Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Murray Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Murray Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Get your lawn done in record time and have your yard be the pride of the neighborhood with the Murray 20" Side Discharge Push Lawn Mower. Whether you have a tiny patch of grass or rolling hills of lush lawn, this is the mower to get the job done. This push lawn mower features a 20-inch steel deck. It has seven-inch front wheels and seven-inch rear wheels, and a powerful 300 series Briggs and Stratton engine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.191 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation61%41 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
16
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Murray Brigg & Stranton 4.5

04/15/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The wheels can only be adjusted by unbolting them.The shut-off cable ,to keep the motor from running when not compressed, was too long;so I removed the safety feature. It's easy enough to put together.
It runs well & I hope it last like my old one did;over 39 years! It was the same engine model. All I did was change the blade twice,& replaced the spark plugs 3 times. I always checked the oil fluid level.
I'd give this 3 & 1/2 Stars
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Georgia
Posted 04/20/2012
Not that smart to remove the safety features. I know it can be a pain but the shut off saved me once when I slipped and fell. Luckily it shut off and the blade brake stopped the engine immediately before my foot went under the mower. In the olden days I would not be so lucky to walk away.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower -

05/12/2012
By ,
Media, PA.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lock Nuts, for the Shoulder Bolts, were too small. [Poor Quality Control!] Had to use parts
from an old mower ... in order to mount wheels to chassis. Followed directions to properly add {supplied) oil to mower, etc. Added proper amount of unleaded (non-premium) gas, etc. Cut about 1/4 acre of level lawn and all went well. Two (2) weeks later, attempted to use mower and same ran for about ten (10) minutes, sputtered, and died. Attempted repeats, to start, have yielded 'low r.p.m.', and stalling after (maybe) twenty seconds. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chattanooga, TN
MINE TOO!
Posted 05/24/2012
"Cut about 1/4 acre of level lawn and all went well. Two (2) weeks later, attempted to use mower and same ran for about ten (10) minutes, sputtered, and died. Attempted repeats, to start, have yielded 'low r.p.m.', and stalling after (maybe) twenty seconds. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!!!"
Mine does the EXACT same thing!!!I wonder what that is? Did you take the mower back? Have it fixed? Trash it? What was your outcome? Any help you could give me would be fantastic!
Thanks!
Katie
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

If you value your peace of mind, don't buy this!

05/08/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We used this mower twice. We tried to use it a third time and it began to give grief. It was hard to start; then when it did get started, it would run 15-20 seconds, then die. At this point, it was 5 days past the 30 day WM return time. But the manager gave us a credit anyway, so we could buy another brand. Then while we were there, another customer brought in another Murray mower which had failed, although it was not the same model. We will steer clear of this brand in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 24 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Very Disapointed!

03/08/2012
By ,
Temple,Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Our old Murray lawn mower would not start so we went and bought another Murray. Bought this one because it was the cheapest. Got it home and opened the box and it was not put together like the last one we bought. The instructions were so hard to understand. About 45min. later we got the mower put together. Filled it up with gas and oil and the oil stared leaking out. After spending that much time putting it together we had to return it because it was leaking oil. Did not get another Murray. Very Disapointed in product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Review 25 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Good budget lawnmower.

05/02/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great budget lawnmower. Had it assembled in about thirty minutes and only needed one wrench and socket. The wheel bolts weren't bad to put on considering they use lock nuts. Started right up and didn't stall at all going through tall grass and weeds. Takes a little more priming than it says it needs though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 26 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Returned after 1 hour of purchasing product!

02/18/2012
By ,
Killeen, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this lawn mower because it was the cheapest lawn mower compared to Sears, Home Depot, Lowes and Tractor and Supply. The instructions were ridiculous to follow and was not specific to the product. We returned it after one hour of purchasing it. We will most likely go to Sears instead for a better quality lawn mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-17points
Review 27 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
03/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This mower is hard to put together and the first one I bought had many parts missing.
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Review 28 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Good little mower for the price

08/12/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower is exactly what I expected, performs as expected. It is a good value for the price. It is difficult to put together and the directions are terrible; but once it was assembled works just fine. A side note: the mowing level is only adjustable by removing and re-positioning the wheels. It takes a bit of muscle to get the wheels off and back on, so make sure you position them for the level you want up front.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 29 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
10/20/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Look people, you get what you pay for. Once you get it together it runs good and cuts the grass. Some people can afford and drive Lincolns, and some can only afford and drive cavaliars.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 30 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

I like my new mower

06/13/2012
By ,
Inez, Ky.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have used my new mower once so far but I really like it. It's easy to push and move around. It cuts the lawn good and that's all I expected.
Thank you
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 31 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

defective product/ poor design

05/06/2012
By ,
Daytona Beach, Fl.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this mower as a gift and after assembling would not start. Let sit and tried next day, would not start or started then stalled. Today took carb out and ran through it. The fuel filter (screen mesh) on pick up line was folded over prohibiting fuel delivery. The jet was fouled with a coating or build up. The air filter was never rinsed and the treatment almost had the foam bonded not allowing air to flow through. All in all horrible design and if it wasn't a gift I wouldn't even bother to bring back, I would destroy then go buy something that works. Also wheels are not adjustable so be sure and set high or your 4.5hp motor will stall upon running high grass(if you can get it to work).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 32 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
06/12/2012
By ,
clark mills ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
assembly was hard
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 33 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Just a very basic mower

07/04/2012
By ,
Marcy, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bought this mower to use for trimming around our large yard, since we use a riding mower for the majority of the area. The instructions included are pretty dismal. The company apparently tried to cut corners by including multiple instructions for every single type mower they make in it. My husband was rather frustrated putting it together, and he's assembled plenty of pieces of equipment in his 60 years. Note that there are no adjustments for wheel height. Once you figure out what height you need and attach the wheels, forget about ever moving them again-ain't gonna happen. This is just a very basic mower. That said, the mower is sufficient for what I need it for.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 34 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Ikea style directions

05/06/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought and assembled this mower today. The instructions are about worthless. And the nuts that were included were the wrong size. After a trip to the local hardware store to buy the correct size, the mower went together perfectly. The mower started right up and worked great. If you can get past the Ikea-poor directions, you will be happy with this product.
0points
Review 35 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Good mower

05/07/2012
By ,
Fort Washington, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is easy to assemble. I am not sure how other reviewers complained how hard it was to assemble. I mean it is a basic mower. Installation only took me less than 15 minutes, and I did not even read the manual.
Pros:
Lightweight
No bagging
Cons:
It would be nice if they came out with a side discharge bagging kit for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 36 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Works great!

05/12/2012
By ,
Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best price out there. Starts up every time, and has plenty of power. This mower is very efficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 37 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower

Spend a little extra for the next model up.....

07/14/2012
By ,
central florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It performs well on small lawns, but I would like to see better instructions (more model specific), as it threw me for a loop at times during assembly. I feel it should be around $115 to $120 for the quality. $135 seems too much. I would not recommend this to a friend, I would say just spend another $20 and get the next model up. So far it does well on a small lawn despite the wheels being the only part of the mower that seems rather cheap. We'll see what the future holds for this "entry level" mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 38 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
11/20/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This lawn mower was a lot harder to put together than I had thought. It was more in pieces than previous lawn mowers that I have bought. I had to have a friend help me. The instructions were also difficult to follow. The lawn mower was also very hard to start the first time. There was oil in the oil well for some reason. Once we had it together and got it started, it worked fine. I think that there should be some information available about how difficult it is to put together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 39 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
09/08/2012
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had a Murray 20" mower for about 15 years so when it gave up the ghost I found another one from Wal-Mart. Looks just like the old one. Had it shipped to store (free), got it home and took about 1 1/2 hrs to ut it together. filled it with oil and gas, gave the starter a pull and it started right up. Had no complaints with old Murray and don't expect any problems with this one. Price, at under $150 was great comparred to others I looked at in other stores. e
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 40 for Murray 20" Side-Discharge Push Lawn Mower
06/28/2012
By ,
Kissimmee, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this lawn mower with the idea that I would be able to just put it together and mow the lawn. HA!!!! What a joke that was! I first had to run to lowes to get bolts that weren't broke nor molded incorrectly. Once I had the correct parts to assemble it, then it was fine. I'm just disappointed in my purchase and will NOT recommend purchasing this particular lawn mower. You are getting what you pay for. :( (no qualitly)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
21-40 of 58 total reviews