Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Murray Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Get your lawn done in record time and have your yard be the pride of the neighborhood with the Murray 20" Side Discharge Push Lawn Mower. Whether you have a tiny patch of grass or rolling hills of lush lawn, this is the mower to get the job done. This push lawn mower features a 20-inch steel deck. It has seven-inch front wheels and seven-inch rear wheels, and a powerful 300 series Briggs and Stratton engine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.191 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation61%41 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Ikea style directions

05/06/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought and assembled this mower today. The instructions are about worthless. And the nuts that were included were the wrong size. After a trip to the local hardware store to buy the correct size, the mower went together perfectly. The mower started right up and worked great. If you can get past the Ikea-poor directions, you will be happy with this product.
0points
Review 22 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Good mower

05/07/2012
By ,
Fort Washington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is easy to assemble. I am not sure how other reviewers complained how hard it was to assemble. I mean it is a basic mower. Installation only took me less than 15 minutes, and I did not even read the manual.
Pros:
Lightweight
No bagging
Cons:
It would be nice if they came out with a side discharge bagging kit for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 23 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

If you value your peace of mind, don't buy this!

05/08/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this mower twice. We tried to use it a third time and it began to give grief. It was hard to start; then when it did get started, it would run 15-20 seconds, then die. At this point, it was 5 days past the 30 day WM return time. But the manager gave us a credit anyway, so we could buy another brand. Then while we were there, another customer brought in another Murray mower which had failed, although it was not the same model. We will steer clear of this brand in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 24 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower -

05/12/2012
By ,
Media, PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lock Nuts, for the Shoulder Bolts, were too small. [Poor Quality Control!] Had to use parts
from an old mower ... in order to mount wheels to chassis. Followed directions to properly add {supplied) oil to mower, etc. Added proper amount of unleaded (non-premium) gas, etc. Cut about 1/4 acre of level lawn and all went well. Two (2) weeks later, attempted to use mower and same ran for about ten (10) minutes, sputtered, and died. Attempted repeats, to start, have yielded 'low r.p.m.', and stalling after (maybe) twenty seconds. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, TN
MINE TOO!
Posted 05/24/2012
"Cut about 1/4 acre of level lawn and all went well. Two (2) weeks later, attempted to use mower and same ran for about ten (10) minutes, sputtered, and died. Attempted repeats, to start, have yielded 'low r.p.m.', and stalling after (maybe) twenty seconds. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!"
Mine does the EXACT same thing!!!I wonder what that is? Did you take the mower back? Have it fixed? Trash it? What was your outcome? Any help you could give me would be fantastic!
Thanks!
Katie
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 25 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Works great!

05/12/2012
By ,
Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price out there. Starts up every time, and has plenty of power. This mower is very efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 26 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Great Value

05/20/2012
By ,
Oconto falls, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When looking for a cheaper mower for our small yard we decided to check out the online review for this product first and after sorting out the people that didn't like the packaging or weren't good at self assembly we felt like this product really was a 4 out of 5 mower. our only issue was that to lower the mower you have to remove the wheels but besides that its a great value, easy to put together and all metal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 27 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

the rear wheel on my mower is comming off 2 yrs

05/23/2012
By ,
47032
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
i would like a free mower as the mower is not that old still runs great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Review 28 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

trouble with this mower

05/26/2012
By ,
TENNESSEE
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I like this mower only it keeps backfireing and tries to choke out....adjustments are none other that the rod going into the engine below the pull cord houseing. I will need to check out the word from Murry unless I can get help here....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 29 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Easy assembly. Easy start. Performs well

05/27/2012
By ,
NC ILLINOIS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Starts easy and runs well. Performs as expected. A good push mower at a low price. Great for trim mowing. Nothing to complain about but is a bare bones unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 30 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Unreliable basic mower...

05/29/2012
By ,
Norfolk, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this mower on March 15, 2012, assembled myself with some difficulty, but pleased with end result. Mower started right up, and ran great, doing good job cutting. After using for 7 hrs total running time, since couple days after putting mower into service, without warning, or any previous problems, will start with minimal priming, but stops after only about five seconds. Mower will start, but will not run, at all now. I have been using same basic model mower, different brands sold by different stores since the mid 1970's (last couple mowers were sold by Walmart#, getting an average of about ten years out of each mower, without problem. This one is the first one to refuse to run at all, after only less than 8 hrs of use. All previous mowers I've ever used had Briggs & Stratton engines. We still have a Weedeater mower purchassed in 2009, and it's still running good #recently had maintenance pulled on it, but that's expected, especially after about two years of constant use (several times per months during cutting season)) Will be taking back this Murray to the store today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Norfolk, VA
Update on previous post concerning Murray lawn mow
Posted 05/30/2012
Took said mower to briggs & stratton authorized dealer/repair shop and had mower checked out. Was very suprised to find out the only problem with the mower was bad gas. They refilled tank with fresh gas, and some fuel stabliser. Within an hour, they had the mower up and running perfectly. Used said mower yesterday afernoon, for about a half-hour, mowing a yard. Runs like new once again. Taking all that in stock, I am forced to retract every negative thing I've posted about the mower, and once again, rate it as an excellent product for the money. Most definately recommend it.....one just needs to understand the effects of ethanol in the gas, and recognize the need for a fuel stablizer as an additive at times.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 31 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

incorrect parts

05/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this mower for the affordable price tag. It does its job to mow small yards just fine. But the assembly of this product proved to have incorrect parts included and the instructions read for another model of the lawnmower, not the one I purchased. Not my best investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 32 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Inexpensive, does the job

06/02/2012
By ,
Stem, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was looking for the least expensive mower I could find to cut the trim in my yard. This mower is great for that (though I wouldn't recommend it for a much larger area). As usual, the manual was for several different models, so the exact directions were a little difficult to find, but using a little logic helps. The mower started right up and cut evenly. I'm assuming that it's just a characteristic of these mowers (since I've experienced the same thing with a very similar mower), but the engine seems to vary in speed when you're mowing. Also be aware, the adjustable cutting height is a very manual thing. You have to take the wheels completely off and move them to a different hole to adjust the cutting height. It took me a couple of tries to find the height I wanted. But I'm satisfied - the mower does what it should and at a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 33 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
06/12/2012
By ,
clark mills ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
assembly was hard
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 34 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

I like my new mower

06/13/2012
By ,
Inez, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used my new mower once so far but I really like it. It's easy to push and move around. It cuts the lawn good and that's all I expected.
Thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 35 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Confusing, Mismatched Parts, NOT RECOMMENDED.

06/16/2012
By ,
Seattle, Wa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sorry, no matter what others may post/review here, mine and other's experiences seem similiar. IF you are one the purchasers of this mower and had little to no problems assembling it, then great. I bought mine 06/15/2012, and it sits in my garage, probably waiting to be returned. Cannot get the wheels bolted on; I would strip the hex bolt if I continue to to try to "force" it to turn w/ the wheel screw. Agreed w/ one reviewer; very confusing instructions, combining several models in one manual. WHAT?? Parts do not seem to fit together, and I suspect some parts may be missing. IF an option was to buy an already assembled mower, then sure, great, I'd take it/buy it, etc. But having to assemble this? Those wheels have thwarted my enthusiam, and if I have any further issues, it goes back. Dissapointed, as I was looking forward to using it. Hmm...Murray Co. wonder how many customer complaints you've received on this model. Overall, I would not recommend this one, unless it was already assembled, or you had the option of having it put together by a employee.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 36 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Impressive for such a cheap mower

06/25/2012
By ,
MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After owning and returning a $300 Swisher Wheeled Trimmer to mow around my pond and under some cedar trees and other trimming areas, I decided to try this mower.
Pros:
- Very Quiet
- Nice Cut
- Starts and Runs Easily
- Pretty Lightweight to push
Cons:
- No where on the box, machine, or item description does it tell you the cutting height lengths
- Wheels have to be removed to change the cutting height
I purchased the 3 yr. extended warranty because it was cheap and being a single lady, I don't want to mess with another headache like I did with the stupid Swisher I bought. So far, I've owned this little mower about two months and use it regularly. It usually starts on the first pull and cuts very nice. Just make sure to push in the primer bulb at least 3x, as instructed, before you start it the first time, though I have had to push a few more, but it still always starts quite easily. Very happy with this purchase and have no hesitations about recommending it to others with small yards, tight spaces or those in need of a trimming type mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 37 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

So far so good

06/25/2012
By ,
steubenville, oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just bought it yesterday. That's why I only gave it 4 stars. Very lightweight and works. If it lasts a few years then I'll give it 5 stars. I've had murray lawn mowers in the past, can't remember any problems. Not very hard to put together, not sure why other customers had problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Good mower for trim work or small lawn

06/25/2012
By ,
Mount Washingtin, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with the mower. However, the assembly instructions are the worst I have ever encountered. I had read the same problem in the reviews when shopping but thought it couldn't be all that bad. IT WAS!!!! 3 of us guys had a hard time putting it together. We finally figured it out without the instructions. If you buy this mower you better have help from a lawn mower mechanic.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 39 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Nice Little Mower

06/28/2012
By ,
Cranberry Twp., PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't know why people said it was difficult to assemble, I had no problems what so ever and all the parts were there, instructions might have confused them as they put all models & parts in. Have been using with no problems, starts right up and does a great job.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
06/28/2012
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this lawn mower with the idea that I would be able to just put it together and mow the lawn. HA!!!! What a joke that was! I first had to run to lowes to get bolts that weren't broke nor molded incorrectly. Once I had the correct parts to assemble it, then it was fine. I'm just disappointed in my purchase and will NOT recommend purchasing this particular lawn mower. You are getting what you pay for. :( (no qualitly)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
21-40 of 58 total reviews