Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Computers Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Acer Computers Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

The Acer 23" Widescreen LCD Monitor, S230HL BD, is a slim monitor that is great for multitasking and web browsing. This Acer LCD monitor features a non-glare screen and can be easily viewed from any angle. With full high-definition resolution, your web pages, videos and documents are displayed in high contrast that is great for video and photo reproduction. This streamlined Acer 23-inch Widescreen LCD Monitor has a 5ms response time and delivers exceptional widescreen viewing performance every time with life-like color and long-lasting quality.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation94%68 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 65 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
48
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Great Monitor

11/01/2012
By ,
Helena, MT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I rated this monitor three stars only because it does not have an HDMI port. Considering the day we are in HDMI should be a standard port on all monitors.... The HDMI port is also why I rated it 4 in meeting my expectations. Though I will admit I did not read the description or even think about HDMI for the laptop I was attaching this monitor to. Was surprised when I got it home and found it did not have a HDMI port and that was one of two monitor connections my laptop supports.
I kept the monitor and used a DVI to HDMI adaptor and the monitor is great. Everything I have come to expect from the Acer family of products over the many years I have been using their product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Great Picture!!

11/03/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really, I can't see you needing more unless your an avid game player! I mainly watch movies (many fast action), movie clips, and lots of reading.
Pros:
For movies, the dark's are awesome! Keeps up with fast action rather good, real good! As for reading, the text is very crisp, even the fine print!!
I just can't see going out and buying all these expensive monitors where the difference is very minute, at the same time they are very problematic.
Cons: The hidden panel buttons are lacking descriptions. If they spent just a few seconds on the panel controls, they could of easily found that they could have solved this problem by adding a very cheap piece of a transparent display sticker above the buttons on the lower right front of the screen so we would know which buttons do what instead of trying to guess or memorize them. Think people, think! :-)
Just an added note, even though it doesn't have an hdmi input, trust me, the picture quality is very good! At first I was hesitant, but it didn't disappoint.
Bottom Line: Buy it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Overall, it's a great monitor, great value.

03/08/2012
By ,
DeKalb, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this monitor today. Got it home, very easy set up. The only assembly is putting the base on the monitor, which is done with a single screw that doesn't even require a screwdriver. It also comes with both a VGA AND a DVI cable, which I wasn't expecting. I was using a LG 22" LCD monitor (belonged to a friend#. This Acer model is far superior. It comes with a users manual, a quick start guide and a CD containing both the manual and the quick start guide. I booted up, adjusted my resolution and noticed this monitor is WAY brighter than the LG I was using. Used the menu buttons on the monitor to adjust the brightness down #it was set at maximum setting#. Loaded up Fallout New Vegas #game) and noticed a HUGE difference. Went through some photos and again, was impressed by the clarity and sharpness.
Also the price was great. Bought this for $169.99.
Now for the downside. The buttons on the monitor are not on the front, the are on the underside, so they are not visible. Easy enough to push them as they are larger than most I've seen. The only other down side is the monitor cables stick horizontially out of the back of the monitor. Not sure that will be an issue over time, but we'll see.
Overall it's a great monitor. Now I just need to get my new video card and really push this bad boy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Nice monitor for the money, but 16:9 not 16:10

11/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice enjoyable monitor, great value, but if you want to read documents one page at a time without scrolling, you really need at least a 24-inch diagonal for a monitor with a 16:9 aspect ratio. The older monitors were 16:10, so you could get away with a 22-inch diagonal to get the same readable height. Most low cost monitors are now 16:9, thanks to the entertainment industry. I returned the s230hl and ordered a v246hl bd instead, 23 inch versus 24 inch. The extra diagonal inch gives and extra half inch in useable height. The V-model is only a few dollars more, site to store. Came in three days. The S model has connectors that attach straight back. The V model has connectors that attach downward, for better wall mounting, if desired. S-models are slim, but wider at the base, which lowers the center of gravity for stable mounting. The V essential professional models have a boxier rear panel, but they also have a built-in power supply instead of a wall module. The stands are adequate. I like both monitors. It depends what you need it for. Here's how the Acer part numbers work: S=slim V=essential professional. Next two numbers are diagonal size. Third number relates to options. H=high definition. L=LED back-light.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Fantastic! Great quality, good price, EASY SET UP

04/19/2014
By ,
Mesa, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hubby enjoys gaming and his old monitor was dying and awful. At ten at night, I ran to my nearest wal-mart to get him a cheap monitor. Was aiming for around $100 but when I saw this, I thought, well, it's an early birthday present, why not upgrade? SO GLAD I DID!!! It is GREAT!!!!!! Beautiful, light weight, thin, EASY SET UP, GREAT PICTURE, LARGE! My husband had it up and running with his game in about two minutes and he was a HAPPY MAN!!! : ) SOOOOO glad I didn't go with the no name brand for $100. I have an acer laptop and love it. This monitor is a GREAT BUY!!!! : )
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

No HDMI but same quality if better.

07/28/2012
By ,
Nampa, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First let me mention that the version I have the (ACER S230HL Abd) not the ACER S230HL Abii which has an HDMI cable. If that one is horizontally mounted you'll have problems if you use thicker cables, which are heavy and will make you loose connection.
Anyway, this one only has a DVI port and a VGA port (DVI created 1999, VGA in the 70's both standard for every video card or motherboard, for a little while) and ships with a VGA cable, and a power converter about the size of your cell phone.
Quality: Compared to my wife's 23"(Dell St2320lf) LCD monitor (2012), it looks exactly the same only her's has to have HDMI to look nice. I'll also note that our Visio Blue-ray and LED TV look grainy and high speed action look terrible without HDMI. This Acer on the other hand, looks great, and I can put the extra $30-$50 into buying a better video card or processor for my computer.
Comparisons: When run with the VGA on my HP laptop (Nvidia GT 230M) the clarity of text is diminished by 2%-5%, and Photoshop editing on low resolution pictures isn't good. A 600x400 picture that looked great on my 1366x768 laptop, looses all detail, and high resolution images, look a little off. This will always happen when going from 1366x768 to a 1920x1080 monitor. On my wife's AMD 6450 video card the picture is crisp, the same can be said about the integrated graphics on Intels i7 3770 integrated graphics . Photoshop looks nice, and videos are crisp. As mentioned by others I'm excited to see what it will look like with a real dedicated graphics card.
Concerns: There are 3 color setting (warm/cool/standard) under the monitor. This means your pictures will look like they were taken from a Cannon, Nikon and hopefully a true color view. Since I do photo editing I prefer to make my own changes to color and use standard. Standard will adjust... brightness and color. Each being different if you have the lights on in the room or off. I have no idea if it has a sensor but it will make slight changes each time you press it. I am still sceptical if CYMB for printing will remain the same, but I'm hopeful.
In action: Youtube videos are a little grainy from 2 feet away, but DVD's are very crisp. The picture fits the full screen on this monitor, (with my laptop, a Dell, and on Intel's dedicated graphics on the I7 3770) unlike some monitors (Dell)that give you a boarder by chopping off the sides and top and tell you that the 22" picture you are viewing is a 23" wide screen. If you like this, there is an option called Aspect that can make your 23" inch monitor look like a 21" if that's what your into.
There is a Econo, Standard, Graphics and Movie mode, as well as the ability to move the and I recommend turning on AMC, after looking it up it is (in-theory) going to increase the life of my monitor.
For those that complain about the power switch being one of six buttons on the bottom in other websites... press the one on the "FAR RIGHT" on the bottom, almost right under the blue LED on/off light. This blinks when your computer is off, and since it is an energy star device and only uses 23 watts when on you don't have to freak out if you didn't turn off your monitor on the drive to work.
The monitor is very light and the stand is 6.5" front to back. As for those that fear flinging the monitor off their desk when "pushing the power button from the underside", or think that they have to "hold the monitor with two hands to turn it off" as mentioned on other sites...
(I roll my eyes)
See my comment below on making sure the monitor is connected to the stand.
I don't think that this is a con, but the tilt on the stand only tilts back and not down, I I have stuck something under it to give it a downward tilt. When opening the box, you are given a monitor which has a plastic tab, and a stand that has a funky looking metal clasp. In this situation metal and plastic do mix. You must follow the instructions and place the stand on the floor, and push the monitor firmly onto the clasp. You may feel that you might break it... and Acer doesn't give you the satisfaction of hearing a "click" when it is completed, but it feels very sturdy after connected.
Conclusion, great price, excellent quality, and would recommend... unsure if a professional printing shop. I'm keeping mine and am a graphic designer, but I'm also a college student with a budget. Thanks, hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
ASUS ENGTX560 DCII Top GeForce GTX560 1GB DDR5 Graphics Card
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nampa, Idaho
UPDate
Posted 08/31/2012
UPDATE: After 2 months on this monitor I can't believe what a difference it is compared to a 17" laptop. Two thumbs up!
Working in Sony Vegas Pro squishes you preview window depending on how many options you have open and a 23" screen is allows you to fix what you need to, while having a good size preview video. Photoshop, Flash, Illustrator, InDesign, and DremaWeaver look great, and images/video from my Canon DSLR are movie quality on the integrated 4000 graphics card on the i7 3770. Lousy youtube videos get worse, and I find myself looking for higher quality videos more often.
I've installed the EVGA GeForce GTX 560 Graphics Card, and my AVP (Alien vs. Predator) game looks Fantastic. There was some anxiety when I had to switch to a DVI cable and the screen when to a 19" with the black box around it, but after loading the software and updating the driver everything is wonderful. Happy shopping!
My setup:
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer Gaming Mid Tower Computer Case with USB 3.0
Intel Core i7-3770 Quad-Core Processor 3.4 GHz 4 Core LGA 1155
Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 Motherboard
Cooler Master MegaFlow 200mm Red LED Computer Case Fan
ASIN:B003PJ6QWE Corsair Professional Series Gold 750-Watt 80 Plus Gold Certified High-Performance Power Supply
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM 1600 (PC3 12800)
Rosewill RCR-IM5001 USB2.0 75 in 1 internal Card Reader w/ 3 ports USB2.0 Hub / Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus CPU Cooler with Arctic Silver 5 Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound Paste 3.5g
Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64 MB Hard Drive
and Asus 24 speed DVD drive
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Great moniter

07/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use with VGA connection for XBOX 360 and with my laptop and it looks great either way. Games with scenery look amazing and the response time is great for fast-paced action. The monitor is very thin and extremely light. I move it around a lot and I have to be careful. It doesn't have wall mounts but it does have a small footprint on a counter or desk. The AC adapter gets a little hot, but it is just a Barrell-Jack wal-wart and those are easy enough to find replacements for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MS
Great At First
Posted 10/21/2012
Bought my Acer 17" LCD about six months ago.....last week had 2 black spots (about 1 inch diameter) show up in the lower right screen. The next day, they had shifted some so that it was 1 1/2 spots. A couple days later a 1" in upper left screen (which has shifted a little today) plus a third 2" lower right......not sure if I just got a "lemon" or if this is a common problem. It was excellant while it lasted.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Loving this monitor!!!

09/05/2013
By ,
houston, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the definition and performance of this monitor. Thank you for a great product at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

One hundred percent trash

08/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it today, installed it, and the screen is blank. Neither do any of the settings controls work. The screen is blank when any of those buttons are pressed. I checked the power cable and the blue light comes on. I checked the video cable and it beeps when plugged and unplugged so that is not the problem either. I intend to return it and get a different brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Good Buy

01/24/2013
By ,
TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor. Although, I have not had it for a long time, I can say that this is a very good monitor. I love the actual screen size you get for viewing and it is high in resolution.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)
08/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good monitor; sharp colors, and very light and thin. Just wished that the frame wasn't glossy finish. Stand is a bit cheap and cannot adjust height or tilt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Great value.

04/30/2013
By ,
nashville, tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This widescreen monitor is exactly as specified. Very easy to connect/install and the color and resolution are great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

GORGEOUS !

05/02/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clear, Beautiful so easy to set up my cat could have done it ! Nice height and tiltable base. Very light and very thin ! When I tell people how much I spent they can believe how inexpensive it was. Similar monitors of the same size and make are at least $65. dollars more at stores like Bestbuy. I told a friend(a licensed Microsoft engineer and as soon as the words were out of my mouth, he said Great deal, Buy it ! I couldn't not be happier ! Also very fast shipping !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Good value for the money

10/15/2012
By ,
De Queen, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Plugged it in to new desktop PC and had to do nothing else.....good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Unstable base, no angle adjustment

11/11/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it for around $120 in August (2013) and it was a good deal for the price. It works just fine. I have two issues however. First the base is very light and unstable. You can knock the whole monitor very easily by accident and break it. That is very irritating because while the manufacturer saved a few dollars by putting a cheap and light plastic base there is a real risk I can accidentally damage the monitor. This is a substandard quality. Second, it doesn't have an option to adjust the angle up/down so you have to keep looking into the monitor straight forward. It makes almost no difference when you are sitting close at the desk. But if you want to watch a movie from your couch that is lower than the chair at the desk then you get dark picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Good Monitor

09/04/2013
By ,
Gulfport,MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is was very hard to attach to the base. Once I finally got the base on it was very easy to connect and start using.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Fantastic Monitor

11/11/2013
By ,
southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It more than met my expectations. The monitor looked better, bigger, and more beautiful then the one I already had. I had wish I had bought (2) two of them instead. It gives a great picture. large picture, beautiful colors....
And, It delivers everything I needed and more...Now, I can work with more comfort and ease. I have made it my main monitor...If I were to have more of them, I would have them surround me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Not what I expected

05/24/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was hoping for a fairly decent monitor. But seems cheap and not happy with the HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

Good Overall

10/29/2013
By ,
Mount Vernon, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Crisp Clear picture and easy to assemble and light weight.
Cons: Display was smaller by 1 inch. Buttons are on the underside and you have to feel around for them.
All in all tho it is a good monitor and suits me fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Acer 23" LCD Widescreen Monitor (S230HL BD)

I Love the big picture

07/22/2013
By ,
Clackamas, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am pleased with this monitor. The screen size is nice and big and good for movies and game playing. It does get warm though so I shut it off at night. I havent had a problem with a monitor getting warm before so I dont know if this is normal or not. I am hoping it will last as long as all my other monitors have. They usually dont ever wear out for me I just replaced the one I had because I wanted a bigger one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next