Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Computers Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Computers Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

The powerful Acer AM3470G Desktop PC delivers a rich HD media experience and provides effortless multitasking performance to breeze through all of your computing and entertainment needs. Boasting an AMD Quad-Core processor, 4GB DDR3 memory, high-end graphics performance and plenty of media extras it provides the power to play, create and enjoy all of your media without slowing down! Update your Windows 8 PC to Windows 8.1 for free through the Windows Store
Average Customer Rating:
4.306 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation90%43 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
31
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great value for the money

05/07/2012
By ,
Sophia, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this Acer Desktop about 3 weeks ago and love it. Great value for the money and it performs just as great. It doesn't come with a lot of software but is more than adequate. It has Microsoft Office Starter which works fine for me. Easy to set up and it's performance is fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 2 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Awesome computer: for the new buyer~!

07/20/2012
By ,
The United States of America
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Alright, this computer is pretty good, for something that is pre-built.
It's got a good MOBO (aka Motherboard.)
A concern was when I ran it on my speccy program, meaning I could see all the Specs.
The RAM was a concern, it's 4GB which is nice, and you can upgrade it since this is a 64 bit operating system, but it was clocked very low for a ram stick. 665mhz, I say go search for the Kingston HyperX series of ram DDR3 and Look for 1333mhz on the description.
Now onto the fun part: This computer is GOOD for updating.
Although the PcI-e slot is 2.0 you have backwards compatibility for the PCi-e 2.1.
The CPU is awesome be glad you bought this: The Cpu socket is Fm1.
Meaning you can fit one of the best Cpu's in today market in it: The A8-3870K!
And, if you get a High end Psu, and A High end Graphics card you won't have to upgrade until Graphics surpass Real Life.
Thanks and I also recommend www.tomshardware.com for all your questions relating to computers :D
Or Gamedebate.com~!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Corsair Builder Series CX V2 500W 80 Plus Certified Power Supply
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
XFX AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB GDDR5 PCI-E 2.1 Graphics Card
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
Kingston HyperX 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 SDRAM 1333 240-Pin Desktop Memory Model
4.5 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
 
 
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
I'm new to this...
Posted 10/25/2012
I was reading your post, and I think I am going to go with everything you posted. I don't know how all of this stuff works yet, I'm trying to learn about it all now for this is my first purchased desktop. I am loving the pc thus far, but it is kind of laggy from time to time. I do casual gaming(which it sometimes struggles with) and i use some pretty graphic intensive programs(3DS MAX, Adobe). While it runs Adobe Illustrator just fine for the most part, and can run 3DS MAX decently I would like to add another monitor, and definitely speed up my gaming performance. I was wondering if I would need to switch out the power supply for adding that RAM? Afterwards I will be later adding the Graphics card as well, but for now I can only afford the RAM.
As for the Graphics card; can I just simply add this to the pc? Or would I need to remove the current one, then swap it out? I have heard hat computers may be capable of holding 2 graphics cards simultaneously. Perhaps I am misinformed(quite possible). Also, is that graphics card capable of connecting up to 2 monitors? I would GREATLY appreciate any help that you may have to offer, if possible. Thank you for your time.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good for most current games.

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer in the hopes that I would be able to browse the internet, play games, and use almost constantly, while at the same time, being able to upgrade it over time.
It has exceeded all expectations, and if I had the chance, I would have bought a couple of them for a few friends of mine.
I am a gamer, so when I was able to play League of legends, Dota 2, Call of Duty Black Ops, and Batman: Arkham City, with minimal lag, or no lag at all, I was thoroughly impressed with the results I had gotten.
This computer meets, and exceeds my expectations.
If your looking for a budget desktop, that is able to play games that are currently out, and even some that will be coming out, then get this computer, I cant recommend it enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 4 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Unbeatable value and will play Diablo III!!

07/18/2012
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently my laptop began burning drives and then my toddler used it as a scale finishing it off. I had been saving to build a gaming rig but only had a few hundred at the time this occurred. So I did a little research and came upon this bundle. Now I know this isn't a high powered gaming rig but much to my happiness and for those wondering it will run DIABLO III just fine, not on the highest settings but decent enough it has no problem running the game at all. I had seen many posts online saying this rig would not play the game (just based off specs) but this isn't true so if your concerned about that trust me it will run the game fine. The case has a decent amount of space inside so upgrades are possible if you can find a bigger power supply first off. But for the price vs. what you get in this bundle it is an incredible value in my opinion and I'm glad I picked it up for this cheap price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
04/11/2012
By ,
buffalo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after owning and building several systems i rate this computer at its best for price and performance.acer has come along way since they use to be texas instrument.for those who are after name brand computers,you really need to look at the specs on this acer.all things considered people need to know acer just isnt acer they own gateway and emachines,wouldnt surprise me if they bought out dell in the near future
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
north carolina
not fond of this one ? or win 7 at all
Posted 08/01/2012
when i play dvds or avi or movies from wintv, they fade to light to dark.
the helpline want cover software saport,
i have 2 aditional years worenity, they want anotherr almost 200 more for software saport for 1 year only, and good for 5 to 15 avents depending on price.
tryed going to the acer driver site and they had 3 dirvers for me to try but would not install.
on line they say it is a win 7 problem - not the codet file we need, went to device manager to get it to update its driver no luck - i told the help line that you would expect to watch videos with no problems - when it fades which is not all the time but not good to watch movies, they say sory but no software saport unless i pay per advent for help on this.
i did go to on line tec help but the driver they sent me to download would not install so no help- you dont expect such a simple problem weth a new computer that is so big- the tec says it is a software problem just needs to reset the settings but i tryed but no luck - it acts like a copyguard is on evorything - i am afraid to get another computer with win7 if it will have same problems - might give my husband this one - he dont do same as i on computers
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

PC to hold me over

04/30/2012
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't have the $ to get my dream gaming PC but this does what it does pretty well and my mom is happy that I'm doing homework again and my dad is happy I'm off his gaming PC. This performs as I expected it to. Nothing super exciting but it's a good starter machine. It runs Minecraft, email, BFBC2, internet, word processing. It's hard to get older programs to run on it-as expected, but that's a Microsoft thing. It's very quiet. So, yes, for the $ (and I did shop around a lot, comparing pre-built vs. my building one) it's a good solid starter/basic machine. Don't expect to run resource intensive games and you'll be fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 7 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

AMD is always better value

04/10/2012
By ,
Bridgewater , MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to build my own puters but no time now . I cannot come close to building my own with a 4 core AMD and windows 7 premium . The onboard graphics work ok and the ram and hardrive are middle of the road . I do have concerns about the 300 watts power supply but 3 weeks in and everything is ok . A decent buy all in all .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 8 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

AMAZING!!!

10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had read all of the reviews and decided to give it a shot. I am a graphic design/3D Animation major, and i also casually game (Star Wars the Old Republic). I needed a pc that could run Adobe Illustrator, Autodesk 3DS MAX, and also play some video games, but I had little cash. This pc blew my mind! It took like 20 min. tops to turn on and install all of the current updates for WIN 7(which my quad core i3 laptop took like an hour to do!) It runs all of those programs really well. Granted i only run SWTOR on low-med settings. If you're like me and are looking for a low budget computer that can handle some pretty intensive graphic design programs, and also do some light-medium gaming this WILL do it! FANTASTIC PC, I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THIS COMPUTER!!!! Also this pc came with "handwriting Recognition" software! which is SO FREAKIN AWESOME! i can just write up notes on my bamboo tablet and it will convert it into text. usually people are stuck with having to buy Microsoft Office to get that kinda software, or download risky source software that never works. This also came with all sorts of other AWESOME programs! DEFINITELY GO OUT AND BUY THIS COMPUTER!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Excellent machine for the price!

05/23/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 6 year old Dell was so outdated, I could only play one or two games on it anymore. This one has handled everything I've thrown at it, plus the old stuff with settings I'd never thought I'd be able to see. Its speedy with everything, and so so so quiet I can barely detect it's on! Two thumbs up for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good deal

06/14/2012
By ,
Rincon, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First impression out of the box was great. A very stylish case, not like other brands I've seen. Boots fast and comes with a windows 8 upgrade for only $15. It took 3 DVDs to make the initial backup discs. Can't beat the walmart price either.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 11 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

So Far So Good

06/14/2012
By ,
Crawfordville, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like most folks would be I was nervous when the box that was shipped to the store and delivered to me was pretty beat up. Not how you expect a computer to be treated, but it apparently survived. I was looking for a basic, reliable home desktop for work, documents, email and internet use - no games and only limited video and music use - and it seems to be well suited for that and certainly a step up from the old Dell it replaced. Very easy to set up, fast enough for my needs and has performed perfectly so far. Unless you need a racehorse machine for intensive applications I would recommend this as a good basic computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 12 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great for browsing/media and moderate gaming

09/13/2012
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer because my gaming desktop quit working and I had no other choice but to buy this budget priced PC. Turns out, after re-installing windows 7 and upgrading to a solid state drive, this computer far exceeds my expectations. It runs very well, boots in less than 15 seconds (thanks to the SSD), and runs games like Sims 3 on max settings on 1080p on a decent FPS. I highly recommend this computer. And if you have the money, a solid state drive will make this computer extremely quick. Definitely worth the money. Overall a great bang for the buck! Take note that you really should reinstall windows 7 when you get it, because of all the added programs (it slows the computer down)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 13 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Excellent Value for Cost

04/29/2012
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this computer for my son who puts a machine through a real work-out. The processor and graphics performance are quite good for this class of machine. There are unused slots for memory expansion, and two slots available to add cards. The only concern for expansion is that while the power supply is more than adequate for its existing configuration, it does not leave much left over for adding devices.
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Review 14 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

BETTER THAN EXPECTED

07/13/2012
By ,
New Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My $1200 C.G.I. computer burned out and in a hurry I ran down to wallmart and picked up this baby. I payed a hundred bucks more than just ordering a new bearbones system but I needed to finish a project that day. I got it home and poped in 12 gigs of ram and a 4 gig video card and BAM it was running all of my software better than my old system did, then again it was an upgrade from ddr2 to ddr3. I am going to buy 2 more for my family!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

An excellent product

08/05/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My family purchased this Acer desktop almost 2 months ago (paid $378) and so far, we like it very much. The Quad-core processor works so fast, it allows us to run multi tasks. The pc comes with most software we needed and for the hardware, we only need to connect it with external speakers and a microphone. Next step, maybe try to hook a webcam.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Exceeds expectations.

10/26/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this game specifically to play on-line game, Guild Wars 2. This game has a VERY high graphics demand and so far the on-board AMD Radeon HD 6530D graphics card works very well on medium to high settings, very smooth.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Good Computer.

07/06/2012
By ,
Cynthiana,Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have built my own computers in the past. I have also bought several. I was super impressed when I set it up. Great speed and power also for running a home network. I have 2 laptops and another desktop running thru it to the internet. But you cant hardly tell they are there. I am looking forward to getting another one to replace my other dsaktop. I can't tell you the name of my othere desktop becuase Dell would get upset. Yes. Its better than my dell.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Pleased with the purchase.

10/10/2012
By ,
Petrolia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value with soft ware included and the available plug-ins. The key board was very basic so kept our old key board.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
10/22/2012
By ,
marine ciity, mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i search around long and hard for a good computer at a cheap price. after about 3 months of intensive search, test driving where i could, i finally settled on this one. I was looking to replace an old gargoyle i used for years that was slow as can be, had a loaded hard drive, and and had a tendency to freeze up on me at random times. after many years i finally felt it was time to upgrade. i think with this computer i might have actually downgraded.
when i first opened it up all seemed fine. it was fast, had good video quality, and all the hard drive space i needed. it wasn't until about 2 days later that it started to show its true colors. i first started having problems with software. it took about 3 trys to get an antivirus to take but then finally i got it and i thought everything was fine. then i couldn't get any updates to take. it would again take me about 3 trys to get them to take. and again after about 3 trys everything was fine. a little strange ill admit but i wouldn't dismiss it yet.
some time passed and everything was fine, i figured all my earlier woes was just a fluke, but on one fateful day about 3 months after i got it, it showed me exactly how well it was built. one night, ill admit it was a warm night, the thing started slowing down to almost a stop. me still being used to my slow computer, was used to this kind of behavior and decided to wait it out, figuring sooner or later it would come back again. nope it ended shutting down. i tried to restart it and got a no boot file message. awesome, my new computer is dead. my first thought was to take it to the computer repair shop in town. they inform me that the hard drive, the motherboard, and the power supply are all fried. the trifecta. not wanted out of my awesome 3 months old computer. they wouldnt even fix it, telling me that it would be more cost effective to get a new computer. instead they said i should call acer and see what they would do. i rushed home and instantly got acer tech service on the line. that's when i got some good news, my computer came with a one year warranty. sweet. so i packed it up, and shipped it out free of charge. i got it back a week and a half later with a service report telling me that they replaced the hard drive, nothing else. ok maybe the computer shop was wrong, i could accept that. i hooked it up and everything was fine, for about 3 hours or so. after that static started coming from my speakers. after investigation and trying everything i could think of to get rid of it including moving my computer and trying different speakers, i broke down and called acer again. and here i am, shipping my computer back again, i didnt even have time to get it updated yet. this time i got it back in a week with a service report saying nothing was wrong. apparently i was imagining the static. i hooked it up again and low and behold its still static. this time i called acer right away and with a full head of steam. finally after having to have the guy listen to the static through the phone as he kept insisting everything was fine, they had me send it back yet again. this time i got it back in yet another week with a service report that said, you guessed it, they replaced the motherboard.
that's where i stand now. six months after i bought this computer i am writing this review on my old gargoyle because my new computer is in for repairs yet again. since i bought it i have actually gotten maybe 4 to 5 months of use out of the six months Ive had it and have sent it for repairs a total of 4 times. to me that's not a good ratio. i have even asked acer if there was a lemon law on this thing because if its going to die every 3 months there's got to be something wrong. luckily i have also found out that acer offers a warranty extension extending my warranty to 3 years. i may be stuck paying for that otherwise i don't know what i would do after the year is up. im not going to lie, at this rate it'll end up paying for itself and ill probably end up having to send this thing in for repairs at least 2 more times before my first year is up let alone every time after that but its just the fact. that's another $80 that i shouldn't have to fork out on it.
as it is i still like to give everything the benefit of the doubt. i don't know what went wrong, if i got a lemon or if this computer is just junk but i wouldn't recommend this product to my worst enemy let alone a friend. maybe i did just get a bad egg but in my opinion, don't waste your money on this computer. you'll be better off getting a calculator and a pad of paper as long as you'll actually get to use the thing
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southwest GA
Posted 12/03/2012
That is horrible! I worked in internet/software support and had a very strange call from a customer who'd been having problems for months. It turns out, all the problems he was having with his internet access was caused by a faulty, ungrounded power pole installed outside his home a year before following a hurricane. After 3 phone calls with this guy, I called him at 9:30pm only to have his wife answer and tell me the electric company was outside the home at that very moment, completely changing out the pole (dry rotted) and wiring that had been installed by a different, out of state power company. They also had managers there.
People don't think about it but there may be other items that are interfering and causing your computer to go bad. Some of those issues will have been resolved when the company received the computer because of the change in environment. I've even made the mistake myself and ended up having to replace modems/routers, cordless phone systems, and VoIP phone systems.
Before you throw away any more money, find out if you have too many devices in one area causing interference or overheating, other malfunctioning devices, or cables and surge protectors that have gone bad. My customer's first clue to his problem was when his wife found she could no longer listen to her car radio once she pulled into their driveway. It was a minor issued so they dismissed it until he had a long conversation with me. (I received a few gifts from him in the end.)
It's quite possible the computer was a lemon but there may be environmental (the computer's environment) issues that need to be resolved, too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Acer AM3470G-UW10P Desktop PC with AMD Quad-Core A6-3620 Accelerated Processor, 4GB Memory, 500GB Hard Drive and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Some hardware failed

08/29/2012
By ,
Rockville, Md
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The USB ports and card reader stopped working about 1 week after my purchase. Working with their online assistance was fairly easy, but we determined that it required real repairs. I shipped it to Acer repair facility but haven't heard from them yet.
If it comes back working and without a charge then I'll be happy with it. My ratings are based on it working properly when returned.
One objection - it comes loaded with worthless software that needs to be cleaned out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 40 total reviews
1 2 Next