Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nintendo Mario Party 9 (Wii)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nintendo Mario Party 9 (Wii)

In Mario Party 9, players vie to become the Superstar as they make their way through adventurous new stages, overcoming obstacles and collecting Mini Stars. For the first time, players also travel across each stage together in vehicles and join forces in boss battles to defeat a common enemy. This means they must work together to beat classic villains like Bowser and King Boo while still giving their individual scores a boost. Throughout the stages, players take turns acting as Captain of the vehicle, hitting Dice Blocks to move the party toward the goal. As they progress, players may encounter 80 new minigames that might have them making pizzas, escaping haunted houses, bowling shells at Goombas and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%32 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Great Family Game!!!

03/11/2012
By ,
Palm Coast, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this game for my husband, myself, and my 5 year old. It is a great game. Well worth the money spent. We have played every part of the game. It is a better value then the Mario Party 8. It has a lot of differnt stages and mini games. I am very impressed with the quility. I would highly recommend this for any age group. No matter the age it is a great family fun game night game.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+61points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alabama
Posted 09/23/2012
Can you pre-define the number of turns at the beginning of the game? So i can avoid my sons tantrums when turning off the game ?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

If you are a party fan...AVOID this one!!!

03/12/2012
By ,
Butler, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My family and I are huge Mario Party fans...from the very beginning, so when we learned of a new one finally coming out we were thrilled. Needless to say, getting it and playing it, HUGE let down.
It is like the creators took and easy route this time. There are no mini games after every round, everyone is in the same car going around taking turns as "captain" the challenges are weak and some just down right dumb, for example there is a card mini game that you have to try and beat the other players with choosing the higher number...well everyone can see the numbers you have and what you choice so you always end up in a tie and no one wins.
Also you don't use the WII remote motion wise for much anymore in this game. You now press the A button to jump, and pretty much everything has a button command to move, etc in the game. Another big disappointment in the game, not using the WII functions!
I am very disappointed in this Mario Party. They strayed way to far from the Mario Party theme and made this game an un-fun family game! Again if you are a Mario Party Fan....I would avoid this game...You will be highly disappointed. I know I was.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+12points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Mario Party 9
Posted 08/23/2012
When You Said There Are No Mini Games If You Look On The Cover, It Said 80 All New Mini Games So Don't Tell People There Aren't!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

I want the old Mario creator back :(

03/14/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I discovered Mario Party 9 was coming out I was really excited. Me and my family have played the Mario Party games sinse the very first one. I heard that this one was being created by someone knew so I was a little skeptic. And I was right to be. There aren't as many characters to choose from like before. There aren't mini-games after every round of turns. There are no stars that you have to travel around the board after. You have to stay in a cart with all the other players throughout the entire game. Overall I'm very disappointed. I love Mario Party but this seems like a whole other game.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Review 4 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Sitting on the fence.

03/15/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was very happy with Mario party8, first one I ever played. So, so, so fun! Well I got married to a gamer (3 years ago) and he has played almost every Nintendo game there is (sadly I’m not exaggerating) and when I told him #9 was on it’s way he quickly raced to the Nintendo wii store and bought Mario Party2. We have been using the classic controllers and playing that one for the past couple of weeks. I am pretty hooked on #2 I really like it. My only complaint is how long the old games (2 and8) were. I never played more than the 10 rounds. That being said, this game flies.
My husband and I flew through the first 3 stages in about 40 minutes. There is a mini boss battle ½ way through the board and a boss battle at the end. If it’s your turn you’re driving the car so you run into stars and things that take them away. Now I have no idea why they are “stars” not coins, but that was my first disappointment. Now I’m not the gamer but when I play Mario I expect coins! Not in this one. There is no place to buy dice blocks, instead you land on spaces to get everything (dice blocks and mini-games mainly)
It’s also harder to mess with your opponents. There is no boo that I’ve seen and I’ve played 4 out of 5 of the stages so I have no hope. No way to run them over and take things, really it’s just if you land on the space that lets you do something like take a dice block or you have to give 10 stars to last place. It’s kind of a let down. It seems more like a $20 game, not a full price one.
Now the pro’s, because there are some!
It is a fun looking game, colorful, bright, and little details in the background.
You can play 1-4 players, so my husband and I can play with just us, or add in 1 or 2 computes. There are 1 vs 2 minigames if you have 3 players. So that’s cool, and you don’t have to wait for a computer to do it’s thing for ½ of the game.
Some of the minigames are pretty fun, but I haven’t seen one that’s been a big challenge. My 3 year old nephew can play them all, I mean all.
It is a fun game and I will play it, but unless Mario Party 10 is very different I will not spend the money on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 5 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Classic Fun

03/17/2012
By ,
LaSalle, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I boyfriend bought this for me the day it came out. I played this game with my family and my friend. They love the new twist with this Mario Party game and we love the new mini games.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 6 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

great game lot of fun for a small investment

03/25/2012
By ,
st.marys ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My grandson wanted the mario game for his birthday. I have played it with him and it was fun and entertaining. Good game for children.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 7 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Fun but not quite what I was expecting.

03/28/2012
By ,
OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was really excited also when I saw that Mario Party 9 was coming out and had to preorder it right away. I love that so many people can play together in the game. The mini games are fun and there's lots of them and boards. Once thing I was disappointed on was that fact that you cannot play on teams as you could on Mario Party 8. My wife likes to play with me on the same team and was also dissapointed about that in this game. I'm not really sure if I like all the players riding around in the same car and taking turns as captain but it does speed up the game play.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 8 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Family fun

03/30/2012
By ,
cincy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have anyone in the family that likes Mario this is a great game to play solo or with others.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 9 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Immensely Disappointed

09/13/2012
By ,
IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to see a new mario party was coming out. I had a 50 dollar gift card that i had received as a gift. I was all hyped up because I grew up on Mario Party, and many of my childhood memories are of playing this game with my cousins and sisters. I was so disappointed when I was met with a completely different game. The mini games are alright, but i hate the car with everyone in it. There is simply no fun in it. It feels like they totally short cutted on this one. I'm so disappointed that I just don't like playing it unless someone asks me too.
If you have never played mario party before, this is a great game I'm sure
If you loved the old Mario parties, this mario party is a huge flop :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Fun Family game!

06/04/2012
By ,
Manistique, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have another Mario party game that we love. I wanted something new that we could play together. This game is very fun. I like the working together in the car. The Donkey Kong level is really fun and we like buying the new vehicles to use on the levels.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 11 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

how did this get good reviews

08/26/2013
By ,
Coeur d'Alene, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this as a gift for a 12 year old who was having a gaming party for his birthday and even he was insulted at how simplified and boring this game is compared to the last one.
We went and traded it and got Mario Party 8 again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Review 12 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)
04/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my grandson loves this game
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 13 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

mario party 9 wii

12/29/2012
By ,
Midland, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 5 yrs old son loves playing mostly mario party 9 its worth! it has several different kind of games so fun!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Excellent Game

08/22/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for the kids because why else, it's a Mario game. The kids have played and played this game since the purchase. I have played it two times with them and it's a pretty fun game. It's like an animated board game with different levels. I don't get into it as much as they do but they will play it all day long if you let them. All in all I think the game was well worth the money and it was ready same day when I purchased it online. You can't beat that and even saved some money by the online purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Great buy overall

06/10/2013
By ,
Tulare, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 5 year olds birthday present and he loved it. I would say its expensive, but that's the normal price for wii games I guess. The game itself has a large variety of options of playing, so you're sure to find something you like. Also great because up to 4 players can participate.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Awesome Game

07/22/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everyone can win not like the other mario where the strongest player wins my daughter is 4 and she won many times against us.. A must buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

great family game

07/15/2013
By ,
houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my, my husband, and my kids all love this game...and we can spend hours playing it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)
04/22/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my kids, because remember the ones for the 64. This one is somewhat the same but you cannot choose the number of rounds, making it more like a board game. Still fun with the kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)

Great Game!

04/20/2012
By ,
Cape Coral, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great game. this is the first mario party game i've played and i love it! I love all the places like toad road and boo's horror castle. I also love the boss battles and the minigames. the graphics are awesome and its a fun family game. although i wish there were more characters to choose from and more minigame spaces. overall...Great Game!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 20 for Mario Party 9 (Wii)
05/08/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really like it quite different from the last one which gives you a reason to buy it. Mini games are not to hard at all and seem to have more of the old fashion controls. Games are about 30 minutes which is nice but wish you could make them longer would be my only thought.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-2points
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next