Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Acer Computers Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Acer Computers Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

The Aspire AO722 11.6" Laptop PC is the perfect combination of usability and portability in a thin and light design. It boasts a full-size keyboard and excellent connectivity for the best of both worlds. You'll have everything you need in a travel light design to stay connected on the go, enjoy more of your media and tackle your everyday demands with ease.
Average Customer Rating:
3.938 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation83%52 out of 63reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
16
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Nice netbook

03/10/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased my red 11.6" Aspire One from Wal-Mart about three weeks ago and am very impressed with it.
I don't find it slow at all although I will be upgrading the RAM using a Crucial 4GB DDR3 stick CT2177318 which is very inexpensive. The trackpad is decent enough and I also paired this netbook with a Case Logic netbook case and a Microsoft 3500 wireless mouse which works great. Display is bright and clear.
MS Office 2010 home and student edition already comes pre-loaded all I had to do was purchase a product key and it installed in about 15 minutes. Works great.
The only complaint I have is the amount of bloatware that must be removed but this is to be expected on a machine purchased from a "big box" retailer. I passed on the trial antivirus and instead installed Microsoft Security Essentials and Malwarebytes. I also installed Dropbox, VLC Media Player and Google Chrome Browser. Skype was already installed.
I'm using this for school. It's not fancy but it's very serviceable as well as portable. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+136points
Review 2 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

This netbook is a great value

03/29/2012
By ,
South Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this at Wal-Mart for $298 +tax and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. I got a full fledged PC not a cruise the web check your email toy and it's lightweight just a tad over 3 pounds.
I am running Microsoft Office 2010 and with a 320GB harddrive I don't worry about having enough room to store stuff and add programs. I did upgrade from the 2GB of ram to 4GB which cost me less than $25 to do. As for the comments about this being slow I'm not seeing that with the dual core processors I have yet to find a program that maxs them out. Granted the games I run on the netbook don't call for state of the art graphics those I run on my desktop with a 24" monitor. Overall this little gem is well worth the money. I get the portability I was looking for and I don't sacrifice ability. The one con is the speakers are small minimal at best sound quaility.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Diego
This Laptop is not a Netbook.
Posted 07/21/2012
It doesn't have a Optical Hard drive, but either do Ultrabooks. This comes in a 4GB 500HDD on HSN, and the presentation explains that it does everything a larger computer can do. You can always use an external hard drive.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

very good product

06/28/2012
By ,
New Fairfield CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used a netbook for some time to access my home computer and emails and have something portable for the road. I used to have a 10.1 HP. This 11.6 is much, much better. Slightly larger screen makes a big difference. Going from 1 to 2gb is a huge advantage. Others have upgraded to 4gb but for my use I may not. It comes with Windows 7 Home prem and that's much better than the 7 starter. You do need to get rid of the bloatware that comes with it but, after that you'll be fine. Also, make sure you get some kind of "adblocker".. The ads and popups and such will just choke this sort of machine if you allow them to jump on. This is not a workhorse but, you didn't pay for one. It travels well, good keyboard, nice display, the webcam is passable for once in a while use, the speakers are passable for what you're getting. Use earbuds and you'll be fine. The battery life is good as well.. 4 hours plus on a full charge, and for me that's more than enough to check emails and spend some time working. I Paid $248.00 and keeping in mind what a netbook is, this is a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 4 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

LOVE this little laptop.

04/26/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought one of these darlings 3 yrs ago when Acer first came out with the 11.6". It runs Windows XP and I don't believe you are able to upgrade the memory. I see now that the newer one you can. :-) I am ordering me another one today as I am tired of sharing mine with the family. They always jump on mine as it is always up and running in the living room. It is soooo portable that it goes with me on every trip. I have never had a problem with speed but I don't do a lot of gaming etc. on it. I serf the web, email and do LOTS of pictures on it. Also love the 7 hour battery and yes it really does last that long. As far as not having a cd drive, I bought an external one off the internet for $15 and it just plugs into the usb drive for the rare occasion that I need one. Can't wait for my new laptop to come in!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 5 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Light Weight, Thin, and Small. Perfect for Travel

05/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought the Acer 722-0879 at a Walmart store. I never tried Acer before, but for its low price I took my chances. Actually.. it is pretty great. It was really slow on 2G RAM and you will need to upgrade it to 4G. Very easy to upgrade, just buy the 4G RAM, its like $12 and seach it on youtube how to change Memory for Acer 722. Quite fast now.. This is a thin and light small netbook great for traveling. I do a lot of traveling on planes, so this is perfect. Don't have to carry my old heavy laptop which the battery drains so fast less than 1hr. Acer 722 battery will last like 6 1/2 hous! on dim power saver. Can't beat this for the price. Highly recommended! Happy with my purchased. Saved me some money!
+71points
Review 6 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

great computer for the general public

06/02/2012
By ,
tampa,fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was debating whether I should go with a tablet or a small portable laptop. I am glad that I purchased the Acer Aspire 11.6" laptop. My main purpose really was to do the simple jobs on the computer like documents and simple games, listen to my music collection and house my book collection as well as getting onto the internet. The ease of carrying this lightweight laptop that has a decent battery life is a fantastic plus since it fits in my handbag pretty easily. I take it everywhere. I do miss having an optical disc drive but there are many external disc drives out there that can be used on this laptop. I think it is perfect for students, parents, or anybody that wants access to a computer doing the simple functions and programs. For less than $400 it is better than an ultrabook for value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Excellent for the price

05/07/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little netbook for the price. Base 2 GB memory is easy to upgrade to 4 MB for about $25.00 which helps to speed it up as its not a screaming game machine, but its more than adequate for most everyday tasks and the WIFI connects without difficulty wherever I use it. Well built for as light as it is, and the battery lasts a long time between charges.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Review 8 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
03/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for my needs as a writer requiring mobility, but needing more than what a tablet or e-reader can offer. Perfect size, perfect price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Review 9 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Perfect for the average college student

06/02/2012
By ,
Great Falls, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer when my old Compaq was threatening to crash. It has everything I need as a college student, including an ad supported version of Microsoft Word and Excel (even more savings than I expected!). This is definitely not a gaming or tech computer though, and won't support high memory usage programs like Photoshop or World of War Craft, but it does all functional tasks that a college student requires, and it does run facebook games adequately. Overall, I would recommend this computer to anyone who needs a basic, functional tool but wants to save a few dollars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 10 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
03/27/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent quality-super travel size very portable great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 11 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Not happy at this moment

06/24/2012
By ,
monticello, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Normally, I would recommend this product to others - however, I had recently purchased this - although it was working fine - IT CRASHED AND IT WAS LESS THAN 4 WEEKS SINCE I PURCHASED, I ONLY USED IT A TOTAL OF 5 TIMES, AND IT COST ME OVER $120.00 ON A PURCHASED PROGRAM I NEEDED TO INSTALL FOR A FEE.
Now, I don't know if the McAfee Security program was NOT doing it's job - or if it was a manufacturing glitch/defect or what - but a brand new product with very little use should not crash. Worked perfectly for a short time - than WHAM.....!!
I was so, looking forward to this product for business purposes - and now it seems to be costing me due to the loss of the program I recently installed ($$$) and time needed to ship back and wait for either repair or replacement.
I have shipped this product back to you - and I hope that it is repaired or replaced to my satisfaction.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 12 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great netbook!

05/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great laptop! I originally had bought another brand with only 1GB of memory, and Windows 7 Starter. It would flicker really bad and was extremely slow. I took it back, and bought this one. I am greatly impressed with it.
+9points
Review 13 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option
04/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a previous owner of acer, I loved my first acer. This laptop I just recently ordered online, it being a acer I thought I would have fell in love with it also. Unfortantly, did not turn out that way. I am disappointed in this laptop, It's slow even with my wifi, the laptop it's self is pretty, but the system on it, is VERY SLOW. I would not tell anyone too buy this laptop, I am wanting a refund on mine. Acer you let me down!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newnan, GA
Totally Agree!
Posted 04/17/2012
I have owned many Acer products and have been extremely happy until now. This netbook is horribly slow....the cheaper versions are much faster. I realize a netbook is not going to be the fastest machine, but this is just pathetic. I am extremely dissapointed!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Doesn't work with Netflix

06/26/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the Acer Aspire One 722 from Wal-Mart and when I try to watch Netflix the video starts and stops constantly, makeing it very annoying to try to watch. When I called Acer they told me to go online for a chat session. The tech said that I would have to make some changes to the operating system of the computer and that they would charge me to tell me how to fix it. That didn't make me very happy. I have read reviews from some other owners who seem to have no trouble running Netflix. Maybe it is just my machine, at any rate I'm taking it back to Wal-Mart today.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 15 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

A good Netbook.

05/23/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A little choppy on Netflix & some Flash games even after a 4 gig upgrade, but a good value with a HDMI output.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 16 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great deal for the money

07/02/2012
By ,
Missouti
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only shortcomming-no DVD drive. But for what it is used for, it is not needed. Got this for my wife to browse the net and email. Fast, excellent net cam and speaker quality on Skype, beautiful display, nice keyboard action, lightweight, excellent battery life. I got a larger Acer and kind of wish I had one of these. It is sooo easy to pack and carry. WIFI works great and is stable. Whats not to like? Get one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great price, great little computer and fast shippi

07/21/2012
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic little travel companion...boots up fast, beautiful display, added 4gb memory and for email-surfing it's perfect. Took it to work and everybody wanted to know how much it cost...told them. They didn't let the door hit them on the way out to Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 18 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Great for just internet browsing and class work.

04/24/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product does not have a cd-rom disk drive. I though it had one. It would have been great only if it contained a disk drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Near Saint Louis
CD Drives
Posted 08/16/2012
I rarely ever have to use a CD/DVD drive. Most everything can be done with a flash drive. In the rare event that you need a CD/DVD drive, you can get an small external drive for less that $50. I keep one around just in case, but I might use it once or twice a year. Eventually, as we move to App Stores (including Microsoft), even that may go away.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Can't beat it for the price

07/31/2012
By ,
Connecticut
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My teenage daughter uses this mainly for homework assignments, Internet/Facebook and iPod-iPhone syncing, all of which this does with no problems. If there was any want, it would be a CD/DVD drive (we have since purchased an external unit)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for Acer Red 11.6" Aspire AO722-0879 Laptop PC with AMD Dual-Core C-60 Accelerated Processor and Windows 7 Home Premium with Windows 8 Pro Upgrade Option

Light and Easy to Use

08/05/2012
By ,
Panama City, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the portability and light weight of this laptop. The operating system is Windows 7, which seems to be just fine for me. My primary computer is a Mac and I needed something small to run the few critical Windows apps I require. But be warned- this laptop has absolutely NO WAY to load programs into it from a disc! I cannot give it 5 stars because it lacks this capability. I bought two different external CD drives to be able to load in my special apps, and neither one will work with this laptop. I bought this computer as a "bundle" and the bundle listed "suggested accessories" to buy with it. A program disc was suggested, I bought it, and now I cannot even use it. This was very misleading. So, even though it is a nice, convenient laptop avoid the temptation to buy ANY programs that have to be installed by disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 55 total reviews
1 2 3 Next