 abu, s

02/12/2014
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
these reels work just as great and smooth as my 300.00 dollar Garcia reels
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Excellent reel for the price

02/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good reel
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel

Wrong reel :-(

11/25/2013
By ,
Morrilton ,AR.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The picture shows a left handed reel which I wanted. When it was delivered it was a right handed reel :-( . Disapponited. Ordered one from Amazon.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Abu Garcia Black Max Reel
Based on the average of (242) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5