Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

This Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill has a total cooking area of 750 sq in, which can hold up to 32 burgers. It has three main burners with one integrated side burner for a total of 32,000 BTUs. The grill has a dual steel hood, cast iron cooking grates and four locking casters.
Average Customer Rating:
3.658 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
19
Customer Recommendation75%90 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
40
3 stars
9
2 stars
9
1 star
19
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill
05/30/2013
By ,
Princes Lakes, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read most of these reviews before buying. most were pretty right on the money. I have had this grill for over a month. The propane side still lights on the first click. Casters at lockable which comes in handy, very easy to move. I read that it rust easy, I sprayed it with PAM cooking spray, but none the less I have been keeping dry and in the garage. Like I said, easy to pull in and out. Some recommend having the store assemble, Well, the one on display at the store was not put together well. The handle that opens the flap to add charcoal had the nut upside down which meant it couldn't be tightened which in turn made the handle very floppy. So I said lets not take any chance and assembly ourselves (wife and I) Well, it was a small project but we enjoyed a couple cocktails relaxing evening and put it together one piece at a time. I would for sure recommend this grill to anyone who asks. Don't worry about putting it together, the instructs were very simple, it was not hard but a little time consuming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

We love this grill

03/22/2012
By ,
Coon Rapids, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We love this grill. We spent a lot of time debating back and forth between charcoal or gas. We love charcoal for the better flavor and gas for the convenience. When I found this grill I was excited to not have to sacrifice either one, you can choose whether you want to use charcoal or gas each time you grill, or you can use both sides if you are cooking for a lot of people. It it a good feature that you can raise or lower the coals on the charcoal side. Only complaint is that it was very difficult and confusing to put together. There were no words or explanations in the instructions, only pictures with arrows and all of the parts were numbered and lettered so it was frustrating assembling this at home - definitely have it assembled when you buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+158points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ottumwa, Ia
I build these grills.
Posted 04/20/2012
I work in the Lawn and Garden Center in Ottumwa Ia. It is true this grill is a pain each and every time I build it. I will be getting one this summer and not a pre-built one either. It is wise to have to store build it for you at any rate. If you put it together wrong the return may be harder then normal depending on your store. If we build it wrong that is on us. Most stores have a 24 or 48 hour time frame. This grill is ideal for people like me that wants their steak charcoal grilled but the vegs. to be gas grilled as the heat is displaced more evenly. This grill is a bit cheaper than the only other dual grill we carry and most stores do not have them in store it is a site to store only (usually). That grill is only a 2 burner whereas this one is three burner on the gas side. Good luck in your searches and have a great spring!
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Not ready for primetime

06/10/2012
By ,
Leesburg, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The grill works fine for under $200. It assembles easy enough, however the manual is kinda weak, but on par with most other products that I have assembled. Walmart says free assembly, I would recommend this to you because of issues I will explain.
1. missing instructions - The manual is in two languages. The English version left out a few steps (the assembly of the hoods), but since the instruction are virtually just pictures I was able to go to the other language and get it figured out.
2. There was a missing part and an extra part. Had to call warranty. This is a pretty dumb error. I was not able to complete the charcole side assembly because the box supplied 2 parts of the same instead instead of the left and right side parts.
3. I prefer words to explain what is in the assembly picture. Things like "make sure the lip is up", or "put this screw in before that one" within the same step.
But once assembled the grill is just fine. I would say it was fair, and if I had used the free assembly I would not have had any issues at all, the store would have the issues and I would probably be waiting on warranty while the grill was at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+22points
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Awesome grill!

03/20/2012
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't want to have 2 separate grills this is the way to go. My only complaint and it's really not a complaint but wish the charcoal side was as big as the gas side, also don't leave anything that can melt/burn on the top of the bottom rack when cooking on the charcoal side. Otherwise this is a great grill for your money, you will not go wrong. It took me about 4 hours to put this grill together and I'm a lady! Make sure you have enough space to lay all the parts out. All you need is a Phillips and a size 11 socket and you should be good to go. Totally worth your money!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+211points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Palm Bay
dimension
Posted 03/16/2013
I need the dimensions as far as legs and dimensions, long the total length, but the width. I want to tie it down in the back of my jeep so it will be standing up. I have about 44X30 to spare. THX
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Inexpensive high quality grill

03/30/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great grill! Really nice and sturdy but horrible to put together. Very tedious and time consuming!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+107points
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

conbo grill

04/23/2012
By ,
nebraska
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was not difficult for me to put together, but I also have four children and have been putting random things together for years now. The grates are great and heavy duty, having the door to access the charcoal is a plus for when we need to add heat or wood chips. I prefer cooking with charcoal, but sometimes when we just need to throw hot dogs on the grill for the little ones,, it is nice to throw them on the propane, however, i feel that the charcoal side is not large enough for the amounts of food that I cook. not a dissapointing purchase for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+27points
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

rusty grill: READ THE MANUAL

09/06/2012
By ,
seattle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
So far seems to be a nice grill for the price. Lots of folks seem to have rust problems with grills. Problem is the grills are cast iron and they NEED TO BE SEASONED! If you read the manual, there is a small section about 3-4 pages in that tells you how to season the grills and the barbeque itself. This is normal for cast iron, folks.
no missing parts but when they say 3-4 hours to construct they aren't kidding
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill
07/08/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at a lot of different grills to get my husband for his first Father's Day. I loved the combo aspect of this one because we've had times in the past where his parents had asked us to grill, but the tank turned out to be out of gas. So, this way if something like that were to happen, we'd have a backup. But it's also just nice to have both options. I feel like the food cooked on the gas side gets that smokey flavor from the charcoal when we're using both sides at once. I also chose this one because of the removable tray for easier clean up on the charcoal side. It was a little difficult to put together at times. My husband actually laid on the bottom of it to try to screw something in on the inside, and the bottom kind of collapsed under him, so don't do that. I wouldn't have expected it to hold a person's weight, but you know... If it's true that Walmart will assemble it for you, I'd recommend using that so you don't have to worry about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

good not great

05/29/2012
By ,
ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
after looking for nearly a year i settled on this grill. it had most of the options i wanted...
1. dual cooking options
2. a take out drawer for easy ash removal
3. temparture cages on each side
4. side burner
5. side table
6. easily adjustable charcoal rack with a winding handle
7. a top rack on each side not attached to the lid which keeps food at a consistent distance from heat regardless if lid is open or nto and also doesn't push down on large cuts of meat on the lower cooking rack when the lid is closed
8. a front loading door for additional charcoal for longer cooking options
9. an additional shelf under the fire box for storage of grilling tools
10. four rolling wheels for easy movement
11. light weight for more portability
12. self ignitor for gas side
i have two minor complaint and one major complaint...
minor: for my purposes, i need a larger cooking surface
minor: it needs hooks for hanging utensils
major: there is no way to control the air flow on the charcoal side. this is important for a cooler, longer smoking style of cooking and it prohibits the complete shutting off of the fire when you are done cooking allowing you to save expensive charcoal for a future bbq.
two additional insights...
1. spray the entire inside and outside of the unit with pam or wipe it ith olive oil. this prevents rusting.
2. you will need two additional accessories: this grill comes without the propane tank and you'll need a cover to keep the grill clean and rust free. total cost including grill cost was about $300
i wish weber would produce this style grill as they are the true champs when it comes to charcoal grilling.
if this unit had a controlled charcoal burn. this would be a great grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Great Grill!!

04/24/2012
By ,
Blue Springs, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like others said...It was like putting together a jigsaw puzzle, but once done it has been great.. We love the gas side for week nights and the charcoal side for relaxing on weekends we just used that side last night!! KILLER baby back ribs!! This is a great grill for the money
:-) Very happy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill
04/23/2012
By ,
Moore ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It lets a lot of air into the charcoal side which makes it cook really fast, so you have to watch your food close or it will burn.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+74points
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

The Best I have ever owned!

05/05/2012
By ,
New Whiteland, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best grill I have ever owned if you are looking for a awesome grill at a great price this is it. It took a little bit to put together, but so well worth it the combo fuel is awesome it is a great addition on you can have some good smoked taste on one side and have the burgers and dogs going on the other. I would buy this grill again no doubt.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Nice Grill but IT WAS MISSING PARTS!!

04/23/2012
By ,
Birmingham, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The grill is an excellent value for the price. I was a lot to put together, lots of parts so if you are not a handy person, this is not the grill for you. Also after getting it together we realized that it was missing a couple of screws, and a piece that goes over the air vent. We called the company to have them ship it to us and we are still waiting. I have used the charcoal grill several times even with the parts still missing and it works well, just wish we have equal surface for gas and charcoal grilling. I have not used the gas grill section yet so I cannot speak to how well it works. Overall this grill was a good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+10points
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Cheap for a reason

05/13/2013
By ,
Seattle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have had this grill for a year now. We purchased it because we like both charcoal and gas grilling.
It was wobbly from day one. Felt cheap, looked OK. Even under cover of a porch and a cover (and it was ALWAYS COVERED by both, except when in use) it completely rusted and fell apart. One year is not nearly long enough for a grill to last. We are really, really disappointed by this grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Great grill for the money

06/03/2012
By ,
Hertford NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grill is a good size, putting together takes time, but well worth it. Would recommend it highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

My dream grill!

04/22/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill service great purpose! I get great tasting steak and hamburgers on the gas and smokey ribs and chicken on the charcoal! Both sides are spacious. The assembly was easy. Takes about 2-3hrs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill
05/25/2012
By ,
East Aurora, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Product! once put together, time consuming to put together 2-3 hrs, goes together well, everything easily marked on directions, the idea of either using charcoal or propane or both suits the needs for a quick cookout, plenty of grill space
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

GREAT GRILL. COOKS GOOD.

06/06/2012
By ,
enterprise, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IT TOOK MY HUSBAND AND I ALMOST FOUR HRS TO PUT TOGETHER. THERE'S ALOT OF PARTS AND YOU HAVE TO HAVE SOME OF YOUR OWN TOOLS TO BE ABLE TO PUT THE GRILL TOGETHER. WE HAD TO HAVE HELP LOADING WHEN WE PICKED IT UP FROM THE STORE CAUSE IT IS A HEAVY PACKAGE. WE COOKED ON BOTH THE GAS AND CHARCOAL AND IT COOKS GREAT. A LITTLE HOTTER THAN USE TO ON THE CHARCOAL SIDE BUT WE'VE FOUND WE CAN USE LESS CHARCOAL. WE HOPE IT WILL LAST SEVERAL YRS.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

wouldnt suggest buying

02/25/2013
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this grill last year. and covered it so it was out of the elements for the most part except for the occasional oops its raining. We thought we would love it because sometimes we like gas and other times we like charcoal. We went to go and use it 2 weeks ago due to it being winter we don't grill much at this time of year. The WHOLE inside is rusted from sitting outside, the bottom has rotted out and the inside of the grill is all rusted. Wouldn't recommend anyone buying this especially if you live in New England!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 750-Square Inch Dual Gas/Charcoal Grill

Highly recommend this grill!

07/08/2012
By ,
Peyton, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill for my husband for Father's day. It took about 3-4 hours to assemble (added a whole new meaning to "some assembly required"). We both put it together and it was fun. Plan to spend a day assembling then preparing the grill prior to use.
We love having charcoal and propane all in one grill. During the busy weekdays, we tend to use propane for ease and quickness and charcoal on the weekends. Once, we forgot to buy charcoal and when we went to grill discovered the problem but had propane! Problem solved!
Overall, the size is a bit small but would work well for up to four people. It's great in the summer because it has the side burner so we can cook everything outside and not heat up the house. Highly recommend this grill! The price is affordable and the grill is beautiful and looks much more expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
1-20 of 102 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next