Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Machspeed Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Machspeed Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

The Mach Speed Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, T180 delivers the best of the 180 Series and more! A 1.8" touchscreen with four home icon controls lets you navigate your media easily. Enjoy your favorite station with the FM radio feature, and never be at a loss for storage with the microSD slot! This Mach Speed Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, T180 is the ultimate on-the-go media companion with a clip-on style.
Average Customer Rating:
1.857 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation24%5 out of 21reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Not bad for the price

02/20/2014
By ,
Kansas City
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wanted a small inexpensive player to listen to music from time to time and this suits me just fine. It's pretty basic, so easy to navigate. The sound is pretty good but good headphones help out a bunch on that. I do want to stress the downloading process was not easy at all. If you are downloading from ITunes make sure to note the songs are an M4a format NOT an MP3. This player is MP3 so the songs are not readily compatible from ITunes, you have to convert them from the M4a to MP3 before this player will accept them. It took me awhile to figure out why my songs were not downloading, the player kept saying "empty disk" after my download would finish. Very frustrating so keep that in mind if you are using ITunes music. I had to google instructions on converting the format but after I figured it out it wasn't too bad, just excessive and time consuming so if you have a lot of songs you might look at some other players that take the M4a format.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 2 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Sve your money

06/01/2013
By ,
South Jersey
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Where to start. The "touch screen" should be called a hammer and hope screen based on the lack of response. The "stylus" is actually a guitar pick, which is sort of appropriate since playing a guitar with it would produce better results than the device is capable of. I actually bought this to use it as an FM radio, but that only works if I hold the player at arms length above my head. To say the tuner has no front end is an understatement. While I don't expect "DX" performance, I would expect it to be able to receive local, within 20 mile, FM broadcasts easily.
The text reader is a joke, word wrap is a concept that is not included. Watching a video or looking at photos, to me would be kind of a waste given the screen size and resolution. For that matter, why anyone want to watch video or view photos on any tiny screen is beyond me and I did not buy the T180 for that feature.
Overall, I would suggest saving your money and buying a better, higher quality, device than the Eclipse T180. The one I have is going back to WalMart tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Review 3 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

horrible product!!!

01/20/2013
By ,
Sikeston, Mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought for Christmas. My daughter was very gentle with it. She had it for a week and a half. While she was in the middle of listening to a song and it just quit. The screen went white and I cannot get it to do anything. I went to the companies web site and left email. NO answer back. DO NOT waste your money. Spend a few dollars more and get something that will work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+43points
Review 4 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

An ok player but not worth the money and time.

04/19/2014
By ,
High Point, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace my old one and have had too many problems with it in the 22 hours I have had it. The touch screen is ridiculous. Sometimes it will respond well and other times I was afraid I may break it trying to get it to respond. The set up was pretty simple. Using it is pretty simple. I love that it comes with the AMV converter software.
Now to the problems. I put my music on it and was finally able to start listening to my music. It played for 6 or 7 minutes and cut off. This happened every time I tried to play more than 3 songs in a row. I had my music on an SD card and tried to play it. Again, the player would play the music and throw out a "Card Failed To Read" message or something like that. I have 4 SD cards. Each one threw the same message out. I didn't have that problem when I tried the cards in my sons MP3 player. Just this one.
The "stylus" is a guitar pick. It actually does work well when you can get the screen to respond.
I am overall dissatisfied in this product. It just isn't worth my time and money trying to figure out how to get it to play for 10 solid minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

good for the price

01/20/2013
By ,
Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit work fine. Sound is excellent. Lot of functions. Display is adequate for the price.
It is fine that the touch screen is disable after few seconds to prevent accidental operation but the volume buttons should not be lock at the same time.
You have to read and reread the operator manual to remember all the functions because some functions are not evident ex: on the radio to change to the next preset station with the power button. It is not obvious.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 6 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Great Product for music listening...

11/20/2013
By ,
Holly Springs, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this product out of a host of other mp3 players I saw out of multiple stores and oddly I like it. My use was to have a mp3 player for the car and only had a few requirements. I was looking for a product that: was not bulky, with touch screen capabilities, had an expansion slot and a pretty decent sound quality. And it was actually all I was looking for. The touch screen is not the best. But usable. When it comes to maneuvering while driving though its loves to screw with you. Its very compact, has an expansion slot to add up to 32 gb via sc card. The only thing that I see is a small problem is the the battery doesn't last more than a couple of hours. But all in all until I get my bluetooth mp3 player. I can deal with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Works for what I wanted

06/04/2013
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this MP3 player because I was tired of draining my cell phone battery whenever I wanted to listen to music. I was looking for something cheap, easy to use, & had a MicroSD slot; & this has what I was looking for. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because the touch screen isn't the best, but all I need that part for is to start playing my songs. I'm not a real "techy" person & I needed something that was easy to put music on & this is it! It also works awesome when I use the USB cable & connect to my car stereo unit; all the song info is displayed on my stereo & I can control everything from stereo too. If you're a really picky/tech savvy person then this wouldn't meet up to your standards I'm sure, but it does to mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)
01/11/2013
By ,
somewhere, usa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought 2 of these for Christmas! They didn't work at all. Couldn't get the touch screen to work. Wasn't a touch screen, but a shove it hard screen and then it might do something, but definitely not what you tried to do. Going back to the main menu was impossible!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+20points
Review 9 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)
03/17/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these for a gift and within two weeks the battery would no longer charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
advise on mp3 player
Posted 06/01/2013
if u call the number on the website they will send u a email with a paper to mail the product to the company and send u a new mp3 player that works i bought a blue mp3 for christmas and it never worked form the start but i havent gotten around to mailing mine off yet
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Don't waste your money!

05/06/2013
By ,
Cuba, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This device was a Christmas gift to me. Did not try to use it till May 5. Downloaded music, touch screen not sensitive, but felt it would work. Day 2, screen frozen to charging icon. Computer would not recognize the device, no driver recognized. Total waste of money...no receipt, as it was a gift. Wish my daughter had not wasted her money. VERY UNHAPPY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per year
+8points
Review 11 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

It Works but User Interface is Poor

08/05/2013
By ,
clinton township mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this for my 6 year old because she wants music but isn't ready for an ipod. This product works so far but the UI is terrible. It's hard to navigate and get back to the home screen. You can't make playlists easily and when you do figure that out, you're only allowed 4. When you press the "Music" button, it should take you to your playlists but instead it takes you right to whatever song you were playing last. Then you have to backtrack through 2 or 3 menus to find the playlists. It is really complicated and tough for a kid.
Also, this isn't iTunes compatible as some people thought. I didn't see anywhere it listing it was but the way you load music is through a "drive" that pops up on your computer. You load the music into the "music" folder on it.
The touch screen is a little rough but functional. The stylus (which is a guitar pick) is ridiculous but works if you have big fingers. My daughter doesn't need it.
I would recommend this only if you are getting it for very basic use. However, if you're not looking for bells and whistles, I'd spend $15 more and get an ipod shuffle.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 12 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

NOT ITUNES COMPATIBLE

06/16/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because it says it is iTunes compatible, it is not, do not waste your money!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 13 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Spend the extra money

10/21/2013
By ,
kennesaw
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrible touch screen, functions in manual dont all exist. Short shelf life. Buy it as a gag gift, no one will get it at first but they will about a week later.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

TOO BAD!!! DON'T BUY!!!

12/14/2013
By ,
LARGO, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JUST BOUGHT IT A FEW HOURS AGO, AND HAD TO DRIVE ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE STORE DUE TO THE USB CABLE WAS MISSING. AFTER ALL THAT, CAME TO FIND OUT IT WAS PREOWNED AND DOESN'T EVEN WORK!!!! AS SOON AS I TURNED IT ON IT KEEPS FLASHING" ERROR FORMAT" WHEN TRYING TO PLAY THE PRELOADED BONUS TRACKS. AND THE SUPPORT WEBSITE www.eclipsemp3.com/180manual.pdf THAT IS LISTED ON THE INSTRUCTION MANUAL FOR FULL WINDOW MEDIA PLAYER DOWNLOADING INSTRUCTION DOES NOT EVEN EXIST!!!! NOW I HAVE TO DRIVE ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE STORE TO RETURN THE DEFECTED PLAYER!!!! WASTE OF TIME, MONEY AND GAS!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 15 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Does not work

01/10/2014
By ,
usa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money does not transfer any pictures or music the radio does not work. The touch screen doesn't work half the time. there is clock that you can't set. Tried for days to make it work nothing works. only thing it does is charge thats it. It's junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Garbage.

08/19/2013
By ,
il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Over priced piece of garbage. Windows 7 wouldn't even recognize it as a drive. It wouldn't read my micro sd. the "guitar pick" stylus was very uncomfortable. On the plus size, it charged.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Save your receipt!

10/21/2013
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This MP3 player stopped working for no apparent reason. I kept it housed in a shock-proof arm band pouch and I only use it when walking. It worked great for a few weeks and one day when I plugged it up to my PC to charge it, the MP3 screen showed "Disk Error!" and my PC could not recognize it any more. I am returning it to Mach 3 tomorrow and I hope they will at least replace it for one that last more than a few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Not bad... if you want to charge it almost daily

08/21/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I didn't expect amazing things from this when I bought it. I bought it specifically for listening to music while I'm working out at the gym, so it gets used about an hour to an hour and a half a day... I have to charge it twice a week. My last mp3 player that lasted me for about 5-6 year lasted at least 2 weeks of gym trips between charges. The worst part is it can show at roughly half battery one day when I finish at the gym, and turn it on the next day to no battery and it shuts off within about 5 to 10 minutes..
spend a few more bucks on a better player...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Very short battery life

08/22/2013
By ,
Houston,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This MP3 player is small and fairly simple to use. The battery has only 2-3 hour play time for music without shuffle, dbb, or backlight (more than 10 seconds). It is very selective about what mp3 music files it will accept.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 20 for Mach Speed Eclipse T180 4GB MP3 Player, (Assorted Colors)

Very cheap

08/09/2013
By ,
Douglasville GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-2points
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1 2 Next